01.09.2014
4
7
Tend Skin Liquid
Rating
4 fl. oz. for $20
Last Updated:01.09.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Tend Skin Liquid was “discovered” by a dentist’s patient, has been available for years, and has a formula that has remained unchanged, which isn’t good news. It’s a toner-like product that contains a lot of isopropyl alcohol, which can be drying and irritating to skin (making it completely inappropriate as an after-shave or for soothing razor bumps). The ingredient that works to reduce the prevalence of ingrown hairs and bumpiness is aspirin (acetylsalicylate). Aspirin is indeed an effective anti-inflammatory and anti-itch agent when applied to skin, just as it is when consumed orally (Sources: Dermatology Nursing, August 2004, pages 325–328; Journal of Immunology, December 2002, pages 7063–7070; Acta-Dermato Venereologica, January 1997, pages 46–48; and Pain, September 1995, pages 339–347).

Although putting aspirin in an alcohol base enhances its penetration into the skin, the irritation from the alcohol causes an inflammatory reaction and generates free-radical damage on its own, which completely negates the benefits of the aspirin. The claim that no other product in the world can do what Tend Skin does is without basis in fact, because there are other lines that put aspirin in their “after-shave” products (Paula's Choice has one). And you could always make an aspirin toner of your own by crushing a few tablets in distilled water and mixing it with a couple of drops of glycerin.

l Cream FoundationTend Skin is pricey for what you get, and although I cannot say you won’t get any results from it, there is no question that those results, however notable, come at the cost of irritation, which is a detriment for the long-term health of your skin. By the way, using a well-formulated (meaning pH-correct and irritant-free) beta hydroxy acid (BHA) product is also a great way to soothe skin after shaving. That’s because BHA (salicylic acid) is closely related to aspirin and shares its anti-inflammatory prowess.

Claims

Effectively reduces the appearance of unsightly razor bumps. Regular application will reduce the appearance of existing ingrown hairs without tweezing. There is no other product that will reduce the appearance of ingrown hairs.

Ingredients

Isopropyl Alcohol, Water (reverse osmosis), Propylene Glycol, Acetylsalicylate, Glycerin, Cyclomethicone

Brand Overview

Tend Skin At-A-Glance

Strength: Shaving gel.

Weakness: Tend Skin Liquid.

There isn't a whole lot to Tend Skin because they sell only two products, one a plus and one a minus. Perhaps the most stunning comment is the fact that their namesake product, meant to soothe freshly shaved and irritated skin, carries a warning that it is flammable because of its alcohol content! That makes me burn just thinking about it!

For more information about Tend Skin, call (800) 940-8423 or visit www.tendskin.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
12.06.2014
Good product

I use it on my face when I get my sideburn area waxed. It does sting a little when applied (probably because of the alcohol content) but it goes away. It really does help lift those little hairs that get trapped under the skin and is a good preventative measure. Only use a little bit at a time! It can dry out your skin if you use too much and definitely wash your hands after (it made my fingers feel dry). I wish they had a sample size though so people can try and see if it irritates your skin

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Laura F.
10.25.2014
Good results

This product may have skin unfriendly ingredients but I decided to try it out of desperation and as a last resort for the ingrown hairs on my bikini line. I had tried everything I could find including using paulas bha which is great by the way but not too effective on the ingrown hairs. I tried this and didn't notice too much difference at first but after a month my bikini line is clear. Can't argue with the results plus you get a lot of product for the money.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
NICOLA S.
04.07.2014
Didn't work for me and made my legs and hands peel

I struggled with ingrown hairs for years, and thought Tend would help. I used it faithfully for about week each time I did my legs and/or bikini area with an epilator. There was no change in the frequency of bumps/ingrown hairs, and my legs and hands got extremely dry, to the point of flakiness. This happened each time I went through a cycle of using Tend. I wish I'd seen this review first. Paula's Choice Skin Relief Treatment worked much better, though I still get some bumps.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.16.2013
Diasgree

I have been using tend skin for years! I get ingrown hairs in underarms, bikini and legs. I use tend skin on underarms and bikini EVERY time after my shower. I use the rollerball applicator. I have not had an ingrown, red rash, itchiness or irritation ONCE since using this everyday.This products has been such a life saver in those bikini moments.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Liz
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585631-IIS3 v1.0.0.411 8/4/2015 2:43:23 AM