12.19.2014
13
766
Lights, Camera, Lashes! 4-in-1 Natural Mascara
Rating
$19
Category:Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:12.19.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Tarte claims this mascara lengthens, curls, volumizes, and conditions, and for the most part, they’re right. The conditioning claim is negligible (no mascara functions in this manner), but Lights, Camera, Lashes! does give lashes lots of length, volume, and curl, with minimal clumping and no flaking or smearing. You can apply just one coat for a natural look or layer it for more dramatic lashes. This is a great mascara, and unquestionably the best one Tarte Cosmetics offers.

Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Tarte Cosmetics At-A-Glance

Strengths: Excellent foundation; great cheek stain and powder blush; superior pressed powder and eyelining pencils; good mascaras; unique, innovative, beautiful packaging; complete ingredient lists on the company's Web site.

Weaknesses: Expensive; some gimmicky products and claims; lacks matte eyeshadow options.

Tarte Cosmetics CEO and founder Maureen Kelly started Tarte in 1999, supposedly out of a need to create a cosmetics line that "would prove that glamour can be good for you." Well, to be honest, we didn't know that glamour could be bad for anyone, no matter who was selling it. In this case, good-for-you glamour is about the products being "natural." Of course, lots of women believe that natural ingredients are the only way to go because they're told, and unfortunately often believe, that the synthetic ingredients in cosmetic products are toxic and poisonous for your skin. That is a misguided belief!

Ironically, despite Tarte's attention-getting marketing concept, their products aren't any more natural or healthier than loads of other products. We take particular issue with the company's claim of being preservative-free, synthetic dye-free, and talc-free. Not only are these ingredients not a problem for most people, but also many of Tarte's products do contain them! What is that about? Didn't anyone at Tarte read their own ingredient labels?

We are beyond understanding how a cosmetics company can base their advertising on what their products do not contain, yet fail to realize, or just won't acknowledge, that their products in fact do contain them—the very ingredients they tell you are toxic or poisonous for your skin. We mean, really, if your products (in this instance Tarte products) do contain isododecane, imidazolidinyl urea, butylene glycol, parabens, PEG/PPG-18/18 dimethicone, aluminum starch octenylsuccinate, that's the pot calling the kettle black. Whatever… if Tarte chooses to mislead and misinform the consumer it doesn't seem to matter, because many uninformed women won't notice the hypocrisy—they'll just accept Tarte's claims at face value.

Marketing hype and ingredient deception aside, the ingredients Tarte does leave out of its products are sulfates (though sulfates are rarely used in makeup products anyway, so it is a trait most makeup products share), phthalates, and synthetic fragrance (but "natural" fragrance isn't any better for skin). That's nice, but in the scope of things, not really all that special.

We appreciate that Tarte conveys their message without the "granola," antiglamour, or anti-elegance image that's characteristic of many "natural" lines. The trade-off is that you're going to pay extra for Tarte's glamorous image and packaging. Although there are a handful of products in the Tarte lineup worth the splurge, if you only shopped this line for cosmetics, your wallet would definitely be lighter—and there's no need to splurge to the point of incurring debt just to outfit your makeup bag with all things Tarte. After all, you aren't going to be applying the packaging to your skin.

Those who shop carefully should pay close attention to Tarte's foundations, blush options, eye pencils, and a handful of their innovative products. If you're looking for matte eyeshadows, however, you're out of luck. Tarte isn't as full-featured as several other makeup artistry lines (Bobbi Brown and Laura Mercier come to mind), and Tarte doesn't outdo Rimmel or Sonia Kashuk at the drugstore, but their good products are indeed good.

For more information about Tarte Cosmetics call 855-968-2783 or visit www.tartecosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.06.2015
Tarte is the best!

Best Mascara I have ever used! it even made my lashes GROW!!!!!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
03.01.2015
Short-lived and expensive

Loved this mascara for the first month...it lived up to every claim! But, then it got thick and clumpy, and more difficult to apply. I've never liked the packaging, it's awkward. When you spend ~$25 on mascara, it really should last a full 3 months. Disappointed...

