12.30.2014
26
Urban Decay
24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil
Rating
$20
Category:Makeup > Eyeliners > Eye Pencil
Last Updated:12.30.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:
Tested on animals:No
Overview

After re-visiting 24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil since its initial launch, we're happy to report that it is better than ever! This eye pencil has a creamy-smooth texture that glides across skin for a solid, even line of color. The tip is on the soft side so it doesn't take much pressure to apply, and depending on how narrow you sharpen it, you can choose how thick or thin a line it creates. Of course, the shaping of the tip is true for most pencils, so what makes this one stand out? Plenty!

The colors go on richly with one swipe and, at first, are smudgeable. After about 30 seconds, the creamy texture sets to a more resilient, stay-put finish that even holds up against water. If you have very oily eyelids, the line of color will break down after five or six solid hours of wear, but otherwise you can count on dependable, fade-resistant color from day to night. The fragrance-free formula is tenacious enough that you'll need makeup remover to get it off completely.

24/7 Glide-On Eye Pencil comes in a vast and colorful shade range with a mix of classic hues (black and brown), as well as vibrant, trendier shades. The finish varies by color, but most have a sheen of some sort (including metallic and glittery options).

The fact that this pencil requires manual sharpening is inconvenient (versus automatic/retractable eye pencils), but if you don't mind, it's certainly worth a look.

Pros:
  • Creamy-smooth texture that glides across skin for a solid, even line of color.
  • Vast shade range with pigmented colors that go on richly with one swipe.
  • Allows ample blending time before setting to a stay-put, water-resistant finish.
  • Not prone to flaking or fading.
Cons:
  • Requires manual sharpening.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Urban Decay At-A-Glance

Strengths: Workable options in almost every category; excellent cheek tint; bonanza for anyone who wants lots of shiny eyeshadows; good mattifier; bronzing powder; brow products; makeup brushes.

Weaknesses: Mostly average to poor mascaras; limited foundation shades and some disappointing lip glosses; the products designed to help makeup last longer don't help.

From its unconventional beginnings in 1996 with the debut tagline of "Does Pink Make You Puke?" Urban Decay has been at the forefront of the ongoing trend toward unconventional colors. Their approach to beauty is still rooted in steering clear of the norm, but for those creative, unconventional folks who want the opportunity to express themselves with well-formulated, edgy products, this is the line to look to.

Now representing itself by the decidedly tamer "Beauty with an Edge" slogan, the line still offers several shiny options (which excel by virtue of how well they cling to skin), but the items that really deserve your attention include some of their mascaras, bronzing powder, blush, and brow products. The brush collection is highly recommended and priced on the low end when compared to other department-store lines, and Urban Decay counters (as opposed to Sephora stores, where the line is typically sold) offer helpful literature about how to design a complete makeup look. The colors may be unconventional and more clownish than classy, but their placement advice is right-on.

Shortcomings of this edgy line include the lack of lipsticks and some glittery products that apply terribly. Those who appreciate products that make a statement (though it may not always be one that puts you in your most flattering light) should explore the best of what is offered here, as should those whose makeup concepts occasionally lean toward the adventurous side.

For more information about Urban Decay, call (800) 784-URBAN or visit www.urbandecay.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Next »
Thursday, September 04, 2014
Only ones I've found that I can actually get on

I've tried so many brands of eyeliner, and these are the first pencils that I've used that I don't have to almost gouge my eyes out to actually get on my lids. Every other brand, no matter how hard I press, barely leaves anything. I have very dry skin, so I assume that applies to my eyelids too. There is a huge array of colors, including glittery ones that don't irritate my eyes, and the product stays put. And the Leaping Bunny cert makes UC even better.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Dawn V
Saturday, August 23, 2014
Great Eyeliner!!!!!!!!

On a wim, and mostly because I read all these great reveiws I bought this pencil in Ulta last week. I have never gone against a Paula rating Esp. A Poor rating before. Much to my surprise, because I have oily eyelids this pencil worked beautifully! No migration with lots of stay on power. I did have to sharpen after 4 days of use, but the pencil is approx 6 inches long so it should last. I have been using gel eyeliner on with success but wanted the simplicity of a pencil and this works!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Deborah
Sunday, August 03, 2014
Sorry Paula, I must respectfully disagree.

