12.02.2014
13
784
Stay Matte Liquid Mousse Foundation
Rating
$5.49
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

When shopping for a truly matte-finish foundation, you may have noticed that the options are slim to none at the drugstore. Imagine our surprise with Rimmel's Stay Matte Liquid Mousse Foundation: This is an excellent fragrance-free addition from the drugstore lineup. For most, the name is to be taken seriously, as this can absolutely "stay" matte for most of the workday.

Packaged in a tube, this formula is best for oily to combination skin (even acne-prone skin) and provides medium to full coverage. Among the eight shades, there are options for very fair to medium skin tones—those with deeper or very tan complexions won't find an option here. All eight shades are neutral, with nary a peach, yellow, or overly pink-toned option among them.

While the finish is natural looking, it's mousse-like texture builds coverage rapidly—a little of this formula goes a long way. In fact, because of its somewhat unique texture and coverage, we recommend experimenting by buffing it on with a foundation brush or sponge, because your fingers can easily deposit more product than you need.

Given its matte finish, the Stay Matte Liquid Mousse Foundation dries quickly, so it may take an application or two before you get the hang of it—all qualities that you'll find consistent with very matte formulas like this.

Pros:
  • Available in eight neutral shades (with options for very fair to medium skin tones).
  • Truly matte finish that is ideal for oily to combination skin types.
  • Medium to full coverage that holds up over the course of the day.
  • Fragrance free.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims

A feather light, oil free formula with an airy mousse texture that won’t feel heavy or greasy. Delivers all day shine control and blends flawlessly for a natural looking matte finish. Minimizes the appearance of pores. The weight is over – finally, shine has met its matte. 8 available shades

Ingredients

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dicaprylyl Ether, Water, Isododecane, Talc, Trihydroxystearin, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Ethylhexyl Methoxycinnamate, Polyglyceryl 3 Beeswax, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Kaolin, Tribehenin, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Propylene Carbonate, PEG 10 Dimethicone, Caprylyl Glycol, Polypropylene, Phenoxyethanol, Methyl Methacrylate Crosspolymer, Sodium Chloride, Dimethiconol, Laureth 4, BHT, Tocopherol, May Contain (+/-):, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499)

Brand Overview

Rimmel At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensively priced; a great pressed bronzing powder; several impressive mascaras; a collection of praiseworthy of lip color products including gloss and lipstick; a couple of good foundations.

Weaknesses: Not the most user-friendly packaging; lackluster skincare-esque products; some gimmicky makeup items that turn out to be duds.

Rimmel is a London-based company, under the ownership of Coty Inc. since 1996 (Coty also owns other cosmetic lines such as philosophy and Sally Hansen). A self-proclaimed “edgy” cosmetics line that’s all about experimentation and “setting trends, not following them”, Rimmel livens things up with a mix of trendy and classic shade options and new product launches at a rapid pace.

While not all of Rimmel’s products are an absolute hit, there are some individual standout items (see top-rated reviews) that can compete with the best of what’s out there—at rock bottom prices no less. A few of their lip color products deserve special mention for their elegant texture and fashion-forward colors.

Where Rimmel falls into hit-or-miss territory is with its excessive collection of mascaras (it seems as though they launch a new one every month) which makes it confusing to try to figure out which one is the best. Some are impressive and absolutely worth buying, while others are gimmicky duds. Lucky for you, we’ve put them rigorous testing so you can make an informed decision! Oh, what our lashes go through so you avoid frustration and wasting money!

Rimmel also dabbles in a smidgen of skincare-esque products that claim to go above and beyond the norm. For various reasons mentioned within the individual reviews, these products tend to fall short of being worthwhile purchases, even at their bargain-friendly price point. Overall, while Rimmel has some misses, they earn our praise for several good to excellent makeup items at nearly unbeatable prices. Sort by three-star and four-star rating under this brand to find the best of what Rimmel has to offer!

Note: Many Rimmel products featured on their Web site are not available in the United States; they are exclusive to United Kingdom drugstores. The products reviewed below are those that are consistently found at U.S. stores nationwide, specifically Target, Walgreens and Wal-Mart.

