01.14.2015
2
35
Protective Daily Moisturiser SPF 30+
Rating
3.38 fl. oz. for $65
Category:Skin Care > Moisturizers (Daytime and Nighttime) > Moisturizer with Sunscreen
Last Updated:01.14.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Protective Daily Moisturiser SPF 30+ came to us with an incomplete ingredient list, and the supplemental information Ultraceuticals provided did not match what was written on the product. Therefore, all we can do is comment on the active ingredients in this sunscreen. The combination of Tinosorb with zinc oxide and octyl methoxycinnamate is a formidable defense against UV rays, and in that sense this sunscreen is recommended, but there is no way to know what else you are putting on your skin and that’s a problem (and also not in compliance with FDA or Australian cosmetic/pharmaceutical regulations).

Claims

A moisturizing sun protector which provides a defense system for your skin. Contains specific ingredients to protect against daily environmental damage.

Ingredients

Active: Octyl Methoxycinnamate (9.8%), Methylene Bisbenzotriazolyl Tetramethylbutylphenol (Tinsorb M) (5.05%), Zinc Oxide (4.9%), Other: Phenoxyethanol, Hydroxybenzoates, Benzoic Acid

Brand Overview

Ultraceuticals At-A-Glance

Strengths: Almost all the products are fragrance-free; one very good cleanser and some good vitamin C and retinol moisturizers; an effective AHA product with lactic acid; all the sunscreens provide sufficient UVA protection; stable packaging.

Weaknesses: Expensive; most of the AHA products have pH values too high for exfoliation to occur; irritating skin-lightening products; no effective products for acne-prone skin.

What a great name for a skin-care line! Not only does the "ultra" prefix speak to consumers looking for the best or most potent products, but also the "ceuticals" suffix lends a medicinal touch that is reminiscent of the emerging term "cosmeceuticals" (which is a marketing term that has no sanctioned validity or standards, so it can be applied to any product).

Ultraceuticals was the brainchild of Australian plastic surgeon Dr. Geoffrey Heber, whose vision to deliver "honest, clinically-proven skin care" back in 1991 was years ahead of the trend of doctors as skin-care salespeople. The company speaks readily of its ingredient technology, which is what the people behind it believe makes Ultraceuticals a cut above the rest. The clinical study results and before-and-after images provided in the company's catalog look convincing, but, as is usually the case, the details are left out. We don't know what product in their double-blind study was used as a control, we don't know what other products the study participants used prior to being treated with the Ultraceuticals cream, and the result (that topical vitamin C can improve the appearance of sun-damaged skin) is hardly revolutionary or exclusive to Ultraceuticals. It is well established that stabilized vitamin C applied topically (and consumed orally) can do this (Sources: The Journal of Pharmacy and Pharmacology, August 2005, pages 963–972; The Journal of Investigative Dermatology, February 2005, pages 304–307; and Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, January 2005, pages 4–9). Moreover, many, many other antioxidants have the same ability, including vitamin E, green tea, and retinol. In fact, many researchers believe that, regardless of the content of a single antioxidant in a product, a better approach is to use skin-care products that offer a blend of antioxidants. In that sense, Ultraceuticals falls a bit short.

Australians may be all abuzz about this skin-care line, and it is creeping into the United States. Yet aside from offering mostly fragrance-free products and consistently using packaging to keep light- and air-sensitive ingredients stable, it really isn't anything new under the sun. However, as you will see from the reviews below, there are a few star products to consider if the prices don't bother you.

For more information about Ultraceuticals, call (800) 339-5115 or visit www.ultraceuticals.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
04.16.2015
sunscreen

This sunscreen is amazing. I wear it ever day never get burnt and it does not clog my pores. I do not break out and I don't get any pimples. It's lightweight absorbs quickly and is good under makeup. This produce is expensive but works. I'd like to also add that this is a great range unlike Paula suggests And there ultra brightening serum is brilliant ( not reviewed on this website).

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
bec
12.09.2012
Ultraceuticals Protective Daily Moisturiser SPF 30

I realised how good this product is when one day a few years back I went to the beach on an extremely hot day. I only put the cream on my face, neck and chest. After only 45 minutes at the beach I went home. That night I was in a lot of pain and my body was lobster red. I still have the tan mark (scar?) across my abdomen almost two years later from my board shorts. However - my face neck and chest were still lily white. This is an excellent sunscreen. Although it is very expensive ($69 in David Jones) it is worth it to me. I bought it yesterday after having stopped using it due to price. I figured if I checked the list of ingredients on sunscreens I could get one just as effective but more cost efficient. The reason I decided to return to using the Ultraceuticals sunscreen is because I used a Neutrogena sunscreen two days ago that, if the ingredients list was to be believed, should have protected me. I slathered it on quite thick twenty minutes before I went in the sun and I still got burned. I was in the sun for 1 hour and 10 minutes. Very disappointing. I will keep spending my money on the Ultraceuticals sunscreen. It's amazingly effective.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Encee
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.401 6/30/2015 12:19:59 AM