12.02.2014
19
640
Better Than Sex Mascara
Rating
$23
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This mascara definitely performs well, but we'll let you decide if it's actually better than sex! Held up against the myriad other volumizing mascaras on the market, this one, while pricey, stands out for its easy application and superior wear. (Anyone need a cigarette yet? Sorry, we couldn't help ourselves, the name is just too outrageous to ignore.)

One or two coats adds noticeable length, volume, and curl, but a few extra coats will leave you with runway-ready, look-at-me lashes. What's better than that … well, at least for eye makeup?

Best of all, this water-resistant formula doesn't smudge once it's set and it doesn't flake. However, it goes on quite wet so it takes time to set, especially if you're applying multiple coats. A bit more time and care during application can yield impressive results that exceed those of many other so-called "volumizing" mascaras.

Pros:
  • Buildable volume and length
  • Curls lashes.
  • Water-resistant.
  • Won't smudge or flake once set.
Cons:
  • Takes longer than usual to dry, which increases the risk of smudging.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Too Faced At-A-Glance

Strengths: Web site has complete ingredient lists; nice range of bronzing powders and a self-tanner; Full Bloom Lip & Cheek Creme Color is exceptional; good powder eyeshadows if you want shine.

Weaknesses: An irritating concealer; lacks matte eyeshadow options; terrible mascaras; dismal selection of eyeliners; Lip Injection lip plumpers contain irritating ingredients.

The story of how this line came to be is echoed by almost every new cosmetic company nowadays, a familiar tale that is as disingenuous as it gets. What's the tale? It's that old yarn about a makeup artist being dissatisfied with what's available because he or she just can't find the cosmetic products that are needed to create a truly beautiful makeup application.

In Too Faced's version of this recycled tale, Jerrod Blandino was working at a department store cosmetics counter and, despite the hundreds of products available, couldn't find what he needed. Of course his clients happened to be A-list celebrities (isn't that how this story always goes, and there are plenty of celebrities around who do need help) who demanded the best, and as a true artist, Jerrod was committed to providing it to them.

So, Jerrod went to work, mixing and creating cosmetics at his home in the microwave, producing products that would meet his prestigious clients' high standards and glamorous needs, all because apparently none of the thousands of products anywhere in the world were good enough. And even though in interviews in fashion magazines celebrities were frequently extolling their favorite department store products, those celebs probably weren't Jerrod’s clients.

As the story continues, word among the glitterati started to spread—that Jerrod was the makeup artist to see if you wanted true originality. Hollywood began clamoring for his services, and talk of his skills quickly reached legendary proportions. No one could turn an ugly duckling into a glamour girl like Jerrod. Soon, it seems, all of his creative talent making those new products just could not be contained in a domestic kitchen. What was a talented goddess-maker to do?

Apparently, the solution was to share his idea with Jeremy Johnson, marketing pro and a friend of Jerrod's. The men joined forces, and voilá: Too Faced Cosmetics was born. Since its inception in 1998 this brand has approached (some may say harangued) women with the question: "Why be pretty when you can be gorgeous?" Of course, anyone looking to become gorgeous from Too Faced products is basically tied to Jerrod and Jeremy's idea of what that means—and it may not jibe with yours, especially if "maximum glitter" isn't on your list of makeup must-haves.

Like many other celebrity-inspired makeup artist lines, most of the items you'll find in this one are engulfed in loads of hype and are no better than many products from other lines that sell for half the price (just check out Jane, Sonja Kashuk, Rimmel, or even Maybelline New York).

Too Faced has lots of pink packaging and glitter so it's hard to ignore the flash this line brings to the cosmetics department, but that doesn't have anything to do with the quality of the products. If you're tempted to take a peek (and you will be), you'll find Too Faced has some great bronzing powders and a cream eyeshadow that's truly exceptional. They also have a foundation worth considering if you can get past the convoluted, hard-to-use packaging. The eyeshadows are good, too (although not great), but you have to accept that all of them have some degree of shine, a fact that won't be a problem for younger women but if wrinkles are something you're trying to hide, shine will just make them more obvious.

