Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense Broad Spectrum SPF 30

Price:
$26 - 2 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer with Sunscreen
Last Updated:
9/10/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Skin Balancing Ultra-Sheer Daily Defense Broad Spectrum SPF 30 is a lightweight daytime moisturizer for combination to oily skin. The silky, sheer formula provides broad-spectrum sun protection to prevent and reduce wrinkles and brown spots, with critical UVA protection coming from stabilized avobenzone.

It's loaded with potent antioxidants and cell-communicating ingredients proven to help your skin look and act younger while minimizing oil and smoothing dryness. This leaves a fresh matte finish without feeling heavy, slick, or greasy like many facial sunscreens. The formula is designed to work well under makeup, and, like all Paula's Choice products, is fragrance-free. The lightweight texture and matte finish make this an ideal choice for breakout-prone skin.

Ultra-light, silky, sheer facial moisturizer smoothes and softens skin as it prevents multiple signs of aging, including wrinkles and brown spots. Antioxidants and cell-communicating ingredients help skin look and act younger; helps keep excess oil at bay and leaves a fresh matte finish.

Active Ingredients: Oxybenzone 4%; Avobenzone 3%; Homosalate 7%; and Octocrylene 2%; (sunscreen agents). Other Ingredients: Water, Butylene Glycol (slip agent), Silica (absorbent), Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice Powder (water-binding agent), Ascorbyl Palmitate (vitamin C/antioxidant), Phospholipids (cell-communicating ingredient), Superoxide Dismutase (antioxidant enzyme), Adenosine (cell-communicating ingredient), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Boerhavia Diffusa Root Extract (antioxidant/anti-irritant plant extract), Colloidal Oatmeal (plant-based anti-irritant), Panthenol (skin-conditioning agent), Ginkgo Biloba Leaf Extract (antioxidant), Salix Alba (Willow) Bark Extract (anti-irritant), Cetyl Dimethicone (silicone-based emollient), Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate (absorbent/thickener), Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer (film-forming agent), Titanium Dioxide (opacifying agent), Sorbic Acid (preservative), Sodium Hydroxide (pH adjuster), Steareth-21, Steareth-2, Polysorbate-20 (emulsifiers), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

Disclosure: In addition to reviewing thousands of cosmetic products from hundreds of brands over the past 30 years, Paula also has her own line of products called Paula's Choice. Paula and her team's goal is to help you find the best products possible for your skin whether they are from Paula's Choice or some other product line. Paula's commitment to this is so strong she is the only cosmetics company owner in the world that recommends products other than her own. Paula and the Paula's Choice Research Team formulate our products to meet or exceed the criteria we use to review products from every other brand on this site. We review all products the same way using the same research, objective comments, and praise no matter whose product it is.

Paula's Choice was created in 1995 in response to the many readers who asked Paula to develop her own products. Given Paula's unique overview of the cosmetics industry, 30+ years of research, and earnest desire to help people find the best products for their skin-care needs, creating her own products was a natural extension of her work. Paula's Choice range of products are designed to meet the needs and preferences of just about every skin type and concern imaginable using only proven ingredients substantiated by published research.

Paula's Choice products provide:

  • State-of-the-art formulas based on reliable, published skin-care research
  • Proven effective solutions for wrinkles, acne, rosacea, and sensitive skin
  • Gentle yet effective products for those seeking a natural skin-care routine
  • Fragrance-free formulas (because it is what's best for your skin)
  • Cruelty-free formulas: Paula's Choice does not test on animals during any stages of product development—nor do we contract with third parties to conduct animal testing on our behalf
  • Environmentally-friendly products that feature minimalist packaging that ensures product efficacy
  • 100% Customer Satisfaction Guarantee from our world-class Customer Service Team

Paula's Choice products and Paula's work is routinely praised by noted dermatologists and other professionals. New York-based dermatologist Dr. Debra Jaliman stated that "I have a lot of respect for Paula Begoun and the way she thoroughly researches her subject. Her recommendations about cosmetics and skin care are deservedly influential." Eminent Seattle-based dermatologist Dr. Brandith Irwin concurs: "She takes a complex subject and makes it easy to understand!"

For more information about Paula's Choice, call (800) 831-4088 or visit www.paulaschoice.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. NATHAN R.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 18, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Better than you think.
    • As noted in previous reviews, this product IS runny. It's a liquid, folks. Similar to Neutrogena's liquid sunscreens. In addition, the grainy texture that was obvious in the first roll-out of this sunscreen are gone; it has been adjusted. This is very calming for a sunscreen with synthetic actives (at high concentrations no less) and I find I can use this around my eyes with no stinging and watering. Highly recommend this sunscreen!

