01.05.2015
5
2208
Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner
Rating
6.4 fl. oz. for $20
Category:Skin Care > Toners > Toners
Last Updated:01.05.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner is concentrated with the cell-communicating ingredients niacinamide and adenosine triphosphate, both of which repair and help to balance oily skin. In addition, niacinamide has research showing it can help reduce pore size (Source: Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, April 2004, "Nicotinic acid/niacinamide and the skin," pages 88–93) and decrease hyperpigmentation left over from breakouts.

The formula is boosted by anti-aging antioxidants and soothing agents that reduce redness while leaving slightly dry, flaky areas smooth and soft. It also helps to remove the last traces of makeup and may be the only "moisturizer" normal to oily skin needs during the summer months or in humid climates.

This fragrance-free toner is best suited for normal to oily/combination skin and works well for those prone to breakouts or struggling with large pores.

Pros:
  • Cell-communicating ingredients balance skin and tame oiliness.
  • Niacinamide helps reduce pore size and uneven skin tone.
  • Soothing agents calm red/flaky skin (and the formula is fragrance-free).
  • Particularly beneficial for oily, combination, or breakout-prone skin.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims

Restore skin's healthy balance with this lightly hydrating, weightless solution. Potent antioxidants, cell-communicating ingredients and anti-inflammatory agents help reduce redness and inflammation.

Ingredients

Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol (water-binding agents), Niacinamide (vitamin B3/cell-communcating ingredient), Adenosine Triphosphate (cell-communicating ingredient/skin conditioning agent), Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Extract (anti-irritant), Arctium Lappa (Burdock) Root Extract (antioxidant), Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (skin conditioning agents), Sodium PCA, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate (water-binding agents), Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate (skin conditioning agent), Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6 II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Cholesterol (lipid-based water-binding agents), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Oleth-10, DEA-Oleth-10 Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate (emulsifiers), Polysorbate-20 (skin conditioning agent), Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol (preservatives), Sodium Citrate (pH adjuster), Carbomer, Xanthan Gum (thickener), Trisodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative)

Brand Overview

Paula's Choice Skincare At-A-Glance

Strengths: Fragrance-free products; all products formulated based on extensive published research on how ingredients can benefit skin; uniquely formulated AHA and BHA products; effective skin-lightening options; gentle cleansers; toners that go beyond the norm; all sunscreens provide broad spectrum protection (including UVA-screening ingredients); proven anti-acne products; antioxidant-rich serums and moisturizers; anti-aging products that work as claimed; gentle yet effective natural products; most foundations provides sun protection and come in a range of neutral colors; unique brow products; on-the-go teeth whitener; lipstick with sunscreen; impressive, reasonably priced makeup brushes; samples are available for most products.

Weaknesses: Does not offer a complete collection of makeup; makeup shade range isn’t as extensive for darker skin tones; limited concealer options.

Disclosure: Paula Begoun is creator of Beautypedia and founder of Paula's Choice Skincare products. Reviewing thousands of skincare and makeup products over the past 30 years, both on this site and in her best-selling books, Paula's mission has always been to help consumers find the best products possible for their skin. The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains this commitment. In addition, The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same rating standards and criteria, whether it is a Paula's Choice product or another brand.

Paula's Choice Skincare was established in 1995 when best-selling beauty author and consumer advocate Paula Begoun (known as The Cosmetics Cop) decided to develop her own products. Like most of us, she was fed up with products that overpromised results, cost a lot of money, and failed to deliver—or made matters worse!

As a natural evolution of Paula's personal mission to help consumers find the best products for their skin, the line has grown into an extensive range of skincare and makeup products that are formulated to meet the needs of almost every skin type and skin concern imaginable. From acne to wrinkles, oily skin, rosacea, large pores, eczema, redness, sagging, dry skin, and on and on, Paula's Choice offers a solution.

Paula's Choice Skincare stands apart from other cosmetics brands. The formulas contain only ingredients that have substantiated, published research showing they are beneficial and effective—so you get visible results. Stable packaging is another feature of the brand, using innovative, opaque, and air-tight or air-restrictive components that keep antioxidants and other light- and air-sensitive ingredients from breaking down (unlike jar packaging, which compromises what might otherwise be an effective formula). The line is also 100% fragrance-free, which is best for all skin types, especially for those with sensitive skin or rosacea.

From cleansers to broad-spectrum sunscreens to anti-aging serums to specialized treatments, Paula's Choice Skincare has you covered from head to toe with innovative, state-of-the-art products. The brand also offers professional-quality makeup products including concealer, foundation, eyeshadow, lipstick, and more. (Paula started out as a makeup artist so she definitely knows her way around a face!)

Paula's Choice Skincare does not test on animals and also takes an environmentally friendly approach by featuring minimalist, recyclable packaging. Another plus—the Customer Service team is among the best in the industry, offering a "100% satisfaction or your money back" guarantee.

For more information about Paula's Choice, call (800) 831-4088 or visit www.paulaschoice.com.

Why are all Paula's Choice Skincare products rated highly? The Paula's Choice Skincare Team would not launch a product unless it was worthy of a high rating from The Beautypedia Team. Paula and The Beautypedia Team were researching and reviewing products long before Paula's Choice Skincare ever existed and consumers were constantly requesting a skincare brand that met all of Beautypedia's criteria. As a result, The Paula's Choice Skincare Team was created and uses the same research and criteria to formulate Paula's Choice products as The Beautypedia Team uses to review products.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
01.12.2015
Amazing

I have very oily skin and use a clarasonic brush with Skin Balancing Cleanser (have tried other cleansers as well) and this toner on a texturized cotton pad (from Target) removes every last trace of dirt. This is one of Paula's products I have consistently been using for many years now and I get a clean, but not stripped feeling. My skin is hydrated but does not feel heavy. Still wish I could find something to get rid of the pesky little blackheads and small clogged pores.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
ATHENA M.
08.26.2014
Will try something else next time

This was moisturizing to the skin and not at all irritating, but I also saw no other benefit to it either. My oily skin felt like there was a film left on my skin. Maybe it was too much moisture for my skin? This was not balancing to my skin and did not help with the oil nor did I see an improvement in my pores either. I think this is a nice lightweight toner.hydrator for dry or normal skin. I think it would be awesome in a spray bottle in the summer, maybe put it in the fridge.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
ABQ505
01.08.2014
Toner isn't just toner

I use this twice a day, and more on my no makeup days. Didn't think a toner would make a difference but Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner immediately calms my oily large pored skin. Other products seems to absorb better and my skin feels so silky and not oily.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Susan
06.25.2013
Great for oily skin and enlarged pores!

This is a great post-cleansing toner for my skin type, oily and enlarged pores. I use it twice daily after cleansing and have seen great results! My estitician and I have visably noticed my pore-size reducing and my blackheads becoming less prominent! And it it not AT ALL irritating like astringents I have used in the past.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
John R.
05.22.2013
Not good for sensitive skin

I have looked for a well formulated toner for years perhaps decades. I have always been drawn to PC products because of Paula's knowledge of skin care. The use of sorbic acid ( preservative), niacinamide and silicones ( or one or in some combination) in several of them is a NO NO for my sensitive skin. Big problem with immediate redness. Sensitive skin gals stay away from her toners. I will be trying the only two toners in her liner that do not have the above mentioned ingredients.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Carol M
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.394 5/22/2015 1:03:12 PM