Antioxidant Lip Repair Restorative Treatment, for Damaged or Aging Lips

Price:
$38 - 0.3 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Lip Products (Including Lip Exfoliators) > Lip Balm Without Sunscreen
Last Updated:
12/30/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

Antioxidant Lip Repair Restorative Treatment, for Damaged or Aging Lips has an interesting texture in an overall emollient (and fragrance-free) formula that provides lips with an impressive selection of antioxidants, water-binding agents, and a peptide, which theoretically has cell-communicating ability. If you’re going to spend this much for a lip product, it might as well be loaded with extras like this one is! However, this doesn’t contain sunscreen, and so should only be used at night.

Smoothes lip lines by gently exfoliating and promoting collagen synthesis while providing antioxidant protection.

Water, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Petrolatum, Paraffin, Hydogenated Vegetable Oil, Barley (Hordeum Vulgare) Extract, Tomato (Solanium Lycopersicum) Extract, Dimethicone, Cetyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, Milk Thistle (Silybum Marianum) Extract, Alcohol, Cetearyl Alcohol, Ceteareth-20, Glucosamine HCI, Algae Extract, Yeast Extract, Urea, Octyl Palmitate, Tribehenin, Sorbitan Isotearate, Palmitoyl-Oligopeptide, Tocopheryl Acetate, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Allantoin, Alpha Tocopherol, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Disodium EDTA, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Isobutylparaben

With a strong presence in the professional (meaning spa and aesthetics) skin-care market, SkinCeuticals has a mostly well-deserved reputation for producing serious-minded, research-driven products, several of which are centered on L-ascorbic acid. Company founder Dr. Sheldon Pinnell began the line after a falling out with the folks behind Cellex-C, a company for which Dr. Pinnell once served as spokesperson. The falling out had to do with both Cellex-C and Dr. Pinnell holding patents on L-ascorbic acid; Cellex-C held the patent on a formula with L-ascorbic acid (the original Cellex-C serum) while Dr. Pinnell's patent (now conspicuously absent from SkinCeuticals products) was only for the ingredient. The drama continued as, years later, the doctor who joined Pinnell to work on SkinCeuticals' vitamin C products began his own company, also selling products with vitamin C. Who needs Desperate Housewives when we have desperate doctors racing to be the authoritative word on the anti-aging properties of vitamin C?

The good news is that copious research has demonstrated that L-ascorbic acid (despite its stability issues, which, formula-wise, SkinCeuticals products do address) is a good, potent antioxidant and anti-inflammatory agent. It has also been shown to provide photoprotective benefits when skin is exposed to UV light and is capable of stimulating collagen production - though don't take that to mean it is a cure for wrinkles (Sources: International Journal of Toxicology, 2005, supplement, pages 51–111; Experimental Dermatology, June 2003, pages 237–244; Dermatologic Surgery, March 2002, pages 231–236; Bioelectrochemistry and Bioenergetics, May 1999, pages 453–461; and International Journal of Radiation Biology, June 1999, pages 747–755). Of course, other forms of vitamin C have equally impressive research, and some forms, such as magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, have better stability profiles (Source: Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis, March 1997, pages 795–801).

As we've mentioned before, vitamin C is but one of many good antioxidants, and it's not the best approach to select any one or two antioxidants and bank on them alone to provide every conceivable skin-rejuvenating benefit. Instead, go for products that offer a cocktail of antioxidants because you'll get a greater range of benefits. Plus, some antioxidants in combination have a synergistic effect that surpasses what occurs when any of the ingredients are used alone. SkinCeuticals clearly knows this, because their vitamin C products also contain the antioxidant ferulic acid, and some add vitamin E to the mix as well. Above all, remember that as multifunctional as antioxidants are, they cannot stop aging, they won't eliminate wrinkles, and they do not replace the need for daily sun protection.

L'Oreal purchased SkinCeuticals in May 2005, and, for the time being, seems to be letting them stay on their course. That's a good thing, because despite L'Oreal’s considerable financial reserves and global R&D team, the skin-care products their brands produce consistently lag behind what current research indicates are state-of-the-art options. As long as they continue to let SkinCeuticals retain its stature, there are many good reasons to shop this line; however, that said, this line is far from perfect in terms of being able to assemble a complete skin-care routine. Focusing on what they do best (which is serums, sunscreens, and specialty products) will be money well spent for visible results. Those who find the SkinCeuticals price tags to be a deal-breaker need to know that despite several notable products, they're hardly the only game in town; you can find equally superior products for less money, though not all of them follow the impressive concentration protocols of SkinCeuticals.

For more information about SkinCeuticals, call 1-800-771-9489 or visit www.skinceuticals.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
Page of 1
  1. Lizzy
    Reviewed on Saturday, July 19, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Took over a week but noticed a big difference!
    • I tried it for a week & did nothing so I stopped using it. After 2 weeks I looked in the mirror and noticed all of the deep line creases in my lips were now plumped up. I am back to using it and no joke, this stuff REALLY DOES WORK to make your lips look younger with less creases. I found this for $20 + free ship on amazon but now price went up. Only .34/oz but you only need a little. Put on at night so drinking/eating doesn't take it off. Does anyone know of a less expensive substitute??

  2. Jeanne S
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    What happened?
    • Being that I'm sensitive to sulfates I was very disappointed when I found Skinceuticals changed the formula and added them.

  3. cc
    Reviewed on Wednesday, February 06, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    $38 lip "repair" (please)
    • well, if you want to spend more than Chapstick. Seriously tho., I am puzzled Paula thinks it's so swell. A friend has some as a splurge, I tried it several times----------nice, but not worth it AND, hello, the 2nd injgredient is petrolatum. This for 38 bucks, and one silly peptide -------who are they fooling. C'mon, Paula

  4. Susanna in Seattle
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 02, 2012
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Best lip product ever!
    • Thank you Paula for turning me on to this lip balm - it's the best lip care product I have ever tried (and I've tried many over the years). It's expensive but a little goes a long way. Don't know what the magic ingredient is but my lips LOVE this balm.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.315
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.