Paula, I appreciate your thoughtful review and I respect your experience and careful evaluations of cosmetics. I cannot agree with your assessment of UD's 24/7 eye liner pencil. I've been in the beauty biz for years, including as a makeup artist, and these pencils perform flawlessly. Intensity when needed, smudgeable if wanted, and budge proof once set. I've used all sorts of pencils, high and low end. These are my go-to. Please take another look. Until then, we agree to disagree.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Heather B.
Friday, July 18, 2014
My HG Pencil Liner

I honestly can't see how these rated poor. These are the only pencil eyeliners I use. I'm over 40, and in all my years I've tried many brands of eyeliners. These go on smoothly without pulling; once they "dry" they stay put until I very purposely wash it off. I've even slept with it on and didn't budge. I've never had problems with the tip breaking while using or sharpening, which is a problem I've had with other brands. And I really enjoy the wide color choices.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Mary
Sunday, July 13, 2014
Also agree to disagree

I came upon this liner because I have very sensitive eyes and it was recommended. I usually have trouble finding eyeliners that don't smudge and this has never smudged in any of the colors I have worn. The liner is creamy and goes on smooth. I'm surprised to read such a poor beautypedia review for such a solid product. I recommend you give it a try yourself and if you get it from a brick & mortar store, sanitize it because people sometimes open packages and swatch liners.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Naomi P.
Wednesday, June 25, 2014
Agree to disagree

I've used the pencils for a few years and despite Paula and her staff's reviews - this stuff stays put. You can smudge it while it's "wet" but once it sets - it stays until I have to force it off with makeup remover at the end of the night.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Monday, June 09, 2014
Best I've used so far

While I only have two (Perversion and Yeyo) they're the best pencil liners I've used in a long time. While they do need to be fridged before sharpening (especially in an Australian summer - but no other eyeliner holds up to 35C and over ambient temperatures anyway) they're perfect for a soft, smudgy look. (Does anyone seriously try to use pencils for precision?) I love using Perversion as a base for black eyeshadow, and Yeyo makes a great highlighter if you don't have a sparkly white shadow.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
dart
Thursday, May 15, 2014
These pencils are addictive

I think Paula got the purpose of these pencils wrong, hence the bad review. I love how creamy they are; how there is zero dragging of the soft eye tissue. The blunt tip isn't an issue because with these colors the desired effect is often a soft look. Additionally, on my oily lids these eyeliners stay all day. My one caveat is to stay away from the navy colors (Sabbath, Binge, etc.). There is something about the navy pigment that renders those colors too soft for any use.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Elizabeth I.
Monday, February 03, 2014
I'd like it if it didn't swell my eyes shut

I had a horrible allergic reaction to this liner. It caused my eyelids to swell and turn pink and scaly, a condition called allergic conjuctivitis. (Not contagious pink eye, allergic pink eye). I don't usually have adverse reactions to make up, but I do have sensitive eyes, which is why I spend the extra bucks on good products. It achieves a good smokey eye, but a 2 pink eyes is not the look I was going for. I tried this in place of a Buxom inside eyeliner I loved but can't find anymore :(

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Melissa G
Saturday, January 25, 2014
Time to re-review this one, Paula!

I agree with Paula's reviews about 95% of the time (I happen to LOVE Burt's Bees Lip Shimmers, which she does not like at ALL) but on these pencils I strongly disagree!! I have collected many, many of these and will not buy any other brand of pencil. Sometimes I'll use a gel liner as a base very close to the lashes and then put on a shade like Mildew (light green) just to have that color show up more. I don't try to keep a 'sharp' point on these and have not had any problems using the blunt tip

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Linda R.
Friday, January 03, 2014
Best Eyeliner!!!

I think Paula must have mixed up the liners she tried because this liner is the ultimate best in my book! (I think it should deserve an average rating at very least!) I've tried tons of liners and also have oily eyelids as some other reviewers here and just looove how long this liner stays on. I love how blendable and smooth this liner glides on, no dragging or skipping. Yes, it's a pencil and you waste some product when you sharpen but I am willing to pay more for the quality rather than value

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anna
Monday, December 30, 2013
My favorite eye pencil

I have the 24/7 glide on pencils in Perversion, Zero, Demolition, LSD and Rockstar and I have to say that they stay very well (sometimes too well). I am Asian with very oily eyelids and I've never experience a problem with the liner migrating anywhere or anykind of raccoon eyes. I will say these pencils are very soft so you have to be careful sharpening (although the UD grindhouse sharpener is awesome). I am truly shocked by Paula's poor rating and review. the different colors are alot of fun

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Mei C
Sunday, November 03, 2013
Best pencil I've used

This is the best pencil liner I've ever used.I used to think that smudging under eyes was part and parcel of using pencils. Not with this one.It's waterproof and it doesn't budge.Yes I do top up during the day, but not as often as I used to.It glides on easily and is excellent for lining the top eyelid. I used to have to use liquid liner on top.As for sharpening it's no worse or better than any other pencil.I do value Paula's opinion and use loads of her stuff But she's got this one wrong.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Roma
Tuesday, September 17, 2013
Paula is right!

I have several of these eyeliners--I keep trying them for some reason, only to be disappointed again and again. My lids are not more oily or more dry than normal, and I have worn these with and without a primer. It doesn't matter. This stuff is going to smudge all over the place and look terrible. I have managed to get some wear out of it by using powder cosmetics in the same colors over the top of the eyeliner. But that's two steps. Why bother when there are better products out there?

