Regenerist Regenerating Serum

by Olay  Regenerist
Price:
$23.99 - 1.7 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Serums > Serums
Last Updated:
6/27/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Regenerist Daily Regenerating Serum is a silky, silicone-based serum that contains a fairly broad complement of beneficial ingredients for all skin types. It contains approximately 2% to 3% niacinamide, and, in this amount, it can increase the skin’s ceramide and fatty acid content as well as have anti-inflammatory action and work to reduce hyperpigmentation (Sources: The New Ideal in Skin Health: Separating Fact From Fiction, Thornfeldt Carl MD, Allured Books, 2010, pages 160-161; and Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, April 2004, pages 88–93).

Olay claims the peptide this contains can regenerate and intensely hydrate skin. Peptides are cell-communicating ingredients that can help improve skin's appearance and enhance its healthy functioning, but they are not miracle-workers for skin, nor are they all that hydrating on their own.

The various types of silicones that really give this product its elegant texture and make skin feel unbelievably silky. Regenerist Daily Regenerating Serum won’t give aging skin a new lease on life, but its texture and finish make it a very good serum with antioxidants for normal to slightly oily skin. It also runs circles around most products sold as foundation primers, so be sure to consider this if you’re of the mindset that a primer is essential to seamless makeup application. This does contain fragrance.

Uses a concentrated form of an exclusive amino-peptide complex and combines it with Olay moisture to offer the maximum regeneration and hydration within the Regenerist line. This formula leaves your skin feeling velvety smooth and is designed for everyday use.

Cyclopentasiloxane, Water, Glycerin, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Niacinamide, Dimethicone, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Panthenol, Butylene Glycol, Propylene Glycol, Palmitoyl Pentapeptide-4, Carnosine, Tocopheryl Acetate, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Allantoin, Cetyl Ricinoleate, Bis-PEG/PPG-14/14 Dimethicone, PEG-10 Dimethicone, PEG-100 Stearate, PEG-10 Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Disodium EDTA, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Benzyl Alcohol, Citric Acid, Fragrance

Olay offers a fairly large selection of skin-care products sold at drugstores and mass-market stores. Although Olay's products are not as diversified as Neutrogena's or as attractive as L'Oreal's, Olay has come a long way from its star product being a soft pink lotion designed to make skin younger (yet it was and is just a badly formulated product that was out of date almost from the moment it was launched). Today's Olay lineup for those concerned about staving off the effects of aging skin is impressive, comprising their Regenerist, and Total Effects lines. All of these (and several other Olay products) contain the B vitamin niacinamide. As you might expect, the claims made for it are inflated, but, as explained in the various reviews below, niacinamide is a very helpful ingredient for all skin types, capable of exerting multiple benefits. It isn't the best ingredient out there (no single ingredient has that title yet, and it's unlikely that just one ever will be) and as such doesn't deserve the prominence Olay gives it (a bit of variety would have been far better, such as a mix of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients).

Olay's sales are expected to reach $4 billion annually in the next few years, and given their global presence in stores and constant advertising in magazines and on television, that's not surprising. Much of this advertising is focused on their best products, which is attention well deserved. Just to give you an idea of the expenditure involved for these ubiquitous ads, Olay spent over $50 million to promote Regenerist in 2003. The good news is that each new range of Olay products generally improves on what came before it, offering results that, while not as impressive as the claims, are noticeable in the mirror.

For its ongoing commitment to understanding consumers and formulating products that, while not perfect, definitely offer more proof than puffery, Olay deserves consideration by any savvy skin-care shopper. And it also deserves mention that Olay is one of the few lines in this book whose entire collection of products with sunscreens provides sufficient UVA protection! (Sources for the financial figures above: The Rose Sheet, July 10, 2006, page 5; September 11, 2006, page 4; and January 1, 2007, page 5).

Olay began 2009 with the launch of Pro-X, their most expensive products to date. Not only are these products considerably more expensive than any others from Olay, the packaging, color scheme, advertising campaign, and claims have all been turned up to "max" on the cosmetics marketing dial. The amount of hype and budget thrown at these products easily explains why our Beautypedia product request e-mail inbox has been inundated with requests for me to review these products!

Whenever something this sleek-looking and pricey debuts in the mass market, lots of consumers wonder whether the extra expense is worth it. They also want to know if Olay's "Professional" designation makes these products a cut above the numerous other products they sell, including those with similar claims.

