Daily Resurfacing Disks

by RoC  
Price:
$9.99 - 28 discs
Average Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:
12/11/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

These cleansing discs contain a basic, gentle cleanser steeped into discs that are textured on one side to approximate the effect of a scrub or washcloth. It doesn’t get more ordinary than this, and we mean really ordinary. The claim is that you can diminish lines and wrinkles after just one week of use, but the reality is that wrinkles cannot be scrubbed away. What’s most likely happening is that the abrasiveness of the disc’s textured side is causing low-grade inflammation. The inflammation makes your skin swell, and, voilá, wrinkles (or, more specifically “fine lines”) are less apparent. The problem? This type of inflammation, when experienced daily, can end up making matters worse by leading to collagen breakdown and over-manipulation of your skin. It’s easy to overdo it, and when it comes to daily skin care, gentle is always best.

Clinically shown to help diminish the look of fine lines and wrinkles, and improve the appearance of skin in just one week. Infused with skin-conditioning cleansers, the self-foaming disk is textured on one side, to gently exfoliate away dirt, oil and complexion dulling impurities, and smooth on the other side to gently cleanse and remove make-up around the delicate eye area.

Water, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, Decyl Glucoside, PPG-2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide, PEG-16 Soy Sterol, Polysorbate 20, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Coco PG Dimonium Chloride Phosphate, Tetrasodium EDTA, Sodium Citrate, Fragrance, Citric Acid, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Ethylparaben, PEG-14M, Glycine Soja Protein (Soybean)

Originally the brainchild of a French pharmacist, RoC does its best to convince women concerned with wrinkles that using RoC products will erase those pesky lines and, of course, that RoC is the only company that keeps its promises. That doesn't bode well for the other J&J product lines Aveeno and Neutrogenawouldn't that mean they must be lying about the promises they make for their products? Regardless, the promises RoC makes, including all of the same old same old "you will look younger too" rubbish, aren't viable and don't hold up under closer scrutiny. None of what they assure you their products can do is possible beyond a cosmetic extent, and moreover the majority of RoC's U.S.- and Canada-sold formulas are either boring or one-note. They don't even come through with distinctive or interesting moisturizers.

For example, RoC is big on retinol, and includes it in products with and without sunscreen in the United States. Retinol is a cell-communicating ingredient as well as an antioxidant, and its benefits for skin are many (Sources: Archives of Dermatology, May 2007, pages 606–612; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, March/April 2005, pages 81–87; and Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, December 2005, pages 237–244). However, for the most part, the amount of retinol in RoC's U.S.-sold products is barely a dusting, and so your skin won't receive much, if any, benefit from it. Ironically, although RoC promotes retinol much more than Neutrogena and Aveeno (all are J&J-owned companies), the latter two lines sell better retinol products! Several of the moisturizers with retinol sold by RoC in Canada also have much better formulations.

Another ingredient RoC has been touting lately is DMAE (dimethyl MEA). This ingredient is described in detail in the reviews below, but suffice it to say that DMAE isn't a panacea for wrinkles or skin that has lost firmness. Lastly, soy is promoted by RoC as an anti-aging powerhouse. Soy has antioxidant and anti-inflammatory benefits for skin, but once again RoC shortchanges the consumer by including barely any of it. And it's probably no surprise that sister company Aveeno (and, to a lesser extent, Neutrogena) offers better (and less expensive) options if soy is what you want to try.

Taken together, isn't it interesting how all of these Johnson & Johnson brands offer similar products to different target audiences? Neutrogena is the all-encompassing line, going after consumers battling acne and wrinkles; Aveeno stresses its "Active Naturals" and plays on its oat heritage; RoC is made to appeal to consumers who want to take a serious, more clinical-minded approach to fighting the signs of aging. None of these lines have all the answers, but all of them have a few worthwhile products. It's just that with RoC, those looking for state-of-the-art options beyond retinol have the fewest choices—and that's a promise made clear by the reviews that follow!

For more information about RoC, call (800) 762-1964 or visit www.rocskincare.com. And for a better selection of state-of-the-art retinol products from RoC, see the reviews for RoC Canada.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Annette D.
    Reviewed on Friday, August 08, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    We'll see what happens
    • These are probably similar to the aveeno positively radiant ones but they cost less. But, with both brands I felt my skin looked better afterwards. Probably, some irritation but not unbearable. I recommend it if it doesn't irritate your skin. I did this first then my clarisonic. To get really clean skin. And follow with a toner to insure my face is actually clean.

  2. Pam
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 16, 2012
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    RoC Resurfacing Discs
    • I am only now just figuring out that this product caused a facial breakout of sores and inflammation and it has been worse than any teen acne ! I am 62 and thought I would try these & avoid future wrinkles, etc. My daughter recommended this site to help me figure out what was happening . I looked like I had 'chicken pox' and my face just burned with pain. She swears by Paula's products and advice over a number one world renowned dermatologist... I must agree.. Paula, thank you for your honest reviews!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.358 12/19/2014 6:17:47 PM
Skip to Top of Page
20% Off Retinol Products | FREE Shipping on Everything | FREE Eyeshadow Palette on $65+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.