Resist BHA 9 for Stubborn Imperfections

Price:
$40 - 0.3 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Skin Care > Sensitive Skin Products > Blemish/Acne Treatments > BHA
Last Updated:
1/5/2015
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Resist BHA 9 for Stubborn Imperfections is a spot treatment formulated specially to address stubborn skin imperfections with a 9% concentration of salicylic acid (also known as BHA).

That's a higher-than-usual percentage, but the time-released formula prevents irritation without sacrificing the results of its 9% strength. As with all Paula's Choice exfoliants, the pH is within the range salicylic acid needs to exfoliate.

The fragrance-free formula also includes an anti-irritant and soothing plant extract to ensure even those with sensitive skin can reap the benefits.

Speaking of benefits, what exactly does BHA 9 do? It unclogs pores, diminishes white bumps, minimizes enlarged pores, refines skin texture, minimizes the skin condition sebaceous hyperplasia, smoothes dry, rough patches, helps balance oily skin, fades red marks from breakouts, and, in general, helps reduce persistent breakouts. Quite a list there! We're happy to report it really can do all those things (at least for most people) due to its powerhouse formula!

BHA 9 has a serum-like texture that is dispersed via a pump applicator, and a surprisingly small amount of product can do its magic. Whether applied as a spot treatment or to larger areas at night, a little goes a long way.

The fluid consistency is on the thick side, which makes applying this spot treatment easier, although it can leave a shiny/greasy-feeling finish if you're overzealous. The pump can be tricky to master at first (dispersing more product than you may need for smaller areas), but you can readily control that by depressing with a softer touch so as to not release a full pump of product. (The company is working on transitioning the packaging to a completely different type of component that's easier to control.)

Formulated for all skin types, this is suitable for acne-prone skin, eczema, and rosacea (assuming you know your rosacea-affected skin can tolerate salicylic acid).

Bonus: Although the claims don't specifically state that BHA 9 treats blackheads, it absolutely does! Up next, world peace.

Pros:
  • Helps reduce persistent breakouts and unclog pores.
  • Diminishes blackheads and fades acne marks.
  • Minimizes and potentially controls sebaceous hyperplasia.
  • Smoothes dry, rough patches.
  • Powerhouse formula is surprisingly gentle on skin.
Cons:
  • Pump can be tricky to master.

Resist BHA 9 is a salicylic acid-based spot treatment designed for anyone who has struggled with stubborn skin imperfections or wants enhanced results over and above the treatments they've been using. It is compatible with any other skin-care products, including skin lighteners, prescription retinoids, over-the-counter anti-acne or retinol products, and regular skin care such as moisturizers and serums. Works to improve skin in numerous ways, and may be used once daily or less often (depending on your concerns).

Propylene Glycol (solvent/penetration enhancer), PEG-75, PEG-8 (thickeners), Water, Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Glycerin (skin-repairing ingredient), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract (anti-irritant), Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidant plant extract), Sea Whip Extract, Arginine (amino acid/skin-conditioning agent), Polysorbate 20 (stabilizer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent).

Disclosure: Paula Begoun is creator of Beautypedia and founder of Paula's Choice Skincare products. Reviewing thousands of skincare and makeup products over the past 30 years, both on this site and in her best-selling books, Paula's mission has always been to help consumers find the best products possible for their skin. The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains this commitment. In addition, The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same rating standards and criteria, whether it is a Paula's Choice product or another brand.

Paula's Choice Skincare was established in 1995 when best-selling beauty author and consumer advocate Paula Begoun (known as The Cosmetics Cop) decided to develop her own products. Like most of us, she was fed up with products that overpromised results, cost a lot of money, and failed to deliver—or made matters worse!

As a natural evolution of Paula's personal mission to help consumers find the best products for their skin, the line has grown into an extensive range of skincare and makeup products that are formulated to meet the needs of almost every skin type and skin concern imaginable. From acne to wrinkles, oily skin, rosacea, large pores, eczema, redness, sagging, dry skin, and on and on, Paula's Choice offers a solution.

Paula's Choice Skincare stands apart from other cosmetics brands. The formulas contain only ingredients that have substantiated, published research showing they are beneficial and effective—so you get visible results. Stable packaging is another feature of the brand, using innovative, opaque, and air-tight or air-restrictive components that keep antioxidants and other light- and air-sensitive ingredients from breaking down (unlike jar packaging, which compromises what might otherwise be an effective formula). The line is also 100% fragrance-free, which is best for all skin types, especially for those with sensitive skin or rosacea.

