Revitalash Advanced Eyelash Conditioner

by RevitaLash  
Price:
$98 - 0.06 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Skin Care > Specialty Products > Lash Growth/ Lash Conditioners
Last Updated:
7/22/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Revitalash Advanced Eyelash Conditioner is a pricey, but effective, lash growth product available without a prescription. Although you may recognize some of the plant ingredients this contains, they have no impact on how this water-based, brush-on product performs—at least not in terms of making lashes longer, fuller, or darker. The same is true for the peptides in this product. There's no substantiated research proving they impact lash growth.

Instead, the ingredient in this fragrance-free formula that is most likely responsible for the results is known as dechloro dihydroxy difluoro ethylcloprostenolamide. This long ingredient is a synthetic prostaglandin analogue that seems to be unique to Athena Cosmetics, the company behind Revitalash.

Prostaglandin analogues are synthetic ingredients designed to bind to specific prostaglandin receptor sites on cells. When it comes to the potential for prostaglandin analogues to stimulate eyelash growth, the three most well- known options are bimatoprost, travoprost, and latanoprost. Among these, bimatoprost (the active ingredient in prescription Latisse) is the most well-researched for eyelash growth, though all have the same potential benefits and side effects (Sources: European Journal of Dermatology, November-December 2009, pages 586–587; Experimental Eye Research, April 2009, pages 786–791; Survey of Ophthalmology, November 2008, pages S93–S105; Expert Opinion on Drug Safety, January 2007, pages 45–52; Clinical and Experimental Ophthalmology, November 2006, pages 755–764; and Drugs in Aging, Volume 19, 2002, pages 231–248).

We suspect, though there's no solid research to prove it, that the prostaglandin analogue in Revitalash is responsible for its results on lash growth. A member of the Paula's Choice Research Team used this product and had been using a competing product, RapidLash. The staffer saw improvement with both products, though noted that RapidLash had the side effect of redness along the upper lash line, where lash growth products are applied. Normally, we don't comment in reviews on our personal experiences with products, but this is one we felt the extra info was warranted.

Is Revitalash better than Latisse? Not necessarily. For certain, the active ingredient in Latisse has more research (including about its safety) than Revitalash, but the ingredients in Revitalash seem to be well tolerated and none of the plant extracts are known to be problematic. Price-wise, Latisse costs a bit more but results may be more impressive. Our advice: Experiment with both and see which one works best for you. If you find they work equally well, decide with your pocketbook, though keep in mind the original version of RapidLash Eyelash Renewal Serum costs significantly less than either Revitalash or Lastisse.

Pros:
  • Contains an ingredient very likely to stimulate lash growth, leading to fuller, longer, healthier-looking lashes.
  • Fragrance-free.
  • Easy to apply: Brush on once nightly and see results in three to six weeks.
Cons:
  • Expensive given RapidLash Eyelash Renewal Serum also works and retails for about $50.

A remarkable cosmetic innovation that will dramatically enhance the beauty of your natural lashes.

Water (Aqua), Serenoa Serrulata Fruit Extract, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Dechloro Dihydroxy Difluoro Ethylcloprostenolamide, Biotin, Camellia Oleifera Leaf Extract, Swertia Japonica Extract, Biotinoyl Tripeptide 1, Octapeptide 2, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Protein, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenisen, Glycerin, Cellulose Gum, Butylene Glycol, Phosphoric Acid, Disodium Phosphate, Pentylene Glycol.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Alice
    Reviewed on Friday, June 27, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Amazing
    • I bought this serum based on PC research team review and comment. It truly works for me. I have been using it for 3 weeks. My eyelash significantly grows longer. Thanks for PC research team experts advice.

  2. joanne b.
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 26, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Wonderful
    • I know this causes redness on the upper lid but for the amount of lash growth it stimulates, I think it is worth it. I use it every other night and see results within a couple of weeks. I wear L'oreal double extend mascara and people swear I have fake lashes, which I don't!

  3. Jina
    Reviewed on Monday, March 03, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    eh... not so good
    • I've tried Revitalash but these hurt and burn my eyes. After applying it... I'd get all sorts of reactions to it and its to the point I can't use it. I'd rather go with I Max Eyelash conditioner as it worked for me and didn't make me want to gauge out my eyes.

  4. GEMMA M.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 04, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Revitalash advanced
    • I have used Revitalash and LiLash for a few years now. I have gotten great results from both. I learned about these products from your website, (my bible). I experienced itchiness along lash line, the only negative side effect. This last review was a bit confusing because of a typo. Please check. Your reviewer compares revitalash to revitalash. Instead of revitalash/rapidlash. As a result, we do not know which caused the red line at the lash line. I assume it is the Revitalash.

  5. Bunny Z
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 06, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Revitalash? Rapidlash? Latisse?
    • I am unclear which products the staffer used (paragraph 4). Revitalash? Rapidlash? Latisse? This review would make more sense if you could edit the review and clarify this, please. Thanks

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Thursday, November 07, 2013

    The reviewer used all of them.

    —Admin

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.348 11/1/2014 5:38:19 AM
Skip to Top of Page
FREE Shipping on Everything   |   FREE Antioxidant Retinol Serum on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.