03.18.2015
4
442
Antioxidant Lip Repair Restorative Treatment, for Damaged or Aging Lips
Rating
0.3 fl. oz. for $38
Category:Skin Care > Lip Products (Including Lip Exfoliators) > Lip Balm Without Sunscreen
Last Updated:03.18.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Antioxidant Lip Repair Restorative Treatment, for Damaged or Aging Lips has an interesting, somewhat greasy lotion texture that provides lips with two forms of vitamin E for antioxidant benefit but lesser amounts of potentially helpful plant extracts and a peptide. This treatment was recently reformulated, and the latest version isn’t quite as good as the previous formula, so we’ve lowered the rating a bit.

This remains a good, though pricier, lip treatment whose core ingredients can take care of dry lips—though the latest formula does seem to contain more denatured alcohol than the prior version, which isn’t ideal.

Claims

SkinCeuticals Antioxidant Lip Repair prevents premature aging while restoring moisture and smoothing the surface of the lips. It uses two powerful antioxidants, silymarin and vitamin E, to shield the delicate lip area from the ravages of sun, smoke and air damage. Special botanical emollients hydrate and heal while an AHA-free exfoliating complex softens and smooths the texture of your lips.

Ingredients

Water, Hydogenated Vegetable Oil, Glycerin, Cera Microcristaluna/Microcystalune Wax, Dimethicone, Silica, Alcohol Denat, Tocopheryl Acetate, Polymethyisisesquoxane, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Phenoxyethanol, Lauryl PEG-9, Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone, Tocopherol, Magnesium Sulfate, Disteardimonium Hectorite, Glucosamine, Tribhenin, Caprylyl Glycol, Allantoin, Disodium EDTA, Hydroxyethyl Urea, Sorbitan Isostearate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Faex Extract/Yeast Extract, Biosaccharide Gum-1, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Silybum Marianum Extract.

Brand Overview

SkinCeuticals At-A-Glance

Strengths: Great line to shop if you're looking for well-formulated vitamin C and retinol products; some outstanding sunscreens (including for sensitive skin), and every one provides sufficient UVA protection; one effective AHA product; good self-tanner; several fragrance-free products.

Weaknesses: Mostly problematic cleansers and toners; fruit and sugar extracts trying to substitute for AHA products when the real deal is much better; ineffective BHA products; jar packaging.

With a strong presence in the professional (meaning spa and aesthetics) skin-care market, SkinCeuticals has a mostly well-deserved reputation for producing serious-minded, research-driven products, several of which are centered on L-ascorbic acid. Company founder Dr. Sheldon Pinnell began the line after a falling out with the folks behind Cellex-C, a company for which Dr. Pinnell once served as spokesperson. The falling out had to do with both Cellex-C and Dr. Pinnell holding patents on L-ascorbic acid; Cellex-C held the patent on a formula with L-ascorbic acid (the original Cellex-C serum) while Dr. Pinnell's patent (now conspicuously absent from SkinCeuticals products) was only for the ingredient. The drama continued as, years later, the doctor who joined Pinnell to work on SkinCeuticals' vitamin C products began his own company, also selling products with vitamin C. Who needs Desperate Housewives when we have desperate doctors racing to be the authoritative word on the anti-aging properties of vitamin C?

The good news is that copious research has demonstrated that L-ascorbic acid (despite its stability issues, which, formula-wise, SkinCeuticals products do address) is a good, potent antioxidant and anti-inflammatory agent. It has also been shown to provide photoprotective benefits when skin is exposed to UV light and is capable of stimulating collagen production - though don't take that to mean it is a cure for wrinkles (Sources: International Journal of Toxicology, 2005, supplement, pages 51–111; Experimental Dermatology, June 2003, pages 237–244; Dermatologic Surgery, March 2002, pages 231–236; Bioelectrochemistry and Bioenergetics, May 1999, pages 453–461; and International Journal of Radiation Biology, June 1999, pages 747–755). Of course, other forms of vitamin C have equally impressive research, and some forms, such as magnesium ascorbyl phosphate, have better stability profiles (Source: Journal of Pharmaceutical and Biomedical Analysis, March 1997, pages 795–801).

As we've mentioned before, vitamin C is but one of many good antioxidants, and it's not the best approach to select any one or two antioxidants and bank on them alone to provide every conceivable skin-rejuvenating benefit. Instead, go for products that offer a cocktail of antioxidants because you'll get a greater range of benefits. Plus, some antioxidants in combination have a synergistic effect that surpasses what occurs when any of the ingredients are used alone. SkinCeuticals clearly knows this, because their vitamin C products also contain the antioxidant ferulic acid, and some add vitamin E to the mix as well. Above all, remember that as multifunctional as antioxidants are, they cannot stop aging, they won't eliminate wrinkles, and they do not replace the need for daily sun protection.

L'Oreal purchased SkinCeuticals in May 2005, and, for the time being, seems to be letting them stay on their course. That's a good thing, because despite L'Oreal’s considerable financial reserves and global R&D team, the skin-care products their brands produce consistently lag behind what current research indicates are state-of-the-art options. As long as they continue to let SkinCeuticals retain its stature, there are many good reasons to shop this line; however, that said, this line is far from perfect in terms of being able to assemble a complete skin-care routine. Focusing on what they do best (which is serums, sunscreens, and specialty products) will be money well spent for visible results. Those who find the SkinCeuticals price tags to be a deal-breaker need to know that despite several notable products, they're hardly the only game in town; you can find equally superior products for less money, though not all of them follow the impressive concentration protocols of SkinCeuticals.

For more information about SkinCeuticals, call 1-800-771-9489 or visit www.skinceuticals.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.19.2014
Took over a week but noticed a big difference!

I tried it for a week & did nothing so I stopped using it. After 2 weeks I looked in the mirror and noticed all of the deep line creases in my lips were now plumped up. I am back to using it and no joke, this stuff REALLY DOES WORK to make your lips look younger with less creases. I found this for $20 + free ship on amazon but now price went up. Only .34/oz but you only need a little. Put on at night so drinking/eating doesn't take it off. Does anyone know of a less expensive substitute??

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lizzy
01.29.2014
What happened?

Being that I'm sensitive to sulfates I was very disappointed when I found Skinceuticals changed the formula and added them.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jeanne S
02.06.2013
$38 lip "repair" (please)

well, if you want to spend more than Chapstick. Seriously tho., I am puzzled Paula thinks it's so swell. A friend has some as a splurge, I tried it several times----------nice, but not worth it AND, hello, the 2nd injgredient is petrolatum. This for 38 bucks, and one silly peptide -------who are they fooling. C'mon, Paula

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
cc
12.02.2012
Best lip product ever!

Thank you Paula for turning me on to this lip balm - it's the best lip care product I have ever tried (and I've tried many over the years). It's expensive but a little goes a long way. Don't know what the magic ingredient is but my lips LOVE this balm.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Susanna in Seattle
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.394 5/26/2015 11:17:02 AM