For all the exaggeration and puffery of this line, what is really disappointing are the mascaras, a paltry, dismal selection of eyeliners, a concealer with irritating ingredients, and an overall limited product selection. If Jerrod really believed that there weren't products from other lines that were good enough for his clients, he clearly didn't know where to shop or what to look for.

For more information about Too Faced Cosmetics call (949) 553-4431 or visit the Web site at www.toofaced.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.22.2015
I've Had Better....

I would say avoid the hype and try to find a sample size to try for yourself. The review was accurate when describing how long it takes the product to dry. Very wet. I liked the results except for the smudging and flaking. I had lots of black smudge under my eyes within hours of applying. If there were a way to stop the smudging and flaking I would rank this product much higher. It's expensive. Very. Even the sample was around $12. But I've had friends get great results so that's why I say try.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tracy W
08.17.2015
Better Than SEX Mascara

Two Faced Better Than Sex Maxcara...2 words. LOVE IT!! Here's why...Lashes were NOTICEABLY LONGER and THICKER! I did however apply primer before applying the mascara. My daughter in law stepped out of the car and from a couple of feet away, she noticed the difference and excitedly screamed, "Oh! You got your eyelashes done!" She thought I had on falsies! That sold it for me. Its a wrap! I'm done! This is the mascara for me. I haven't had problems with flaking, etc.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Maria P.
08.08.2015
GREAT Mascara, But *Does* Flake

I really did love this mascara, it enhanced lashes a ton after just two coats, so further coats left drastic results. However, it started to flake at the mid to end of the day, and when I applied it next time I could actually tell by the formula that it would be prone to flaking. For the price, I feel like the product should be near perfection, and while great, it isn't perfect. Clinique's High Impact Extreme Volume is superior in my opinion, and comes in at $16.50 -- almost $10 less.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Savannah G
07.21.2015
Flakey

I must be unlucky because while this mascara definitely pumps up my lashes looks great, it smudges and flakes terribly, even if I use it on top lashes only. Also not as easy to wash off as some much less expensive drug store brands I've used.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Theresa
07.20.2015
Sticky mess

I was shocked by how disappointing this mascara was. The reviews here are usually close to, if not totally, spot on. But wow. This was sticky, messy, left spots under my eyes (yes, I gave it time to dry.) Yes, I supposed wiping the wand each time and taking extreme care applying could make a difference but geez who has time for that?

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Lisa M
07.10.2015
Great Mascara

Wore for the first time today and REALLY like it. I have very sensitive eyes and was worried, from earlier reviews, that it would irritate them. Definitely not a problem. Also, it is very rare for my eyelashes to hold a curl, but they did with this. Highly recommend.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
ellenb
02.20.2015
Disappointed wears off!

I wanted to love this mascara. I do love a lot of too faced products and love that it's cruelty free. The mascara goes on nicely building thick, long lashes, but after an hour or two wears off completely! I've never experienced this with any mascara. I tried it for a week and every time I looked in a mirror it was as if I never applied mascara that morning. Would not purchase again.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Valerie L.
02.11.2015
Horrible. Not sure what all the hype is about.

After all the rave reviews, I decided to try. I was disappointed. (I'm a bit of a mascara expert as I collect them) I've had $3 mascaras perform better than this pricey one. It went on "ok". But, smudged on my top lid and then began flaking as soon as it dried. Within a few hours most of it had flaked off. (I'm not an eye rubber) I was NOT impressed. There are much better options at all price points. I would not recommend this and would not buy ever again.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Michelle F
01.23.2015
Not the mascara for me :(

Yikes! I was excited to try this mascara as a PC "best of the best" selection, but after two days my sensitive eyes are red and irritated! The mascara flakes terribly, and even with my Clinique Take the Day Off makeup remover, I had a hard time getting all the residue off. It left lots of tiny bits in my eyes. Ouch.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
TERESA T.
01.20.2015
Too Faced "Not" better Than Sex Mascara...

