12.23.2014
17
1478
Colorburst Lip Butters
Rating
$7.49
Category:Makeup > Lipsticks
Last Updated:12.23.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

With a rich texture somewhere between that of a lip balm and a lipstick, Revlon's Lip Butters are a wonderfully moisturizing treat for lips. Packaged like a traditional lipstick, they slick on easily, leaving a soft wash of sheer color with just the right amount of pop and a shiny finish. These are sheer enough to be versatile for daytime or casual wear, but vibrant enough to get noticed. A wide array of truly gorgeous shades means there's an option for everyone!

Pros:
  • Rich texture feels like a lip balm/lipstick hybrid.
  • Leaves a soft wash of sheer yet vibrant color.
  • Provides moisture and a shiny finish.
  • Versatile, can be used for a casual or polished look.
  • Wide array of shades.
  • Inexpensive.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims
Ingredients

Polybutene, Bis Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate 2, Tridecyl Trimelitate, Octyldodecanol, Petrolatum, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Neopentyl Glycol Dithylhexanoate, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Polyethylene, Ozokerite, Cetyl PEG/PPG 10/1 Dimethicone, Calcium Sodium Borosilicate, Calcium Aluminum Borosilicate, Hexyl Laurate, Polyglyceryl 4 Isostearate, Synthetic Fluorphlogopite, Cera Alba (Beeswax), Zinc Ricinoleate, Squalane, Silica, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Tocopheryl Acetate, Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Synthetic Wax, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Tribehenin, Sorbitan Isostearate, Isopropyl Titanium Triisostearate, Fragrance, BHT, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2 Hexanediol. May Contain:, Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850:1), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Red 33 Lake (CI 17200), Carmine (CI 75470), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Red 6 Lake (CI 15850), Red 28 Lake (CI 45410)

NOTE: Ingredients may vary by shade from the above listing.

Brand Overview

Revlon At-A-Glance

Strengths: Superior foundations with sunscreen and each of them provide sufficient UVA protection (though one has a disappointing SPF 6); several outstanding concealers and powders; one of the best cream blushes around; great cream eyeshadow and liquid eyeliner; a beautiful selection of elegant lipsticks, lip gloss, and lipliner; some worthwhile specialty products.

Weaknesses: Average eye and brow pencils; inaccurate claims surrounding their Botafirm complex; mostly average to disappointing mascaras.

It may surprise some of you to know that Revlon has been around since 1932, when the company launched a unique nail polish that used pigments instead of dyes. Lipsticks followed years later, and then a full line of cosmetics, which is how we know Revlon today. Although the company has had its continual share of ups and downs over the years (largely due to out-of-control debt coupled with aggressive spending), the line has recently made numerous improvements, especially in the realms of foundations, powders, eyeshadows, and mascaras. It is quite a feat that Revlon products earned more Paula's Pick ratings per category than any other drugstore line reviewed. If their goal was to close the competitive gap between themselves and L'Oreal, for the most part they have succeeded. Revlon definitely has the edge for foundations with reliable sunscreens. But despite Revlon's attempt to improve their mascara range, L'Oreal remains the clear winner (as well as L'Oreal-owned Maybelline New York).

Revlon's vast selection of makeup is divided into three main brands: Age Defying for the forty-something and older woman concerned about wrinkles, ColorStay for the teen to mid-thirties woman concerned about keeping oily skin in check and making sure her makeup stays put, and PhotoReady for women of all ages. These brands present some outstanding options and include products for all skin types (although the range of skin tones is not as well-represented here as it is by L'Oreal).

An intriguing fact is that the longevity claims for ColorStay are quite accurate: this collection of products really does offer extraordinary staying power. Conversely, Revlon jumped on the works-like-Botox bandwagon with their Age Defying range, going so far as to name their antiwrinkle complex Botafirm. Is there any confusion about what that term is supposed to relate to? Despite the claims, Botafirm won't reduce expression lines or control the muscles that cause them, though the products themselves do have many impressive qualities.

Note:Revlon is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Revlon may not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

Suffice it to say, Revlon has more commendable products than ever before, and although they rely heavily on celebrity spokespersons, their best products ably speak for themselves.

For more information about Revlon, call (800) 473-8566 or visit www.revlon.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.22.2015
The perfect sheer lip

I was super lucky to be tipped off by the s/a that Revlon lip stuff was going on sale for $3.99 the day after I was planning to buy this. But I was totally prepared to shell out $12 CA on the spot for this lip butter. I have two shades and both are lovely. My most recent purchase - Berry Smoothie - is perfect for summer. Highly recommended.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Liz H.
02.24.2015
Looove!

I absolutely love Revlon lip butters! I have tried sugar frosting, sorbet, fig jam, juicy papaya, pink lemonade, peach parfait and creme brûlée. I have actually completely used up at least 3 tubes. I will say that sorbet seems a bit less moisturizing than the other shades. Check out revlon's website for a handy swatch gallery.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Grace H
02.24.2015
Looove!