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Tamara D.
Sunday, August 18, 2013
Politely agree to disagree

BP's review missed the mark on this product. I love pencils that are soft & easy to apply. After using eyeliners that drag & tug on the lid, the 24/7s are genius. You have to let them set to dry, but once dry they don't budge. Also criticizing the colors in the line as "clownish" seems a bit wtf to me. Makeup is about creativity, so dismissing them out of hand for a broad color range is myopic. Having a great color range is a good thing. The makeup world isn't just black, brown & navy anymore.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Tuesday, July 23, 2013
Poor?? What? I love these pencils!

I own seven or eight of these and they are the only eyeliner I use. They are so easy to apply and have a huge color payoff. They never smudge and last all day for me. Sorry, Paula, we agree on a lot of products but I think your review of these is way off.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Monday, April 08, 2013
They didn't work for me.

These dry down a minute or so after applying, they 'set'. I still need to set them with powder for 3-4 hours worth of wear at best for me. One of the selling points for me, is the extensive color range, something for everyone. My issue, these really irritate my eyes. There must be some irritating ingredient, because this is not normal for me. My eyes water like crazy, which causes them to smudge pretty easily/fast, Ive already had smudging within an hour.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Teasha
Sunday, April 07, 2013
Loved these long time!!!

I'm a make up artist first off. Have loved these liners forever. They come in cool colors (i don't consider them clownish since I use them creatively) that really stay put even inside the rim of the eye.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
jacki s.
Friday, March 01, 2013
Disappointed

These used to be my favorite liners. I stopped buying them for about a year, repurchased again and am completely disappointed. Paula's review is correct except I don't mind the colors. I have probably thrown more liner out then I have used because they break so easily. I have used different sharpeners and that made no difference. They are so soft, they don't sharpen to a point for a thinner line. I can see these being good for a smoky eye or if you like the heavy eyeliner look.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
JenS
Wednesday, February 20, 2013
A Nice Eyeliner

I have 4 different colors and they're all really nice and truly glide on. I have oily lids too so no liner will stay put for me even with a primer made for eyes. Urban (coppery brown) and Stash (dark green) are my favorite colors. I use them every day even though they don't last long, but maybe if you don't have oily lids it'll actually stay put.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Stef
Sunday, February 17, 2013
Favorite of mine

If you have oily lids, the liner won't last long. I like it because it's easily smudgeable if you work quickly. Very good for smoky eyes. My lids get oily so this doesn't last long on the waterline. I like that there is a wide variety in color. I don't find them clownish at all! It's perfect if you want to try a subtle pop of color without having to put on eyeshadow.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Tatiana D.
Tuesday, January 29, 2013
Totally Disagree with Poor rating!!

I have been using these pencils exclusively for about 4 years and love them. I probably have about every color that UD makes and like most of them. I am a senior citizen and find most of the colors great, the only ones that I don't like are the darker ones because I am older and have toned my makeup down a bit.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Marti Q.
Tuesday, January 22, 2013
Amazing Eyeliners!

I have three of these liners, one is black, the other is a dark brown, and the third is a pretty emerald green. None of the colors I own would ever closely register as garish, outlandish, or "clown like". Staying power (unless you're lining your water line) is great, lasts most of the day. As for the creamy texture, I love using the emerald green color to smudge as a pretty eye lid color. I'm so disheartened seeing a poor rating for these eyeliners, the review reading very subjective, not what I expect from this site.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
NessaVilla619
Saturday, January 12, 2013
What?!?! These Are Amazing!

The colors are fantastic. Do NOT be afraid to venture out. I prefer a conservative, clean face, however I do find that a pop of color around the eyes is flattering and can really brighten your entire face. I'm in my late 30's BTW so I am not going for the disco look. Easy to apply. No tugging. They last through the day really well for a pencil, not quite as long as a gel eyeliner. And I have oily lids. They do need to be sharpened frequently, but so what? It takes like two seconds. I have never had a single one break. I have extremely sensitive, fussy eyes and all Urban Decay products are a dream for me. The price is high but I have not found a match in quality, pigmentation, or selection at a lower price point. My ONLY problem is that Urban Decay has been snatched up by L'Oreal. This does not bode well for those of us who avoid companies that test on animals. And this makes me so very sad.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Fairey
Tuesday, January 01, 2013
Not true

I check these reviews mainly for any potential risks from certain ingredients. When I saw that these pencils rated a "POOR," my heart skipped a beat because I have two sets and love them. Thankfully, the review was not about any adverse effects but was about the staying power, the possibility of the tip breaking off, and the clownish color selection. I haven't lost a tip yet, and these are so budge-proof that I actually have a somewhat difficult time removing them. As far as the colors being "mostly clownish," I totally disagree. These are eyeliners, not eyeshadows. So even some of the more out-there colors and those with a little shimmer can really brighten up the eye if used subtly. The only one I did not like was "gunmetal" and that was because it just had too much actual glitter and fall-out from it. I love all the others.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.369 3/2/2015 6:57:43 AM