01.05.2015
12
2227
Skin Perfecting 2% BHA Liquid
Rating
4 fl. oz. for $26
Category:Skin Care > Anti-Acne Products > BHA
Last Updated:01.05.2015
Jar Packaging:No
pH:3.20
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

If you struggle with stubborn breakouts or blackheads this liquid exfoliant might just be your new best friend. It contains 2% salicylic acid (BHA) and has a pH that allows it to unclog pores and keep breakouts and blackheads at bay.

Beyond that, this fragrance-free formula also helps improve skin tone and texture as it exfoliates, and there is even research indicating that BHA can increase collagen production, resulting in firmer, smoother skin. Better yet, the salicylic acid reduces inflammation while fighting acne-causing bacteria, and is combined with green tea to calm redness—and the active component of green tea (epigallocatechin gallate) is proving to be a potent anti-acne ingredient, too!

This product is recommended for all skin types experiencing acne, stubborn blackheads, or white bumps. It may just be a game-changer for your breakouts, as it has been for so many other people who previously found nothing worked well, if at all.

Pros:
  • Unclogs pores, helps prevent breakouts, and diminishes blackheads.
  • Liquid consistency suitable for all skin types prone to breakouts.
  • Tames redness with soothing green tea.
  • Improves skin's tone and texture.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims

Exfoliates both the skin's surface and inside the pore lining with a 2% concentration of salicylic acid (BHA). Lightweight, non-occlusive liquid formula is easily absorbed by the skin. Salicylic acid has a natural anti-inflammatory (soothing) and antibacterial properties. 100% fragrance- and colorant-free.

Ingredients

Water, Methylpropanediol, Butylene Glycol (slip agents/penetration enhancers), Salicylic Acid (beta hydroxy acid/exfoliant), Camellia Oleifera (Green Tea) Extract (anti-irritant/antioxidant), Polysorbate-20 (solubolizing agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH balancer), Disodium EDTA (chelating agent)

Brand Overview

Paula's Choice Skincare At-A-Glance

Strengths: Fragrance-free products; all products formulated based on extensive published research on how ingredients can benefit skin; uniquely formulated AHA and BHA products; effective skin-lightening options; gentle cleansers; toners that go beyond the norm; all sunscreens provide broad spectrum protection (including UVA-screening ingredients); proven anti-acne products; antioxidant-rich serums and moisturizers; anti-aging products that work as claimed; gentle yet effective natural products; most foundations provides sun protection and come in a range of neutral colors; unique brow products; on-the-go teeth whitener; lipstick with sunscreen; impressive, reasonably priced makeup brushes; samples are available for most products.

Weaknesses: Does not offer a complete collection of makeup; makeup shade range isn’t as extensive for darker skin tones; limited concealer options.

Disclosure: Paula Begoun is creator of Beautypedia and founder of Paula's Choice Skincare products. Reviewing thousands of skincare and makeup products over the past 30 years, both on this site and in her best-selling books, Paula's mission has always been to help consumers find the best products possible for their skin. The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains this commitment. In addition, The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same rating standards and criteria, whether it is a Paula's Choice product or another brand.

Paula's Choice Skincare was established in 1995 when best-selling beauty author and consumer advocate Paula Begoun (known as The Cosmetics Cop) decided to develop her own products. Like most of us, she was fed up with products that overpromised results, cost a lot of money, and failed to deliver—or made matters worse!

As a natural evolution of Paula's personal mission to help consumers find the best products for their skin, the line has grown into an extensive range of skincare and makeup products that are formulated to meet the needs of almost every skin type and skin concern imaginable. From acne to wrinkles, oily skin, rosacea, large pores, eczema, redness, sagging, dry skin, and on and on, Paula's Choice offers a solution.

Paula's Choice Skincare stands apart from other cosmetics brands. The formulas contain only ingredients that have substantiated, published research showing they are beneficial and effective—so you get visible results. Stable packaging is another feature of the brand, using innovative, opaque, and air-tight or air-restrictive components that keep antioxidants and other light- and air-sensitive ingredients from breaking down (unlike jar packaging, which compromises what might otherwise be an effective formula). The line is also 100% fragrance-free, which is best for all skin types, especially for those with sensitive skin or rosacea.

From cleansers to broad-spectrum sunscreens to anti-aging serums to specialized treatments, Paula's Choice Skincare has you covered from head to toe with innovative, state-of-the-art products. The brand also offers professional-quality makeup products including concealer, foundation, eyeshadow, lipstick, and more. (Paula started out as a makeup artist so she definitely knows her way around a face!)

Paula's Choice Skincare does not test on animals and also takes an environmentally friendly approach by featuring minimalist, recyclable packaging. Another plus—the Customer Service team is among the best in the industry, offering a "100% satisfaction or your money back" guarantee.

For more information about Paula's Choice, call (800) 831-4088 or visit www.paulaschoice.com.

