12.17.2014
14
677
Gentle Cleansing Wash
Rating
6 fl. oz. for $6.49
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:12.17.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Gentle Cleansing Wash is distinctly preferred to Purpose's Gentle Cleansing Bar, and remains a gentle, effective water-soluble cleanser for all skin types except very dry. For the record, this cleanser is identical to Clean & Clear’s Foaming Facial Cleanser, Sensitive Skin (which costs less yet you get a larger size). Both companies are owned by Johnson & Johnson.

Claims

This foaming cleanser is 100% soap-free, so it removes dirt, oil and make-up without stripping or drying like soap can. And it won't sting your eyes, so it's ideal for removing eye make-up.

Ingredients

Water, PEG-80 Sorbitan Laurate, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-150 Distearate, Sodium Lauroampho PG-Acetate Phosphate, Fragrance, Quaternium-15, Tetrasodium EDTA

Brand Overview

Purpose At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive; one good cleanser.

Weaknesses: Bar soap; sunscreen that contains preservatives not recommended for use in leave-on products; claims that are not supported by intelligent formulas.

Johnson & Johnson–owned Purpose is a very small line of products that make a big deal out of their gentleness and suitability for sensitive skin. We have a lot of respect for many J&J products, particularly in their Neutrogena and Aveeno lines; however, Purpose is best summed up by a purposeful "don't bother." There is only one great product in this line, and it can also be found (for less money) in the Clean & Clear line (and that line also offers a fragrance-free version of the cleanser). The remaining products are absolutely not "gentle enough for all skin types, even sensitive skin." That's because none of them contain ingredients that are what sensitive skin needs to look and feel better. The bar soap is drying and the fragrance irritating, while the daytime moisturizers contain potentially sensitizing ingredients, including active sunscreen agents that no research anywhere has proven capable of reducing facial redness.

For more information about Purpose, owned by Johnson & Johnson, call (866) 344-4848 or visit www.purposeskincare.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.08.2015
drying

I purchased this because I saw online reviews saying people w/Rosacea used it & had good results. It didn't cause my Rosacea to flar, but it did dry my skin out. At first I was happy to have something I could safely use over my eyes, but then I realized that even when it only rinsed over my eyes I'd still have burning throughout the day (at first I thought it was my lotion or Rosacea burning). I don't see how it could have such a high PC rating. SOMETHING in it is bad for many people!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Dee, S.
04.02.2015
what a great cleanser!!!

OMG!!! I can't live without, VERY GENTLE AND CLEAN

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
rose adam
04.02.2015
great product ever !!!

I was given by my sister and i really love this...

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
ngoc tran
03.11.2015
Great!

This product is great! Great for sensitive and dry skin! Kills of acne too! Buy it! Super affordable.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Sarah Smith
09.24.2014
Excellent cleanser

Great cleanser! My skin is sensitive but combination leaning towards the oily. MY skin would turn red after using every one of Paula's Choice cleansers. I tried them all! I find this to be extremely gentle yet effective in removing makeup. However, a simple look at the ingredient list show that is NOT the same as Clean & Clear's Essential Foaming facial cleanser. This cleanser has one less ingredient. So not the same.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
CAROL M.
09.04.2014
Not for me or my female friend

Used in past and gave me small bumps all over the face. Thinking it could be other face care products I use in conjunction I reused it recently because of high ranking from Paula and same thing. Had a female friend who usually uses bar soap on face give this a try and she ended up with small bumps all over her face and it makes our faces oily within an hour after use. She has great normal skin and I have not so good combo. Will never use or purchase again. Going to have to return it. :(

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Paul A
08.26.2014
Does not irritate my skin or eyes

My aesthetician recommended Purpose to get me off Proactiv. It doesn't contain anti-acne ingredients, but I've found that if I use it daily along with a light moisturizer I do not need the anti-acne medication! I use this with Witch Hazel as an astringent and Boots Expert Sensitive Hydrating Serum. These three products come to less than $10 a month- a $20/month savings compared to what I was paying for Proactiv! (I know some people are anti-witch hazel, but it doesn't irritate me either.)

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rachel H.
07.16.2014
Not for me:(

My experience is the same as many of the other reviewers. After using it for a couple of days, my skin was really dry with little red, rash-like bumps. I had tried it when I ran out of Acne.org cleanser. I switched right back to the Acne.org cleanser when it came in the mail!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.03.2014
Anonymous

I started using this product as a face and body wash. I thought if it was advertised as gentle enough for my sensitive skin it would be good for my body too. Well, shortly after using it I got a rash on both of my arms, my chest and my face became really dried out. I thought it was just me but I see I am not alone. This stuff must be like detergent. It is not gentle but harsh. I am just getting past the itching and the blisters. I will have to throw it away.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.30.2014
Terrible! Very irritating to facial ski

I have rosacea, and unfortunately my insurance doesn't cover the prescription medications for it. I was having a terrible flare-up and searching for a mild, non-oily cleanser when I happened across Paula's glowing review for this. Paula is supposed to be an expert, so I bought a bottle to try. However, immediately after washing my face, my skin began burning and the next day I had peeling on my cheeks. Even my hands were chapped and cracked by this skin cleanser. I don't recommend it at all.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.30.2014
Gentle Cleansing Wash by Purpose

I tried this years ago but HATED the smell. It smelled of detergent. I felt I was washing my face with a floor cleaner.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.19.2013
Possible irritants

While I'm sure this cleanser is gentle for most people, I found it irritating. It contains Fragrance and a formaldehyde releaser Quaternium-15, which some people may be sensitive to

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Szymon W
02.09.2013
Removes Makeup Easily without Tight Feeling

Love the transparent simple packaging, size & price...great value. Foams easily & cleans gently but thoroughly. I'm a fan.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
LL
12.07.2012
Cleans well and doesn't strip skin

I've been using Purpose Gentle Cleansing Wash for years and I love it. It's affordable, easy to find in stores and it works. It does an excellent job of cleaning my skin without leaving it dry or tight. It removes makeup well, but I do have to use a separate eye makeup remover.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
chelle276
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.394 5/24/2015 12:16:43 AM