12.23.2014
5
Rodan and Fields
Soothe Sensitive Skin Treatment
Rating
1.7 fl. oz. for $80
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:12.23.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:
Tested on animals:No
Overview

Considering what this moisturizer costs, it’s embarrassing that the formula isn’t up to par for sensitive skin and that most of the helpful ingredients (which is what you’re paying extra for) are present only in minuscule amounts. It also contains fragrant plant oils that are potent skin irritants, which is especially disappointing given that this product is marketed for sensitive, reddened skin!

The “optical filters” referred to in the claims are merely mica (a mineral pigment that adds shine) and titanium dioxide, which is present in an amount that’s high enough to leave a whitish cast on skin. That will help mask redness, but a neutral-toned foundation or tinted moisturizer would do a much better job.

A silicone (dimethicone) and soothing agent are the active ingredients, but the amounts aren’t much different from the amounts in many other moisturizers that don’t call out these skin protectants as active ingredients. This product also contains an oil from the plant Perilla ocymoides, which is known to cause contact dermatitis, once again a problem for sensitive skin. Given that there are so many great plant oils that are known for their anti-irritant and anti-inflammatory properties, this adds up to an overall poor formulation for any skin type (Sources: www.natutaldatabase.com, Biological and Pharmaceutical Bulletin, April 2003, pages 560–563; and Biochemical Pharmacology, August 2004, pages 433–439).

Claims

Hydrating cream with exclusive rfp3 peptide technology helps to interrupt the inflammatory cascade to promote smooth, clear, healthy-looking skin. Fda-recognized skin protectants, dimethicone and allantoin, along with antioxidants and natural lipids, restore the skin’s barrier to relieve dryness, reduce sensitivity, and calm irritation. Optical filters immediately neutralize the look of redness.

Ingredients

Active: Dimethicone (2.9%), Allantoin (0.5%) Other: Water, Glycerin, Isododecane, Sodium Acrylates Copolymer, Butylene Glycol, Titanium Dioxide, Mica, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Germ Extract, PEG-40 Stearate, Polysilicone-11, Phospholipids, Chlorphenesin, Xanthan Gum, 1,2-Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Polyglyceryl-10 Stearate, Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Oil, Linoleic Acid, Dimethylacrylamide /Acrylic Acid/Polystyrene Ethyl Methacrylate Copolyol, Titanium Dioxide, Coco-Caprylate/Caprate, Bisabolol, Angelica Polymorpha Sinensis Root Extract, Linolenic Acid, Lysolecithin, Perilla Ocymoides Seed Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Honey Extract, Chlorhexadine Digluconate, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Geranium Maculatum Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Oil, Sodium Benzoate, Boswellia Serrata Extract, Tetrapeptide-16, Oryza Sativa (Rice) Bran Extract, Tranexamic Acid, Oligopeptide-10, Tropolone, Tin Oxide, Tocopherol

Brand Overview

Rodan + Fields At-A-Glance

Strengths: Two fantastic skin-lightening products with hydroquinone; a well-packaged retinol product; every sunscreen provides sufficient UVA protection; some fragrance-free options.

Weaknesses: Expensive; jar packaging hinders effectiveness of several otherwise impressive products; sunscreens should contain more bells and whistles for the money; eyebrow-raising amount of products with irritating ingredients.

Many of you are probably familiar with physicians Katie Rodan and Kathy Fields from their appearances on infomercials about their successful ProActiv line of anti-acne skin-care products. The Rodan + Fields supposedly therapeutic approaches are advertised for those suffering from a variety of skin conditions, and are claimed to work for anti-aging, skin discolorations, sensitive skin, and acne.

Lots of consumers believe that dermatologist-developed products will be the answer for their skin-care woes; but, in two words, they aren't. After reviewing dozens of so-called doctor-designed product lines, including this one, we can tell you there are no miracles to be found, and often there are some problematic products to steer clear of. Overall, many of these lines are quite comparable to other product lines without the physician headliner credentials and exorbitant prices. (Shockingly, Rodan + Fields' acne products are virtually identical to their ProActiv products, except that these cost more. We assume they thought no one would notice; perhaps they are right.)

Many consumers want simplicity when it comes to making decisions about what skin-care products they should use. The Rodan + Fields marketing strategy is to make it simple. They eliminate the confusion about what products work together by creating streamlined, prepackaged product groups, each aimed at specific skin-care concerns. Each product group is enclosed in a clever, take-along parcel that is the skin-care equivalent of a sack lunch. (Products are also available separately for those who want to customize their routine or add products outside the predetermined routines.) This structured approach has merit, but, as you will see from the reviews below, each routine has at least one questionable or lackluster formulation, or a problem with packaging. Considering that these are really pricey products, this is not good news.

Rodan + Fields does deserve kudos for being one of the few cosmetics companies to list the ingredients for each product on their Web site. It’s a major help for beleaguered, savvy consumers who care about this detail. Still, it would have been better all around if they offered more thoughtful, less problematic formulas.

For more information about Rodan + Fields, call (888) 995-5656 or visit www.rodanandfields.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Sunday, February 22, 2015
I am shocked at this review...

I have to tell you, I am shocked at this review. I have used the R&F Sensitive Skin Lotion, my Father also uses it and my girlfriend's husband. All three of us have had amazing results. It does a terrific job at calming irritated skin. I am a consultant for this line, so it might make me a bit bias, but I have personally seen very positive results with this particular product. Paula, you are usually pretty accurate with your reviews but not this time.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Mary Beth
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
not worth it

I have used Clinique, Eucerin and Olay in the past, and have recently began making my own products (which I love) for my dry, irritated, aging skin. My friend who is an R+F rep convinced me to try the Soothe line. It doesn't work any better than Eucirin, and leaves my skin dry and wrinkled. Worse of all, you are not supposed to get it anywhere near your eyes, (not above cheeks at all) or it will make them red and puffy, so my eyes are dry and unprotected from elements. Waste of $$!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Louise K.
Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Not good

'Meh' I am currently using the Soothe line for my rosacea skin. I have used Cetaphil and Olay and a dermatologist sold line in the past, but for years now, have been making my own lotions and cleansers with fantastic results. A friend of mine who is a Rodan and Fields consultant teased me so much about making my own products, that I decided to try the Soothe line. It's too drying for me, doesn't work any better than Cetaphil, and it does nothing for my skin. I won't be buying it again.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Louise K.
Tuesday, July 01, 2014
blah

This brand is so over hyped (mostly by the consultants themselves.) They act like the products sent from God himself. Real annoying considering they are average products at best. I did try this product (as well as their other lines) - they did nothing to help my skin. Way over priced. Thank goodness for Paula's Choice!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Wednesday, April 23, 2014
Crazy good stuff!!!

SOOTHE is the best product I have ever used. I call it my "miracle in a bottle, " and won't leave the house without it. It's the only product my kids will let me use on them, and IT WORKS!!! Dry skin, diaper rash, bug bites, sunburn, eczema, you name it, it's got you covered. This is the first winter that my skin hasn't been dry and flaky too. Worth it's weight in gold!!!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.369 3/1/2015 2:50:06 AM