12.09.2014
12
1546
Retinol Fusion PM
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $65
Last Updated:12.09.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This is a very good non-aqueous, silicone-based serum with retinol. It also includes antioxidant vitamins C and E along with a cell-communicating ingredient and anti-irritant. The fragrance-free formula is best for normal to dry skin. The amount of alcohol is so small as to not be cause for concern; likely it’s present to make an ingredient in this serum more soluble. As for the amount of retinol, the company claims it is present at 1.5%. Based on the ingredient list, there's no reason to dispute this; however, be aware that this amount of retinol increases the risk of side effects such as redness and flaking.

Note: This serum is dispensed via a dropper applicator. Although not the ideal method to dispense a serum that contains light- and air-sensitive ingredients, sometimes this type of packaging is necessary due to formulary requirements. When that’s the case, the goal is to keep the bottle opening as small as possible, the bottle should be opaque or specially coated to protect the contents from light, and you should use the serum up within three months of opening.

Claims

Pure and potent encapsulated retinol regenerates, renews, and moisturizes skin tone and texture with retinol, vitamins C and E. Potent retinol serum delivers skin renewing benefits via optimally concentrated miroencapsulated retinol for maximum results with minimum irritation. Skin’s renewal process is encouraged by PTR’s technologically advanced combination of encapsulated retinol, vitamins C and E to ensure stability and prime efficacy. Helps improve skin tone and texture to create a vibrant and healthy complexion. Helps reduce fine lines and wrinkles. Moisturizing formula minimizes redness and irritation. For normal to dry skin.

Ingredients

Cyclopentasiloxane, Squalane, Retinol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Tocopherol, Water, Pentylene Glycol, Polysorbate 20, Lecithin, Bisabolol, Alcohol

Brand Overview

Peter Thomas Roth At-A-Glance

Strengths: Provides complete ingredient lists on Web site; most products are fragrance-free; very good AHA products; wide selection of water-soluble cleansers and scrubs; some excellent sunscreens, benzoyl peroxide products, and many antioxidant-rich formulas.

Weaknesses: Can be pricey; some products contain irritants; jar packaging for several products that contain air and light sensitive ingredients.

Unique in the world of spa and salon specialty lines, Peter Thomas Roth is a large but straightforward line with mostly uncomplicated formulations that, for the most part, are quite good and state-of-the-art. Unlike many product lines, most of the acne, AHA, BHA, sunscreen, and moisturizing products contain what they should to be effective and helpful for skin.

A novel aspect of this line is that there are few (if any) nonsense ingredients. Roth products conspicuously lack the exotic, potentially irritating, sensitizing, and often unnecessary plant extracts and the irritating, fragrant plant oils that show up in most pricey skin-care lines, especially spa lines. Many of these are fragrance free, and lack the long lists of complicated ingredients—all great qualities for any skincare brand.

Even more impressive are the well-formulated cleansers, sunscreens, AHA products, and skin lighteners. The moisturizers have improved somewhat, and most are now packaged so that the light- and air-sensitive ingredients remain stable. In fact, Roth's packaging deserves special mention because it is exceptionally utilitarian and gender-friendly.

No pretty pink bottles, sexy curved jars, or bejeweled caps— which reinforces the clinical nature of Peter Thomas Roth. Overall, this line should be admired for its simplicity and, for the most part, for its well-thought-out formulations.

After all that glowing praise, what you should be aware of are the instances of products containing potential irritants (noted in their respective reviews) as well as the products in jar packaging that contain ingredients which are sensitive to air and light.

For more information about Peter Thomas Roth, call (800) PTR-SKIN or visit www.peterthomasroth.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.14.2015
Really fantastic

I was on Retin-A for many years, and my skin somehow never really got used to it. This Retinol serum, however, I can use every night without any irritation, and I see better skin every time I use it. I always pair it with Paula's Choice C15, and together they make my skin glow the next day. I have very dry acneic skin, but I also just passed 30 and have fine lines on my forehead that these products really address. I consider it a good value for the money because this one bottle has lasted ages.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.09.2015
Even I can tolerate this item!

