12.17.2014
16
1283
Colorstay Overtime Lengthening Mascara
Rating
$7.99
Last Updated:12.17.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Colorstay Overtime is a mascara that wears beautifully, providing long, clump-free lashes that will stay that way all day and well into the night. The quick-drying formula can be layered for more length and volume, and, unlike most mascaras, you can let the previous coat dry and apply more without incident. We love Revlon’s tapered brush because it allows for no-mess application, plus you can easily reach those sometimes tricky inner corner and bottom lashes.

Once you’re ready to take this off, you’ll need a good makeup remover—this is a tenacious, long-wearing formula! Our suggestion is a silicone-based remover such as Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover.

Pros:

  • Tenaciously longwearing.
  • Applies beautifully for long, clump-free lashes.
  • Easy to layer, even if you let it dry between coats.
  • Tapered brush reaches inner and bottom lashes.

Cons:

  • None.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Revlon At-A-Glance

Strengths: Superior foundations with sunscreen and each of them provide sufficient UVA protection (though one has a disappointing SPF 6); several outstanding concealers and powders; one of the best cream blushes around; great cream eyeshadow and liquid eyeliner; a beautiful selection of elegant lipsticks, lip gloss, and lipliner; some worthwhile specialty products.

Weaknesses: Average eye and brow pencils; inaccurate claims surrounding their Botafirm complex; mostly average to disappointing mascaras.

It may surprise some of you to know that Revlon has been around since 1932, when the company launched a unique nail polish that used pigments instead of dyes. Lipsticks followed years later, and then a full line of cosmetics, which is how we know Revlon today. Although the company has had its continual share of ups and downs over the years (largely due to out-of-control debt coupled with aggressive spending), the line has recently made numerous improvements, especially in the realms of foundations, powders, eyeshadows, and mascaras. It is quite a feat that Revlon products earned more Paula's Pick ratings per category than any other drugstore line reviewed. If their goal was to close the competitive gap between themselves and L'Oreal, for the most part they have succeeded. Revlon definitely has the edge for foundations with reliable sunscreens. But despite Revlon's attempt to improve their mascara range, L'Oreal remains the clear winner (as well as L'Oreal-owned Maybelline New York).

Revlon's vast selection of makeup is divided into three main brands: Age Defying for the forty-something and older woman concerned about wrinkles, ColorStay for the teen to mid-thirties woman concerned about keeping oily skin in check and making sure her makeup stays put, and PhotoReady for women of all ages. These brands present some outstanding options and include products for all skin types (although the range of skin tones is not as well-represented here as it is by L'Oreal).

An intriguing fact is that the longevity claims for ColorStay are quite accurate: this collection of products really does offer extraordinary staying power. Conversely, Revlon jumped on the works-like-Botox bandwagon with their Age Defying range, going so far as to name their antiwrinkle complex Botafirm. Is there any confusion about what that term is supposed to relate to? Despite the claims, Botafirm won't reduce expression lines or control the muscles that cause them, though the products themselves do have many impressive qualities.

Note:Revlon is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Revlon may not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

Suffice it to say, Revlon has more commendable products than ever before, and although they rely heavily on celebrity spokespersons, their best products ably speak for themselves.

For more information about Revlon, call (800) 473-8566 or visit www.revlon.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.14.2015
Good mascara

I actually enjoyed using this mascara. It didn't add too much volume but I wasn't looking for volume I was looking for length and it gave me a good amount of length. I really liked this mascara and I'm very upset that it is discontinued.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.08.2015
Pretty Good Mascara

I really enjoyed this mascara and mine is really old now so it is now dried out. Does anyone know where I can repurchase it?

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
11.18.2014
terrible mascara

Don't know what mascara you actually reviewed-I agree with most of the other members-clumpy, flaky, awful!!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.03.2014
Poor

I'm more interested in length than in volume & have been using Revlon products for more years than most of you have been alive. I was very unhappy with it - it was a bit dry, it did not really add length & it was very clumpy. I think this one is or has been discontinued - but don't buy it even if it's on sale.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Sara
07.02.2014
Hard to find!

