08.07.2015
5
48
Kind to Skin Moisturising Facial Wash
Rating
6.7 fl. oz. for $6.99
Last Updated:08.07.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

NOTE: As of Summer 2015, we were informed by our readers that there has been a reformulation of this product. We appreciate your patience while we take the time to thoroughly update this review!

This cleanser has the makings of a very gentle option that could’ve been great for sensitive skin—if only it didn’t contain fragrant rose geranium oil. Listed by its Latin name of Pelargonium Graveolens, this fragrant oil contains a chemical constituent known as p-cymene. Along with its other volatile fragrance ingredients, this oil is a skin irritant (Sources: Natural Product Communications, September 2010, pages 1,395–1,400 and http://toxnet.nlm.nih.gov/cgi-bin/sis/search/a?dbs+hsdb:@term+@DOCNO+5128). What a shame, as the price and overall formula for this cleanser would make it a good option for those with normal to oily skin.

Note: The U.S. name of this product is Moisturizing Facial Wash.

Claims

Our Moisturizing Facial Wash leaves your skin thoroughly cleansed and nourished, plus it's a perfect blend of our purest possible skin loving ingredients with added vitamins.

Ingredients

Aqua, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Decyl Glucoside, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-55 Propylene Glycol Oleate, Propylene Glycol, Sodium Chloride, PEG-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Panthenol, Glycol Distearate, Sodium Hydroxymethylglycinate, Methylparaben, Bisabolol, Citric Acid, Polyquaternium-39, Tocopheryl Acetate, Cocamide MEA, Laureth-10, Disodium EDTA, Dipropylene Glycol, Benzoic Acid, Anthemis Nobilis Oil, Pelargonium Graveolens Oil, Propylparaben, Pantolactone, Glycerin.

Brand Overview

Simple At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive; Simple provides complete product ingredient lists on its Web site; good makeup removers; a few cleansers for sensitive skin; all of the sunscreens provide sufficient UVA protection.

Weaknesses: Poor selection of products for oily, acne-prone skin; no options for those with discolorations; several products that claim to be great for sensitive skin but contain ingredients that will make sensitive skin worse; mostly unexciting, dated moisturizers.

Simple is a United Kingdom–based skin-care line whose self-described claim to fame is that they're the "pre-eminent brand of skincare and toiletries products developed especially for sensitive skin." They also claim to be the United Kingdom's No. 1 skin care-brand, as measured by units sold, and given the line's wide distribution and low price point, the sales figures are probably accurate. But, although their sales claim may be accurate, Simple's claims about their products being good for sensitive skin are spurious at best because too many of the ingredients are completely inappropriate for sensitive skin.

Simple skin care states the following: “Our philosophy is: Simple says - never use perfumes, dyes or harsh irritants that can upset your skin. Simple says - settle for only the purest possible ingredients.  Simple says - trust the natural goodness in all of our products especially for sensitive skin.” Although that's a good philosophy, most Simple products don’t live up to their lofty goals. There are fragrant ingredients in many of their products, they use potentially irritating preservatives in some of their products, their sun protection products use synthetic sunscreen ingredients which aren’t the best for sensitive skin, and many of their ingredients are not natural (we know their claim of natural goodness doesn’t say outright that they only use natural ingredients but many consumers will think that’s what's being implied)

Unfortunately, there are no standards in Europe or anywhere else that regulate which cosmetic products can be deemed suitable for sensitive skin and which cannot. Therefore, any company can make that claim for its products, regardless of what the products contain. It's not all bad news though, as several of Simple's products are fragrance-free, which is a key starting point for all skin types, especially sensitive skin.

As mentioned above, the price point for Simple is low; in fact, it is one of the least expensive cosmetic brands you’ll find in either the United Kingdom or the United States. We are all for consumers getting more for their money, but in most cases with Simple you're being shortchanged, and that’s not the way to save money. Most of their products are either very basic or the frills and good ingredients are but a dusting in an otherwise ordinary formula. There are few outstanding products in this line, which is similar throughout the industry.

The anti-aging products are a great example of Simple's combination of low prices and lofty claims, with nary an ingredient on the list capable of delivering any benefit over and above a Band-Aid®. Even the most state-of-the-art moisturizers and anti-aging products won't bring about a significant reduction in wrinkles or other signs of aging, but using well-formulated products (and they don't have to be expensive) helps a great deal. Overall the folks behind Simple took their name too literally.

For more information about Simple, visit http://www.simpleskincare.com

Note: As of summer 2015, going forward all Simple Skincare reviews are based on the United States formulas and prices are given in United States currency.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.20.2015
Terrible

This is terrible. Didn't do anything for me. It doesn't even foam up, I can't even tell if it's cleaning my face.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Ashlee
08.05.2015
No more geranium oil

Hello. I recently purchased this item from Target. Comparing the ingredient list on the bottle to your site, it appears the geranium oil has been removed.It is a basic cleanser with no hard side effects thus far. I appreciate that it is made without parabens, perfumes or dyes.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Melanee S.
08.07.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  Thanks for the info -- we'll check it out and get this review updated accordingly soon :)

—Admin
04.18.2015
Different Ingredients.....

I just saw this product at Walmart and when I go through the ingredients, I couldn't find any problematic ingredients e.g fragrant plant oil or menthol.I was thinking of buying the product but I wanted to check the rating at Paula Choice website. Can you plz check the ingredients and review the product again.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Ayman,Za
04.24.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  The main reason we downgraded this product's rating is because of its inclusion of Pelagonium Graveolens Oil (rose geranium oil) which is a fragrant plant oil and potential irritant, which according to Simple's websitesite is still included in the ingredients list.

—Admin
01.20.2015
New formulation?

I believe they have taken the fragrant plant oils out. On their website they still list the ingredients with the oils in it, but I was at the store and did not see them listen on the bottle. I'm not sure if this a new formulation for 2015 in the US.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Elizabeth R.
01.20.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello, and thank you for the information! We'll check out the formulation and adjust our review as needed.

—Paula's Choice Research Team
08.09.2014
This is a good face wash!

The Beautypedia review for this product is quite harsh in my opinion - many members in my family have horribly sensitive skin (myself included) and no one has had any bad reactions as a result of the oil in this face wash. It cleans well and leaves your face feeling fresh, but soft and supple as well. However, as it is a basic face wash, it doesn't remove heavy makeup well.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Bianca
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.411 9/1/2015 5:27:13 AM