I have very sensitive skin, and I have tried countless products with retinol that promise to be "encapsulated" to prevent burns/drying of the skin. This one is the ONLY retinol my dry, sensitive skin can tolerate. I have not used this near the mouth/nasolabial folds since I have had so many burns @ that location from potent skin care products;many by PTR. That area is more sensitive & dry w/ fewer oil glands as per my DERM. I would never use @ my eye area, BUT YOU CAN! My skin is very thin/dry.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Stacey W.
08.07.2015
Does this moisturize as well??

I've been using this product for over a year and I love it!! I was wondering if I am supposed to use a moisturizer over this product at night??

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.11.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Thanks for writing in.  You can use this product on its own or with a moisturizer, as long as you use it at night.  If you use it during the day, we'd definitely recommend a moisturizer with SPF but at night, if you feel as though your skin doesn't need the extra moisture, you are just fine leaving this at the last step in your routine.  :)

—Admin
06.21.2015
Love my skin!

I use this at night instead of serum with my Loreal future E moisturizer. And boy do I love my skin! I have been using a regenerating serum during the day . I read reviews that say actually helps acne. I got this in a deluxe sample size for free at jcp sephora. I don't know if will purchase a full size. This is gentle enough for my sensitive skin.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Annette D.
06.19.2015
I see a discernible difference.

When I first tried this, I hated the dropper application but was swayed by the results I saw- smoother, clearer, brighter skin. I have oily, acne-prone skin and-unlike other skin care products- I can see that this stuff is really working. I transfer an ounce at a time into a smaller sample-size dropper (3.5ml) so as not to expose the whole bottle to too much air and light. I also like that it's a fairly-priced blend of retinol at 1.5% and vitamin C and other proven antioxidants.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Geo C
02.09.2015
Really works

I have been using this for about two weeks, along with the gentle foaming cleanser and glycolic moisturiser - it has smoothed out my skin tone, hasn't caused any irritation and really seems to be helping my cystic acne and the overall texture of my skin. I ordered these after seeing the Paula's Choice reviews, so thank you so much!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Kate B
12.30.2014
Great!

This is a WONDERFUL product. I am now 40 and I started using it yesterday. I can already, ALREADY see a difference under my eyes. Cheers!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Brandy B
12.03.2013
Best skincare purchase ever

I got this in a kit and loved everything about it. I have always used PTR's Unwrinkle Peel Pads and liked those. I also use PTR's Laser Free serum and Regenerator gel moisterizer...I am happy with all of those, if I could only use 1 product from PTR it would be the Retinol Fusion PM. My skin transforms as I sleep...glowy skin in the morning. I use it every night with no irritation or redness. I am in my mid-forties..I have a 25 year old daughter and some people think we are sisters!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
10.28.2013
Love it!

I have tried this product after having read the Beautypedia reviews - this is a BEST product. I got a sample and after a few weeks I bought the full bottle. My skin is dry and this product helps balancing it. The tone of my complexion is getting super even and my skin glows. No nasty reactions or redness or flakiness. The packaging isnt the best, but the product is very liquid so no alternatives. I'm going to try also the PTR sunscreen and the glycolic cream. Easy to find online at special price

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
IsabelB
09.08.2013
Loved it!

This was the best retinol product I've ever tried! Loved it! The bottle is a bit problematic (always think I'm going to drop and spill the product) but I think it is necessary to be like that. Even though it appears a bit small and pricey it last more than 4 months so it worth it. This product was the only one (combined with other PTR products) that controlled my problematic skin (blemish and acne prone). For someone that want to experience it I'd suggest to try the starter kit.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.07.2013
Best OTC Retinol

Best Retinol product I have ever used. My skin is slightly oily and many retinol products cause blocked pores because they are cream based. The texture of this slightly emollient liquid is perfect. Have had noticeable results with no irritation from this product. I use it alternately with RX Retin-A and on neck and chest areas which are too sensitive for full strength Retin-A.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.16.2012
Great Product

I love this, nothing else works on my skin. I started with the starter pack anti-aging skin care, which lasts 6 weeks from Sephora. I am still on the sample size bottle of Retinol PM and my skins looks great. The big bottles of face wash and etc. last about 6 months, so well worth the $35. My husband likes the anit-acne kit.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Kel
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.411 8/28/2015 2:37:48 PM