I absolutely love Revlon lip butters! I have tried sugar frosting, sorbet, fig jam, juicy papaya, pink lemonade, peach parfait and creme brûlée. I have actually completely used up at least 3 tubes. I will say that sorbet seems a bit less moisturizing than the other shades. Check out revlon's website for a handy swatch gallery.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Grace H
01.17.2015
Messy

I came back to look at these reviews, because I liked everything about this except it falls apart. I tried being really gentle but it still fell apart. Big chunks and product on the outside of the tube. I might try again to see if I got a dud- but at this rate it will be gone with a week and I have to use my finger to smooth the chunks that come off onto my lips.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Lcraft
11.09.2014
Really pretty, shine shades!

These are really lovely lipsticks, sort of like a gloss, balm, lipstick hybrid. The colors are a shiny, sheer pop of color! There aren't too many shades, but because they're sheer and shiny, most colors would look nice on many different skin tones. And you can't beat the price!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
11.05.2014
Too sheer!

Didn't like the feel.was too sheer. Put it on and almost instaneously took it off.I was excited to try it. So disappointed.Selected sugar plum and red velvet.only tried sugar plum.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Annette D.
05.24.2014
Dry out lips

Great products, absolutely gorgeous colors, smooths on like butter and so comfortable. It's just rather unfortunate that they dry out my lips, especially when the gloss and mostly color is gone - and I have NO idea why, because it's meant to moisturizing. I don't have any allergic reaction to it that I can tell - although perhaps the dried out lips is an indication enough of this? I just can't stop myself from wearing them though. They're so beautiful! I just slather lip balm on.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.29.2014
Love it!

Because these are nice and sheer they are a great option if you are looking to try some bright colors but don't want to be overwhelmed. Bought Tutti Fruitti to try the spring orange lip trend. The color in the tube looks like something I would not normally attempt but it is soft and sheer. Very happy with the product. Nice and moisturizing, didn't cause my lips to flake, leaves a nice stain once it wears off.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
H
12.27.2013
Lovely Lips

I have Sugar Plum and it goes beautifully with my colour (I'm a Summer). I love the texture, the way my lips continue to feel soft, and how it doesn't accentuate lines on my lips. Only improvement would be staying power. Thanks Revlon.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Ame T
10.15.2013
Like Buttah!

I'm a self-professed lip-wear junkie (owning more than 150 lipsticks,butters, glosses, etc). For my money, Revlon makes some of the best lip products, including this one. Unlike their regular lipsticks, which tend to be a bit on the waxy side (but have lovely staying power and are non-drying), these lip butters are perfect for sheer coverage and are more creamy than waxy in texture, making lips feel amazing. I have love all 5 colors I own. They do need more frequent application, however.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Lynn M
09.15.2013
It's OK

As a lip balm junkie I could not wait to try these. I am fair with hazel eyes and brown hair and my natural lip color is somewhat red. I found it difficult to tell what shade to purchase due to the packaging. So I bought a number of colors. Peach Parfait and Juicy Papaya were to orange and Pink Truffle was to brown for me Berry Smoothie and Sugar Plum are very nice. Unfortunately, I found them to be very drying with no staying power.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.05.2013
Not that great

This only really good thing about this lip product is the wide range of colors, I will agree with that. However, they have absolutely no staying power. They wear off very quickly, too much like a lip gloss. I will not recommend unless you want to have the hassle of constantly applying it!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.28.2013
Excellent! And no fragrance or flavor!

Wow! First, let me say I agree with the Paula's Choice review. This is a great product! I like it more than the Super Lustrous lipstick. In the last couple of years, I've started to have trouble with lipstick bleeding at the corners of my mouth. Lip pencils don't seem to help. This is the only lipstick I've tried that doesn't bleed. But at the same time, it's moisturizing enough for my very dry lips. I recommend it, especially at the price. Too bad it doesn't have sunscreen!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Susan A.
04.20.2013
Meh...

i know it's supposed to be balm-like but...it was just so heavy...and sheer...and cakey feeling to me. some colors are nice though...its just so thick and heavy.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.10.2013
Much more like lip gloss

I'm surprised that this product is categorized as a sheer lipstick rather than lip gloss. The texture and finish is nothing like Paula's Choice Sheer Cream Lipstick. It is very glossy and transparent. I purchased it in a cherry shade, hoping to replace Paula's Cherry Berry color. But the color practically disappears and it's all shine. However, if you are looking for a gloss, this is an affordable option with a large range of colors.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
CAROL K.
01.03.2013
My New Go-To

I love everything about this line of lipsticks. It isn't too drying and provides sheer, yet bright pops of color. It can also be layered to achieve more intense color if you wish. I do not find it stays on lips any longer or shorter than a good traditional lipstick, but the biggest difference being its balm-like consistency.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
DANA L.
12.27.2012
Love it!

I love this lip butter. I am a sucker for lip balm and lip gloss and this product is the best of both worlds. It doesn't fade away as quickly as gloss, but is a better color and smoother application than tinted balm. I use it over my lip stick (like I would gloss) and touch up with it throughout the day. My signature color is 025-Peach Parfait. It's a pink with a touch of orange which works well with my fair complexion... wouldn't think a touch of orange would look good, but I don't think this color could look bad on anyone.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anna Mary W.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.405 8/2/2015 9:59:57 PM