03.17.2015
26
3
LifeCell All-in-One Antiaging Treatment
Rating
2.54 fl. oz. for $189
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:03.17.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Questions about this anti-aging treatment have been pouring in, and no wonder given that the claims for this heavily advertised "all-in-one" product are even more over the top than when the original StriVectin antiwrinkle product ran a series of ads with the question "Better than Botox?" Similar to that marketing campaign, ads for LifeCell state: "Better than a Facelift." Let's get to the bottom of all this marketing hype—and it really is just that, over-the-top marketing hype!

Of course, being "Better than a Facelift" depends on how you define "better."Most people would think anything is better than surgery, so the claim isn't exactly a lie!

LifeCell claims they have groundbreaking studies proving that this product reduces signs of facial aging by 94%. It's also said to moisturize for 24 hours, lift and firm, reduce age spots, build collagen, and reduce dark circles and puffiness. There seems to be no anti-aging skin concern LifeCell cannot treat!

Despite the company's claim of groundbreaking studies, none of them are available for evaluation. When we attempted to find these "studies" on the company's website, we discovered that the web address on the outer carton for LifeCell is invalid! (Even we found that shocking, and it's hard to shock us.) When we finally found a working website for LifeCell and engaged in an online chat with one of their representatives, we asked if the studies they refer to are available to see. Their response? "Not that I'm aware of." We aren't aware of any either, but then claims like this are highly unlikely to be supported by any documented research—keeping secrets is easier than revealing the facts.

The company uses several angles to sell this product: Celebrity endorsements, dermatologist testimonials (that end up having nothing to do with the actual product), pharmacist plugs, Facebook fan comments, even Nobel prize–winning scientists (that again have nothing to do with this actual product), and even claims that royalty uses it! What really matters is: Can this product do what it claims to do? The answer: No, at least not to the extent they illustrate or state directly.

LifeCell All-in-One Antiaging Treatment is a very expensive moisturizer that contains a good mix of anti-aging ingredients. Its initially creamy texture doesn't moisturize all that well (and definitely not for 24 hours as claimed), and its silky matte finish is best for normal to oily skin.

The majority of ingredients in LifeCell are not unique to this product. The company claims LifeCell creates a healthy glow due to stimulation of nitric oxide gas in the skin. First of all, nitric oxide is a free radical that damages the skin, it doesn't improve it. The claim is that it increases blood circulation to the skin, but there are other ways to do that rather than by increasing the free radicals in the skin. In reality, the real glow that's apparent on the skin from this product is a cosmetic effect from the cosmetic pigments (titanium dioxide, iron oxide), which are present in a higher-than-usual amount.

LifeCell will make the skin's surface feel very smooth and, because of the amount of film-forming agents and emollients, it can help disguise fine lines, just like all moisturizers do, but absolutely not to the extent, or in any way, shape, or form, like dermal fillers, Botox, lasers, or cosmetic surgery. Dermatologists, even the one who endorses LifeCell, offer cosmetic corrective procedures, and they certainly are not stopping any of those services because of this product.

While we can go on and on about this product's too-good-to-be-true claims, we are most confused by the statement on the LifeCell package that says: "the human eye cannot see a wrinkle." What is that about?! First, if that were true, then no one would shop for antiwrinkle products because why try to fix what no one can see? Second, LifeCell's statement just doesn't hold water. They maintain that what we really see when we look at a wrinkle is the shadow it causes, not the wrinkle itself. Although a line etched in the skin does have a sunken impression, we also see the outline of that impression and the shadow it has—which is why wrinkles are very much visible to the naked eye.

LifeCell goes on to state that using their product eliminates the shadow from the wrinkle, making the entire area smooth thanks to the prism-like light show it performs on your skin. Prisms are not skin care, they're a cosmetic effect that's washed away when you clean your skin. The ad copy for LifeCell is far more entertaining than the product is effective!

