Resist Intensive Wrinkle-Repair Retinol Serum

Price:
$40 - 1 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Skin Care > Retinol Products > Serums
Last Updated:
1/6/2015
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

This silky serum aims to repair common signs of aging by combining highly stabilized retinol, potent antioxidants, and skin-repairing ingredients in one powerhouse formula—and it succeeds brilliantly, because all of the anti-aging ingredients have considerable research supporting their effectiveness.

Regular use of this non-aqueous serum will promote improved collagen production, smooth wrinkles, and soften fine lines. Skin also gets a good dose of anti-irritants to reduce sensitivity while fading red marks from past breakouts.

This serum is fragrance-free, comes in packaging that keeps the key ingredients stable during use, and can be used by all skin types … thank goodness, because we wouldn't want anyone to be without it!

Pros:
  • Silky, retinol-rich serum softens fine lines and wrinkles.
  • Powerhouse formula boosted with antioxidants and skin-repairing ingredients.
  • Anti-irritants reduce redness and soothe skin, while fading red marks from past breakouts.
  • Compatible with all skin types (except those who cannot tolerate retinol).
Cons:
  • None.

Supercharged blend of retinol and potent antioxidants help skin of any age look and act younger. Repairs wrinkles and sun damage. Builds skin-firming collagen. Reduces dark spots. Anti-irritants reduce redness and soothe sensitive skin. Helps fade red marks from past breakouts. Fragrance-free and contains no dyes or coloring agents.

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethiconol (silicone slip agents/suspending agents), Neopentyl Glycol Diheptanoate (skin-conditioning agent), Dicaprylyl Carbonate (emollient), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride (skin-repairing ingredient), Phenyl Trimethicone (silicone slip agent), Squalane (emollient), Bisabolol (anti-irritant), Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (stabilized vitamin C/antioxidant), Retinol (cell-communicating ingredient/antioxidant), Tocotrienols (vitamin E-based antioxidant), Tocopherol (vitamin E/antioxidant), Lecithin (cell-communicating ingredient), Laminaria Ochroleuca (Kelp) Extract (anti-irritant), Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Oil (anti-irritant), Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil (skin-repairing ingredient), Stearyl Glycyrrhetinate (licorice-derived anti-irritant), Hexylene Glycol (slip agent), Caprylyl Glycol (emollient), Ethylhexylglycerin (skin-conditioning agent), Phenoxyethanol (preservative).

Disclosure: Paula Begoun is creator of Beautypedia and founder of Paula's Choice Skincare products. Reviewing thousands of skincare and makeup products over the past 30 years, both on this site and in her best-selling books, Paula's mission has always been to help consumers find the best products possible for their skin. The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains this commitment. In addition, The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same rating standards and criteria, whether it is a Paula's Choice product or another brand.

Paula's Choice Skincare was established in 1995 when best-selling beauty author and consumer advocate Paula Begoun (known as The Cosmetics Cop) decided to develop her own products. Like most of us, she was fed up with products that overpromised results, cost a lot of money, and failed to deliver—or made matters worse!

As a natural evolution of Paula's personal mission to help consumers find the best products for their skin, the line has grown into an extensive range of skincare and makeup products that are formulated to meet the needs of almost every skin type and skin concern imaginable. From acne to wrinkles, oily skin, rosacea, large pores, eczema, redness, sagging, dry skin, and on and on, Paula's Choice offers a solution.

Paula's Choice Skincare stands apart from other cosmetics brands. The formulas contain only ingredients that have substantiated, published research showing they are beneficial and effective—so you get visible results. Stable packaging is another feature of the brand, using innovative, opaque, and air-tight or air-restrictive components that keep antioxidants and other light- and air-sensitive ingredients from breaking down (unlike jar packaging, which compromises what might otherwise be an effective formula). The line is also 100% fragrance-free, which is best for all skin types, especially for those with sensitive skin or rosacea.

From cleansers to broad-spectrum sunscreens to anti-aging serums to specialized treatments, Paula's Choice Skincare has you covered from head to toe with innovative, state-of-the-art products. The brand also offers professional-quality makeup products including concealer, foundation, eyeshadow, lipstick, and more. (Paula started out as a makeup artist so she definitely knows her way around a face!)

Paula's Choice Skincare does not test on animals and also takes an environmentally friendly approach by featuring minimalist, recyclable packaging. Another plus—the Customer Service team is among the best in the industry, offering a "100% satisfaction or your money back" guarantee.

For more information about Paula's Choice, call (800) 831-4088 or visit www.paulaschoice.com.

Why are all Paula's Choice Skincare products rated highly? The Paula's Choice Skincare Team would not launch a product unless it was worthy of a high rating from The Beautypedia Team. Paula and The Beautypedia Team were researching and reviewing products long before Paula's Choice Skincare ever existed and consumers were constantly requesting a skincare brand that met all of Beautypedia's criteria. As a result, The Paula's Choice Skincare Team was created and uses the same research and criteria to formulate Paula's Choice products as The Beautypedia Team uses to review products.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, November 07, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    No improvement for me
    • These products boast all the best ingredients in the best packaging. That may be, but that doesn't necessarily mean you will get any visible results. I used this along with other Resist products and high spf sunscreen daily for the past 6 months. My wrinkles and age spots did not improve, but got a little worse. So I'd only buy these products if you think your skin might look better with them than without them in the long run. Don't expect visible results as the labels might make you believe.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, November 10, 2014

    We're sorry these products didn't work well for you. Know that you can contact us for a refund, as we do stand behind our products. We're also proud to say that the vast majority of our customers see wonderful, often dramatic results with the Resist line. It won't work the same for eveyone, which is one reason we offer a money-back guarantee!