Why are all Paula's Choice Skincare products rated highly? The Paula's Choice Skincare Team would not launch a product unless it was worthy of a high rating from The Beautypedia Team. Paula and The Beautypedia Team were researching and reviewing products long before Paula's Choice Skincare ever existed and consumers were constantly requesting a skincare brand that met all of Beautypedia's criteria. As a result, The Paula's Choice Skincare Team was created and uses the same research and criteria to formulate Paula's Choice products as The Beautypedia Team uses to review products.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.17.2015
Disappointed and damaged

Dried out my face, caused horrible red rash.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Cate Z.
03.17.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  I am so sorry to hear that you had an unfavorable experience with this product.  I will forward your message on to the Paula's Choice Customer Care Team so that they can reach out to you regarding a refund or exhange.

-Beautypedia Team

—Beautypedia Team
02.16.2015
Only thing that has worked for my acne

I've had a perpetual case of acne since I was about 14. I've literally tried almost everything imaginable with only slight temporary improvement at best. This product has actually completely retextured my skin. It looks smooth, glowing, and after 4 months of use my skin looks almost completely different, as if I've always had clear skin. After a decade of constant acne, it's pretty amazing. It's more than I've spent on any other skincare product but totally worth it + the bottle lasts forever.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.06.2015
Great

Love this product. It exfoliates my skin very well and makes it look healthy and radiant. Great for my combination skin.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Mahtab Nejad
01.29.2015
Amazed

This was my 1st time with a skin care product that wasn't cheap drugstore product. I'm in my mid 30s so I tried something more expensive. Paula's choice had good reviews and didn't cost an arm and a leg. Blackheads have been the bane of my existence for 2 decades. I used this in combination with the lotion for the 1st time last night and could't believe my eyes when I woke up this morning. Blackheads 75% better and no dry skin! One time and my skin is freaking amazing! I couldn't be happier!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Carey C.
10.22.2014
Loving it

Just loving it! I had combination skin with a pimple every now and then, but for the last year (I'm 34) hormonal reasons I suppose have caused stubborn breakouts. (For no reason)I bought garnier lotion to remove my make up and that stupid move caused irritated skin, redness and dry skin to my face and my breakouts around my cheek Gotten worse. So I bought this. I'm using it only for 2 weeks but my skin looks better every single day!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Annie M.
09.11.2014
I can't believe the difference!

As a 20 year old who had suffered from closed comedones on my forehead since I age 13, I had almost given up the idea of having perfectly clear skin. However, I did some research, and thought I would try out PC's BHA 2% liquid. The first night I used this liquid, I woke up with visibly less bumps. I honestly could not believe it! This has been a miracle for me, and my skin just keeps getting better. It's only been a little over a week, and cannot wait to see the effects on a long term scale.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Victoria W.
09.01.2014
Best product ever

I have never been happier with any product, ever. It's like it was made exactly for my skin. Since turning 30 my skin became acne prone and pores became easily clogged. I tried everything I could find, wasting so much money and time. I saw this product on a blog and took a chance on it. I've used it faithfully for 4 months. I've since tried several other PC products and can't express how much I love everything. So thankful I read that blog :)

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
karen m.
08.26.2014
Good on my oily and sensitive skin

I liked this BHA. It did not irritate my skin and seemed to help with blemishes. Not as well as my benzoyl peroxide but together they work great. I definitely prefer this over the toners so far. Even though I do like it I am not sure if I like it enough to reorder when I am out. Maybe in the future but not right now.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Alicia L.
05.30.2014
Amazing!

Absolutely fabulous! I have sensitive, black head prone skin and this little wonder has made miracles in less than 2 weeks. Im sooooo impressed!!!!! Im sure I am annoying the heck out of people with my raving about Paula's choice but I feel the world should know how great her products really are, dont hold back and buy it!!!!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Khyla J.
05.23.2014
Made Little Difference

I really wanted and expected this product to work wonders, because I do believe that Paula's products are well formulated/based on research. But after faithfully using this product for about two years (call me persistent!), it did not really reduce, let alone eliminate, my clogged pores. I was using it with other Paula's Choice skincare products too, so go figure.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Maya
09.09.2013
phenomenal.

This is the very first PC product I ever bought, and 15 (?) years later I still use it. Actually, this used to be the ONLY skin care product I used besides cleanser. It made my acne go away, made my skin radiant and kept razor burn at bay. It still does all of those things. I have recommended this product to countless friends over the years -- even ones who don't care very much about skin care. Without fail, everyone is amazed by the results. I can't imagine having to live without this stuff.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
DUSTIN R.
07.11.2013
skin perfecting 2% BHA liquid

i have been using PC products for more than 2 months. and i want to thank Paula and her team for the awesome products,that work and not overpriced. with the help of brand reviews i can shop drugstore products,not only sephora and other department stores. i am glad to receive a good service and all the products are delivered fast. So just give a try for PC products, inst of spending $ on overhyped products. many Pc products has same or better ingredients as luxury and expensive cosm products

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Altynai M.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.389 4/25/2015 9:31:58 AM