Pros:
  • Fragrance-free.
  • Contains a good mix of anti-aging ingredients, but the claims surrounding them are overblown.
Cons:
  • Overinflated claims about the product's effectiveness are not supported by published research.
  • Overpriced for what you get.
  • Cannot moisturize dry skin.
Claims
LifeCell makes fine lines and wrinkles virtually invisible within 17 seconds of application, making you look younger almost instantly. LifeCell's "all natural formula" contains 6 of the most potently effective, (yet completely harmless), scientifically proven anti-aging ingredients to dramatically revive your youthful appearance, possibly completely erase the appearance of wrinkles, tighten your skin, zap 10 to 15 years off your appearance, and get you a glowing radiant complexion for life.
Ingredients
Water (Aqua), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) Fruit, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Cetearyl Alcohol, Silicon Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Glycerin, Dimethylethanolamine, Cetearyl Glucoside, Sclerotium Gum, Iron Oxides, Thioctic Acid, Tetrahydrobisdemethoxydiferuloylmethane, Spilanthes Acmella Flower Extract, Retinol, Malus Domestica Fruit Cell Culture Extract, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Glycine Soja (Soybean) Oil, Cupric Carbonate Hydroxide (Mala'Kite), Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Tribehenin, Sodium Acryloylimethyltaurate Copolymer, Ceramide 2, Ethylhexylglycerin, Palmitoyl Oligopeptide, Palmitoyl Tetrapeptide-3, Retinyl Palmitate, PEG-10 Rapeseed Sterol, Hesperidin Methyl Chalcone, Steareth-20, Palmitoyl Tripeptide-5, Acetyl Hexapeptide-3, Dipeptide-2, Cholecalciferol, Ubiquinone, Tocopherol, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Beta Carotene, Ascorbyl Palmitate.
Brand Overview
For more information on South Beach Skincare, please see our review of LifeCell.
About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
Next »
03.25.2015
unwanted

disappointing I have been trying to get the compan

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jen R
03.14.2015
Great Product

I have been using Lifecell for 2 years,I am 53 years old and 2 years ago my skin went through some changes. I was seeing dark circles, uneven skin tone and fine lines. Since I begin using the product. I can honesty say my skin has never looked better. No more dark circles, my skin is smoother, even toned and lines less visible. The thing i love most about this product is that I have not gotten any new signs of aging in 2 years. it truly is an amazing product.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Ashley M
03.03.2015
Works for me!

Am surprised at the negative feedback as I have had great results. An excellent primer, I use it in the morning prior to make up&use Neostrata15AHA at night. Also like a few drops of rosehip oil on top. No crowsfeet, lipstick doesn't bleed any more & I was contemplating filler...reduced hyperpigmentation also. BTW, I'm just shy of 53. "Freebies" & VIP discount make it even better value.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Margie A
02.24.2015
mariabernarditaa19@gmail.com

Quisiera contarles que el producto es fantástico, pero a mi me hizo muy mal por un tema de piel (con dermatologo y todo), yo no quise comprarlo más y me volvio a llegar un pqte. que yo devolvi y el cargo a la TC igual me llego y aun no tengo devoluciones del dinero, yo no he firmado ningun dcto. espero se solucione pronto este tramite ya que la paciensa se acaba, me deben $ 189,00 Dolares

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Bernardita Agurto
02.21.2015
I love this product

I have used this product for years. I started in my early 40's (now 47) and I really like it. I have never had an issue with costumer service doing exactly what they told me they would do. It even helped clear up some itchy dry patches under and over my eyes. I'm sorry so many of you have had bad experiences. I, also, drink plenty of water, eat well, and walk when I can. One tube usually lasts me 4 months. I highly reccomend it. I feel it does what they say.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
tmdh
02.20.2015
lifecell south beach skincare

This is really a scam, their promotion price, the product,& all their arguments for not to refund your money, all the false information they send to your credit card company,saing is not their fault.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
silviana gomez
02.19.2015
Sucked in!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Did not see a positive result from the promises made in 3 weeks..emailed to "product assistant" the I wished to return the product. Chantelle recommended trying it for another 4-6 weeks with a reduced price of $94.50 and if I accept that I would see a difference and I could continue to purchase the product at that $94.50. used it another 3 weeks, saw no difference, emailed her that I was returning the product. She said that when I accepted the discounted price there was no return for refund.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Linda H.
02.13.2015
Scam

After the first week or so my skin did feel softer. But as time when on I saw less and less of an effect. Tried to return but my 30 days was up the following day so the shipment would not get back in time! Agreed to half price deal. 7 weeks later my face is broken out and I feel duped!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.10.2015
Thank you!

Thanks so much for the review. I was considering buying this product but was worried it was just a scam. You confirmed itand i cant thank you enough for it! I'm staying with my skinceuticals products!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
patricia
02.09.2015
Scam! Scam! Scam! Do not buy!

Worst product scam I have ever been sucked in to! They are like robots with their emails when you have questions about not receiving the product and telling me they have to investigate before they refund my money. They totally avoided me telling them not to charge my credit card. Then they put me with a "manager" to email, lol lol lol just another part of the scam.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.07.2015
Thanks

Thanks for the heads up. Was considering the 'free 30 day trial'. Pffft!!!! I wont be trying anything now. However, I did see it on Amazon for like 20$ I guess I could try that since some felt it worked ok??? 20$ is easier to manage than 200$

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rebecca H
02.07.2015
do not buy this product

Don't waste your money this does not work i have been using this for 6 months and my skin looks no different don't believe there crap.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.06.2015
I AM LEARNING MARKETING SCAM!!!

