Exaggerate Waterproof Eye Definer

by Rimmel  
Price:
$5.67 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Eyeliners > Eye Pencil
Last Updated:
4/14/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This retractable eyeliner pencil gets an A+ for its ease of use and wearability. The texture is soft enough to glide on lids, but not so creamy that it smudges all over the place. The pigment goes on rich and doesn't fade as the day wears on, and yes, true to name, it's also waterproof.

As an added bonus, this retractable pencil also comes with a sharpener for sculpting a precise, fine tip, as well as a soft smudging tool for smooth blending. And did you notice the price? We're talking bona-fide beauty bargain here!

Pros:
  • Creamy texture glides on smoothly but stays put.
  • Rich, even color that doesn't fade.
  • Waterproof.
  • Retractable pencil comes with a sharpener so you can hone the tip to your liking.
  • Includes smudging tool for smooth blending.
  • Good mix of classic and trendy shades.
Cons:
  • None.

Rimmel is a London-based company that has been under the ownership of Coty since 1996. Coty's namesake presence in drugstores has vanished, but their history lives on via this acquisition. Once exclusive to Wal-Mart, the line has branched out and is now available in other drug and mass-market stores. Given the low to very low price points and several good products, this expansion is good news for cosmetics consumers! What's worth paying attention to when you come across this line are the mascaras, automatic pencils, and bronzing powder. The foundations and concealers are worth a look as well, but without testers, it's always a guessing game as to which color is best for you, and there are no options for darker skin tones. The needs-sharpening pencils are basic but worth a look, though a few of them smear terribly. There are dozens of nail polishes to consider, not to mention a pleasing lipstick and lip gloss selection. Actually, the Lasting Finish Lipstick deserves special mention for its elegant texture and fashion-forward colors, all for under six dollars.

My only significant complaint about Rimmel is the packaging. The tops to the blushes and eyeshadows are awkward and tricky to remove, though this is a minor technicality that's easy enough to live with, especially at these prices!

For more information about Rimmel, visit www.rimmellondon.com.

Note: Many Rimmel products featured on their Web site are not available in the United States; they are exclusive to United Kingdom drugstores. The products reviewed below are those that are consistently found at U.S. stores nationwide, specifically Target, Walgreens and Wal-Mart.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Hope
    Reviewed on Thursday, September 04, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Thumbs down!
    • I don't usually make a beauty purchase without using Paula's Beautypedia as a reference. Since I was not able to find my regular Maybelline Line Stylist Eyeliner, I decided to give Rimmel Exaggerate waterproof eye definer a try. It was horrible. It not only smeared after an hour but also flaked around my eyes and cheeks. This has got to be one of the worst eyeliner out there. I don't understand why this eyeliner is under Paula's "Best Products". Am I missing something?

  2. Melinda J.
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 10, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Difficult to remove
    • I bought this eyeliner based on the positive reviews. However, I found this eyeliner very difficult to remove even with a waterproof, silicone-based eye make up remover. That's a deal breaker for me. I look like I have raccoon eyes the next day. And the look was not as dramatic as I hoped. Overall, a disappointment.

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 01, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great Eyeliner That Lasts All Day!
    • After years of trying so many brands including the high priced liners, this one is absolutely the best. I have fair skin with brown eyes & the Sable color is just perfect. It's not too dark or too light & I didn't need to smudge it to achieve a subtle but defined look. It goes on smoothly & sets to a soft finish. I applied it over eye shadow & it stayed on all day without smudging or smearing. It didn't stay on the waterline but I wasn't interested in that anyway. It's definitely worth a try.

  4. Stacey M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    Disappointed!
    • I've been using it for a couple of months. I've had trouble getting it to apply to my eyelid. After about 4-5 hours, I find small specks of it on my cheeks under my eyes. It smudges on my fingers when I need to touch my eyelid. Maybe it's due to oily skin?

  5. Erin G.
    Reviewed on Friday, September 20, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    High performance product
    • What a bargain! Absolutely waterproof (I can't wear any other type of eyeliner), glides on smoothly and smudges well. Maybe I missed something but I don't see how an automatic pencil comes with a sharpener. The sable color is rich and beautiful with all nudes and warm naturals for Brown eyes. Nit as fine a point as I would like but I just think I need more practice and a magnifying mirror. A definite must buy for everyone.

  6. Mickey
    Reviewed on Saturday, May 11, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Looks expensive, wears well!
    • The application is smooth and the blue color I bought is intense but still classic and work appropriate. I haven't had any smudging/migration of color or fading (the waterproof version). I am glad to have a quicker applying alternative to my usual powder or gel liner routine, and what a bargain!

  7. DANA M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, December 06, 2012
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    The Bomb for this type of eyeliner
    • I tried this product in Nov 2012 in sable brown. I am fair skinned have 38 yr old slightly oily, wrinkly eyelids, crowsfeet w/sensitive eyes that don’t water. I was excited at the price & waterproof aspect & this did not disappoint! This product comes with a built in sharpener/smudging tool so even though this is an automatic pencil so you can obtain a precise tip. In fact for special occasions you could utilize the sharpener & then apply to your inner rim waterline & it doesn’t burn during application. It also stays put & wears for hours YIPPEE! A similar product just in case they are out of your preferred color is Maybelline’s Unstoppable Smudgeproof Waterproof eyeliner in espresso, (not Cinnabar as it’s also too light for the inner rim-waterline & I am fair skinned). This product received an Paula’s rating of BEST. Both are retractable eyeliners that when applied to the inner rim-waterline didn’t burn but provided the desired effect for a fair price.

  8. Biobabe
    Reviewed on Wednesday, December 05, 2012
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Poor performance
    • This product does the exact opposite of the claim to be long wearing and waterproof. I found that it smudged and migrated to underneath my eyes. I even tried setting it with a bit of powder shadow but it still smudged. The only nice feature was that it glides on smoothly and looked nice right after application.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.338 10/1/2014 3:18:32 AM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Everything | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.