Eyeshadow Primer Potion

Price:
$20 
Good Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Makeup > Sensitive Skin Products > Eyeshadow > Eyeshadow Primers
Last Updated:
2/13/2013
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Eyeshadow Primer Potion promises to make eyeshadows last longer while keeping them from creasing, and it works. In addition, it facilitates a smoother application and makes blending even easier. The problem is you can get the same results from a good matte-finish concealer that’s silicone-based like this one. Because most of today’s best concealers follow this format, a product like this, though it works, seems superfluous (unless you don’t use a silicone-based type of concealer).

From its unconventional beginnings in 1996 with the debut tagline of "Does Pink Make You Puke?" Urban Decay has been at the forefront of the ongoing trend toward unconventional colors. Their approach to beauty is still rooted in steering clear of the norm, but for those creative, unconventional folks who want the opportunity to express themselves with well-formulated, edgy products, this is the line to look to.

Now representing itself by the decidedly tamer "Beauty with an Edge" slogan, the line still offers several shiny options (which excel by virtue of how well they cling to skin), but the items that really deserve your attention include some of their mascaras, bronzing powder, blush, and brow products. The brush collection is highly recommended and priced on the low end when compared to other department-store lines, and Urban Decay counters (as opposed to Sephora stores, where the line is typically sold) offer helpful literature about how to design a complete makeup look. The colors may be unconventional and more clownish than classy, but their placement advice is right-on.

Shortcomings of this edgy line include the lack of lipsticks and some glittery products that apply terribly. Those who appreciate products that make a statement (though it may not always be one that puts you in your most flattering light) should explore the best of what is offered here, as should those whose makeup concepts occasionally lean toward the adventurous side.

For more information about Urban Decay, call (800) 784-URBAN or visit www.urbandecay.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    4 / 4 Best
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Christy L.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 14, 2014
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Awesome Product
    • I had a huge problem with creasing until I found this. I am surprised Paula didn't give it a higher rating. It works very well. It may cost more but I don't mind paying for a product that works. It also lasts for a very long time so I buy it maybe once a year.

  2. Lauren S
    Reviewed on Monday, March 17, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Original formula is great!
    • This stuff does exactly what it promises to do. It goes on smooth, dries within seconds, and doesn't budge all day until you wash it off. My eye makeup doesn't move all day long. It looks champagne colored in the tube, but it dries clear. I agree with a previous reviewer, i also have to apply it above the crease because my eyeliner would smudge up there. no more! I have tried the concealer trick, but it never stayed, it always slid off after a couple of hours.

  3. Erin G.
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 15, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    The Stay Matte formula is amazing!
    • I have very watery eyes and have struggled to keep shadow from not only creasing but washing away after only 2 hours. I followed Paula's advice and tried a silicone-based concealer (the one she sells in fact) and it was too slippery. I had eyeshadow creasing and moving like crazy. On a trip to Ulta I told the sales girl my problem and she made up a sample for me to try, specifically the new Stay Matte formula. WOW! Shadow doesn't move, crease, or fade. A little goes a very long way. My new HG!

  4. Annette D.
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 29, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Awesome!
    • It's not cheap but worth it! It help shadow show up better that's has poor pigmentation. I have to cover lid and above the crease because I crease so bad that I 've actually gotten liner above my crease area.

  5. ERIN C.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 06, 2014
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Nothing better!
    • I was the queen of the crease until I found this stuff! A little goes a long way. I've tried the so-called concealer trick and I'm sorry to say, but UD knocks it out of the park. This stuff really is the best!

  6. JanetM
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 22, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    The Best
    • This primer is excellent for keeping eye shadow in place all day. I use the original formula. I squeeze out just a tiny bit of it and spread it on my eyelid. It dries quickly and then I apply my eye-shadow. It's a bit expensive but I use it almost every day and a tube has lasted me a very long time. In fact, I've had it for so long, I don't remember when I bought it. I've tried other primers and also concealer as Paula recommends but they didn't work nearly as well if at all.

  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Thursday, April 18, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    The Best
    • I've tried many primers and many so called lasting eyeliners in many different forms. This primer has eliminated my eternal search for a stay put product. Love, love it . Never leave home without it. Never have disappearing eye makeup. Better than a Good rating, Best is better!!!

  8. Melissa C.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, April 09, 2013
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    Skeptic Convinced
    • I was totally skeptical before trying this, but I got a sample in a Sephora order. I tried it on and my eyeshadow went on SOO much better than usual. And it stayed all day (I have no time during the day for touchups, and it looked good when I went home). If you have trouble with eye makeup creasing or shadows not going on smoothly, this is a fantastic product. I'd get the original without color, to start, unless you try on the various shades before buying. It's also slightly brightening. :)

  9. LYNSEY F.
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 23, 2013
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    it works
    • this really works, not sure why Paula rates it lower simply because a concealer would do the same job, anyway this is cheaper than my concealer!

  10. GEORGIA K.
    Reviewed on Friday, December 21, 2012
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    Excellent Eyeshadow Primer
    • Not sure why this is not BEST rated by Paula, but it should be. This is a great eyeshadow primer. I didn't really enjoy adding another step to my makeup routine, but now that I know what this product does I never skip it. I dab a few dots on both eyelids and then swirl it gently around the upper eyelid and along the lower lash line, generally all around my eyes anywhere eye makeup would be applied. It does take about a minute to dry before you can apply shadow, so I just do something else (apply blush or eyebrow pencil) during that time so the minute doesn't really add time, it just requires you to re-order your routine a little. The original primer in the purple tube with silver cap looks like it is skin-colored, but it goes on colorless and does not add any sparkle or shine. I gave this to my Aunt and she told me she had an Aha! moment after using it the first time. Your eyeshadows really do go on better, with better color saturation. Liner stays in place better, too. I sometimes fall asleep with my makeup on and am surprised how well my eye makeups lasts, even 'til the next day (but I try not to make a habit of falling asleep without removing my makeup). One day I was so rushed I literally left the house with yesterday's eye makeup still on and got compliments on my eyeshadow!

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, December 15, 2012
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Great
    • it definitly works well, i dont have a silicone based concealer so this was nice, it was very highly rated on makeup tutorials on youtube so i gave it a shot. what surprised me (after going through some tubes of this stuff) that the bottles i was tossing out still contained a lot of product, the fancy tube and the one with the wand both make it hard to get the most out of the product, it would also be nice if this had a whitish base to enhance some colors, but it would make black look grey so it isn't really a downside but would be preferred by me

  12. Anne Marie
    Reviewed on Tuesday, December 04, 2012
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Little tiny dab
    • I bought this after a Sephora makeover. It does seem popular on beauty blogs so I thought I would try it. Keeps my shadows looking fresh all day and when I wash off at night, I actually have to remove my eyeshadow not just rinse off. At first I was using too much product and disliked it. I now use the tiniest dab and rub it between my 2 index fingers to warm it before putting on my eyelids. Let it dry. Then do your thing. As shadows stay put where I put them and I was used to rubbing off excess or misplaced shadows with a finger, I had to learn to be more precise with my shadow application. So it's made things a more tricky in one way, but once I'm made up I stay made up all day. I would buy it again, but I might also shop around for something cheaper after reading reviews on this site. (Thanks Paula!) I guess it would depend on how long this tube will last me. Might turn out to be a better value than a 3.

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.355 11/25/2014 5:08:53 PM
Skip to Top of Page
15% Off Resist Anti-Aging   |   FREE Shipping on $50+   |   5 FREE Samples

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.