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Marcie S.
02.14.2015
Love, love, love

I love this stuff. Best mascara I've ever used. It adds volume mainly & lengthens beautifully. It stays on all day. Like any mascara, it clumps until you add just a little sure by pumping it a few times. I think it's a tiny bit high but I love it so I'll pay it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Lorin T.
12.23.2014
Lights, Camera, Love!

Lights, Camera, Lashes! is one of my two absolute favorite guilty pleasure mascaras (the other is Chanel Inimitable, if you were wondering). I stick to reasonably priced mascara the majority of the time because honestly the difference between L'Oreal and Tarte is nowhere near being dramatic enough to pay 300% more; but when I treat myself to a luxury mascara, this is a favorite.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Andrea S.
12.22.2014
replaced my former HG mascara

this stuff was perfect, and the wand spread out my lashes, making them feathery and black and voluminous...it looked like i had about one million eyelashes. very cool. never had any issues with clumping or removal, but i also didn't layer it on: one coat was plenty to make my lashes very intense. Tarte has displaced my previous HG mascara (YSL) which I was loyal to for years.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
11.17.2014
Not for straight lashes!!

My lashs are naturally straight, but with a good curl in the morning holds very well all day with my "Maybelline Colossal Waterproof". With this expensive mascara I don't think it adds any volume and it certainly holds NO curl on my lashes! It is very thin and wet. At the time of aplication, my lashes straight right away. I'm actually shocked that this product got good reviews. I would not waste the money on this mascara never again!!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
ERIKA P.
07.31.2014
Mixed feelings

I'm so sad about this mascara! I absolutely love the way it applies and it gives lots of volume and length but the problem is that it's very drying on the lashes and difficult to remove at night. It's annoying because I love it and would wear it every day but because it's so harsh on lashes, I only wear it once in a while.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Brigitte A
06.04.2014
Yuck!

This mascara does not live up to its claims nor this beautypedia review, in my opinion! I don't think it adds any volume and it certainly holds no curl! It is very thin and wet which I find makes it trickier to apply. I will say, though, that it does lengthen and it doesn't smudge at all - even with the cream concealer I use. Overall, not even close to worth what you pay.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Joy B.
04.09.2014
lights, camera, CLUMP

I am in the process of switching over to cruelty free products, so purchased this mascara though I was happy with my former product. This mascara clumps and flakes. I am tempted to throw it away, but I am applying it, then going over it with ELF clear gel to get rid of the clumps and seal it. Ain't nobody got time for that!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Maureen
11.23.2013
Mascara Unicorn

This mascara is a guilty pleasure for the price. It does lengthen & thicken well, which seems to be a mascara unicorn. In my experience mascara either lengthens or builds volume, but not both. You will need a silicone based make up remover. IE Neutrogena oil free make up remover which earned a Paula’s Best rating. This product has little to no scent.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
DANA M.
07.25.2013
Not Pleased

I'm actually shocked that this product got good reviews. I gave Tarte two chances with this mascara and had a miserable experience both times. It was clumpy and it flaked only two hours after application. It was a terrible buy for me and I always tell people to steer clear of any Tarte mascara because I've had the same problem with all mascaras from the brand. I would not waste the money on this brand and I'd suggest that people go for a more dependable mascara such as Buxom Lash.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Sam
07.17.2013
good product, bad packaging

It works well. The packaging is unique all right. But I don't like it. It's bulky. I wish it had a plain vanilla packaging.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.05.2012
Best Mascara around

This mascara thickens and lengthens very well. For me the best part is NO smudging all day long. I have allergies and my eyes water when I get near dust or strong perfume or anything-that-grows in the summer. I never have to worry about my Tarte mascara (or the eyeliners either). I get mine through QVC on auto-delivery because the price was better for the two-pack. If they start to accumulate, I share with friends or relatives (who also love them).

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
MT3
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to Dermstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.394 5/22/2015 5:19:31 PM