12.18.2014
5
Stila
Stay All Day Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner
Rating
$20
Category:Makeup > Eyeliners > Liquid/Gel/Cream/Cake
Last Updated:12.18.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:
Tested on animals:Yes
Overview

Although this liquid eyeliner isn’t waterproof (even a slight mist of water will cause it to break down and run), the felt-tip brush applicator and even-flow liquid formula make this a cinch to apply evenly.

The brush tip doesn’t allow for a thin line, but if you want a moderate to thick line with minimal effort, this works great, it sets quickly, and it doesn’t smudge, unless your eye area gets wet.

We were torn on how to rate this product because there is much to like about it. Ultimately, because of the name and the fact that it isn’t waterproof, we determined an average rating was most appropriate.

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Stila At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive for a department-store/boutique line; the foundations are remarkable in most respects, especially shade selection and texture; bronzing powder with sunscreen; very good options for blush and eyeshadow; the Brow Polish and Lip Shine are standouts; several attractive, versatile shimmer products; great makeup brushes.

Weaknesses: Convertible Eye Color and Kajal Eye Liner have too many weaknesses; some problematic lip glosses; the lip pencils are average at best. Skin care that means well but contains fragrant irritants.

Makeup artist Jeanine Lobell has been at the helm of Stila since its inception in 1994, and her creations have an impressive history of blending innovation with eye-catching, fun packaging. Of course, this innovation is not without its price, and you will find some rather ordinary products where the packaging or dispensing method is the only thing that's exciting. Where Lobell struck gold is with her superlative collection of foundations. We’ve examined hundreds of makeup lines for this and previous editions of this book, and Stila has had and continues to maintain one of the best collections of truly neutral foundation colors. For anyone confused about what we mean by "neutral tones," you need look no further, though we are pleased that more mainstream lines (including L'Oreal, Revlon, Clinique, and even Cover Girl) are now creating wonderfully neutral foundation colors. Stila's foundations aren't inexpensive, but it's critical to get a foundation that's right for you, and that may mean splurging. Other stellar categories include concealers, blush, eyeshadows, brushes, and much better mascaras than in years past.

Once an independent brand with a first-to-market approach to clever cardboard packaging that was sleek, urban, and utilitarian at the same time, Stila's presence and product lineup and distribution expanded (with mostly favorable results) when it was acquired by Estee Lauder in 1999. It was a bit perplexing when Lauder announced in late 2005 that it would sell Stila to "optimize our portfolio of brands" and put more attention (read: financial resources) into their M.A.C. and Bobbi Brown brands (Source: The Rose Sheet, April 17, 2006, page 4). Ironically, of those three brands, Stila has the most compelling collection of products. M.A.C. and Bobbi Brown are no slouches, but Stila always had a slight edge, at least in the complexion-enhancing categories.

An affiliate of Sun Capital Partners (naming itself Stila Corporation) bought the brand from Lauder in spring 2006 and has been at the helm since. Lauder's no longer owning Stila led to the brand's hasty exit from department stores, a move that left many shoppers wondering what the heck happened (and, at least in the stores we visited, the sales associates were vague about the line's future). Luckily, Stila still has a home in Sephora stores worldwide, and is randomly distributed in select department stores. That's great news, because there is much to love about this line, and the most recent crop of products proves that Stila has every intention of remaining a competitive player in the compelling game that is the cosmetics industry.

For more information about Stila, call 866.784.5201 or visit www.stilacosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Thursday, February 26, 2015
This is my favorite eyeliner so far!

I have tried this eye liner recommended by Sephora's SC, i loved the smoothness and the result is fantastic, it lasts whole day (i have oily skin). I tried the other famous OTC liquid eye liner that can be bought over the pharmacy once i have finished with Stila because i thought that it is quite expensive. However, the cheaper eyeliner does not cater to my needs and therefore, i ran back to the Sephora to buy my 2nd piece of Stila's eyeliner.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Christine Kong
Sunday, February 01, 2015
Stila stay all day waterproof liquid eye liner

It is one of the better eye liners I have tried.It does not smudge or flake off. I Would have given it a 4 except after a while, the tip of the brush does tend to split a bit. It is not a serious problem, because by then, I have used up most of the eye liner. I am surprised this site only gave it an average rating.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Xenia
Friday, September 12, 2014
Should rate "best"

I was surprised at the rating of this great product! It does stay put!! I have allergy wet eyes & don't have any problems with the staying power. I bought a kit of 6 (different brand) liners at sephora & stila's was my favorite of the bunch.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Linda r.
Thursday, January 16, 2014
Best Liquid Eyeliner Ever!

I have tried many a liquid liner on my oily Asian eyelids and this is the only liner that stays put. I have been in the rain with this stuff on and experienced no fading, smudging, or wear. Liner comes off easily with cleanser and applies like a dream. I never have to worry about making a mess or a mistake with the precise liner tip. I trust most other reviews on this site but feel this product should be rated Best.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Christina, B
Tuesday, September 17, 2013
LOVE THIS STUFF

I love this stuff! I use it right on my lash line and it amazingly stays all day. It also washes off easily. I suspect witchcraft. Seriously, though - I have it on auto-delivery at Amazon because after 20+ years of searching, I do not want to ever be without it . The tip of the applicator starts to shred at the tip a little after about a month of daily use (again, because I use it right on my lash line) but I otherwise could not recommend this enough. LOVE LOVE LOVE IT.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
nennycakes
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.369 2/27/2015 11:46:40 PM