11.26.2014
17
192
Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation SPF 15
Rating
$38
Category:Makeup > Foundations With Sunscreen > Cream Foundation w/ Suncreen
Last Updated:11.26.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This fragrance-free foundation promises full coverage, sun protection, and a weightless texture—and it essentially delivers on all three. Dispensed from its squeeze tube, this has an initially thick, almost toothpaste-like texture that belies how silky and light it feels as it’s blended. It melds convincingly with skin, providing medium to full coverage and a soft-focus, powdery finish best for normal to oily skin. This foundation’s finish is the kind that will magnify the slightest hint of dry skin, so be sure skin is sufficiently prepped before applying. Also, take care to apply this lightly around the eyes if you have wrinkles, because this foundation, like many others, will magnify these signs of aging.

Sun protection is provided by gentle mineral actives titanium dioxide and zinc oxide, making this a good choice for sensitive skin, too.

As for the cons, this has a tendency to ball up slightly as you blend. It’s not a deal-breaker because this effect goes away with further blending—but consider whether you want to take as much time to blend as this foundation demands. Also consider whether you really need this much coverage. Flaws are hidden but no question this looks like makeup, not natural skin.

In terms of longevity, this goes the distance—maybe not for 12 hours as claimed but most with oily skin will find this delivers several hours of wear without breaking up, fading, or looking spotty. The shades present some beautiful, soft colors for fair to medium skin tones. The best among them are Fair, Ivory (both excellent for very light skin tones), Light, Tan, and Tan Deep. Light Medium is slightly peach while Medium has a yellow tinge that requires careful inspection in daylight to ensure it matches well. The darkest shade (Deep) is slightly orange but workable.

Note: This foundation’s rating is due to its overall performance rather than its SPF rating. Due to concerns about people not applying sunscreen liberally enough to get the amount of SPF protection stated on the label, it is often recommended to look for SPFs with ratings higher than 15. If you plan to use foundation as your sole source of facial sun protection, consider using one rated SPF 20 or greater. If the foundation with sunscreen you choose is rated less than an SPF 20, we strongly advise applying it over a daytime moisturizer rated SPF 15 or greater and following it with a pressed powder rated SPF 15 or greater. That way, you’re ensuring sufficient broad-spectrum protection which is essential for having and maintaining healthy, younger-looking skin at any age.

Claims
Ingredients

Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate Butylene Glycol, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Mica, Dimethicone, Silica, Phenoxyethanol, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Stearic Acid, Aluminum Hydroxide, Sodium Dehydroacetate, Caprylyl Glycol, Phytantriol, Hexyl Laurate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Sodium Chloride, Hexylene Glycol, Lysine, Tocopherol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Nylon-12 Fluorescent Brightener 230 Salt, Polyvinyl Alcohol Crosspolymer, Kaolin, Magnesium Chloride, Potassium Chloride, Zinc Chloride, Sodium Hyaluronate, Potassium Sorbate, Iron Oxides.

Brand Overview

Tarte Cosmetics At-A-Glance

Strengths: Excellent foundations; great cheek stain and powder blushes; superior pressed powder and eyelining pencils; good mascaras; unique, innovative, beautiful packaging; complete ingredient lists on the company's Web site.

Weaknesses: Can be pricey.

Tarte Cosmetics CEO and founder Maureen Kelly started Tarte in 1999, out of a desire to create a cosmetics line that “would prove that glamour can be good for you.” This comes in the form of products that highlight naturally-derived ingredients in their marketing campaigns, and occasionally taking swipes at the concept of synthetics in makeup.

This is ironic, as Tarte uses more than a few beneficial synthetically derived ingredients in their formulas—silicones, synthetic fragrances, preservatives and on and on. However, we’ll forgive them that as what’s ultimately important is whether their products meet your needs, and to that we can say the brand excels in many areas at what they do.

However, a few products are a bit on the pricey side and there are a few iffy shades and textures to consider among their foundations—noted in their respective reviews. A few caveats aside, most of Tarte's foundations, blush options, eye pencils and an ever-expanding range of innovative products demonstrate that color is what they do best.

For more information about Tarte Cosmetics call 855-968-2783 or visit www.tartecosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.01.2015
Worth the wait!

I have been wanting to try this for some time, but couldn't justify the price... however, I finally gave in. I'm glad I did... During the summer the heat and humidity wreck havoc on my skin.... This can withstand all weather... It is not too thick and applied with the fluffy brush makes for a very natural look... you can add more for a more "made up" look... I finish it with a the NYX High Definition powder and am good for several hours.... So glad I tried it...

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Kim M
05.19.2015
Amazonian Clay?

This is not a review, but a question. Do any of their products labeled Amazonian Clay actually have any in them? I see where some have bentonite which is from Wyoming. Is all the money you spend for Amazonian a waste?

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
05.19.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there!  This is a question that Tarte's customer service team would be able to answer, so I would suggest contacting them directly :)

—Admin
04.21.2015
My fave

After using several different foundations, I tried this one, since I am such a huge fan of their lip products, and I am not disappointed. This has quickly become my go to foundation. I do disagree with one part of the review- while it is full coverage, it blends really well and for me, I don't have that cakey painted on face look that other products have. I also use their brush, which in my opinion makes a big difference.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Christine H
02.22.2015
Doll Faced

Being ignorant in the ways of makeup I made a big mistake walking into Sephora when I asked for help only to be sold almost the entire Tarte line of basics. Their products are definite bank breakers, especially this foundation. While it does wear softly and feels wonderful it is very obvious you are wearing makeup and makes you look flat like a 'dolls face'. If you want to pull off a barely passable natural look it requires a lot of contouring.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Lindsay M.
01.08.2015
It does NOT ball up

