09.04.2013
4
58
Lip Glaze
Rating
$22
Category:Makeup > Lip Glosses > Lip Gloss
Last Updated:09.04.2013
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Lip Glaze is a moderately thick, smooth lip gloss with a minimally sticky finish and a glaze-like shine. It’s packaged in a click-pen component with a built-in brush applicator and the brush itself is nicely cut to fit the contours of the mouth. Lip Glaze is one of Stila’s best-selling products, and numerous shades are available, ranging from translucent with shimmer to glossy reds and berry tones.

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Stila At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive for a department-store/boutique line; the foundations are remarkable in most respects, especially shade selection and texture; bronzing powder with sunscreen; very good options for blush and eyeshadow; the Brow Polish and Lip Shine are standouts; several attractive, versatile shimmer products; great makeup brushes.

Weaknesses: Convertible Eye Color and Kajal Eye Liner have too many weaknesses; some problematic lip glosses; the lip pencils are average at best. Skin care that means well but contains fragrant irritants.

Makeup artist Jeanine Lobell has been at the helm of Stila since its inception in 1994, and her creations have an impressive history of blending innovation with eye-catching, fun packaging. Of course, this innovation is not without its price, and you will find some rather ordinary products where the packaging or dispensing method is the only thing that's exciting. Where Lobell struck gold is with her superlative collection of foundations. We’ve examined hundreds of makeup lines for this and previous editions of this book, and Stila has had and continues to maintain one of the best collections of truly neutral foundation colors. For anyone confused about what we mean by "neutral tones," you need look no further, though we are pleased that more mainstream lines (including L'Oreal, Revlon, Clinique, and even Cover Girl) are now creating wonderfully neutral foundation colors. Stila's foundations aren't inexpensive, but it's critical to get a foundation that's right for you, and that may mean splurging. Other stellar categories include concealers, blush, eyeshadows, brushes, and much better mascaras than in years past.

Once an independent brand with a first-to-market approach to clever cardboard packaging that was sleek, urban, and utilitarian at the same time, Stila's presence and product lineup and distribution expanded (with mostly favorable results) when it was acquired by Estee Lauder in 1999. It was a bit perplexing when Lauder announced in late 2005 that it would sell Stila to "optimize our portfolio of brands" and put more attention (read: financial resources) into their M.A.C. and Bobbi Brown brands (Source: The Rose Sheet, April 17, 2006, page 4). Ironically, of those three brands, Stila has the most compelling collection of products. M.A.C. and Bobbi Brown are no slouches, but Stila always had a slight edge, at least in the complexion-enhancing categories.

An affiliate of Sun Capital Partners (naming itself Stila Corporation) bought the brand from Lauder in spring 2006 and has been at the helm since. Lauder's no longer owning Stila led to the brand's hasty exit from department stores, a move that left many shoppers wondering what the heck happened (and, at least in the stores we visited, the sales associates were vague about the line's future). Luckily, Stila still has a home in Sephora stores worldwide, and is randomly distributed in select department stores. That's great news, because there is much to love about this line, and the most recent crop of products proves that Stila has every intention of remaining a competitive player in the compelling game that is the cosmetics industry.

For more information about Stila, call 866.784.5201 or visit www.stilacosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
12.19.2013
Addicting!

I' ve had non- sticky glosses I don't like how they feel. I usually buy these in a trio. So to me these are a good deal. They smell great and are attractive in appearance. I always thought the packaging was cool. How they clicked. But, you have to turn slowly otherwise, you'll waste too much product and it you won't be able to reverse the wasted product.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Annette D.
11.07.2013
Sticky - Very Sticky

I agree with Amy about the sticky texture. As Sabine noted there are two distinct camps re: gloss. I got a 9 piece holiday set - LOVED the colors and they looked wonderful. Just could not get past the texture :-( Great colors, set was great value, just be aware that these are of the thicker variety. Also, had a tingle effect - almost mint sensation (not flavor). Sadly will have to return.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
MARY K.
08.28.2013
My favorite lip gloss

Stila's lip glaze is my go-to lip gloss! Note there are two camps when it comes to lip gloss: those who like the thicker (sometimes referred to as "sticky") finish, and those who prefer a lighter, dryer silicone-based finish. I prefer the heavier kind as my lips tend to dry and peel. The kind that Paula prefers seems to just sit on top of my lips without moisturizing, exacerbating the dryness. Stila offers a wide range of semi-sheer colors that all flatter to my fair-to-medium skin tone.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Sabine D.
06.10.2013
Sticky Stila

I disagree with the Beautypedia review of Stila Lip Glazes. I bought the holiday set last Christmas and am very disappointed. The package is nice and I like the click-pen style to dispense the product onto the brush. But, I find these lip glosses very sticky. They are thick, gooey and practically glue my lips to each other. The colors are nice and some have good opacity (if you want that). However, the gloppy texture feels terrible on the lips. I cannot recommend this product.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
AMY h.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.389 4/26/2015 5:58:57 PM