12.19.2014
7
Sonia Kashuk
Sonia Kashuk Brushes
Rating
$7.99
Category:Makeup > Brushes & Applicators > Brushes/Applicators/Curlers
Last Updated:12.19.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:
Tested on animals:No
Overview

Sonia Kashuk offers several professional makeup brush options. Some have an ergonomically designed handle and a polished, futuristic look that's eye-catching (with a slightly higher price point), and the more basic options have a slim white handle (and lower price tags). There are plenty of natural and synthetic hair options (each are clearly marked), but almost all of them are recommended and a bona fide beauty bargain. With dozens of options and at these prices you can experiment with specialty brushes to see what works for you.

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Sonia Kashuk At-A-Glance

Strengths: Affordable and widely available (though exclusive to Target stores); good makeup remover; the makeup is still the star attraction, with impressive options for foundation, powder, blush, lip color, eyeliner and especially makeup brushes.

Weaknesses: The concealers, eye pencil, and brow shapers are a letdown; the makeup palettes may seem convenient, but several of the included products perform poorly.

Perhaps best known for her years of work with supermodel Cindy Crawford, makeup artist Sonia Kashuk's well-chosen selection of makeup has been available exclusively at Target stores since the mid-1990s.

 Kashuk's brushes have been a strong point, and now that they've been redone they're better than ever, and still affordable. This is definitely a makeup collection worth visiting, and you'll find some premium options among Kashuk's powder foundation, regular powders, and blush. Several other products, from foundation to lipsticks, are also worthy of attention, though this is not a line that caters to darker skin tones. Ironically, it's the latest cosmetic products that met with the most critical reviews, largely due to poor execution or their gimmicky nature.

For more information about Sonia Kashuk, visit soniakashuk.com or www.target.com.

Note: Sonia Kashuk products are also available at select Bloomingdales locations in New York and California. The company also maintains freestanding stores in New York and New Jersey.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Individual Kashuk tools brushes are the way to go

I never buy sets of brushes because there is always some filler in sets and because the quality is not always as good as individual brushes. I have all the individual Kashuk tools brushes and they are fantastic work horses. Many brushes I've had for several years and haven't shed a hair. If you go on Sonia Kashuk's website you can find out whether the bristles are natural or synthetic. Best brushes: #4 round foundation, any of the eye brushes.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jenny A
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
not all the brushes are good

not all the brushes are good; some brushes shed, others I really dislike: the smudge brush is super scratchy I returned it. some brushes I love: the crease brush is great, it has the perfect size. The natural hair brushes in most of her brushes are not so soft, or maybe I'm too used to synthetic brushes. It does not say on the brush whether it's natural or synthetic.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
juliana q.
Thursday, May 15, 2014
not good

I bought a multi pack of brushes that have dual ends...eye shadow brush is fine, foundation/concealer brush is also fine...but the blush/stipling(?) brush is awful. It leaves little black fibers, long and short, all over my face..and they stick to your skin! So frustrating.....

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Amanda K.
Wednesday, April 16, 2014
Disappointed

These brushes were NOT clearly marked as being natural or synthetic. In fact, nowhere on the packing of the No.24 Dense Blush/Powder Brush that I purchased yesterday, does it say what the fibers are made of. I wash new makeup brushes before using them and in doing so last night this brought out a terrible odor in the brush, may return.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
HR
Saturday, August 10, 2013
Disappointed In Brushes

Didn't hesitate to pay top dollar for the Sonia Kashuk brushes; large powder brush and #2 at Target. Used about two months and throughout that ime have increasingly noticed that the fibers attach to your makeup and face. I find myself picking fibers off my face once I've applied powder and blush. And not just one but several with each application. Of course, no receipt now as having had these for awhile. Am shocked at the cheapness of the brush fiber and it's readiness to attach to my face.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
DC
Monday, April 29, 2013
great bent eyeliner brush

I am new to gel eyeliners and this brush made the transition smooth. I really like it. I appreciate your reviews so I knew what to try. Great brush.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Sandi J.
Sunday, January 20, 2013
Disappointing Foundation Brush

Handle is comfortable, bristles are soft and slightly full.......but I think the bristles are a cheap synthetic. They're flat and somewhat waxy-looking, and have a slick feel. Dabs on the product but doesn't blend it very well.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
BARBARA H.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.369 3/1/2015 11:29:23 PM