09.04.2013
3
58
Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner
Rating
$20
Category:Makeup > Eyeliners > Waterproof Eyeliner
Last Updated:09.04.2013
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

If an automatic, non-retractable eye pencil that offers rich colors with a metallic, glitter-infused sheen is what you’re after, then this waterproof liner is worth considering. The texture is creamy and application is smooth, and it sets quickly to a long-wearing finish, so smudge fast if you’re going for a smokey look.

One more comment about the finish: Although the glitter isn’t the best look for wrinkled eyes, it doesn’t flake.

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Stila At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive for a department-store/boutique line; the foundations are remarkable in most respects, especially shade selection and texture; bronzing powder with sunscreen; very good options for blush and eyeshadow; the Brow Polish and Lip Shine are standouts; several attractive, versatile shimmer products; great makeup brushes.

Weaknesses: Convertible Eye Color and Kajal Eye Liner have too many weaknesses; some problematic lip glosses; the lip pencils are average at best. Skin care that means well but contains fragrant irritants.

Makeup artist Jeanine Lobell has been at the helm of Stila since its inception in 1994, and her creations have an impressive history of blending innovation with eye-catching, fun packaging. Of course, this innovation is not without its price, and you will find some rather ordinary products where the packaging or dispensing method is the only thing that's exciting. Where Lobell struck gold is with her superlative collection of foundations. We’ve examined hundreds of makeup lines for this and previous editions of this book, and Stila has had and continues to maintain one of the best collections of truly neutral foundation colors. For anyone confused about what we mean by "neutral tones," you need look no further, though we are pleased that more mainstream lines (including L'Oreal, Revlon, Clinique, and even Cover Girl) are now creating wonderfully neutral foundation colors. Stila's foundations aren't inexpensive, but it's critical to get a foundation that's right for you, and that may mean splurging. Other stellar categories include concealers, blush, eyeshadows, brushes, and much better mascaras than in years past.

Once an independent brand with a first-to-market approach to clever cardboard packaging that was sleek, urban, and utilitarian at the same time, Stila's presence and product lineup and distribution expanded (with mostly favorable results) when it was acquired by Estee Lauder in 1999. It was a bit perplexing when Lauder announced in late 2005 that it would sell Stila to "optimize our portfolio of brands" and put more attention (read: financial resources) into their M.A.C. and Bobbi Brown brands (Source: The Rose Sheet, April 17, 2006, page 4). Ironically, of those three brands, Stila has the most compelling collection of products. M.A.C. and Bobbi Brown are no slouches, but Stila always had a slight edge, at least in the complexion-enhancing categories.

An affiliate of Sun Capital Partners (naming itself Stila Corporation) bought the brand from Lauder in spring 2006 and has been at the helm since. Lauder's no longer owning Stila led to the brand's hasty exit from department stores, a move that left many shoppers wondering what the heck happened (and, at least in the stores we visited, the sales associates were vague about the line's future). Luckily, Stila still has a home in Sephora stores worldwide, and is randomly distributed in select department stores. That's great news, because there is much to love about this line, and the most recent crop of products proves that Stila has every intention of remaining a competitive player in the compelling game that is the cosmetics industry.

For more information about Stila, call 866.784.5201 or visit www.stilacosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.16.2014
24+ hour wear

Deep Burgundy is a matte shade which pairs well with theRose Gold Glow eyeshadow trio. It is non-tug, though a bit soft. You do have to blend it immediately. Great for that cat eye flick. Mine lasted over 24 hours and washed off easily, except under my eyes. No smears, budge-proof. Stylist warned me to replace the cap tightly.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Faith A
12.19.2013
Best eyeliner so far.

I found less expensive brands even Clinique that I didn't like. I don't like pencil that require sharpening because so much product gets wasted. I wish the stila option didn't cost so much but, worth every penny. It stays on so well it was hard to remove and I have oily lids.It's a 10.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Annette D.
12.02.2012
Dries out very quickly!

I bought two of these black eyeliner pencils - and both dried out before they were half used. The first pencil I returned to the point of purchase; the second - I'll just throw away. Both black pencils (Smudge Stick Waterproof Eyeliner) became so dry as they were unusable. The caps were always kept on tightly. Trying to use the pencil now - I get barely any colour with too much tugging. I wrote to Stila customer care and got a very unsatisfactory response. As I bought the product in Canada, they can't help - all I can do is go back to the store, but without my receipt, I won't have any luck. I won't buy this product again.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.394 5/25/2015 4:57:13 PM