12.30.2014
12
545
Always Sharp Waterproof Kohl Liner
Rating
$20
Last Updated:12.30.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

There's been a longstanding debate about whether or not the convenience of automatic twist-up eyeliner is worth sacrificing the needle-sharp precision of a standard pencil liner that requires sharpening. Smashbox has resolved this issue in the best possible way: The cap of this liner reshapes the tip every time you twist it off.

The formulation of this eyeliner is just as good as the mechanics! The texture is creamy and easy to apply for bold, wears-all-day color. Watery eyes?—No problem, as this liner is reliably waterproof! It also comes in a wide selection of shades, including the standard black, brown, and charcoal but also extending to purple, green, blue, and others for added variety. Well done, Smashbox!

Pros:
  • Self-sharpens as claimed.
  • Bold, wears-all-day color
  • Reliably waterproof.
  • Wide variety of shades.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Smashbox At-A-Glance

Strengths: A unique Anti-Shine product that is a must-try if you have very oily skin; mostly excellent foundations with a neutral range of shades; improved powder eyeshadows and lip color products; well-constructed makeup brushes.

Weaknesses: A few products that are better in concept than execution.

Perhaps one of the most interesting things about Smashbox is that its name refers to the early, accordion-style cameras and that Smashbox is first and foremost a Hollywood-based photography studio. The company's creators, Dean and Davis Factor, have their heritage in makeup—their great-grandfather was the legendary makeup artist Max Factor. The makeup, which debuted in 1996, began as a collection of trendy and fashion-forward colors coupled with a pleasingly neutral palette of foundations, concealers, and powders. Nowadays, there are exceptional options to choose from, but also some color products that fall short due to too sheer formulas or other issues noted in their respective reviews.

Where Smashbox has lived up to their Hollywood makeup pedigree is with a few standout formulas, including impressive lip products as well as excellent foundations, BB and CC cream options. Of course, the brand is also well-known for their range of makeup primers—whether that’s a necessary step is up for debate—but nevertheless they do offer a few products in this category that are worth considering.

For more information about Smashbox, now owned by Estee Lauder, call (888) 763-1361 or visit www.smashbox.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.30.2015
great, but runs out quickly

I bought one of each of the Beautypedia top-rated waterproof automatic eyeliner pencils. This hands down won the results! It goes on smoothly (I do not do waterlining), stays put, even without powdering over it with shadow as I usually do, and is indeed always sharp. However, it started to break off the point after maybe a month of use--and I draw a thin line on top only, and I'd resharpen. Then a day or two later, same thing--now it won't advance any more--it's used up!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Kathryn F.
08.09.2015
Smudges, not long-wearing

I like the self-sharpening cap. But this does NOT last all day. It smudges and wears off. Beautypedia's rating is overly generous.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
STACEY k.
07.14.2015
Smudges under the eyes

I am surprised that no "cons" were listed in Beautypedia's review. This smears and smudges under the eyes. You can use it on the top lid if you want, but the waxy texture is not as good as a liquid or gel. Under the eye it's a disaster. I found two automatic pencils that stay under the eye better than this: Bobbi Brown Perfectly Defined Gel Liner Gel-Based Pencil, and Marc Jacobs Gel Eye Crayon. Bobbi's has a thinner tip so I prefer it, but Marc's lasts well also.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Blonde Beach
11.22.2014
Great product, not worth the price

I love the product. Goes on smoothly, nice color, stays put until you take it off. But the product runs out way too fast. Much as I like this, I won't buy it again - too bad.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
MARY S.
10.18.2014
Rubbish

Waste of money. Eyeliner broke while the lid was on. Over priced and average performance. Not recommended. Very surprised this got a Best rating from PC.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Cate
09.26.2014
liner

tip of liner broke after 3 weeks of use, cannot use, went to trash. waste of my money.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.09.2014
Great product, not worth the price

Great product, easy to apply, stays put, always sharp, but there is very little product, so it runs out quickly, which makes this VERY expensive. Won't be buying this again :-(

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Mary S.
06.18.2014
Great liner.....not enough of it

It's a great liner, no doubt, applies nicely, stays put, looks terrific.....but there is so little of it. I'm lucky to get 2 to 3 weeks out of it using it daily. At $20 a shot, Smashbox is getting greedy. We should get triple the amount or more. A pencil should last at least a couple months for this price. Treat your loyal customers right, Smashbox and we will keep coming back.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Diana L
06.13.2014
20.00 for eyeliner and used it at most 5 times!!!!

My eyeliner typically lasts me for months and months---but the Smashbox Always Sharp Waterproof Kohl liner disappeared after using it only a handful of times. It says that it self sharpens every time you take the cap off…but my liner disappeared so I twisted the bottom to push more out but nothing was in there. Terrible value at 20.00 plus tax a pop!!!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Deborah C
04.08.2014
?????

Of course this product never needs sharpening-that is because it is impossible to get the eyeliner onto my eyelid. Even "warming " it up first does not help. In the main, I am not a fan of eye liners that do not need sharpening.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Susan
01.10.2014
love/hate

I was thrilled to finally find a dark brown eye liner in a beautiful, matte shade that did not transfer or fade all day! (This has not been an easy task for me) So, you can imagine my disappointment when this product ran out way before I expected it to. I barely used it. I thought I did something wrong or that I had somehow broken it, because it seemed impossible for it to be running out so soon! I then read similar complaints online. I will not be repurchasing. I felt ripped off.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Susan C
01.05.2014
I like it but...

I love the concept of this eyeliner, the fact that it's waterproof and the colors are great but I find it's very irritating when I put it on the bottom rim of my eye (the waterline, some call it). I don't know why, it just feels like I'm dragging chalk across my waterline, kind of like a dry feeling. I'm not the only one who has said this either. Otherwise, you will like it if you don't use eyeliner on your waterline!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to Beauty.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.411 9/1/2015 3:15:29 AM