I have always preferred powder foundations, mostly clinique perfectly real. This review prevented me from trying this one sooner, and I wish I hadn't waited. I apply it with the brush, and it doesnt ball up. It's cheap!!! This contains 1.7 oz which is $22.35 an ounce! Not even clinique is that cheap per ounce. And you have to see my face in pics. Flawless! Sometimes i'll catch my mom staring at my face in awe! I have oily skin, acne prone, with discoloration and scars and I love it!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lorna M
11.01.2014
Not worth your money

I had high hopes for this foundation but it kept letting me down every time I would give it a second, third, and a fourth chance. It looks promising at first when it goes on. It was really thick. Don't think you need a thicker foundation for full coverage. In just a few hours my makeup separated like crazy. It was patches everywhere!!! I tried different primers, setting powders, and even just leaving it by itself. Nothing seemed to work. Definitely not worth $38.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Lauren
06.08.2014
Disappointed

The texture was good and it feels really good on my skin but it definitely does not wear for 12 hours. After several hours and perspiration, this foundation becomes cakey pores becomes very noticeable. For the price, it's not worth it.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Tlo
05.16.2014
My favorite ever

This foundation has become my daily staple. It lasts all day on my combination skin and looks great. I don't find that it balls up on application and it might be because I use over Paula's choice hydro light moisturizer. Doesn't break my out, I don't have to use much and great size (1.7 oz vs. 1). Nice matte but natural matte finish. Great product and will be crushed if it is discontinued!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Dawn L.
04.12.2014
Tends to ball up

I like the foundation for the reason it's extremely hard for fair skin to find a shade. Fair sand is the exact same shade as my pale yellow skin. However, as PC review points out, this does tend to ball up. For me, it tends to ball up near jaw line and chin area. So I only use it in the lighter part of my face (cheek, nose and forehead). Using with some primer, it tends to ball up even more(for me it's smashbox blemish primer). Be aware of it. And it is no way 12hr lasting.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Wahoonito Z.
04.04.2014
Great foundation for combination/oily skin

I can't recall when I've been this excited about a foundation. I live in a warm, humid climate, and this one wears all day for me without touch up. Medium Honey is the perfect color for my skin, a classic beige. You only need a pea-sized amount for your whole face. Any more will look and feel heavy. I dot a bit on each cheek, forehead, chin and blend with a brush. Covers capillaries and other imperfections nicely. Worth the money, as one tube lasts me nearly 6 months.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Jill G
02.07.2014
This is foundation is truly the best

I have lots of different skin issues, acne scarring to cover up, my skin tone is difficult to match. This is by far the best foundation and the key is I get compliments on my skin which is the best thing EVER! It is a little heavy but here is how I apply I mix a small amount of foundation, moisturizer, and primer and make a little cocktail, rub on my face gently with fingers (as Paula mentioned definitely avoid the eye area) and then I buff with my Cargo magic brush. it stays put all day!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Cheryl
01.12.2014
Great for my Difficult Skin

This is the first foundation that I can truly say I'm happy with. I have dry skin sensitive skin that is very prone to breakouts. I find this foundation to be very moisturizing but it has a nice matte finish to it, which is great. It provides pretty thick coverage but it doesn't feel heavy on the face. More amazingly, when I do breakout, this is very very comfortable to wear over blemishes and pimples. It does not aggravate them at all! If only it were 30+ SPF and less expensive.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Amelia
10.05.2013
An HG (holy grail) find for combination skin!

My new favorite for combination skin! It does last 12 hrs, as long as you blot and re-powder occasionally (about 1x every 3-4 hrs on my T-zone). It doesn't aggravate my sensitive skin in the least. I apply it using my fingers, over Paula's SPF 25 + a foundation primer. Other foundations I liked, but which this has now replaced, include: Chanel mat lumiere, NARS sheer matte, Paula's anti-aging, Laura Mercier silk crème & Jane Iredale glow time. They didn't last as long or required more blotting.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
MELANIE B.
09.09.2013
Too heavy for me.

This foundation made me look so much older and "done" than my light weight mineral foundation. I'm 43 and it magnified every little imperfection on my face. My skin is oily and the fair was slightly too light, the coverage was too heavy even when applied with the brush and a very light hand. I gave it to my daughter who is 15 and likes to experiment with foundation. It matches her perfectly and she loves it. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone over 35, especially if you prefer a natural look.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
LaurieS
06.15.2013
LOVE IT!!!

I have combination, mature skin and absolutely love this!! Use Tarte's fabulous BRUSH to apply to get a flawless almost airbrushed look. it's definitley buildable coverage, but a little goes a long way!!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.07.2013
Awesome foundation!

This foundation is great for oily skin! (I still blot once a day but it makes your skin look amazing!) They encourage you to buy the dense brush which you are supposed to apply the foundation with but I use my fingers. I get very good coverage using just a little dollop. This foundation sets perfectly and both my bronzer and blush blend beautifully with it. It's a little pricey but you get a lot of product (1.7 Fl. Oz) and usually for this price you only get 1 Fl. Oz in most brands.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.03.2013
IF THEY DISCONTINUE, I WILL DIE

IT'S PRICEY, BUT WORTH EVERY PENNY BECAUSE THIS PRODUCT COVERS EVERY SKIN ISSUE UNDER THE SUN. I HAVE ROSACEA AND DUE TO THE YELLOW UNDERTONES, AMAZONIAN CLAY FOUNDATION REALLY BLENDS OUT THE REDNESS. AND I DISAGREE WITH THE REVIEWER REGARDING THIS NOT LOOKING LIKE REAL SKIN. IF YOU BLEND ENOUGH AND FOLLOW WITH A LIGHT POWDER, THEN YOU'RE FACE WILL LOOK VERY NATURAL.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
JULIE M.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.401 7/6/2015 9:33:44 PM