It turns out we had the same question after surveying the ingredient lists for all of the Pro-X products: How are they different from those available in Olay's Total Effects and Regenerist? Supposedly, all of those other sub-brands also have the answer to improving the telltale signs of aging, from dryness and wrinkles to loss of luminosity and unwanted discolorations. In fact, the claims on the label of these three lines are virtually identical.

It is clear from the get go that there are far more similarities than differences among Definity, Regenerist and Pro-X. All of them contain niacinamide, the B vitamin that has almost single-handedly re-energized Olay as a formidable skin-care brand. One of the Pro-X products contains acetyl glucosamine, just like several from Definity, and many Pro-X products contain peptides, just as Regenerist products do. Why should someone consider Pro-X over those other lines?

Interestingly, the folks we spoke with at Procter & Gamble didn't have a clear answer either, which isn't surprising, at least not from a formula superiority standpoint. Rather, their explanation was all about a marketing decision. This "cosmeceutical" –oriented line is supposed to give women who think that a line that looks medical must be better even if it's available at the drugstore. Pro-X was also designed to appeal to women who typically seek professional skin-care products, meaning those that are sold or recommended by a dermatologist or cosmetic surgeon.

Of course there is no standardized definition for "professional skin care" and "cosmeceutical" is a bogus term. The dermatologists who consulted Olay about these new products are well-respected, but the formulas still come up short in terms of a cocktail of antioxidants and skin-identical ingredients that can repair damaged skin. As it turns out, despite the Alliance for Skin Care Innovation that Olay speaks of in their promotional materials for Pro-X, its creation had more to do with marketing than with bringing anything new to the cosmetics table.

Don't get me wrong: the Pro-X products have some commendable attributes and certainly offer multiple benefits for aging skin, but the truth is they're not different enough from Olay Regenerist or Definity products to warrant the higher price.

Pro-X's packaging is indeed sexier, the claims are more enticing, and the prices speak to a high-end consumer, but, to borrow a popular catchphrase from the 1980s, we were left wondering "Where's the beef?" The beef, as it were, is merely Olay creating products whose differences are much stronger from a marketing standpoint than from a formulary standpoint. That's not breakthrough news for your skin, and it's a fact that anyone considering Pro-X should know that other Olay products offer comparable benefits for less money. The only significant difference between Pro-X and Olay's other sub-brands is that Pro-X is fragrance-free; that's great, but you would think that leaving out an ingredient as opposed to adding one would lead to a price decrease rather than an increase. It's up to you if that point is enough to make the higher prices worthwhile.

For more information about Olay, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 285-5170 or visit www.olay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Ennui78
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 22, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Different Regions, Different Ingredients?
    • It would seem as if P&G are having issues with their packaging contractor or there really is a disparity in ingredients. In Asia, their production facility in Thailand produces the Olay range, but the Regenerating Serum comes in packaging that features an ingredients list that has the peptide(Palmitoyl-Oligopeptide 4) listed as the very last ingredient........there's more preservative than peptide.

  2. Arlene M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 08, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Creates smooth, matt, glowing skin
    • One of my favorite products of all time, though I don't use it anymore. Very elegant and smooth. I always use a retinol night cream. I used to smooth this serum on for the day. This regime produced spectacular results--but no sunscreen protection. I wear no makeup and got many compliments on my 57 year old skin. I had to switch to another brand for a day sunscreen, since the SPF versions of Regenerist are greasier than the ones without SPF and not good for my oily parts of my skin.

  3. Ame T
    Reviewed on Friday, December 27, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    So far so good
    • I've always wanted to try this so was very pleased when my niece gave me a trial sample. I was surprised how smooth and matte my comb-oily skin was after applying the serum. It felt like I was wearing nothing on my skin, but I knew the good ingredients were going to work. This has a slight perfume, but nothing untoward. I've just ordered some P'sC products, but this will be on my go-to list too.

  4. Nikolopoulos
    Reviewed on Friday, November 22, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Broke me out and I dont have acne..ever !
    • I bought this based on this site's review. I used it and within hours had 3 big red bumps. I have actually never had a reaction like this to any product. I went to makeupalley and saw that I was not the only one extremely disappointed in this so called BEST product. Boo. Thumbs down.

  5. Shirley J
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Best foundation "primer"
    • In addition to the skin care properties, I find this to be an excellent base for foundation. I have highly sensitive skin and am committed to the Olay Regenerist line.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.318
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.