Thanks to you Paula, I have not purchased this product. I was educated by Dr.Mercola about 4 yrs.,ago about ingredients in Vitamins,Cosmetics,Food,etc.I do pay attention to ingredients as:magnesium stearate,stearic acid,titanium dioxide,silicon dioxide & phenoxyethenol.You made me aware of Nitric Oxide & Iron Oxide. Thank you for your valuable contribution to all of us concerned!!!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Angela N
01.22.2015
Free trial TIME PERIOD means it's a scam!

I can't believe I fell for this trial period trick. I ordered a free trial of the product to try it out but they sent me a full sized tube. That's when I checked out the product ratings on Paula's Choice and realized that after the 30 day trial period is over they will bill me for the full amount! I sent the tube back unopened, at my expense again of course! Very annoying, but I won't fall for that again!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
PERRIN B.
11.30.2014
Not wirth the $$$

After using this product for one year, I have not seen any results. I did initially have an issue with billing but after a phone call and demanding it be corrected immediately it was resolved. Sorry I wasted time and lots of money on this product.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Sheri I
11.23.2014
Scam!

Do not order! This company is a scam. They make you believe you are ordering a tube to try for free, paying for shipping charges when in fact they then bill you for $189 without authorization. They then bill for $149 without authorization. Don't be fooled by their marketing scam!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
B, K
09.28.2014
WOW it does not work

This was bought for me from my sister as a gift I have been using it for a month now and it has done absolutly nothing no de rease in wrinkles nothing it is all just a money making hype for culabable women like me trying to regain youth there is nothing that helps with wrinkles so all these positive reviews of how life cells works so well it is all lies that is my opinion and chances are all reviews are gone thru and only positive reviews are let thru

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
regina andonov
09.25.2014
Lifecell worked for me

I had great results using Lifecell as it greatly reduced the hyper-pigmentation along my jaw line after 6 weeks use. I'm surprised it doesn't have better ratings on here. It does also fill in the wrinkles to give you a smooth appearance and even though it does wash off, there are anti-aging benefits to this product long-term. I've used it two years now. I like that it doesn't leave me greasy as well.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
racheyw
06.23.2014
Excellent all in one product

I am surpriced at all negative reviews about this product. I started using it last year without having any unrealistic expectation about results. I feel this product does what it claims, ie glow, firmness etc but without exageration. However anyone with unrealistic expectations thinking will have a facelift/botox effect should not buy this product. It is expensive but it is all in one, quick and easy application. If you can afford it def worth trying I love it and will continue using it.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Eva
05.18.2014
Just in time

I haven't tried this but so glad to read your reviews. There are bogus "reviews" that come up with a link to try it. Thanks so much for these honest opinions- no links- attached.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Toni
02.06.2014
Not bad

This is the first anti-aging solution i tried, if I hadn't taken before and after pictures I would have thought the same as the comments posted here. I'm nearing the end of my 30 day trial and trying to decide to keep or move on to something else. I really see the difference in the pictures! But agree, not as fast acting as they claim.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
P Malli
09.06.2013
Don't Waste Your Money

Overpriced, reading the ingredient list was like "what was I thinking". Just didn't work as promised.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Debra B.
08.30.2013
Boooooo!!!

I only bought the sample tube and only had to pay for the $4.95 shipping. Sure glad I did not spend that ridiculous amount for a full product. I have used the sample for over a month religiously morning and night like it said. Well, I never saw the slightest change whatsoever. I had to stop putting it on my forehead and on my upper lip/under the nose. It made me slightly break out. I looked like I had a bad cold with the red bumps under my nose and it was sore. DONT BUY IT !!!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lela S.
08.30.2013
Less than zero...

Several years ago I bought this product. Used it once & woke up to a burn all over my face. Called my doctor & spoke w/her nurse who told me to call CDC in Atlanta!! I discovered the whole business was a sham & CDC had them on a shut-down list. I wanted to return the product; no legitimate phone # or address. I'm shocked to see this company is still in 'business' and more distressed that P's C is treating it like a relevant skincare business!!! I trusted P'sC for my skin care. DON'T BUY IT!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Deane B.
08.30.2013
Life-cell is a Sale

So glad Paula has now a review of this hyped up product. Having it only 5 days I should give it time to do what the website claims. Well it claims I will noticed a difference in 17 seconds. Not only have I Not noticed any difference, it has my skin feeling dry and the winkles around my mouth are still as visible . Also they want to sale you a eye cream. If this is what it is hyped up to be, why would one need a separate product. I am sticking with Paula's . Doris

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Doris M.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.379 3/26/2015 7:07:24 PM