    —Admin
  2. Linda S.
    Reviewed on Friday, October 31, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Great stuff...but I should have eased into it!
    • Good stuff....I recommend buffering it at first and go slowly! I tried to get really young and really beautiful and really quickly lol and I ended up frying my face from my new routine (AHA, BHA, Vit. C serum and this retinol serum). Now that I`ve balance all the anti-aging products out (some of them Paula`s ...some not) my skin is very happy! I apply it at night and then moisturize. I`m 47, fair-skinned with some sun damage. It`s a nice compliment to my Botox injections.

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, September 08, 2014
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    I like this product but the packaging needs a redesign
    • I got this serum in my Birchbox. At first I thought it was greasy but I really do like the way my skin absorbs it. I use quality products which are expensive so I make sure to get every drop from whatever I use. This container was a challenge to do that. It was a sample size and I used it about 3 times and no more was coming out. I had to literally smash it with a hammer to get the rest out. Too bad it comes in this container. I like the product, wish you would change the packaging.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, September 08, 2014

    Thank you for your comments! We will pass this along to our product development team about the packaging issue for future consideration.

    —Admin
  4. roma
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Best retinol serum!
    • This has got to be one of the best retinol products out there.I apply, let it sink in for a few minutes then moisturise. It's great around eyes, just not too close or it can sting.Visible improvement in lines around eyes.I'm about to order my 3rd tube.Won't be without it . Love it! I'm 56 and this stuff is definitlely turning back the clock!

  5. Altynai M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 11, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    resist intensive wrinkle repair retinol serum
    • i have acne prone,combo skin. so i got the serum to help me with post acne marks,make it more even,and help me with dryness. now it is a must have for me! it didn't cause any breakouts,it helped to clear and even out my skin,probably retinol helps it. the texture feels like an oil,but it soaks up into the skin,so i use it at night. do not expect results from the first day of using,it is a huge mistake to judge any cosmetic products right away.i am done with my serum,will order another one:)

  6. Diane
    Reviewed on Thursday, May 30, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Not impressed
    • My jury is out on this one. Not too much $$. Got this because it compared to an Estee product as a less $$ alternative. Very oily, but seems to soak in. Stopped using it on my face because I didn't like the way I looked when I went to bed. Now I use it on neck & decolletage. I hate the dispenser. Pump is hard to control & way too much shoots out which forces me to use way more of the product than I intend to use. Therefore most of the $$savings are probably lost because you fo thru it fast.

  7. Sandi J.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, May 01, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    fantastiic
    • My skin is loving this serum. Never looked or felt more cared for. Won't go without this skin care must have item. Thrilled. Gets better everyday.

  8. jeme
    Reviewed on Monday, April 29, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Awesome
    • I have never used a Retinol product til now. Wonderful. My skin loves it. I plan on keeping this as part of my skincare regiment, so keep making it please. Great application. I love everything about it. My skin is showing great signs of improvement. Looking forward to the long term outcome. Thanks for once again producing a great product.

  9. Laurie C
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 23, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Best for Day or Evening Use
    • First, God bless Paula and her products! She makes it easy to use a system for best results. Is it best to use this retinol serum at bedtime? I heard that retinol serum is destroyed in the sunlight so it is best used at night when the skin is at its peak repairing regenerating skin cells.

  10. Olivia
    Reviewed on Monday, February 11, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    I don't like the texture
    • The ingredients may be great, but the texture is pretty heavy and greasy, and it takes awhile for it to sink into my skin. After a week of using it, I also started to get little cystic pimples! Does that even make any sense? So strange. So I stopped using it. Sorry Paula, I really wanted to like it!

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Monday, February 18, 2013
    Thank you for your review! While the RESIST Retinol serum isn't a moisturizing formula, the suspension of the formula uses a fluid silicone base that can feel emollient. For a lighter serum that contains retinol, we would recommend our Skin Balancing Super Antioxidant Concentrate! Please contact us via email and we would be happy to help with samples and/or processing an exchange or credit.
    —Customer Care
  11. LESLEY L.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 06, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Exceptional results with continued use
    • I just celebrated a year of religiously applying this serum every night after cleansing and toning. At 44, I have only recently been told I have gorgeous skin and this serum is the culprit! With rosacea-prone, very fair, super sensitive skin, I am extremely careful of what I put on it. While the PC cleansers and toners helped get things under control for me, this serum was the product that took my skin from decent to great. My skin seems clearer, with a nice tone and my pores appear smaller. Fine lines are less noticeable. I am even able to use this around the delicate eye area and makes my eyes look better rested. Initially, I started using every other night to avoid any irritation from adding a retinal product. After two weeks, I began using every night. One bottle lasts about four months. I use it on my neck as well.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.367 2/1/2015 8:47:19 AM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off AHA & BHA Exfoliants | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.