Dramatic results yes, looked amazing with just one coat for about half hr then proceeded to flake quite a lot without touching lashes in ideal weather conditions/indoor. Returned right away but disappointed as was looking forward to this being my new favorite mascara to replace my Dior Iconic which is the best in my opinion for long wear, lengthening, and curling without any flakes, even after months of use,wont give a lot of volumizing which i was looking to improve on,cant have it all I guess!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Meaghan G
11.20.2014
Very good mascara!!

I have very thin and short eye lashes. Usually spent about 30 something $ on my Mascara and was trying around for years now to find a good one. Better than Sex Mascara is cheaper and works great even in one layer!!! Plus it was not tested on animals-how better it can get? The only downside I can find is that I can not fully remove it with my regular cleanser so I have to use make-up remove. Which is what I probably supposed to do anyways, right. thank you, Paula's Choice for a good advise!!!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Nadiya
08.12.2014
One of my favorites!!

this product is amazing! its volumizing and makes your lashes longer. its every thing i was looking in a mascara im officially obsessed with this mascara! if you have the money try it!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Marissa, H
07.17.2014
Hate it

I've been using PC's Mega Lengths mascara and thought I'd try this one just to compare. I was miserable. I am in a beach/high humidity location; maybe that's the problem. Better Than Sex never dried, it just stayed sticky, got all over my sunglasses even hours later, stuck my lashes together, left dots under my eyes, and was difficult to remove-had to lose a few lashes to do it, and I don't like that. I was surprised it has a BEST review and now I will stay with Paula's mascara.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Elaine C
07.05.2014
Failed Miserably

After reading the reviews I got this as part of a set from S e p h o r a , it had the " Too Faced Chocolate Soleil (medium/deep matte bronzer). I loved the mascara for about a weeks worth of use. Then the flaking began. Even wiped the brush clean after each use and STILL flakes. Don't know if my product is just old but this stuff definitely DOES FLAKE which irritates my eyes. So back to Cover Girl Clump Crusher! NEVER FLAKES!I do like the bronzer, use it for contouring, eye shadow &brows

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Laphrodite E
05.10.2014
Not MegaLength

I can not for the life of me understand why PC's MegaLength isn't a "best of the best". When I saw it wasn't listed, I decided to try one of the mascaras she awarded that label. So I tried Better Than Sex and was disappointed. It is a good mascara but nothing compared to MegaLength. I wore one mascara on one eye and the other mascara on the other eye the first day then switched eyes the next. After a few hours, Better Than Sex smudged on both days. MegaLength didn't smudge a bit!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Lauren M.
02.24.2014
Fantastic but gets on my eyelids!

There needs to be a tighter "wiper" mechanism on this tube! This the best mascara ever but if I wear it without eyeliner, the mascara gets all over my lids and just looks like cheap liner!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
LESLIE B.
12.19.2013
Good Mascara

This is a good mascar & better than It's Real to me. It did not smudge or flake. It gives great volume. I needed only 1 coat for day and maybe 3 coats for night. I'm not sure any mascara is worth more than $10 to me but if you can get it in a kit or a smaller tube, then yes I would buy again.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
VICKY A.
12.01.2013
A new fave

i am constantly looking for the perfect mascara. I think it will be a life long quest. I tried this product today and was so impressed. It applies beautifully and the brush separates the lashes while thickening them. Also, no flaking. Best mascara I've ever used and I've tried most of the BEST ones recommended by Paula

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Elaine
11.12.2013
Packaging/delivery system fail

I received one which had malfunctioning packaging, sent it back to QVC, was sent a new one- same issue. Usually the base contain something inside to remove the excess off the brush as you pull the wand out, both of the mascara tubes I received did not seem to have this. When removing wand from the tube base, amount on the brush - globs of mascara on top of the brush. I mean globs. This happened with both tubes that were sent to me. Returned both

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to dermstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.411 8/28/2015 10:15:07 PM