Maracuja Creaseless Waterproof Concealer

Price:
$24 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Concealers & Highlighters > Liquid Concealer
Last Updated:
11/25/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Maracuja Creaseless Waterproof Concealer is a quadruple-threat winner if you’re waging war against dry skin around the eyes plus dark circles; it’s moisturizing, provides full-coverage, is fragrance-free and also waterproof! The smooth yet thick texture allows for easy blending and—despite the great coverage—this has a natural-looking finish (when properly blended). We suggest setting this concealer with a powder to help keep it creaseless.

As for the colors, the fair shade is too pink—however, the rest of the shades are very natural and provide workable options for light, medium and dark skin.

Note: We don’t recommend using this product on blemishes, because it is very thick and emollient which increases the likelihood of future breakouts.

Pros:
  • Excellent coverage.
  • Smooth, moisturizing texture.
  • Easy to blend.
  • Fragrance-free.
Cons:
  • Lightest shade is too pink.
  • Can be difficult to dispense from the squeeze tube due to product's thick texture.

Tarte Cosmetics CEO and founder Maureen Kelly started Tarte in 1999, supposedly out of a need to create a cosmetics line that "would prove that glamour can be good for you." Well, to be honest, we didn't know that glamour could be bad for anyone, no matter who was selling it. In this case, good-for-you glamour is about the products being "natural." Of course, lots of women believe that natural ingredients are the only way to go because they're told, and unfortunately often believe, that the synthetic ingredients in cosmetic products are toxic and poisonous for your skin. That is a misguided belief!

Ironically, despite Tarte's attention-getting marketing concept, their products aren't any more natural or healthier than loads of other products. We take particular issue with the company's claim of being preservative-free, synthetic dye-free, and talc-free. Not only are these ingredients not a problem for most people, but also many of Tarte's products do contain them! What is that about? Didn't anyone at Tarte read their own ingredient labels?

We are beyond understanding how a cosmetics company can base their advertising on what their products do not contain, yet fail to realize, or just won't acknowledge, that their products in fact do contain them—the very ingredients they tell you are toxic or poisonous for your skin. We mean, really, if your products (in this instance Tarte products) do contain isododecane, imidazolidinyl urea, butylene glycol, parabens, PEG/PPG-18/18 dimethicone, aluminum starch octenylsuccinate, that's the pot calling the kettle black. Whatever… if Tarte chooses to mislead and misinform the consumer it doesn't seem to matter, because many uninformed women won't notice the hypocrisy—they'll just accept Tarte's claims at face value.

Marketing hype and ingredient deception aside, the ingredients Tarte does leave out of its products are sulfates (though sulfates are rarely used in makeup products anyway, so it is a trait most makeup products share), phthalates, and synthetic fragrance (but "natural" fragrance isn't any better for skin). That's nice, but in the scope of things, not really all that special.

We appreciate that Tarte conveys their message without the "granola," antiglamour, or anti-elegance image that's characteristic of many "natural" lines. The trade-off is that you're going to pay extra for Tarte's glamorous image and packaging. Although there are a handful of products in the Tarte lineup worth the splurge, if you only shopped this line for cosmetics, your wallet would definitely be lighter—and there's no need to splurge to the point of incurring debt just to outfit your makeup bag with all things Tarte. After all, you aren't going to be applying the packaging to your skin.

Those who shop carefully should pay close attention to Tarte's foundations, blush options, eye pencils, and a handful of their innovative products. If you're looking for matte eyeshadows, however, you're out of luck. Tarte isn't as full-featured as several other makeup artistry lines (Bobbi Brown and Laura Mercier come to mind), and Tarte doesn't outdo Rimmel or Sonia Kashuk at the drugstore, but their good products are indeed good.

For more information about Tarte Cosmetics call 855-968-2783 or visit www.tartecosmetics.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    2 / 4 Average
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. WENDY M.
    Reviewed on Thursday, November 06, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Love this!
    • It's not cheap, but when something works this well i'm willing to pay for it. I have the worst dark circles under my eyes and this is the ONLY concealer i've tried that covers them. It's amazing and great for my very dry skin too!

