12.02.2014
15
1156
Nourish All-In-One Facial Cleanser
Rating
8.45 fl. oz. for $5.99
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansers/Soaps
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

This simply formulated, water-soluble cleanser is a very good (and inexpensive) option for normal to dry or combination skin. While not quite thorough enough for oily or breakout-prone skin, the gentle gel formula feels silky and works quite well to remove makeup, all without leaving skin dry or tight. The vitamins this contains look good on the label, but their antioxidant benefit is rinsed down the drain. The same holds true for the copper peptide, though we love that this cleanser is fragrance-free. As such, it is also a great option for sensitive skin.

Claims

This All-In-One Facial Cleanser is the result of a close collaboration between Trader Joe's and a dermatologist. This doctor sells a similar cleanser, with fewer antioxidants than ours, for about four times our price. The major difference? Brand names and marketing. Obviously, we don't spend a whole lot of money on marketing. And while we consider our brand name to be valuable, it's not a "big brand" in the skin-care industry.

Ingredients

Water, Sodium Cocoyl Glutamate, Disodium PEG-12 Dimethicone Sulfosuccinate, Sodium Lauroyl Oat Amino Acids, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, PEG-10 Sorbitan Laurate, Panthenol (Vitamin B5), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A), Cholecalciferol (Vitamin D), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Ascorbyl Palmitate (Vitamin C), Phytonadione (Vitamin K), Alpha Lipoic Acid, Coenzyme Q10, Green Tea Extract, Copper Peptide, Citric Acid, Phenoxyethanol, Sorbic Acid

Brand Overview

Trader Joe's At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive; sunscreens provide sufficient UVA protection; good cleanser and shave cream.

Weaknesses: Limited options; body-care formulas contain irritating fragrant oils; Trader Joe's is better for groceries than skin care.

California-based specialty grocer chain Trader Joe's isn't the first place you may think of when shopping for skin care, and rightly so: the bulk of this store's inventory is, not surprisingly, foods and beverages. However, they've recently ventured into sun care and offer a couple of worthwhile, inexpensive sunscreens as well as a remarkable facial cleanser. The sunscreens from TJ's we recommend aren't knock-your-socks-off spectacular, but are quite the beauty bargain. If you have a Trader Joe's in your neighborhood, some of the sunscreens are definitely worth a look, especially if you have a family to cover from head to toe during summer months when more of us are outdoors for long periods of time. For more information about Trader Joe's, visit www.traderjoes.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
05.28.2015
LOVE TRADER JOES'S FACE WASH

This face wash is the best one ever! I want everyone to know about this product. It removes all of my eye and face makeup. It is really gentle on my eyes, and even washes away all the impurities on my skin. I feel so clean after I use this and the best part: it does not make my skin feel tight!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Heather G.
03.05.2015
This may replace my favorite cleanser!

Thanks to this review I decided to check this product out. I love shopping at TJ's! I have to say this does a great job of removing makeup without drying out my already dry skin! The thick gel feels pretty luxurious too. It even removed most of my gel eyeliner which most cleansers fail at. My HG cleanser for years has been Acne.org's cleanser (also Best-rated). I might like this cleanser just as much if not more though, and it's at the same price point! :-) Just wish the pump locked for travel.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Annie M.
02.16.2015
comment on PC's antioxidants in derm cleanser

re Trader Joe cleanser, P.C. says the antioxidants in this cleanser are washed down the drain - meaning(I assume)why put antioxidants in cleanser as they lose efficacy (in cleanser) b/c they don't remain on the skin. PC goes on to say that the dermatologist T.J. collaborates with to develop their skin care sells cleanser 4x price of PC's cleanser YET contains LESS antioxidants THAN PC cleanser. Why compare < antioxidant in derm cleanser to PC brand if antioxidants in cleanser don't matter?

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Barbara F.
02.16.2015
Beautypedia Team Response

Thanks for your comments! The reason is because Paula's Choice doesn't make claims that the antioxidants in their cleansers, while Trader Joe's is making specific claims in that regard. None of the Paula's Choice cleansers make claims about the antioxidants they contain having a benefit for skin.

—Admin
09.08.2014
Simple & humble!

