03.25.2015
3
2
Facial Treatment Repair C
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $160
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:03.25.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Facial Treatment Repair C, despite the name, doesn’t contain vitamin C. In fact, all it contains is Pitera, water, slip agents, water-binding agent, and preservatives. The one thing you may be gleaning from this product lineup is that whatever effect Pitera has, P&G must believe it takes a lot of it to provide a benefit. Otherwise, why not just offer one super-Pitera product and call it good, and have this option be something else that is proven to be beneficial for skin?

Claims

Hydrates intensely. Refines. Diminishes appearance of fine lines. A light yet powerful replenishing serum with rich moisturisers, Hyaluronic Acid and Pitera 4 - an extremely concentrated form of Pitera, repeatedly filtered to produce a high-powered anti-ageing element.Replenishes thirsty skin, leaving it silky and smooth.

Ingredients

Saccharomycopsis Ferment Filtrate (Pitera), Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol, Pentylene Glycol, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Benzoate, Methylparaben

Brand Overview

SK-II At-A-Glance

Strengths: Some well-formulated moisturizers and serums; all of the sunscreens provide sufficient UVA protection.

Weaknesses: Shockingly expensive, especially for the wide assortment of mediocre products; unreliable skin-lightening products; AHA/BHA products that contain an ineffective amount of exfoliant; no products to help manage blemishes; jar packaging.

Procter & Gamble, as always, is extremely helpful in providing information about their products. In this case it was for their upscale SK-II skin-care line. We certainly can't say that about most companies. We have to acknowledge P&G for having the integrity to share their "inside" details with someone like me, who might be more critical than complimentary. Thank you, P&G!

Regrettably, and we mean that sincerely, we wish we had more positive comments to convey, but alas, we don't. The data provided don't change the reality about skin care and the ingredients that can have an impact on skin. SK-II products are hardly worth the price, especially when compared to Olay Regenerist and Definity (P&G's own drugstore line of skin-care products). In fact, it takes only a quick review of the formulas to note that many SK-II items are very similar to Olay Regenerist items, except that the latter don't include Pitera, the supposedly miracle ingredient in this line. Yet there is minimal research indicating that Pitera is even helpful for skin.

Pitera is the cornerstone of the SK-II line and is present in every SK-II product. Pitera is the trade name for Saccharomycopsis ferment filtrate (SFF), a form of yeast purportedly unique because of the fermenting and filtering process it goes through before being added to these products. As it turns out, many forms of yeast have anti-inflammatory properties and antioxidant properties, including SFF (Source: Journal of Dermatologic Science, June 2006, pages 249–257). Other than that, all of the information about Pitera comes from papers presented at medical conferences, not from published studies. Presenting papers at medical conferences is not at all the same thing as publishing the results of studies. We frequently present papers and information at medical conferences, and we wouldn't offer that material as proof of anything because it isn't. The standards for presenting a paper at a medical conference are very different from the requirements for publication of study results in most medical journals.

To give P&G the benefit of the doubt, even if Pitera is a wonder ingredient, this doesn't explain how it rates when compared with other "wonder" ingredients because there are no comparison studies. Hundreds of ingredients—ranging from green tea to superoxide dismutase, epigallocatechin-3-gallate, eicosapentaenoic acid, beta-carotene, pomegranate, and curcumin to vitamin E, vitamin A, and on and on and on—have stellar reputations, and there's copious documentation to prove it.

Another point to consider: If Pitera deserves the spotlight SK-II shines on it, then P&G needs to change their claims about Olay Regenerist and Definity, and at the very least say that these products are almost as good as SK-II except we left out the Pitera. Ultimately, unless you believe Pitera is the answer for your every skin-care need (because each and every SK-II product contains it, with very few other added extras), there is no reason to waste your time and energy on this line.

For more information about SK-II, owned by Procter & Gamble, visit www.sk-ii.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.27.2015
Was great for me, BUT...

I loved my results when using this product, you really only need a little bit, too. This delivered so well for me & caused ZERO zits, which are my worst fear when trying new serums & creams. I was SO SET to purchase a 2nd bottle UNTIL I found out it did not contain any Vit. C. Maybe I should have researched more but the Sephora written "claims" only encouraged me to think it contained it & I swear they changed the "claims" after a reviewer exposed this. Still, it had a great effect on my skin

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
vexed
09.12.2014
Nice Serum

The word 'c' means concentrate not vitamin c as you mentioned. This serum works great on my dry skin and gives my skin a healthy glow as well. I apply it after cellumination mask-in lotion and makes my skin feels soft and smooth. Love it!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Emily Wong
11.19.2013
Facial Treatment Repair C

The Repair C stands for Concentrate, not Vitamin C.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Sheryl C.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.394 5/28/2015 3:32:00 AM