From cleansers to broad-spectrum sunscreens to anti-aging serums to specialized treatments, Paula's Choice Skincare has you covered from head to toe with innovative, state-of-the-art products. The brand also offers professional-quality makeup products including concealer, foundation, eyeshadow, lipstick, and more. (Paula started out as a makeup artist so she definitely knows her way around a face!)

Paula's Choice Skincare does not test on animals and also takes an environmentally friendly approach by featuring minimalist, recyclable packaging. Another plus—the Customer Service team is among the best in the industry, offering a "100% satisfaction or your money back" guarantee.

For more information about Paula's Choice, call (800) 831-4088 or visit www.paulaschoice.com.

Why are all Paula's Choice Skincare products rated highly? The Paula's Choice Skincare Team would not launch a product unless it was worthy of a high rating from The Beautypedia Team. Paula and The Beautypedia Team were researching and reviewing products long before Paula's Choice Skincare ever existed and consumers were constantly requesting a skincare brand that met all of Beautypedia's criteria. As a result, The Paula's Choice Skincare Team was created and uses the same research and criteria to formulate Paula's Choice products as The Beautypedia Team uses to review products.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Kathryn F.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, January 13, 2015
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Best help yet for sebaceous hyperplasia
    • I have been using this daily for several years, along with Retin-A. I had previously had a derm electro-needle my hyperplasias, and it barely reduced them, and left me with dark red spots that lasted several days, and, in one place, a hole. I tried this, and it takes a while, but it markedly flattened my spots, and in many cases, they are no longer visible. I have super-sensitive skin, and this causes me no trouble, but I have been using Retin-A .1% for many, many years.

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 13, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Resist BHA 9 works
    • I also have sebaceous hyperplasia. No known treatment for this condition. Doctor said maybe a chemical peel might help. I showed her this product and she said this product uses same ingredients as a chemical peel but more slowly and with no down time. The product has helped me immensely. I waited until I had used it for a full three months before reviewing to give it time. Plus I have very sensitive skin that breaks out easily. No problems at all with this prodict. It is a holy grail product!!!!

  3. CARRIE W.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 28, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Incredible and worth the money
    • This stuff works wonders. I have post-acne marks and little white bumps, plus other skin blemishes and imperfections that I've been treating nightly with this serum for a few weeks now. I'm a little shocked that my sensitive skin can tolerate a 9% BHA formula, which tells me that it was indeed formulated with those who have rather intolerant skin in mind (in addition to everyone else). It's pricey for a pretty small amount, but I only need one drop to treat my entire chin area plus other spots.

  4. MT
    Reviewed on Friday, July 18, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Miracle - Thank you!!
    • Face went crazy with acne a couple of years ago in my early 30's and nothing would help. Got a Paula's Choice sample, I think a differenct product, with Birchbox, which led me here to learn more and try this serum. Results the same week and have just one or two blemishes a month instead of one or two NEW ones/day like before. Working slowly on the acne scars, but I am seeing progress. Otherwise, my skin is glowing. Am so grateful to find this. Thank you, Paula!

  5. Mary B.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Nothing, yet
    • I added this to a regimen of Retin-A & B/AHAs for my sebaceous hyperplasia. Maybe, I'm not using it properly or often enough, but there's no change. I hoped it would prevent more but new ones have emerged. After a year of treatment for sebaceous hyperplasia, nothing works on mine, including this. The amount of product that shoots out uncontrollably with mild pressure on the dispenser is irritating, but I've figured out a way to dispense one drop with minuscule pressure. I need directions.

  6. Mary B.
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 31, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Not sure, yet.
    • I added this to a regimen of Retin-A & B/AHAs because of my sebaceous hyperplasia. Perhaps, I'm not using it properly or often enough, because there's no change. I hoped this product would prevent more but new ones have emerged. Any progress on sebaceous hyperplasias will take time, but nothing works on mine, including this. The product shooting out with a mild compression of the dispenser is irritating, but I've figured out a way to get a drop at a time with minuscule pressure.