I bought this product for the first time last month and I am very impressed! I am 46 and of native Indian/West Indies/black american race. This is a simple and inexpensive cleanser that has worked for my adult acne issues. I absolutely love it. It foams and gently but thoroughly cleans my skin and does not dry it out. Thank you Trader Joe’s for this cleanser, but please do not raise the prices of the products. Keep it simple and stay humble and we will continue to buy your products.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
09.05.2014
Rare substitute for PC

Love this cleanser. I usually only buy PC, but tried this product and loved it. Even my teen, who only wants to buy her beauty products at Sephora, asks for this one. Can't beat the product or the price.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.08.2014
Diamond in the Rough?

Quite simply, it is one of the most surprising beauty/hygiene products you would expect to find in a grocery store. Most facial cleansers either leave behind a residue and don't clean my face thoroughly enough or they leave it high and dry. On a whim, I tried this and it quickly became one of the most successful cleansers I've ever tried. My skin looks clean, feels clean, and it doesn't irritate my sensitive skin. Slightly more drying than PC4Men's gel cleanser, but still an excellent choice.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Justin H.
06.18.2014
Great Wash!

I have very sensative skin and have tried many products over the years that range in price. After reading the reviews on this product, I decided to give it a try. It's wonderful! It doesn't irritate my skin at all, and takes all my make up off completly!! I love that it's fragrance free, and very gental. I will definatly be buying again!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lindsay D
06.08.2014
Even my picky teen loves it

This is an absolutely wonderful cleanser. It is gentle but thorough. Even my picky teens love this! It is priced very inexpensively for a generous size bottle. I rarely substitute any product for my Paula's Choice, but this is a keeper.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.14.2014
My skin feels tight and dry

I tried this product on Paula's recommendation - every once in a while, I think I should change products. However, after only a few days, my skin felt very tight and dry. I have normal skin w/ no problems, so after reading Paula's review, I thought this might be a good alternative to what I've been using for years and years. Unfortunately, I'm going back to my trusted friend, Cetaphil Gentle Cleanser - even if it does have sodium lauryl sulfate. It doesn't foam & has NEVER made my skin dry.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
NM
02.25.2014
Great Value!

I love this product because it is cheap and cleans without creating any reactions for my very sensitive, acne-prone, oily skin. If you are looking for just a simple, cheap face-wash this is great - I have everyone using it in my house (all have similar skin to me). This is a great neutral cleanser that I would recommend if you have skin similar to mine it just removes impurities without creating any irritation.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Shea
10.18.2013
Just Plain Wonderful

This is a great value and is very, very gentle, as well as thorough without drying out my maturing skin. I do remove makeup first in the PM, but have used this in all seasons with success. My whole family loves it! I love Trader Joe's and always find things there that surpasses my expectations. Just picked up the new Antioxidant Facial Serum.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
LisaG
06.25.2013
Pleasantly surprised

I was skeptical, but Paula's review was so positive I decided to try it. I have normal skin that tends to be slightly dry in winter and sometimes slightly oily on hot summer days. This cleanser leaves my skin feeling clean and soft without drying at all. It lathers a bit and has no fragrance. I've used Paula's facial cleansers for years but am considering making this my go-to cleanser. The price is fantastic.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
YVETTE P.
06.21.2013
My favorite face wash EVER

I have tried several other cleansers but it takes repeated washings to remove my stubborn eye makeup (mostly urban decay 24/7 liners). The only solution that I had found was those daily facial cloth things which really added up. Until now. TJ's Nourish is amazing! It's cheap, foams beautifully, doesn't dry my sensitive skin, has improved my acne-prone skin, and most importantly removes every last speck of my makeup. Love!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Shannon
06.03.2013
Not for dry skin

Leaves my skin feeling drier than gentle sensitive-skin cleansers (Olay Foaming Face Wash, Sensitive; Neutrogena Extra Gentle; Cerave Hydrating) do, but not irritated. That's significant since I have mild rosacea. It isn't horribly drying, so I would recommend it for someone with somewhat oilier skin than my normal-to-dry type, even if it is sensitive like mine. Tremendous value.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
SERENA S.
04.06.2013
Made my skin unhappy, but I'm a special case.

I have "normal" skin, but have keratosis pilaris rubra faceii which means my cheeks are red and unhappy sometimes. This cleanser bothered my face for some reason. It felt irritated and tight after using it. I even gave it a couple weeks. Kinda weird. There just might be something in it that made me react that way. The nice thing is TJ's lets you return pretty much anything if you're unhappy. I'm glad I gave it a shot.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Lauren C.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.401 7/7/2015 5:32:02 PM