12.02.2014
3
Trader Joe's
Nourish Oil-Free Antioxidant Facial Moisturizer
Rating
6 fl. oz. for $5.99
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer without Sunscreen
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:
Tested on animals:No
Overview

This lightweight, generously-sized facial moisturizer may seem like a beauty bargain, and to some extent it is; however, despite containing several antioxidants, retinol, and some good repairing ingredients, almost all of them are listed after the preservative (phenoxyethanol) which means they’re barely present. That’s not too surprising given this moisturizer’s price and the fact that most state-of-the-art ingredients are expensive.

The question is whether tiny amounts of several beneficial ingredients are enough to really help your skin, and the answer is maybe. Ideally, we’d like to see such ingredients more front-and-center, but for what this costs, it’s about as good as it can get. The fragrance-free formula is best for normal to slightly dry or slightly oily skin, and it’s suitable for sensitive skin. The thin lotion texture shouldn’t be a problem for breakout-prone skin.

Note that the clear plastic bottle packaging demands storage away from light. Otherwise, the retinol and antioxidants this contains will begin to break down.

One more comment: this moisturizer contains the controversial ingredient DMAE, used in many of Dr. Perricone’s products. This ingredient is controversial because research has shown conflicting results. It seems to offer an initial benefit that improves skin but these results are short-lived and eventually give way to destruction of substances in skin that help build healthy collagen (Sources: Aesthetic Plastic Surgery, November-December 2007, pages 711–718; and American Journal of Clinical Dermatology, Volume 6, 2005, pages 39–47).

Interestingly, there is a formulation challenge when using DMAE in skin-care products. In order to maintain efficacy and stability, the product’s pH level needs to be at least 10. A pH of 10 is highly alkaline, which isn’t good news for skin. A high pH like this can increase bacteria content in the pore and cause dryness and irritation. Moreover, since almost all moisturizers (including serums and eye creams) are formulated with a pH that closely matches that of human skin (generally 5.5–6.5, which is on the acidic side of the scale), in all likelihood the DMAE used in skin-care products cannot have any prolonged functionality. (Source: Journal of Drugs in Dermatology, Supplement 72, 2008, pages S17–S22).

The amount of DMAE in this product is so low that it’s likely not cause for concern, hence this moisturizer’s positive rating.

Claims
Ingredients

Water, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate, Polysorbate-60, Cetearyl Alcohol, Phenoxyethanol, Cetearyl Glucoside, Sodium PCA, Ethylhexylglycerin, Butyrospermum Parkii Fruit, Tocopheryl Acetate, Xanthan Gum, Tocopherol, Sorbic Acid, Soluble Collagen, Panthenol, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Punica Granatum Extract, Ginkgo Biloba Extract, Coffea Arabica, Chamomilla Recutita Flower/Leaf Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sorbitan Stearate, Phytonadione, Menodione, Hydrolyzed Silk, DMAE, Copper PCA, Retinol, Retinyl Palmitate, Ubiquinone, Thiotic Acid, Cholecalciferol, Polysorbate-20, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Phospholipids

Brand Overview

Trader Joe's At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive; sunscreens provide sufficient UVA protection; good cleanser and shave cream.

Weaknesses: Limited options; body-care formulas contain irritating fragrant oils; Trader Joe's is better for groceries than skin care.

California-based specialty grocer chain Trader Joe's isn't the first place you may think of when shopping for skin care, and rightly so: the bulk of this store's inventory is, not surprisingly, foods and beverages. However, they've recently ventured into sun care and offer a couple of worthwhile, inexpensive sunscreens as well as a remarkable facial cleanser. The sunscreens from TJ's we recommend aren't knock-your-socks-off spectacular, but are quite the beauty bargain. If you have a Trader Joe's in your neighborhood, some of the sunscreens are definitely worth a look, especially if you have a family to cover from head to toe during summer months when more of us are outdoors for long periods of time. For more information about Trader Joe's, visit www.traderjoes.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Tuesday, January 06, 2015
Good value, nice feel

This is one of my favorite moisturizers for my mature, combination skin. I use it at night (because it has no sunscreen) and layer it over a good antioxidant or retinol serum. It feels so nice and light and I believe a great deal for the price!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Diane M
Tuesday, August 06, 2013
Caused a small breakout

I was excited to try this moisturizer as well as the all-in-one facial cleanser. I started out washing with the cleanser every night and putting on the moisturizer morning and night. That was way more than my combo skin needed. I noticed the small whiteheads popping up as well as my skin being more oily. I used it under my BB cream and I think that is why I broke out. I began to cut down on my usage. I use a small pump every other night, unless I have been traveling then I use more.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Saturday, March 23, 2013
more a serum than a moisturizer

This has a lovely texture. I use it as a serum. It's inexpensive enough I don't stint on using it. It's perfect for using under sunscreen and with Retin-A. Keep it in a drawer, though, to protect it from light.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Gayle
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.369 2/28/2015 10:40:42 PM