  7. RH
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 05, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    good results so far
    • I've used my sample for about 6 days. I have a very small skin-toned growth under my eye that appeared about 2 years ago, that I suspect is sebaceous hyperplasia, but I don't know for sure. After the first use, I noticed that it didn't feel as high. The change seems slow, but steady. Also, this sped up my acne cycle: emerging bump to flat red mark in 2 days, so maybe 1/2 the time. Reserving judgement on pores, dark and dry red spots for now; I'll update after a longer trial. Its a bit spendy

  8. ANN P.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 17, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Took some time but great results
    • This is the only product that has been able to successfully reduce stubborn blackheads on my nose. I've had them for years and used at one time or another all of Paula's top picks for blackhead reduction. It took a tube and a half of use but then the blackheads began to disappear. Over time most have disappeared. I use this twice a day and have been maintaining noticeable results. The container is small but lasts several months for me. I recommend BHA 9 wholeheartedly.

  9. Eliza F.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 26, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Try it for your Cystic Acne
    • Nothing helps my cystic acne as much as oral antibiotics or/and a cortisone shot from my dermatologist; the shots drain the wallet, and it is not good for your stomach to be on antibiotics long-term. Enter: the BHA 9% treatment! I recommend this to everyone suffering from cystic acne. Get the sample first and see if it does anything for you. :)

  10. Tara S.
    Reviewed on Friday, July 26, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Marvelous!
    • Love it! My husband used it for a stubborn lump that wouldn't go away. I have used it on my nose, and pores which were damage in my 20s have gotten smaller and! I'm 40 with normal skin on my nose, and this doesn't make me break out or make me irritated at all. It is expensive, but try the sample size. I just keep reordering those, so I don't waste any. It is a spot treatment. I wouldn't spread it all over my face. Marvelous, I only wish this was around in my teens and 20s when I had acne

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, April 08, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Good product
    • This product does help my acne prone skin. I like the gel consistency...it glides onto the skin as opposed to feeling sticky like other gel products I have used. However, I think the pump on the bottle needs to be redesigned. It's hard to control pumping out the product...usually it ends up squirting out like a bullet and ending up on bathroom counter or on my mirror or in the sink! Maybe I just got a defective bottle.

  12. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, February 22, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Defied Regulations
    • Paula complained in her review of Spa Teen Blemished Skin Blemish B-Gone that the product defied regulations because it included to many anti acne medicines in one product. However, it is well known that the FDA has set the upper limit at 2% for salicylic acid in skin care products. This product seems to defy FDA regulations.... perhaps a FDA task force should be taken on this?

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, February 26, 2013
    Thank you for your comments, and we'd be happy to address your concerns. The full quote referenced from the Beautypedia Team's review of Pevonia Botanica's Spa Teen Blemished Skin Blemish B-Gone is,"This product defies FDA regulations for over-the-counter drug products because it contains three active ingredients: salicylic acid, benzoyl peroxide, and sulfur." This is accurate, as acne-treatment products are regulated as OTC drugs and have specific regulations regarding the number of actives and percentages used. Only in OTC drugs is there an "active ingredient" indicated as this is an OTC drug term. RESIST BHA 9, like our Skin Perfecting BHA exfoliants, are not acne-medications or treatments (unlike our CLEAR collection). Thus, there is a higher level of salicylic acid permitted (and the reason why these exfoliants do not have their percentages listed as "actives"). Paula's Choice, of any brand, would not develop a product that wasn't in accordance with FDA regulations. We hope this helps clear up any confusion, and please let us know if you have any additional questions.
    —Customer Care Team
  13. P.P.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 13, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Misleading affordability rating
    • Ounce for ounce, this is by far the most expensive product in the "best" BHA product category. How could Paula not indicate $$$ for this product other than the obvious reason this is from her own product line. I've been criticizing that the $$$ rating is not based on price for equal volume, time to make a change and be truthful to us customers please!

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Tuesday, January 15, 2013

    On Beautypedia the '$$$' is only used to indicate if a product is more expensive than other options that are similarly formulated and yeild similar results Although there are other BHA spot treatments, BHA9 is the only product of its kind currently on the market. BHA9 is unique from other BHA products because of its potency, efficacy and outstanding results.

    —Paula's Choice Research Team Response

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.367 2/1/2015 2:45:39 AM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.