12.18.2014
10
1907
Exaggerate Waterproof Eye Definer
Rating
$5.67
Category:Makeup > Eyeliners > Eye Pencil
Last Updated:12.18.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This retractable eyeliner pencil gets an A+ for its ease of use and wearability. The texture is soft enough to glide on lids, but not so creamy that it smudges all over the place. The pigment goes on rich and doesn't fade as the day wears on, and yes, true to name, it's also waterproof.

As an added bonus, this retractable pencil also comes with a sharpener for sculpting a precise, fine tip, as well as a soft smudging tool for smooth blending. And did you notice the price? We're talking bona-fide beauty bargain here!

Pros:
  • Creamy texture glides on smoothly but stays put.
  • Rich, even color that doesn't fade.
  • Waterproof.
  • Retractable pencil comes with a sharpener so you can hone the tip to your liking.
  • Includes smudging tool for smooth blending.
  • Good mix of classic and trendy shades.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Rimmel At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensively priced; a great pressed bronzing powder; several impressive mascaras; a collection of praiseworthy of lip color products including gloss and lipstick; a couple of good foundations.

Weaknesses: Not the most user-friendly packaging; lackluster skincare-esque products; some gimmicky makeup items that turn out to be duds.

Rimmel is a London-based company, under the ownership of Coty Inc. since 1996 (Coty also owns other cosmetic lines such as philosophy and Sally Hansen). A self-proclaimed “edgy” cosmetics line that’s all about experimentation and “setting trends, not following them”, Rimmel livens things up with a mix of trendy and classic shade options and new product launches at a rapid pace.

While not all of Rimmel’s products are an absolute hit, there are some individual standout items (see top-rated reviews) that can compete with the best of what’s out there—at rock bottom prices no less. A few of their lip color products deserve special mention for their elegant texture and fashion-forward colors.

Where Rimmel falls into hit-or-miss territory is with its excessive collection of mascaras (it seems as though they launch a new one every month) which makes it confusing to try to figure out which one is the best. Some are impressive and absolutely worth buying, while others are gimmicky duds. Lucky for you, we’ve put them rigorous testing so you can make an informed decision! Oh, what our lashes go through so you avoid frustration and wasting money!

Rimmel also dabbles in a smidgen of skincare-esque products that claim to go above and beyond the norm. For various reasons mentioned within the individual reviews, these products tend to fall short of being worthwhile purchases, even at their bargain-friendly price point. Overall, while Rimmel has some misses, they earn our praise for several good to excellent makeup items at nearly unbeatable prices. Sort by three-star and four-star rating under this brand to find the best of what Rimmel has to offer!

Note: Many Rimmel products featured on their Web site are not available in the United States; they are exclusive to United Kingdom drugstores. The products reviewed below are those that are consistently found at U.S. stores nationwide, specifically Target, Walgreens and Wal-Mart.

For more information about Rimmel, visit www.rimmellondon.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.09.2015
Found my new liner!

My usual brand was unavailable so I got this based on package info: 1. It's a retractable type. 2. Built-in sharpener. 3. Stays put & long wearing. 4. Neutral shade. 5. Price. I waste too much product trying to sharpen traditional pencils. The sharpener is there right under the smudger cap. It applies easily and allows time to blend before setting up. It lasts, but more like 6 hours. I like the Rich Brown shade. This liner meets all my requirements at a fair price.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Susan H.
01.11.2015
New Disappointing Change in this Product

Rimmel has updated this eyeliner and it's not great anymore. Sable is no longer available and has been replaced with Rich Brown, which should just be called Black. The built-in sharpener has been eliminated on all colors. The formula seems to have been changed also. It skips & flakes, doesn't go on even. This used to be my favorite eyeliner since it came out, but now, I'm in search of a better one. I will be returning the unopened second package I bought.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Carol L.
09.04.2014
Thumbs down!

I don't usually make a beauty purchase without using Paula's Beautypedia as a reference. Since I was not able to find my regular Maybelline Line Stylist Eyeliner, I decided to give Rimmel Exaggerate waterproof eye definer a try. It was horrible. It not only smeared after an hour but also flaked around my eyes and cheeks. This has got to be one of the worst eyeliner out there. I don't understand why this eyeliner is under Paula's "Best Products". Am I missing something?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Hope
04.10.2014
Difficult to remove

I bought this eyeliner based on the positive reviews. However, I found this eyeliner very difficult to remove even with a waterproof, silicone-based eye make up remover. That's a deal breaker for me. I look like I have raccoon eyes the next day. And the look was not as dramatic as I hoped. Overall, a disappointment.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Melinda J.
02.01.2014
Great Eyeliner That Lasts All Day!

After years of trying so many brands including the high priced liners, this one is absolutely the best. I have fair skin with brown eyes & the Sable color is just perfect. It's not too dark or too light & I didn't need to smudge it to achieve a subtle but defined look. It goes on smoothly & sets to a soft finish. I applied it over eye shadow & it stayed on all day without smudging or smearing. It didn't stay on the waterline but I wasn't interested in that anyway. It's definitely worth a try.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
01.23.2014
Disappointed!

I've been using it for a couple of months. I've had trouble getting it to apply to my eyelid. After about 4-5 hours, I find small specks of it on my cheeks under my eyes. It smudges on my fingers when I need to touch my eyelid. Maybe it's due to oily skin?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Stacey M.
09.20.2013
High performance product

What a bargain! Absolutely waterproof (I can't wear any other type of eyeliner), glides on smoothly and smudges well. Maybe I missed something but I don't see how an automatic pencil comes with a sharpener. The sable color is rich and beautiful with all nudes and warm naturals for Brown eyes. Nit as fine a point as I would like but I just think I need more practice and a magnifying mirror. A definite must buy for everyone.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Erin G.
05.11.2013
Looks expensive, wears well!

The application is smooth and the blue color I bought is intense but still classic and work appropriate. I haven't had any smudging/migration of color or fading (the waterproof version). I am glad to have a quicker applying alternative to my usual powder or gel liner routine, and what a bargain!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Mickey
12.06.2012
The Bomb for this type of eyeliner

I tried this product in Nov 2012 in sable brown. I am fair skinned have 38 yr old slightly oily, wrinkly eyelids, crowsfeet w/sensitive eyes that don’t water. I was excited at the price & waterproof aspect & this did not disappoint! This product comes with a built in sharpener/smudging tool so even though this is an automatic pencil so you can obtain a precise tip. In fact for special occasions you could utilize the sharpener & then apply to your inner rim waterline & it doesn’t burn during application. It also stays put & wears for hours YIPPEE! A similar product just in case they are out of your preferred color is Maybelline’s Unstoppable Smudgeproof Waterproof eyeliner in espresso, (not Cinnabar as it’s also too light for the inner rim-waterline & I am fair skinned). This product received an Paula’s rating of BEST. Both are retractable eyeliners that when applied to the inner rim-waterline didn’t burn but provided the desired effect for a fair price.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
DANA M.
12.05.2012
Poor performance

This product does the exact opposite of the claim to be long wearing and waterproof. I found that it smudged and migrated to underneath my eyes. I even tried setting it with a bit of powder shadow but it still smudged. The only nice feature was that it glides on smoothly and looked nice right after application.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Biobabe
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.392 5/5/2015 11:18:07 AM