Gentle Cleansing Wash

by Purpose  
Price:
$6.49 - 6 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:
4/1/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Gentle Cleansing Wash is distinctly preferred to Purpose's Gentle Cleansing Bar, and remains a gentle, effective water-soluble cleanser for all skin types except very dry. For the record, this cleanser is identical to Clean & Clear’s Foaming Facial Cleanser, Sensitive Skin (which costs less yet you get a larger size). Both companies are owned by Johnson & Johnson.

This foaming cleanser is 100% soap-free, so it removes dirt, oil and make-up without stripping or drying like soap can. And it won't sting your eyes, so it's ideal for removing eye make-up.

Water, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-150 Distearate, Sodium Lauroampho PG-Acetate Phosphate, Fragrance, Quaternium-15, Tetrasodium EDTA

Johnson & Johnson–owned Purpose is a very small line of products that make a big deal out of their gentleness and suitability for sensitive skin. We have a lot of respect for many J&J products, particularly in their Neutrogena and Aveeno lines; however, Purpose is best summed up by a purposeful "don't bother." There is only one great product in this line, and it can also be found (for less money) in the Clean & Clear line (and that line also offers a fragrance-free version of the cleanser). The remaining products are absolutely not "gentle enough for all skin types, even sensitive skin." That's because none of them contain ingredients that are what sensitive skin needs to look and feel better. The bar soap is drying and the fragrance irritating, while the daytime moisturizers contain potentially sensitizing ingredients, including active sunscreen agents that no research anywhere has proven capable of reducing facial redness.

For more information about Purpose, owned by Johnson & Johnson, call (866) 344-4848 or visit www.purposeskincare.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. CAROL M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, September 24, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Excellent cleanser
    • Great cleanser! My skin is sensitive but combination leaning towards the oily. MY skin would turn red after using every one of Paula's Choice cleansers. I tried them all! I find this to be extremely gentle yet effective in removing makeup. However, a simple look at the ingredient list show that is NOT the same as Clean & Clear's Essential Foaming facial cleanser. This cleanser has one less ingredient. So not the same.

  2. Paul A
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 04, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Not for me or my female friend
    • Used in past and gave me small bumps all over the face. Thinking it could be other face care products I use in conjunction I reused it recently because of high ranking from Paula and same thing. Had a female friend who usually uses bar soap on face give this a try and she ended up with small bumps all over her face and it makes our faces oily within an hour after use. She has great normal skin and I have not so good combo. Will never use or purchase again. Going to have to return it. :(

  3. Rachel H.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Does not irritate my skin or eyes
    • My aesthetician recommended Purpose to get me off Proactiv. It doesn't contain anti-acne ingredients, but I've found that if I use it daily along with a light moisturizer I do not need the anti-acne medication! I use this with Witch Hazel as an astringent and Boots Expert Sensitive Hydrating Serum. These three products come to less than $10 a month- a $20/month savings compared to what I was paying for Proactiv! (I know some people are anti-witch hazel, but it doesn't irritate me either.)

  4. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 16, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Not for me:(
    • My experience is the same as many of the other reviewers. After using it for a couple of days, my skin was really dry with little red, rash-like bumps. I had tried it when I ran out of Acne.org cleanser. I switched right back to the Acne.org cleanser when it came in the mail!

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, July 03, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Anonymous
    • I started using this product as a face and body wash. I thought if it was advertised as gentle enough for my sensitive skin it would be good for my body too. Well, shortly after using it I got a rash on both of my arms, my chest and my face became really dried out. I thought it was just me but I see I am not alone. This stuff must be like detergent. It is not gentle but harsh. I am just getting past the itching and the blisters. I will have to throw it away.

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, June 30, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Terrible! Very irritating to facial ski
    • I have rosacea, and unfortunately my insurance doesn't cover the prescription medications for it. I was having a terrible flare-up and searching for a mild, non-oily cleanser when I happened across Paula's glowing review for this. Paula is supposed to be an expert, so I bought a bottle to try. However, immediately after washing my face, my skin began burning and the next day I had peeling on my cheeks. Even my hands were chapped and cracked by this skin cleanser. I don't recommend it at all.

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, June 30, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Gentle Cleansing Wash by Purpose
    • I tried this years ago but HATED the smell. It smelled of detergent. I felt I was washing my face with a floor cleaner.

  8. Szymon W
    Reviewed on Friday, July 19, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Possible irritants
    • While I'm sure this cleanser is gentle for most people, I found it irritating. It contains Fragrance and a formaldehyde releaser Quaternium-15, which some people may be sensitive to

  9. LL
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 09, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Removes Makeup Easily without Tight Feeling
    • Love the transparent simple packaging, size & price...great value. Foams easily & cleans gently but thoroughly. I'm a fan.

  10. chelle276
    Reviewed on Friday, December 07, 2012
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Cleans well and doesn't strip skin
    • I've been using Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash for years and I love it. It's affordable, easy to find in stores and it works. It does an excellent job of cleaning my skin without leaving it dry or tight. It removes makeup well, but I do have to use a separate eye makeup remover.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.344 10/24/2014 12:09:28 PM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.