This mascara on me looks very, very similar to Too Faced's Better than Sex, which used to be my favorite mascara. That was until I found this one for a waaaaay better price. The only thing is that it's hard to find! I've only been able to find it at Big Lots. Oh well. It's worth it to stock up when you find it, just make sure you have an awesome eye makeup remover, because it is stubborn.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Rachel E.
06.03.2014
Disappointed buyer

I switch from my mascara to your Revlon Colorstay Overtime Lengthening. It was very thick and cake on my lashes and when dry the mascara crumbled. When cleaning my eye lashes several would fall out. This brand has been a nightmare. It concerns me that this mascara is on the market and selling at the price it is. UNBELIEVABLE!!!!!!!!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Cindy J.
04.09.2014
Love This!

This is my favorite mascara even over Maybelline! It just goes on beautiful, looks quite natural, and layers perfect. At 48 I have tried alot of mascaras and I will not be without this unless it is ever discontinued.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.09.2014
Tenacious wearing is an understatement

I will agree with the other reviewers - it dried quickly so to add another coat was tricky - 2nd coat had to do quickly. It was very difficult to remove even with Paula's makeup remover as suggested. (for me Loreal's Artiste remover worked very well.) I didn't have issues with clumping BUT I did take a tissue and removed excess mascara before each application - that might of been my saving grace. Tapered brush a real plus. It really didn't do anything special in terms of length or fullness.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Peggy F.
11.06.2013
Too hard to wash off

I agree with the reviews of the tapered brush being an asset and this mascara looked great and did not budge. In fact, I had a difficult time getting it off, even with Paula's eye makeup remover. Hard flakes would stay on my lashes. Some of my lashes fell out after using this. Unfortunately, I would not recommend.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Bev S.
10.09.2013
Returning!

This was a terrible mascara! I don't understand the best rating. It was dry, I couldn't add another coat, & looked terrible on. It is also impossible to wash off, even after using coconut oil. I've been using Revlon Grow Luscious plumping & like it so much better.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
courtney s.
06.29.2013
Kim in Canada

I'm amazed that this product has a 'best' rating. I tried it last year and found it to be a nasty, clumping mess. Unfortunately, I was in a hurry and purchased it again a few weeks ago after quickly perusing beautypedia. When I opened the tube I thought it seemed familiar - and it did - because it was the same useless garbage that I'd bought before. Fortunately I'd saved the receipt and was able to return it. Do NOT waste your time and money on this junk.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.25.2013
I agree, poor

I really wanted to like a Revlon mascara because I was under the impression Revlon did not test on animals. However, I see that they do now, according to this website. The blackest version was still only Charcoal, so that was a put off right away. I'm fair & it was still not very dark. Spidery, clumpy & flaky - a big disappointment is all I can say.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Morgan
01.20.2013
Dries Out Quickly

I have long, thin eyelashes and my friend has short, straight eyelashes. We both love it when it's new; however, the tube dries out within a couple of months and, after applied, it becomes dry and brittle. Therefore, we both decided we won't buy it any longer because of it's short shelf life.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Stacey
01.07.2013
Don't try this

This is the worst mascara I have ever tried. Clumps, makes lashes stick together, crumbles, hard to remove with soap and water so takes a lot of effort. I want to toss it and I just bought it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Sarah K.
12.29.2012
bad mascaras

It was diificult to put on, plenty of clumps, my (long) lashes stuck together and the result was most unappealing. Also, if a mascara cannot be removed with soap and water, it should be labelel "waterproof". This is the first time I returned a mascara. Bad choice this time, Paula.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
pooms
12.31.2012
Beautypedia Team Response
Thank you for your comments. We're sorry your experience with Revlon's Colorstay Overtime mascara was unsatisfactory. Ours was much different, and we had good results. It could be possible you received a product from a bad batch. A lot of times different products have varying results on different people. Thanks for taking the time to make us aware of your issues.
—Paula's Choice Research Team
12.06.2012
Not impressed

This mascara clumped, did not add volume. I used it for only a week then tossed it.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.411 8/4/2015 7:08:47 PM