Always Sharp Waterproof Kohl Liner

by Smashbox  
Price:
$20 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Eyeliners > Waterproof Eyeliner
Last Updated:
4/14/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

There's been a longstanding debate about whether or not the convenience of automatic twist-up eyeliner is worth sacrificing the needle-sharp precision of a standard pencil liner that requires sharpening. Smashbox has resolved this issue in the best possible way: The cap of this liner reshapes the tip every time you twist it off.

The formulation of this eyeliner is just as good as the mechanics! The texture is creamy and easy to apply for bold, wears-all-day color. Watery eyes?—No problem, as this liner is reliably waterproof! It also comes in a wide selection of shades, including the standard black, brown, and charcoal but also extending to purple, green, blue, and others for added variety. Well done, Smashbox!

Pros:
  • Self-sharpens as claimed.
  • Bold, wears-all-day color
  • Reliably waterproof.
  • Wide variety of shades.
Cons:
  • None.

Perhaps one of the most interesting things about Smashbox is that its name refers to the early, accordion-style cameras and that Smashbox is first and foremost a Hollywood-based photography studio. The company's creators, Dean and Davis Factor, have their heritage in makeup—their great-grandfather was the legendary makeup artist Max Factor. However, this seems to be a case where the proverbial apple didn't fall all that close to the tree. It is apparent that Dean and Davis are better at their respective careers as CEO and photographer, respectively, than at creating a cosmetics line. The makeup, which debuted in 1996, began as a collection of trendy and fashion-forward colors coupled with a pleasingly neutral palette of foundations, concealers, and powders. Nowadays, many of the colors are too sheer to register on medium to dark skin tones, shiny products abound, and several of the complexion-enhancing products just don't look as natural on skin as they should. In fact, the foundations and concealers could use some updating; they haven't kept pace with what other makeup artistry lines are launching, and don't demonstrate much longevity under normal conditions, as in day-to-day casual makeup.

Realizing that celebrities sell products better than the product claims themselves, Smashbox steadily capitalizes on its ties to Hollywood and often mentions several famous faces who wear their products. Their counter brochures follow suit, tempting women to sit down with a Smashbox artist to get the star treatment. It's easy to get caught up in the hype, but as a comprehensive line Smashbox doesn't have what it takes to create A-list glamour, at least not if you're looking for cutting-edge textures and finishes.

For more information about Smashbox, now owned by Estee Lauder, call (888) 763-1361 or visit www.smashbox.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
Page of 1
  1. MARY S.
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 22, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Great product, not worth the price
    • I love the product. Goes on smoothly, nice color, stays put until you take it off. But the product runs out way too fast. Much as I like this, I won't buy it again - too bad.

  2. Cate
    Reviewed on Saturday, October 18, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Rubbish
    • Waste of money. Eyeliner broke while the lid was on. Over priced and average performance. Not recommended. Very surprised this got a Best rating from PC.

  3. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, September 26, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    liner
    • tip of liner broke after 3 weeks of use, cannot use, went to trash. waste of my money.

  4. Mary S.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, July 09, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Great product, not worth the price
    • Great product, easy to apply, stays put, always sharp, but there is very little product, so it runs out quickly, which makes this VERY expensive. Won't be buying this again :-(

  5. Diana L
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Great liner.....not enough of it
    • It's a great liner, no doubt, applies nicely, stays put, looks terrific.....but there is so little of it. I'm lucky to get 2 to 3 weeks out of it using it daily. At $20 a shot, Smashbox is getting greedy. We should get triple the amount or more. A pencil should last at least a couple months for this price. Treat your loyal customers right, Smashbox and we will keep coming back.

  6. Deborah C
    Reviewed on Friday, June 13, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    20.00 for eyeliner and used it at most 5 times!!!!
    • My eyeliner typically lasts me for months and months---but the Smashbox Always Sharp Waterproof Kohl liner disappeared after using it only a handful of times. It says that it self sharpens every time you take the cap off…but my liner disappeared so I twisted the bottom to push more out but nothing was in there. Terrible value at 20.00 plus tax a pop!!!

  7. Susan
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 08, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    ?????
    • Of course this product never needs sharpening-that is because it is impossible to get the eyeliner onto my eyelid. Even "warming " it up first does not help. In the main, I am not a fan of eye liners that do not need sharpening.

  8. Susan C
    Reviewed on Friday, January 10, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    love/hate
    • I was thrilled to finally find a dark brown eye liner in a beautiful, matte shade that did not transfer or fade all day! (This has not been an easy task for me) So, you can imagine my disappointment when this product ran out way before I expected it to. I barely used it. I thought I did something wrong or that I had somehow broken it, because it seemed impossible for it to be running out so soon! I then read similar complaints online. I will not be repurchasing. I felt ripped off.

  9. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 05, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    I like it but...
    • I love the concept of this eyeliner, the fact that it's waterproof and the colors are great but I find it's very irritating when I put it on the bottom rim of my eye (the waterline, some call it). I don't know why, it just feels like I'm dragging chalk across my waterline, kind of like a dry feeling. I'm not the only one who has said this either. Otherwise, you will like it if you don't use eyeliner on your waterline!

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.351 11/24/2014 4:43:56 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.