  2. Barbara C.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, October 01, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Creases
    • This concealer *does* crease, and if you set it with powder, unless you very smooth wrinkle free under eye skin, what you end up with is a crinkly, crepe-y wrinkly mess. Even using a very fine dusting of very fine milled powder will cause this. A total fail for me.

  3. Jane
    Reviewed on Sunday, June 08, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Love it!
    • I've tried dozens of concealers with mixed results. This concealer is by far the best one I've ever used. Although the 'pink' tone was considered a negative - it's a plus for me. I have pink undertones and this concealer really blends in with my natural skin color, and hides the dark circles! The others have all had an undertone that resulted in a yellow-ish color when applied. I'm very, very happy with Tarte products!

  4. Ruth B.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Great but a Lesson Learned for Oily Skin
    • Perfect coverage, non-settling into lines, easy to use and for that reason I rate it 4. As Paula indicates (wish I knew of this site before purchase), good for dry skin. Was recommended to me by a make-up artist although I informed of my very oily skin. It clogged pores near the bridge of my nose in the eye orbit near eyebrows and on my cheeks and caused mascara smear under my eyes. I tried 20 different mascara's until I discovered it was the concealer causing the smear - lesson learned!

  5. Kelly
    Reviewed on Friday, March 07, 2014
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    No creasing but mascara bleeds
    • It really didn't crease and wrinkles didn't look obvious but you can't wear eyeliner or mascara on the bottom part of your eye because then it gets a little messy. I even tried both waterproof mascara and liquid liner and it bled. Didn't bleed before. If concealor is just used underneath then its a winner!

  6. SARA W.
    Reviewed on Monday, February 17, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Finally... my HOLY GRAIL concealer!
    • I have DRY skin. It is pretty well controlled due to my use of PC products. However, my eye area stays dry - perhaps because I don't get my AHA and retinol and C15 that close to my eye. I have tried TONS on concealers - they ALL accentuate dryness - all except this Tarte one. It takes a TINY amount (seriously half a grain of rice) to do both undereye area. It lasts and as the name implies DOES.NOT.CREASE. This product is PERFECTION for DRY skinned ladies! Go buy it!!!

  7. DANA M.
    Reviewed on Saturday, November 23, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Expensive but the best coverage I can find
    • I am closer than before to finding the right consealer for me.I am 38 yr old w/slightly oily, wrinkly eyelids, & crow’s feet w/sensitive eyes that don’t water.I have bad under eye circles & this does do a good job to lighten them but nothing completely hides them. I wonder with my set of circumstances if my desires for a consealer are unreasonable. With this type of concealer there is no applicator so I used my fingers. It does like to settle into fine lines which I like to smooth out w/a q tip.

  8. Ket W
    Reviewed on Sunday, August 18, 2013
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Wonderful, but for odd reasons
    • I've had acne and for most of my life and returned every concealer I've tried, except this one. While the Cosmetics Cop review says that the "Fair" shade is too pink, it's the only concealer that doesn't look orange on my skin. It's greasy and needs to be set with powder, but it hasn't caused me any breakouts. However, despite claiming to be creasless and waterproof, it sinks into acne scars and fine lines, and wears off when I sweat. So, it does everything right, except what it says it will.

  9. Stefanie V.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, May 28, 2013
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Almost there...but not for me apparently
    • I really loved the texture and the finish when I first put on this concealer. It goes on smooth, isn't sticky and covers well. However, it does not last longer than an hour on me. I don't know if I am doing something wrong, but whatever I do with this concealer, it seems to just vanish after an hour. I have tried putting it on top of my foundation, underneath....etc. Sadly nothing works.

  10. CYNDI D.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 30, 2013
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Need better shades for fair skin
    • I own the "light" shade and at first I loved the texture and coverage. But whenever I got a look at it in natural light, it was took pinkish and actually stood out. Was using it to cover blemishes but did notice that it made them worse. I wish the color matched my skin tone more. I've since tried Benefit "Boi-ing" and am happy with the lightest shade (01).

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.355 11/25/2014 4:12:22 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.