12.02.2014
13
1027
Revlon
Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup
Rating
$13.99
Category:Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products > Foundations without Sunscreen > Cream-to-Powder Foundation
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:Yes
Overview

This fragrance-free foundation is reminiscent of cream-to-powder makeup but gets the “whipped” part of its name from the bouncy, mousse-like texture that blends smoothly over skin. It has a satin matte finish that offers a lit- from-within glow that’s ideal for those with normal to oily skin (it doesn’t make oily areas appear overly shiny, but allows the matte finish to look dimensional rather than flat).

Colorstay Whipped Crème Makeup offers several flattering shades for light to deep skin tones with medium to full coverage that holds up well throughout the day. Just be sure to not apply it too thickly or it will look cakey and overdone. The jar packaging is heavy and cumbersome, so make sure you're OK with that before buying (this isn't a foundation that's ideal for traveling with). Also, in regard to the jar packaging, although it does compromise the effectiveness of the antioxidants, those ingredients are typically an after-thought for makeup. Be sure to use a clean brush or sponge (not fingers) for the most hygienic application.

Pros:

  • Mousse-like texture blends smoothly and evenly.
  • Cream-to-powder, satin matte finish works for normal to oily skin.
  • Fragrance-free.
  • Medium to full coverage.
  • Flattering shades for light to deep skin tones.

Cons:

  • Looks cakey if applied too thickly.
Claims
Ingredients

Dimethicone, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Water, Isododecane, PEG/PPG 19/19 Dimethicone, Trisiloxane, Trimethylsioxysilicate, C 13 16 Isoparaffin, Adipic Acid/Neopentyl Glycol Crosspolymer, Boron Nitride, Dimethicone/Bis Isobutyl PPG-20 Crosspolymer, C10-13 Isoparaffin, Glycerin, Salicylic Acid, Tocopherol, Lactobacillus/Eriodictyon Californicum Ferment Extract, Cymbidium Grandiflorum Flower Extract, Lilium Candidum Bulb Extract, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Serica (Silk), Alumina, Polyisobutene, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Cyclodextrin, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Silica, Methicone, Sodium Chloride, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Propylene Carbonate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Silica Silylate, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, 1, 2 Hexanediol

May Contain: Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxide, Zinc Oxide

Brand Overview

Revlon At-A-Glance

Strengths: Superior foundations with sunscreen and each of them provide sufficient UVA protection (though one has a disappointing SPF 6); several outstanding concealers and powders; one of the best cream blushes around; great cream eyeshadow and liquid eyeliner; a beautiful selection of elegant lipsticks, lip gloss, and lipliner; some worthwhile specialty products.

Weaknesses: Average eye and brow pencils; inaccurate claims surrounding their Botafirm complex; mostly average to disappointing mascaras.

It may surprise some of you to know that Revlon has been around since 1932, when the company launched a unique nail polish that used pigments instead of dyes. Lipsticks followed years later, and then a full line of cosmetics, which is how we know Revlon today. Although the company has had its continual share of ups and downs over the years (largely due to out-of-control debt coupled with aggressive spending), the line has recently made numerous improvements, especially in the realms of foundations, powders, eyeshadows, and mascaras. It is quite a feat that Revlon products earned more Paula's Pick ratings per category than any other drugstore line reviewed. If their goal was to close the competitive gap between themselves and L'Oreal, for the most part they have succeeded. Revlon definitely has the edge for foundations with reliable sunscreens. But despite Revlon's attempt to improve their mascara range, L'Oreal remains the clear winner (as well as L'Oreal-owned Maybelline New York).

Revlon's vast selection of makeup is divided into three main brands: Age Defying for the forty-something and older woman concerned about wrinkles, ColorStay for the teen to mid-thirties woman concerned about keeping oily skin in check and making sure her makeup stays put, and PhotoReady for women of all ages. These brands present some outstanding options and include products for all skin types (although the range of skin tones is not as well-represented here as it is by L'Oreal).

An intriguing fact is that the longevity claims for ColorStay are quite accurate: this collection of products really does offer extraordinary staying power. Conversely, Revlon jumped on the works-like-Botox bandwagon with their Age Defying range, going so far as to name their antiwrinkle complex Botafirm. Is there any confusion about what that term is supposed to relate to? Despite the claims, Botafirm won't reduce expression lines or control the muscles that cause them, though the products themselves do have many impressive qualities.

Note:Revlon is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Revlon may not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

Suffice it to say, Revlon has more commendable products than ever before, and although they rely heavily on celebrity spokespersons, their best products ably speak for themselves.

