Colorburst Lip Butters

by Revlon  
Price:
$7.49 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Lipsticks > Sheer Lipstick
Last Updated:
6/27/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

With a rich texture somewhere between that of a lip balm and a lipstick, Revlon's Lip Butters are a wonderfully moisturizing treat for lips. Packaged like a traditional lipstick, they slick on easily, leaving a soft wash of sheer color with just the right amount of pop and a shiny finish. These are sheer enough to be versatile for daytime or casual wear, but vibrant enough to get noticed. A wide array of truly gorgeous shades means there's an option for everyone!

Pros:
  • Rich texture feels like a lip balm/lipstick hybrid.
  • Leaves a soft wash of sheer yet vibrant color.
  • Provides moisture and a shiny finish.
  • Versatile, can be used for a casual or polished look.
  • Wide array of shades.
  • Inexpensive.
Cons:
  • None.

It may surprise some of you to know that Revlon has been around since 1932, when the company launched a unique nail polish that used pigments instead of dyes. Lipsticks followed years later, and then a full line of cosmetics, which is how we know Revlon today. Although the company has had its continual share of ups and downs over the years (largely due to out-of-control debt coupled with aggressive spending), the line has recently made numerous improvements, especially in the realms of foundations, powders, eyeshadows, and mascaras. It is quite a feat that Revlon products earned more Paula's Pick ratings per category than any other drugstore line reviewed. If their goal was to close the competitive gap between themselves and L'Oreal, for the most part they have succeeded. Revlon definitely has the edge for foundations with reliable sunscreens. But despite Revlon's attempt to improve their mascara range, L'Oreal remains the clear winner (as well as L'Oreal-owned Maybelline New York).

Revlon's vast selection of makeup is divided into three main brands: Age Defying for the forty-something and older woman concerned about wrinkles, ColorStay for the teen to mid-thirties woman concerned about keeping oily skin in check and making sure her makeup stays put, and PhotoReady for women of all ages. These brands present some outstanding options and include products for all skin types (although the range of skin tones is not as well-represented here as it is by L'Oreal).

An intriguing fact is that the longevity claims for ColorStay are quite accurate: this collection of products really does offer extraordinary staying power. Conversely, Revlon jumped on the works-like-Botox bandwagon with their Age Defying range, going so far as to name their antiwrinkle complex Botafirm. Is there any confusion about what that term is supposed to relate to? Despite the claims, Botafirm won't reduce expression lines or control the muscles that cause them, though the products themselves do have many impressive qualities.

Note:Revlon is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Revlon may not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Paula’s Choice Research Team.

Suffice it to say, Revlon has more commendable products than ever before, and although they rely heavily on celebrity spokespersons, their best products ably speak for themselves.

For more information about Revlon, call (800) 473-8566 or visit www.revlon.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, November 09, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Really pretty, shine shades!
    • These are really lovely lipsticks, sort of like a gloss, balm, lipstick hybrid. The colors are a shiny, sheer pop of color! There aren't too many shades, but because they're sheer and shiny, most colors would look nice on many different skin tones. And you can't beat the price!

  2. Annette D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, November 05, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Too sheer!
    • Didn't like the feel.was too sheer. Put it on and almost instaneously took it off.I was excited to try it. So disappointed.Selected sugar plum and red velvet.only tried sugar plum.

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 24, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Dry out lips
    • Great products, absolutely gorgeous colors, smooths on like butter and so comfortable. It's just rather unfortunate that they dry out my lips, especially when the gloss and mostly color is gone - and I have NO idea why, because it's meant to moisturizing. I don't have any allergic reaction to it that I can tell - although perhaps the dried out lips is an indication enough of this? I just can't stop myself from wearing them though. They're so beautiful! I just slather lip balm on.

  4. H
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 29, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Love it!
    • Because these are nice and sheer they are a great option if you are looking to try some bright colors but don't want to be overwhelmed. Bought Tutti Fruitti to try the spring orange lip trend. The color in the tube looks like something I would not normally attempt but it is soft and sheer. Very happy with the product. Nice and moisturizing, didn't cause my lips to flake, leaves a nice stain once it wears off.

  5. Ame T
    Reviewed on Friday, December 27, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Lovely Lips
    • I have Sugar Plum and it goes beautifully with my colour (I'm a Summer). I love the texture, the way my lips continue to feel soft, and how it doesn't accentuate lines on my lips. Only improvement would be staying power. Thanks Revlon.

  6. Lynn M
    Reviewed on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Like Buttah!
    • I'm a self-professed lip-wear junkie (owning more than 150 lipsticks,butters, glosses, etc). For my money, Revlon makes some of the best lip products, including this one. Unlike their regular lipsticks, which tend to be a bit on the waxy side (but have lovely staying power and are non-drying), these lip butters are perfect for sheer coverage and are more creamy than waxy in texture, making lips feel amazing. I have love all 5 colors I own. They do need more frequent application, however.

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 15, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    It's OK
    • As a lip balm junkie I could not wait to try these. I am fair with hazel eyes and brown hair and my natural lip color is somewhat red. I found it difficult to tell what shade to purchase due to the packaging. So I bought a number of colors. Peach Parfait and Juicy Papaya were to orange and Pink Truffle was to brown for me Berry Smoothie and Sugar Plum are very nice. Unfortunately, I found them to be very drying with no staying power.

  8. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 05, 2013
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Not that great
    • This only really good thing about this lip product is the wide range of colors, I will agree with that. However, they have absolutely no staying power. They wear off very quickly, too much like a lip gloss. I will not recommend unless you want to have the hassle of constantly applying it!

  9. Susan A.
    Reviewed on Friday, June 28, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Excellent! And no fragrance or flavor!
    • Wow! First, let me say I agree with the Paula's Choice review. This is a great product! I like it more than the Super Lustrous lipstick. In the last couple of years, I've started to have trouble with lipstick bleeding at the corners of my mouth. Lip pencils don't seem to help. This is the only lipstick I've tried that doesn't bleed. But at the same time, it's moisturizing enough for my very dry lips. I recommend it, especially at the price. Too bad it doesn't have sunscreen!

  10. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, April 20, 2013
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Meh...
    • i know it's supposed to be balm-like but...it was just so heavy...and sheer...and cakey feeling to me. some colors are nice though...its just so thick and heavy.

  11. CAROL K.
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 10, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Much more like lip gloss
    • I'm surprised that this product is categorized as a sheer lipstick rather than lip gloss. The texture and finish is nothing like Paula's Choice Sheer Cream Lipstick. It is very glossy and transparent. I purchased it in a cherry shade, hoping to replace Paula's Cherry Berry color. But the color practically disappears and it's all shine. However, if you are looking for a gloss, this is an affordable option with a large range of colors.

  12. DANA L.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 03, 2013
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    My New Go-To
    • I love everything about this line of lipsticks. It isn't too drying and provides sheer, yet bright pops of color. It can also be layered to achieve more intense color if you wish. I do not find it stays on lips any longer or shorter than a good traditional lipstick, but the biggest difference being its balm-like consistency.

  13. Anna Mary W.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 27, 2012
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Love it!
    • I love this lip butter. I am a sucker for lip balm and lip gloss and this product is the best of both worlds. It doesn't fade away as quickly as gloss, but is a better color and smoother application than tinted balm. I use it over my lip stick (like I would gloss) and touch up with it throughout the day. My signature color is 025-Peach Parfait. It's a pink with a touch of orange which works well with my fair complexion... wouldn't think a touch of orange would look good, but I don't think this color could look bad on anyone.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.351 11/24/2014 6:45:05 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.