03.12.2015
8
1210
Dramatically Defining Long Wear Gel Liner
Rating
$8.99
Category:Makeup > Eyeliners > Liquid/Gel/Cream/Cake
Last Updated:03.12.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This is another excellent long-wearing cream-gel eyeliner to consider, and the price is more than fair. This applies smoothly and sets to a tenacious, long-wearing finish that resists fading, flaking, and smudging. This type of liner requires an oil- or silicone-based makeup remover. The black and brown shades are excellent.

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Sonia Kashuk At-A-Glance

Strengths: Affordable and widely available (though exclusive to Target stores); good makeup remover; the makeup is still the star attraction, with impressive options for foundation, powder, blush, lip color, eyeliner and especially makeup brushes.

Weaknesses: The concealers, eye pencil, and brow shapers are a letdown; the makeup palettes may seem convenient, but several of the included products perform poorly.

Perhaps best known for her years of work with supermodel Cindy Crawford, makeup artist Sonia Kashuk's well-chosen selection of makeup has been available exclusively at Target stores since the mid-1990s.

 Kashuk's brushes have been a strong point, and now that they've been redone they're better than ever, and still affordable. This is definitely a makeup collection worth visiting, and you'll find some premium options among Kashuk's powder foundation, regular powders, and blush. Several other products, from foundation to lipsticks, are also worthy of attention, though this is not a line that caters to darker skin tones. Ironically, it's the latest cosmetic products that met with the most critical reviews, largely due to poor execution or their gimmicky nature.

For more information about Sonia Kashuk, visit soniakashuk.com or www.target.com.

Note: Sonia Kashuk products are also available at select Bloomingdales locations in New York and California. The company also maintains freestanding stores in New York and New Jersey.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.17.2015
thumbs down on staying power

This eyeliner goes on smooth and is easy to use. The con, it doesn't have staying power. I live in a hot climate and I have oily eyelids, I have to use a primer to help with staying power.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Lisa W
12.27.2014
Great!

Only $9 and the quality is great. Packaging and overall look of the product was good and looked high end. I like how easily it applied. One drawback is that if you want to darken the color by going over your line again it can flake a bit. This only happened toward the inner corner of my eye and I was using a silicone brush but I did notice a little under my eye after. Other than that, I would definitely recommend this for beginners and those who have experience with other gel liners.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.03.2014
DISAPPOINTED

I REALLY REALLY wanted to love this product- the price, at a store close by..... BUT....... after using Bobbi Brown for years and MANY other liners for decades, this one just does not measure up. Lets see my complaints: 1. Does not last- my lids are not really oily but most pencils run from them, that is why gel is great 2. Consistancy- too dry for good application 3. Color, blah I am back searching as I hear Bobbi Brown is reformulated and Paula discontinued hers.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
BARBARA I.
05.08.2014
Worst gel eyeliner

I was hopeful with such a wonderful review that this would replace my MAC Fluidline eyeliner. But this did not hold up. I used with a primer and it still transferred on my hooded eyelids. It faded as the day went on which has never happened before with I used any gel eyeliner. I believe this has been reformulated. I tried the black, gray and brown and all three wore terrible. Back to trying to find a cruelty free gel liner.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
REBECCA W.
04.28.2014
Love this

I'm 73. Stopped trying to find an eyeliner that just slid on and stayed. This one is a winner. Saw it on Paula's Best of the Best. I look good again, along with her Best of the Best mascara. Love looking good again. Love Paula. Love Paul's Team.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Pat M
01.31.2014
did not last

I bought this after reading the good review from Paula's Choice. The product went on nice and smooth. It looked great. Five hours later I looked in the mirror and all the eyeliner on both eyes was gone. I will return it to Target. They do returns on all makeup products.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.29.2013
High expectations, low results

After reading Beautipedia's comment on the 100 best makeup buys column that this liner "Absolutely won't flake, smear, smudge, or break down from oily eyelids," I dashed out to purchase this eyeliner. I even broke one of my cardinal rules - I purchased it at Target, whose return policy is the worst on earth. This product couldn't have performed worse. It didn't come with an applicator. It applies horribly, very clumpy and dry. And then it didn't last through the day. I've gained some skepticism.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
AUDREY D.
09.30.2013
Beautypedia Team Response

Hello! We're sorry this liner didn't perform well for you. Gel eyeliners are volatile formulas more prone to aging before opening than other types of liners. Perhaps you purchased a liner that was past its prime, or, if you're new to this type of liner, you may have applied too much (a common mistake). Try it again and see if it performs better with less product.

—Admin
06.05.2013
Lasts for sure-a little dry

I bought this liner in brown and the e.l.f. cream liner in blue, and they are both very good with different texture issues. While the e.l.f. product is quite liquid, this one is much "drier", which slows down application for me. I love the end result as the color is natural but enhancing and it lasts through anything--heat, humidity, etc. I have more success using a flat gel liner brush with this product, with my thinner liner brushes it drags more when applying and takes forever.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
McKat
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.401 7/4/2015 7:33:52 PM