  2. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, January 25, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Too Grainy & Runny... Not Mattifying at all either
    • This product was way too thin of a texture and too liquid-y for me to use as a moisturizer, the grainy texture of it also was a terrible feeling that made me feel I was just scratching my face while applying it on. Also, I have to say that there was nothing mattifying about this moisturizer either. Hated that I had to return it though but I had to.

  3. Li O.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Better before they changed it
    • I was very happy with this product before it was reformulated, but now it's just disappointing to use on my face. I still buy it for my arms (which I treat with BHA), but it's too thin to use during Canadian harsh winters, and my face dries out instantly. However, I will mention that I liked it during the summer months, so I can't give it a very low rating. It's just not convenient for my situation, year round.

  4. Sheila F.
    Reviewed on Saturday, August 17, 2013
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Too Thin
    • I totally agree with Brenda A. The lotion is too thin and grainy and you have to be very careful that it doesn't run out too quickly. I preferred the texture of the previous product that it replaced.

  5. ChristineL
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 11, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Thin and Grainy
    • You have to be very careful when applying this sunscreen because of the tube packaging. If you squeeze the tube, instead of allowing the thin liquid sunscreen to dribble out on it's own, you will end up with a mess. This product would have been much more user friendly if it had been housed in pump packaging. The sunscreen itself has a weird, almost gritty feel to it when applying. Sometimes my skin is not happy with the harshness of the chemical sunscreen ingredients, making my face tingle.

  6. BRENDA A.
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 20, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Too harsh
    • Too much emphasis on SPF in products. This is not really an updated formula - this is a completely new product. I much prefer the oil free moisturizer that this replaced. Please return to the prior formula :-)

  7. CHRISTINA G.
    Reviewed on Monday, May 20, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Too Runny
    • The previous SPF 15 version of this product was perfect for me, so I ordered this one next. The texture is very thin, not a lotion. More difficult to apply and a slight stinging sensation. I have oily skin with a tendency for blocked pores and have been happily using PC products for many years, especially the sunscreens for oily skin. I will continue with this until the next version comes out. Please change the consistency back to a lotion! Thanks.

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, May 05, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Overall Good
    • This product easily absorbs into skin and doesn't feel slick at all. It may not prevent oil breakthrough, but it does not cause an oily feel either. I am very pleased with the product. My only concern is the burning sensation I feel for about 10 minutes after I apply it.

  9. JEANNE F.
    Reviewed on Monday, April 22, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Disappointing
    • After trying and discarding Paula's Shinestopper, because it didn't live up to its hype, I was hoping Skin Balancing Ultra Sheer Defense would be an effective mattifier. It is not. It does not mattify oily skin. I generally like Paula's Choice products but find them ineffective in reducing oily sheen. Hourglass Veil Mineral Primer (a Beautypedia recommendation) works for me.

  10. JUDITH B.
    Reviewed on Sunday, April 21, 2013
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Thin, runny, & not matte
    • I was overjoyed to see Paula coming out with an SPF 30 for oily skin. It turned out it ran over my fingers like a really obnoxious Neutrogena sunscreen I tried a couple summers ago. Once I got it on my face, the shine showed through after only about 4 hours. The only way to make this stuff behave is to cover it with Shine Stopper. I wish I could find one product to do the work of both! The closest-to-matte sunscreen from PC is actually the hand cream.

  11. DUSTIN R.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 20, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Perfection.
    • I have super oily skin that's sensitive; my expectations for this product were low (the SPF 15 version that this replaced was a disaster for my skin, leaving it extra oily). This is -- I've seriously tried everything Paula has ever recommended for oily skin! -- not only the best sunscreen I've ever tried, but pretty much perfect. No, the finish is not dead matte; how could it be with the sunscreen actives? "Fresh matte," is true...and it stays that way. This is a game-changer for oily skin.

  12. Amy H.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Not Matte
    • This product does not leave a matte finish. It also made my skin burn for about an hour, something I've not had with other moisturizers like Murad or Philosophy. Even though those are supposedly full of irritating ingredients. It was shiny for about 10 minutes after applying. Once it dried down it was more dewy than matte and by mid morning I had to blot my forehead, something I never have to do with better mattifying moisturizers.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    Thank you for your review, and it is unfortunate this wasn't a fit for you! The truth is no skin-care product, no matter how well formulated, will work for everyone. However, we can ensure that you don't feel stuck with a product that didn't meet your needs. Please contact our Customer Care Department and they will be happy to help with a credit or exchange.
    —Admin

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.344 10/25/2014 3:40:11 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.