03.12.2015
6
574
Cheek Stain
Rating
$30
Last Updated:03.12.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

These cheek stains in stick form are outstanding! The creamy formulation gives you more blending time than standard gel or liquid stains, making application easier. The colors, which appear darker than they apply, blend down to sheer, natural-looking colors that wear well for hours. All this, and the shade range is beautiful. A little goes a long way, so while the price tag on this cheek stain is high, it will last you for months (if not longer). This type of blush is best for normal to dry skin not prone to blemishes.

Claims
Ingredients
Propylene Glycol, Water/Aqua/Eau, Nonyl Nonoxynol-150, Glycerin, Mica, Sodium Stearate, Laureth-23, /Fragrance, Barium Sulfate, Stearic Acid, PVP, Passiflora Incarnata Fruit Extract, Euterpe Oleracea Fruit Extract, Malpighia Punicifolia (Acerola) Fruit Extract, Punica Granatum Extract, Lycium Barbarum Fruit Extract, Tin Oxide, Citral, Citronellol, Linalool, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163), Red 40 (CI 16035), Red 28 (CI 45410), Yellow 6 (CI 15985).

NOTE: Ingredients may vary by shade from the above listing.

Brand Overview

Tarte Cosmetics At-A-Glance

Strengths: Excellent foundations; great cheek stain and powder blushes; superior pressed powder and eyelining pencils; good mascaras; unique, innovative, beautiful packaging; complete ingredient lists on the company's Web site.

Weaknesses: Can be pricey.

Tarte Cosmetics CEO and founder Maureen Kelly started Tarte in 1999, out of a desire to create a cosmetics line that “would prove that glamour can be good for you.” This comes in the form of products that highlight naturally-derived ingredients in their marketing campaigns, and occasionally taking swipes at the concept of synthetics in makeup.

This is ironic, as Tarte uses more than a few beneficial synthetically derived ingredients in their formulas—silicones, synthetic fragrances, preservatives and on and on. However, we’ll forgive them that as what’s ultimately important is whether their products meet your needs, and to that we can say the brand excels in many areas at what they do.

However, a few products are a bit on the pricey side and there are a few iffy shades and textures to consider among their foundations—noted in their respective reviews. A few caveats aside, most of Tarte's foundations, blush options, eye pencils and an ever-expanding range of innovative products demonstrate that color is what they do best.

For more information about Tarte Cosmetics call 855-968-2783 or visit www.tartecosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
12.06.2014
New addiction

I've never been a fan of any powder blush and until I came across Tarte I didn't try anything else but I know own four of them! Exposed in full size and three minis, Energy (birthday bonus item), Flush, and the goofy pearl decorated Holiday edition Dreamer. Love them all. They don't glare out from atop my skin and don't make my dry skin look drier, just flush and hydrated. Wonderful. I'll snatch up minis any time I see them.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Avery
06.10.2014
Most natural look & best blush ever!

Gorgeous! Both Blushing Bride & Natural Beauty are perfect. I'm pale w/pink undertone. Sheer, can build for more intensity but I do only a smidge. Tap lightly (not stroke) on top of the stick with the end (not side) of a normal blush brush, then tap each cheek once or twice, & blend out. Looks more natural & lasts longer than powder blush. Better than cream rouge on my combo skin. Doesn't dry too fast like gels. Much lighter than in pics, like sheer lipsticks. Will last for umpteen years.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
CAROL
04.11.2014
Awesome!

These cheek stains look so natural; like bare skin! They really make you look like you have a natural blush from within, rather than sitting on top of your skin. I feel like they make me look younger and fresher than any blush I've tried. I love the "true love" color on my fair skin with warm undertones - not to pink, not to peach. It looks horrendous in the container, like nail polish! LOL!! Don't go by how they look in the container because it doesn't give a true depiction of the color.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
KELLEY A.
11.23.2013
Has a mild rose scent that disappears quickly

I tried the Flush shade & I am fair skinned & it looks nice. Usually blush regardless of type does not stay on me long & this has stayed on for four hours & then started fading. Which Paula said is to be expected of this type of blush. The mild rose scent reminds me of Benefit brand of liquid blush called Benetint which is very similar in shade. However the rose scent in this one thankfully is very mild & disappears quickly. It has a little plastic cap inside to keep the stick from drying out.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
DANA M.
01.03.2013
A Go-To Product for Fresh-Faced "Naked Makeup" Looks

A Go-To Product for Fresh-Faced "Naked Makeup" Looks. I own this product in "Blushing Bride" and "True Love." Blush and lip gloss are my favorite cosmetics and these cheek stains have become my preferred blush. I love the color, the texture, and the wearability. I apply with a paddle type foundation brush, pat product gently over the apples, pat gently outward to blend, and top with a touch of powder. The result is a healthy, natural flush that wears well through the day. It's great as is for minimalist makeup, and it can also be the "base" for a more intense makeup since the stained cheek will need lighter powder blush application to look finished. The color is sheer and soft. I've heard it's buildable, but I like subtle application so I can't comment on how well it builds. "Blushing Bride" is an essential in my makeup bag. it's a deep plum with a touch of warmth. It can probably wear well on all but the warmest complexions. My one misgiving about this product is the price and the large amount. For $30, you get 1 ounce of product. Even with near-daily use, my "Blushing Bride" is still pretty full. Also, the packaging is pretty wasteful. I'd feel better about this if it was sold in a pot for maybe half the amount and at a lower price. Makeup artists would definitely get a lot of mileage out of this, though.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
A M.
01.02.2013
Unique and beautiful blush!

This twist-up blush glides on easily and delivers a wash of sheer color with soft shimmer. It didn't make me break out either and lasted longer than I expected.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
JENNETTE S.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to Beauty.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.421 9/3/2015 6:34:42 PM