12.17.2014
7
21
Cold Cream Cleanser
Rating
9.5 fl. oz. for $8.29
Last Updated:12.17.2014
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Cold Cream Cleanser is the classic cold cream and a very old-fashioned way to cleanse and remove all types of makeup. Cleansers like this are an option only if you have very dry skin and prefer a heavy-duty, greasy texture. This is absolutely not recommended for blemish-prone or oily skin. To find out what we do whole-heartedly recommend, check out our Best Cleansers list!

Claims

The classic rich cream deep cleans down to the pores to remove even the most stubborn make-up and impurities, while leaving skin soft and smooth.

Ingredients

Mineral Oil, Water, Ceresin, Beeswax, Triethanolamine, Behenic Acid, Fragrance, Ceteth-20, Cetyl Alcohol, Carbomer, DMDM Hydantoin, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Methylparaben

Brand Overview

Pond's At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive.

Weaknesses:  No products to manage blemish-prone skin.

There's over 160 years of history for this drugstore line of products, beginning with a toner in 1846 and leading to the Pond's collection of today. For the most part, Pond's has taken a cue from Dove (both are owned by Unilever) and launched several impressive products to capitalize on what current research shows skin needs to look and function its best. Some old (we mean really old) standbys still exist, including the original cold cream, but we suppose there will always be a segment of the population that remains steadfast in their devotion to a certain product. Regrettably, some of the newer items include needless irritants for skin, and that’s doubly frustrating because the formulas also contain many beneficial ingredients for skin.

It's no secret that Pond's target market is women over 40. They say as much in ads and on their Web site, which takes an almost gleeful approach to what they describe as "the beauty of aging." By "beauty" they mean the increased confidence and sense of self-awareness that tends to come with age—not the appearance of wrinkles, discolorations, and loss of firmness. It's an overall positive approach and one that likely appeals to many forty-something women. But what's even better is the selection of Pond's products that are affordable and that can successfully meet some of the needs of those dealing with signs of aging (in truth mostly sun damage) and trying to protect their skin. Pond's isn't as well-rounded as some of its drugstore competitors such as Olay, Neutrogena, Dove, or even, to some extent L'Oreal, but by no means should Pond's products be dismissed, either (and Dove's skin-care assortment tends to waver more than most, which makes assembling a comprehensive routine tricky).

For more information about Pond’s, call (800) 909-9493 or visit www.ponds.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.24.2015
Removes waterproof makeup

It removes waterproof foundation better than anything I've used. I've tried many many stuff such as Neutrogena deep clean cleansing lotion, Bioderma sensibio H2O, Broujois pink tube, some Estee Lauder stuff, and even olive oil. I don't know what it is but Ponds cold cream works the best. Of course it is very greasy so I wipe away the excessive left over grease with a cotton pad soaked in toner afterwards.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.04.2015
Angelina's Delight!

My mom has been using Ponds since she was a teen she is now 89 years old & her skin is just like a new born. She swears by this product in fact she can be the spokes person for your product. She looks like she is in her mid 70's believe me. If possible could you please e-mail me some coupons for Ponds Cold Cream as my mom is on a fixed income & my dad just recently passed away last year. Thank you, Donna Berlicchi

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Donna
06.04.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi, Donna!  We're thrilled that your mother has found a lifelong favorite product :)  Here at Beautypedia, however, we actually have no affiliation with Ponds, so unfortunately we do not have coupons to pass along.  If you contact the brand directly from their website (http://www.ponds.com) they may be able to help you out!

—Admin
02.21.2015
eye cream

I use Ponds cold cream under my eyes as a moisturizer...under make up. It makes it nice snd smooth! Better then sny eye cream i have used.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.01.2014
Dry skin and TV makeup

I have severely dry skin, especially in the winter and occasionally have to do TV appearances -- which entails lots of heavy foundation, powder, eyeshadow etc. This stuff cleans all that make up away and leaves my skin feeling happy and moisturized, but not at all tight. I'm not sure I would use it every day (my normal make up routine is far lighter), but I would recommend if you need to remove a cake from your face.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
JG
06.19.2013
Oldie but Goodie

I have Gobi Desert skin so this product is perfect for me. It's been around for ages - my mother used it and I am nearly 70. It's wonderful for winter-dry skin. I massage it in and remove with a dry wash cloth. I do switch to a lighter product in the summer because I live in a southern state with high humidity (which really helps to soften wrinkles). It's affordable and readily available (you can buy it just about anywhere. I give it 5 stars for severely dry skin.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anne
02.13.2013
Rediscovered this product and love it

I bought this product for my daughter to remove stage/dance makeup. I tried it on my combination skin and I expected my skin to feel greasy either immediately or after a few hours. Surprisingly, my skin remained very soft and not greasy at all. Sometimes I feel that over-washing can stimulate oil. Not sure if there is any scientific evidence about that. I should mention I massaged it into my skin and used a warm washcloth to remove - not tissues. I am very pleased with this product (and I have tried many, many expensive brands).

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Mary Kay
02.10.2013
good for oily skin too

I no longer use Pond's since its reformulation (the additional preservatives are irritating to my face) but it would be a shame if people with oily skin walked away thinking cold cream is never for them. I have an oily and clog-prone t-zone and cold cream (including Ponds before the reformulation) has been instrumental in keeping it clear and soft. I think that using an oily cleanser and massaging well (and then removing all the dirt and cold cream, that part is important) can be very effective at loosening clogged pores and helping sebum to flow smoothly rather than clogging.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Kristine C.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.421 9/4/2015 1:19:34 AM