12.17.2014
11
29
BB Tinted Treatment 12-Hour Primer Broad Spectrum SPF 30
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $34
Last Updated:12.17.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This fragrance-free tinted primer has a lot going for it, but the shortcomings are hard to ignore. Applied sparingly, this smoothes skin, helps disguise the appearance of enlarged pores, and increases the overall wear time of any makeup applied over it. That's what any good primer does, although a lightweight serum loaded with anti-aging ingredients can do the same thing.

The available shades are suitable for light to medium-light skin tones, but are workable only when sheered out; when applied liberally, the texture becomes tacky and uneven, and all of the shades begin to look unnatural. Unfortunately, to get the full benefit of the broad-spectrum SPF 30 sun protection, liberal application is necessary (as with all sun protection products), and the texture and color issues are certainly a deterrent to liberal application. If you're thinking this is a time-saver because of its sun protection, you'll need to pair it with another SPF-rated product that you can apply liberally.

Overall, this primer is more trouble than it's worth. An antioxidant-infused foundation (or tinted moisturizer) with sunscreen would be a much better option; for better options, check out our list of Best Products.

Pros:
  • Fragrance-free.
  • Smoothes skin, helps disguise enlarged pores.
  • Increases overall wear time of makeup.
Cons:
  • Color and texture become unnatural and tacky when applied liberally.
  • Overpriced.
Claims
Ingredients

Active: Titanium Dioxide (4.55%), Zinc Oxide (3.5%); Other Ingredients: Cyclopentasiloxane, Isododecane, Polysilicone-11, Mica, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Hexyl Laurate, PEG-10 Dimethicone, Alumina, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Dipalmitoyl Hydroxyproline, Diamond Powder, Iron Oxides.

Brand Overview

Tarte Cosmetics At-A-Glance

Strengths: Excellent foundations; great cheek stain and powder blushes; superior pressed powder and eyelining pencils; good mascaras; unique, innovative, beautiful packaging; complete ingredient lists on the company's Web site.

Weaknesses: Can be pricey.

Tarte Cosmetics CEO and founder Maureen Kelly started Tarte in 1999, out of a desire to create a cosmetics line that “would prove that glamour can be good for you.” This comes in the form of products that highlight naturally-derived ingredients in their marketing campaigns, and occasionally taking swipes at the concept of synthetics in makeup.

This is ironic, as Tarte uses more than a few beneficial synthetically derived ingredients in their formulas—silicones, synthetic fragrances, preservatives and on and on. However, we’ll forgive them that as what’s ultimately important is whether their products meet your needs, and to that we can say the brand excels in many areas at what they do.

However, a few products are a bit on the pricey side and there are a few iffy shades and textures to consider among their foundations—noted in their respective reviews. A few caveats aside, most of Tarte's foundations, blush options, eye pencils and an ever-expanding range of innovative products demonstrate that color is what they do best.

For more information about Tarte Cosmetics call 855-968-2783 or visit www.tartecosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.01.2015
Better than what the review says

I don't know why this has such a low rating honestly. The formulation is really good for my sensitive oily skin and it provides very decent coverage on its own. It looks natural and improves the look of my overall skin texture noticeably. I started to wear make-up only very recently and I really feel no difference between wearing this and using nothing, it's so lightweight. My only complaints are that after 5 hours it starts to rub off even with a setting powder and it's expensive for the size.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Matthew R.
05.30.2015
I love this product!!

I don't know why this scored so poorly with Beautypedia, but I adore this product! Its so easy to blend into the skin, you don't need much to get coverage (my skin is def NOT perfect either) & it gives a really flawless finish that lasts. I wear it under foundation and alone, & both ways work beautifully. This states that it looks "unnatural" when applied liberally, but so would any foundation/tinted makeup if you over apply! Thats just common sense! I'm sorry but this deserves at least 3 stars.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Shawna T.
05.27.2015
great

really love this! great coverage for my acne prone skin! Goes on very easily and lasts all day! Only thing is it tends to stick to dry patches after a few hours of wear.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Ava J
04.15.2015
Perfect!

I use a moisturizer with SPF and then apply this "primer" like a foundation, and I can't believe how great my skin looks! I only need add concealer under my eyes. I have very redness- and acne-prone skin, and I've never found a full foundation that evens out and covers my skin as well as this primer does, while still keeping things VERY light and natural-looking. I love it!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Tina S.
10.23.2014
Holy Grail

I love this tinted primer! Feels like you are wearing nothing. I use 'fair' and it's an excellent match. I put on sunscreen in the morning and then just dab a tiny dot of this on forehead, cheeks, and chin, blend with my fingers and I am done. It looks very natural and I think it gives my face an airbrushed finish. I do not have any skin issues, but I use concealer under my eyes and to cover a few spots.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Marlene M.
09.05.2014
Great for oily skin

This is the only primer (I've tried copious kinds) that keeps my afternoon shine at bay. It's a little drying in those areas of your face, but I suppose you could use a great serum under it if that were an issue for you. My foundation stays flawless and pore-less nearly all day. I even took a nap and woke up gorgeous! I couldn't be happier:)

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Melodie M
08.24.2014
ehh

This BB cream looks unnatural if you use more than a very, very light layer. It also rubs off easily. It's to expensive to not perform well.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Alice
06.05.2014
Holy Grail Foundation

Although this is a primer, it offers very decent coverage and I use it alone over my moisturizer with spf. I have large pores and roseaca, and this covers everything beautifully and feels amazing on the skin. I will cry a river if they ever quit making this. The only bad thing about this product in my opinion is the very limited shade range. I feel blessed that "light" matches me very well.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lisa M.
03.12.2014
Love You BB

A little goes a long way. Very easy to apply. I use a sponge. Looks very natural. And last all day, even through working out! And most importantly, does not cause any skin irritations or breakouts. Very natural and clean ingredients. Works great with my oily skin. Just absolutely love it! Also I must add, Cruelty Free! Yay!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
MICHELLE L.
01.02.2014
Works Well as an Effortless, Stand-alone Base

I use this primer as a foundation. Liquid foundation feels too heavy, so I wear powder instead. However, this winter has left me drier than usual and I decided to try a BB cream. Tarte's finish disappeared on my skin. The effect falls between a TM & a powder. It fills in pores. I use CeraVe AM daily; a makeup product with SPF is a bonus, for me. I wish more products had SPF (I'm looking at you, eyeshadow and lip balm). Tarte provides light coverage & layered protection that feels weightless.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Shelli C
05.28.2013
Love it

With this product, a little goes a long way. It has a silicon feel to it that some might not like. But just a small amount covers my whole face, with excellent coverage of redness and flaws. I usually set it with a finishing powder and I love that it has SPF. Also long lasting & I know because I work a 12 hour shift. I like that it is in a tube, because you can easily control the amount you want and not waste any product.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Cindy P
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.411 8/27/2015 7:26:55 PM