For more information about Revlon, call (800) 473-8566 or visit www.revlon.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
12.30.2014
Works beautifully on prepped skin

I used to have oily skin, until menopause. Now it is supersensitive. I use the four-step PC Skin Recovery system beforehand, and then smooth this lightly over my face with my freshly washed fingers. I may have to smooth it out just a bit once in the wrinkles under my eyes and on my forehead, but once it sets, it's good to go! I layer a bit more on the red patches on my cheeks and the bridge of my nose, and then Boom! Great stuff.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Kathryn F.
11.13.2014
My favorite! So far...

I have tried MANY drugstore foundations in the search of the perfect foundation that will stay on my oily face all day and yet still look natural. This is the best one I've found so far. Pros: - It lasts all day. - Nice matte finish. Cons: - The packaging is stupid. Very stupid. Impossible to get a sponge in there. Dropped it and a chunk of glass broke off. - It's very easy to overdo this making it look cakey and unnatural. - A little pricey. I used it up pretty quickly.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.20.2014
Awesome, even for dry skin!

Regarding the SPF review below, I believe it *used* to have SPF. This is what I would consider full coverage, but I disagree with the cakiness comments. In fact, it makes my skin look like porcelain. I have neutral-based fair skin, & I wear Soft Beige. Not quite a true neutral, but it's the closest thing I've seen. I wear on special occasions/nights out; otherwise, I use Everyday Minerals matte base in 4N daily over moisturizer/sunscreen. I have normal-to-dry skin and use 0.05% Retin A daily

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.22.2014
Cakey

I am still shocked by how cakey this foundation is. The beautypedia description recommends that I don't use too much to avoid the cakeyness, however, that is not possible. It doesn't spread over my skin evenly if I use a small amount, so my choices are cakey or smudgy. Also, I have oily skin and use blotting sheets and the foundation comes off on the blotting sheets, which ends up leaving spotty marks on my face. Not very happy with this product.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
STACEY F.
04.22.2014
Better than MAC pro-longwear!

This is a great foundation! It goes on easily, covers well and stays put. I have combo skin dry with an oily T zone and prone to breakouts. I have it in Sand Beige and when I first put it on it looks a little light but give it a few minutes and it's the perfect color. I returned my MAC pro-longwear foundation in NC20, because the Revlon is so much better! To apply I use fingers to smooth over my face and a sponge to stipple on, if needed, then once it's on even just leave it alone to set.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
K S.
03.09.2014
Smelly

For me, this foundation is just okay. I am oily and it does a good job with oily skin, but I can't get around the smell. For something that is fragrance free, it has a weird chemical smell that burns my eyes. The price is right, but if I can afford it, I prefer to go with something like Estee Lauder Double Wear Light.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
April
01.07.2014
Almost perfection...

Great Product, great makeup. A little expensive for a Revlon product, but I could handle that, if Revlon would just go cruelty-free. There is just no need. Sigh.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
10.25.2013
Normal - Dry Skin

I love this product! I have fairly normal - dry skin and my skin can get too red and hard to cover. This product does a wonderful job of covering and providing full coverage all day long. The only thing about this is that right before applying this product, i make sure to use a fairly good moisturizer in order to avoid using too much of the product and preventing my face from absorbing too much of the foundation. It's my all time favorite!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Monica
09.29.2013
CAKEY

Using brush, fingers, damp sponge, dry sponge I could not get this foundation to work for me. So many rave reviews but I don't really understand the hype! The shades are quite off if your pale with neutral undertones in yellow as I am since most of these shades are beige, tan colours. I was not happy with this and would not recommend it.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
ANONYMOUS
07.29.2013
revlon colorstay whipped creme foundation

Thank you, Paula, for your review on this product. You helped me find great foundation for my oily/combination skin type. It is trully is a great product!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.08.2013
Best foundation in many years, except sunscreen omission

Love this foundation! (Reminiscent of a Maybelline product many years ago calling itself whipped foundation. Sadly, Maybelline changed the formulation to a chalky version). This Revlon foundation lasts well, and gives terrific coverage. Its only flaw is the lack of sunscreen. When I purchased it, I swear it said sun screen on the packaging, however, I find no mention of it on the jar. I bought it only a couple months ago...has it changed since then?

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
linnie
04.05.2013
Love it

I love this foundation, although, i find that it doesnt hold up very well around 8th hour of wearing. I found myself bummed because it didnt have sunscreen but when I bought the second package it said it had 15 SPF. Was I daydreaming?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Paola P
04.08.2013
Paula's Choice Research Team Response

Thank you for your comments! All our research so far indicates that this foundation doesn't include SPF, though companies are certainly reformulating products all the time! We'll continue to investigate and update our review if any changes are made.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
01.16.2013
Colorstay whipped cream makeup be revlon

Could be perfect but for the omission of sunscreen. Still, I will use at night. It does wear for a long time, staying fresh looking

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Susyb
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.376 3/5/2015 2:19:32 PM