12.18.2014
9
1826
Rimmel
Exaggerate Waterproof Eye Definer
Rating
$5.67
Category:Makeup > Eyeliners > Eye Pencil
Last Updated:12.18.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Overview

This retractable eyeliner pencil gets an A+ for its ease of use and wearability. The texture is soft enough to glide on lids, but not so creamy that it smudges all over the place. The pigment goes on rich and doesn't fade as the day wears on, and yes, true to name, it's also waterproof.

As an added bonus, this retractable pencil also comes with a sharpener for sculpting a precise, fine tip, as well as a soft smudging tool for smooth blending. And did you notice the price? We're talking bona-fide beauty bargain here!

Pros:
  • Creamy texture glides on smoothly but stays put.
  • Rich, even color that doesn't fade.
  • Waterproof.
  • Retractable pencil comes with a sharpener so you can hone the tip to your liking.
  • Includes smudging tool for smooth blending.
  • Good mix of classic and trendy shades.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Rimmel At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive; the pressed bronzing powder; some of the best mascaras at the drugstore; powder eyeshadows; excellent automatic eye pencil; Lasting Finish Lipstick is a must-see.

Weaknesses: Packaging that isn't very user-friendly; average concealers; several lackluster eyeshadow options; none of the Extra Super Lash mascaras earn their impressive-sounding names; potentially problematic eye-makeup remover.

Rimmel is a London-based company that has been under the ownership of Coty since 1996. Coty's namesake presence in drugstores has vanished, but their history lives on via this acquisition. Once exclusive to Wal-Mart, the line has branched out and is now available in other drug and mass-market stores. Given the low to very low price points and several good products, this expansion is good news for cosmetics consumers! What's worth paying attention to when you come across this line are the mascaras, automatic pencils, and bronzing powder. The foundations and concealers are worth a look as well, but without testers, it's always a guessing game as to which color is best for you, and there are no options for darker skin tones. The needs-sharpening pencils are basic but worth a look, though a few of them smear terribly. There are dozens of nail polishes to consider, not to mention a pleasing lipstick and lip gloss selection. Actually, the Lasting Finish Lipstick deserves special mention for its elegant texture and fashion-forward colors, all for under six dollars.

My only significant complaint about Rimmel is the packaging. The tops to the blushes and eyeshadows are awkward and tricky to remove, though this is a minor technicality that's easy enough to live with, especially at these prices!

For more information about Rimmel, visit www.rimmellondon.com.

Note: Many Rimmel products featured on their Web site are not available in the United States; they are exclusive to United Kingdom drugstores. The products reviewed below are those that are consistently found at U.S. stores nationwide, specifically Target, Walgreens and Wal-Mart.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
01.11.2015
New Disappointing Change in this Product

Rimmel has updated this eyeliner and it's not great anymore. Sable is no longer available and has been replaced with Rich Brown, which should just be called Black. The built-in sharpener has been eliminated on all colors. The formula seems to have been changed also. It skips & flakes, doesn't go on even. This used to be my favorite eyeliner since it came out, but now, I'm in search of a better one. I will be returning the unopened second package I bought.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Carol L.
09.04.2014
Thumbs down!

I don't usually make a beauty purchase without using Paula's Beautypedia as a reference. Since I was not able to find my regular Maybelline Line Stylist Eyeliner, I decided to give Rimmel Exaggerate waterproof eye definer a try. It was horrible. It not only smeared after an hour but also flaked around my eyes and cheeks. This has got to be one of the worst eyeliner out there. I don't understand why this eyeliner is under Paula's "Best Products". Am I missing something?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Hope
04.10.2014
Difficult to remove

I bought this eyeliner based on the positive reviews. However, I found this eyeliner very difficult to remove even with a waterproof, silicone-based eye make up remover. That's a deal breaker for me. I look like I have raccoon eyes the next day. And the look was not as dramatic as I hoped. Overall, a disappointment.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Melinda J.
02.01.2014
Great Eyeliner That Lasts All Day!

After years of trying so many brands including the high priced liners, this one is absolutely the best. I have fair skin with brown eyes & the Sable color is just perfect. It's not too dark or too light & I didn't need to smudge it to achieve a subtle but defined look. It goes on smoothly & sets to a soft finish. I applied it over eye shadow & it stayed on all day without smudging or smearing. It didn't stay on the waterline but I wasn't interested in that anyway. It's definitely worth a try.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.23.2014
Disappointed!

I've been using it for a couple of months. I've had trouble getting it to apply to my eyelid. After about 4-5 hours, I find small specks of it on my cheeks under my eyes. It smudges on my fingers when I need to touch my eyelid. Maybe it's due to oily skin?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Stacey M.
09.20.2013
High performance product

What a bargain! Absolutely waterproof (I can't wear any other type of eyeliner), glides on smoothly and smudges well. Maybe I missed something but I don't see how an automatic pencil comes with a sharpener. The sable color is rich and beautiful with all nudes and warm naturals for Brown eyes. Nit as fine a point as I would like but I just think I need more practice and a magnifying mirror. A definite must buy for everyone.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Erin G.
05.11.2013
Looks expensive, wears well!

The application is smooth and the blue color I bought is intense but still classic and work appropriate. I haven't had any smudging/migration of color or fading (the waterproof version). I am glad to have a quicker applying alternative to my usual powder or gel liner routine, and what a bargain!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Mickey
12.06.2012
The Bomb for this type of eyeliner

I tried this product in Nov 2012 in sable brown. I am fair skinned have 38 yr old slightly oily, wrinkly eyelids, crowsfeet w/sensitive eyes that don’t water. I was excited at the price & waterproof aspect & this did not disappoint! This product comes with a built in sharpener/smudging tool so even though this is an automatic pencil so you can obtain a precise tip. In fact for special occasions you could utilize the sharpener & then apply to your inner rim waterline & it doesn’t burn during application. It also stays put & wears for hours YIPPEE! A similar product just in case they are out of your preferred color is Maybelline’s Unstoppable Smudgeproof Waterproof eyeliner in espresso, (not Cinnabar as it’s also too light for the inner rim-waterline & I am fair skinned). This product received an Paula’s rating of BEST. Both are retractable eyeliners that when applied to the inner rim-waterline didn’t burn but provided the desired effect for a fair price.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
DANA M.
12.05.2012
Poor performance

This product does the exact opposite of the claim to be long wearing and waterproof. I found that it smudged and migrated to underneath my eyes. I even tried setting it with a bit of powder shadow but it still smudged. The only nice feature was that it glides on smoothly and looked nice right after application.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Biobabe
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.376 3/5/2015 12:57:47 PM