12.17.2014
13
1010
Maracuja Creaseless Waterproof Concealer
Rating
$24
Category:Makeup > Concealers & Highlighters > Liquid Concealer
Last Updated:12.17.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Maracuja Creaseless Waterproof Concealer is a quadruple-threat winner if you’re waging war against dry skin around the eyes plus dark circles; it’s moisturizing, provides full-coverage, is fragrance-free and also waterproof! The smooth yet thick texture allows for easy blending and—despite the great coverage—this has a natural-looking finish (when properly blended). We suggest setting this concealer with a powder to help keep it creaseless.

As for the colors, the fair shade is too pink—however, the rest of the shades are very natural and provide workable options for light, medium and dark skin.

Note: We don’t recommend using this product on blemishes, because it is very thick and emollient which increases the likelihood of future breakouts.

Pros:
  • Excellent coverage.
  • Smooth, moisturizing texture.
  • Easy to blend.
  • Fragrance-free.
Cons:
  • Lightest shade is too pink.
  • Can be difficult to dispense from the squeeze tube due to product's thick texture.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Tarte Cosmetics At-A-Glance

Strengths: Excellent foundations; great cheek stain and powder blushes; superior pressed powder and eyelining pencils; good mascaras; unique, innovative, beautiful packaging; complete ingredient lists on the company's Web site.

Weaknesses: Can be pricey.

Tarte Cosmetics CEO and founder Maureen Kelly started Tarte in 1999, out of a desire to create a cosmetics line that “would prove that glamour can be good for you.” This comes in the form of products that highlight naturally-derived ingredients in their marketing campaigns, and occasionally taking swipes at the concept of synthetics in makeup.

This is ironic, as Tarte uses more than a few beneficial synthetically derived ingredients in their formulas—silicones, synthetic fragrances, preservatives and on and on. However, we’ll forgive them that as what’s ultimately important is whether their products meet your needs, and to that we can say the brand excels in many areas at what they do.

However, a few products are a bit on the pricey side and there are a few iffy shades and textures to consider among their foundations—noted in their respective reviews. A few caveats aside, most of Tarte's foundations, blush options, eye pencils and an ever-expanding range of innovative products demonstrate that color is what they do best.

For more information about Tarte Cosmetics call 855-968-2783 or visit www.tartecosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.21.2015
Nut Oil Allergy?

This concealer is a good match for my porcelain-pink skin. IT also covers dark circles well. However, less than a minute after applying, the skin under my eyes swelled up and made me look like I have horrible eye bags! I removed it, the swelling went down. All I can think of is that I'm allergic to the nut oil in this product. Odd, because I'm not otherwise allergic to nuts. I won't use this again, and I'm now very cautious about other Tarte products.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Liz
04.21.2015
Great find!

I picked this up when looking for a concealer to "brighten" my under eye area, not to conceal. I purchased a lighter color and use it on top of my regular concealer. It blends wonderfully with a damp beauty blender. I've been so impressed with it that I am replacing my previously purchased go-to concealer, with this.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Christine H
03.16.2015
THE BEST

After coming into work one day and looking into the mirror with caked and cracking undereyes at only 10 am, I completely lost it! I use PC products and love the way my skin is, however my concealer was drying out my skin. It was a vicious cycle. I did some research and bought this concealer later that day and it is a MIRACLE product. Thick as tar, covers everything, and not the least bit drying. STUNNING. Worth the money.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Dana L.
11.06.2014
Love this!

It's not cheap, but when something works this well i'm willing to pay for it. I have the worst dark circles under my eyes and this is the ONLY concealer i've tried that covers them. It's amazing and great for my very dry skin too!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
WENDY M.
10.01.2014
Creases

This concealer *does* crease, and if you set it with powder, unless you very smooth wrinkle free under eye skin, what you end up with is a crinkly, crepe-y wrinkly mess. Even using a very fine dusting of very fine milled powder will cause this. A total fail for me.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Barbara C.
06.08.2014
Love it!

I've tried dozens of concealers with mixed results. This concealer is by far the best one I've ever used. Although the 'pink' tone was considered a negative - it's a plus for me. I have pink undertones and this concealer really blends in with my natural skin color, and hides the dark circles! The others have all had an undertone that resulted in a yellow-ish color when applied. I'm very, very happy with Tarte products!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Jane
04.30.2014
Great but a Lesson Learned for Oily Skin

Perfect coverage, non-settling into lines, easy to use and for that reason I rate it 4. As Paula indicates (wish I knew of this site before purchase), good for dry skin. Was recommended to me by a make-up artist although I informed of my very oily skin. It clogged pores near the bridge of my nose in the eye orbit near eyebrows and on my cheeks and caused mascara smear under my eyes. I tried 20 different mascara's until I discovered it was the concealer causing the smear - lesson learned!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Ruth B.
03.07.2014
No creasing but mascara bleeds

It really didn't crease and wrinkles didn't look obvious but you can't wear eyeliner or mascara on the bottom part of your eye because then it gets a little messy. I even tried both waterproof mascara and liquid liner and it bled. Didn't bleed before. If concealor is just used underneath then its a winner!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Kelly
02.17.2014
Finally... my HOLY GRAIL concealer!

I have DRY skin. It is pretty well controlled due to my use of PC products. However, my eye area stays dry - perhaps because I don't get my AHA and retinol and C15 that close to my eye. I have tried TONS on concealers - they ALL accentuate dryness - all except this Tarte one. It takes a TINY amount (seriously half a grain of rice) to do both undereye area. It lasts and as the name implies DOES.NOT.CREASE. This product is PERFECTION for DRY skinned ladies! Go buy it!!!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
SARA W.
11.23.2013
Expensive but the best coverage I can find

I am closer than before to finding the right consealer for me.I am 38 yr old w/slightly oily, wrinkly eyelids, & crow’s feet w/sensitive eyes that don’t water.I have bad under eye circles & this does do a good job to lighten them but nothing completely hides them. I wonder with my set of circumstances if my desires for a consealer are unreasonable. With this type of concealer there is no applicator so I used my fingers. It does like to settle into fine lines which I like to smooth out w/a q tip.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
DANA M.
08.18.2013
Wonderful, but for odd reasons

I've had acne and for most of my life and returned every concealer I've tried, except this one. While the Cosmetics Cop review says that the "Fair" shade is too pink, it's the only concealer that doesn't look orange on my skin. It's greasy and needs to be set with powder, but it hasn't caused me any breakouts. However, despite claiming to be creasless and waterproof, it sinks into acne scars and fine lines, and wears off when I sweat. So, it does everything right, except what it says it will.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Ket W
05.28.2013
Almost there...but not for me apparently

I really loved the texture and the finish when I first put on this concealer. It goes on smooth, isn't sticky and covers well. However, it does not last longer than an hour on me. I don't know if I am doing something wrong, but whatever I do with this concealer, it seems to just vanish after an hour. I have tried putting it on top of my foundation, underneath....etc. Sadly nothing works.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Stefanie V.
03.30.2013
Need better shades for fair skin

I own the "light" shade and at first I loved the texture and coverage. But whenever I got a look at it in natural light, it was took pinkish and actually stood out. Was using it to cover blemishes but did notice that it made them worse. I wish the color matched my skin tone more. I've since tried Benefit "Boi-ing" and am happy with the lightest shade (01).

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
CYNDI D.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to dermstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.401 7/1/2015 12:17:41 PM