08.14.2013
8
2
Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse
Rating
$28
Last Updated:08.14.2013
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This brow mousse is jar-packaged and comes with a regular-size angled brow brush—neither of which will give you "brows that wow." The concept of brow mousse is intriguing, but it's been done much better by another brand (reviewed here); this attempt by Tarte comes up short for two very important reasons.

First, this mousse should have a soft and blendable consistency, which it doesn't. It's thick, and has a somewhat waxy consistency that makes it difficult to get out of the jar. This product absolutely cannot create "full, natural-looking brows"; the effect is similar to using a brow powder with a tacky finish. Second, the colors don't look as natural as they should, which will be especially obvious on light-haired brows. For example, Taupe has a slightly gray undertone. The brown shades are workable, but for this price the product shouldn't have any notable cons. See our list of top eyebrow products for some additional recommendations!

Pros:
  • None.
Cons:
  • Difficult to blend or apply evenly.
  • Noticeably waxy satin finish.
  • Taupe shade has a gray undertone.
  • The brush is flimsy and has scratchy bristles.
  • Overpriced.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Tarte Cosmetics At-A-Glance

Strengths: Excellent foundations; great cheek stain and powder blushes; superior pressed powder and eyelining pencils; good mascaras; unique, innovative, beautiful packaging; complete ingredient lists on the company's Web site.

Weaknesses: Can be pricey.

Tarte Cosmetics CEO and founder Maureen Kelly started Tarte in 1999, out of a desire to create a cosmetics line that “would prove that glamour can be good for you.” This comes in the form of products that highlight naturally-derived ingredients in their marketing campaigns, and occasionally taking swipes at the concept of synthetics in makeup.

This is ironic, as Tarte uses more than a few beneficial synthetically derived ingredients in their formulas—silicones, synthetic fragrances, preservatives and on and on. However, we’ll forgive them that as what’s ultimately important is whether their products meet your needs, and to that we can say the brand excels in many areas at what they do.

However, a few products are a bit on the pricey side and there are a few iffy shades and textures to consider among their foundations—noted in their respective reviews. A few caveats aside, most of Tarte's foundations, blush options, eye pencils and an ever-expanding range of innovative products demonstrate that color is what they do best.

For more information about Tarte Cosmetics call 855-968-2783 or visit www.tartecosmetics.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
04.21.2015
Disagree with rating!

Wow- I cannot believe that I am actually disagreeing totally with this review. Yes, the product is thick, but I don't mind it because to me, it means less waste. I dab the brush in a few times, then dab it on the inside of the top to get rid of the excess. I then lightly "outline" and fill in my brown, and use the other end to brush out into a natural look. I think the brush is my fave part, as it allows for a naturally defined brow, vs the "hey look at my brows!" look.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Christine H
12.15.2014
Awesome Product, why the poor rating?

I also do not understand the poor rating. I've tried many eyebrow products and this is among the best. Love that it does not smudge. I bought the taupe as the medium brown color was sold out and it turned out to be perfect. By the way... Tarte eye shadow is the only eyeshadow that does not irritate my eyelids, the colors are amazing and they stay on!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.03.2014
I like it

I agree with Paula's comments that the product IS a little waxy and the color is not completely natural looking, but oddly, I still like the product and how it looks on me. I'm in my 60s and definitely need help in the eyebrow area.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
wendy d.
09.20.2014
the best ever ,, my HG

I don't know why this got a poor rating. If done right this will give you perfect brows. I liked very sculpted but natural brows and this is perfect.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
rhonda l.
06.05.2014
My go to brow product

I also disagree with Paula's review on this. I adore this product. It is true that is gives a more defined brow look than the very natural look that a powder or pencil can give, but that is a matter of personal preference. I tend to wear dramatic eye makeup more often than neutral eye makeup, so more dramatic brows are fitting. Even when I don't do dramatic eye makeup though, I always use this brow product, and I always get a ton of compliments on my brows.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lisa M.
03.02.2014
I Love This Brow Gel!

Wow. I think this is the first time where my experience is the polar opposite of the cosmetic cop review. I love this product! I have sparse brows, and I have used a variety of products try to give them shape and definition, and this is the best I've found (I have used some of the BEST rated ones too). This doesn't go on too thick, it lasts all day, and blends nicely. My brows look great! Thanks Tarte!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Alicia M.
02.27.2014
Amazonian Clay Waterproof Brow Mousse

I also have to disagree with Paula's review on this one. I love this product! I would cry if they ever discontinued it. I have thinning uneven brows and after applying, they look quite natural. I actually get many compliments on my brows. I agree it may be more waxy than of a mouse but with the very useful and generous brush they provide, it is so easy to apply. I also live in a tropical climate and it last all day until I remove my makeup at night, for my oily skin that's a miracle.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
12.22.2012
Amazonian Clay Brow Mousse

I usually agree with Paula's reviews but I have to disagree with this one. I love this product. If you have very sparse brows this works. It stays all day. I feel it looks as natural as any product out there and believe me, I have tried them all.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.411 9/2/2015 5:56:34 AM