For more information about Rimmel, visit www.rimmellondon.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.03.2015
Wouldn't Recommend It

It takes too much effort to make this work. If I don't apply straight after putting on primer, it's a cakey, streaky, blotchy mess. Never wear it with a BB cream, or it'll look way too orange and give this weird noticeable foundation build up look. Even with my best efforts, it is pretty obvious I'm wearing foundation. I've never seen the lightest shade (081) in any store and the next shade up can look wrong very easily. Not much variety in colours. Face always needs to be powdered by midday.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.31.2015
Foundation application

When i apply this foundation it goes on very nicely but with in 5 to 10 mins of applying powder on top the foundation seems to cake up but i do lovd this foundation i would recommend it

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Kelly
05.29.2015
I disagree

I disagree with the review. I have very oily skin and this foundation doesn't last on me, it breaks down at about lunch time. If I try to apply powder on top, it makes my face very cockeye and it looks like snake skin. Awful results. I like it is in tube and cheap but I would rather save my money. Try it before you buy it.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
TATIANA H.
05.29.2015
Great product & affordable

I absolutely love this foundation, its perfect for me & very affordable... Gives me all day coverage & feels light on my skin. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for a great product for a great price.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Sarah B.
05.05.2015
great for acne prone skin

would recommend this foundation to anyone with acne prone/oily skin due to its medium to full coverage. this is a truly matte product perfect for hot and humid climates. i find this product blends beautiful using a damp beauty blender and even a damp brush and using stippling motions to get the most coverage. if u find it a bit too dry u can moisturizer beforehand and this will give u a dewy finish. inexpensive product around $4 at my local walmart and the product lasts so long.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.09.2015
Wow!

If you have combination skin just try this for a full but not cakey coverage. It lasts all day and so inexpensive.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
ana r.
02.12.2015
Superior to Many High-End!

Sometimes I agree with the reviews here at Beautypedia, sometimes not. This review is spot on. This foundation could easily be priced in the high-end foundation range (although I love that it is accessible to almost everyone's budget!). I bought this foundation in a pinch when I left mine at home on a weekend outing. I can't believe how great this stuff is. I like it much better than the other foundations in my kit (Urban Decay Naked Skin, Lancome Teint Idole).Try this foundation, it's amazing!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Megan K
02.06.2015
Love the coverage and value

I love this foundation!! The coverage is perfect and stays all day. Great product and price too!!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
10.09.2014
Too dry?

On this review I went out and bought 4 of the shades to use in my professional makeup kit. I used the true Ivory shade on myself, and white it is the look and coverage I live on others, somehow it has a texture and looks cakey/peely on my cheeks. It could just be my skin is dehydrated? But I use PC cleanser, BHA 2% and a best rated Mary Kay moisturiser/serum and always PC sunscreen. I'm going to try with extra moisturiser then go back to MK mattewear foundation which looks less dry.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Lillybeth M
09.27.2014
Best coverage ever

I am a sucker for trying new beauty products, particularly foundations as I like full coverage and there aren't a lot of products out there who give the coverage they promise. This product does. I tried it from a sample in a magazine and loved it. I am on my second tube now. It doesn't last too long but at $8.99 (Cdn price) who cares. I love the texture, the coverage and the Ivory is a perfect shade for me. I have combination/normal skin. I would think any skin type could use this product.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Gail W
09.25.2014
On the fence...

I'm so torn about this one! The Pros: I love the packaging, as it's much less bulky than my beloved Colorstay Whipped. The satiny finish and buildable coverage are wonderful. Shade 103 is a nice match for me...which is hard to find. The Cons: this does NOT last on me. It slides right off after a few hours and leaves me feeling pretty gross. Even with different primers and powders, no luck.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Kristina H.
09.20.2014
What a Steal

I absolutely love this product, and at less than $5, it's a no brainer. I live in a very hot, humid climate and it wears well all day even through profuse sweat.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Elisa M.
09.06.2014
Wow, Paula, You Were Right!

This light-weight medium coverage mousse is truly lovely. I tried the lightest color and I was pleasantly surprised. At $4.99 I am absolutely blown away by the lovely dewy finish I have after 8 hours, with no touch-ups! If you have combo skin, this will glide easily over your dry areas while leaving your T-zone matte. Touch-up with powder after 6 or so hours and your matte finish should last all day. This is a great alternative to a powder foundation that may leave you too dry in spots.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
courtney a.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.411 8/5/2015 5:36:53 AM