12.31.2014
4
30
Vaseline Petroleum Jelly
Rating
13 fl. oz. for $4.49
Category:Skin Care > Retinol Products > Body Lotions/Creams/Balms/Butters
Last Updated:12.31.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

Here it is: the classic petroleum jelly that has been available since, believe it or not, 1872. It almost goes without saying that we’ve learned a monumental amount about skin care and physiology since then, but it also must be stated that Vaseline remains one of the safest, most benign cosmetic ingredients ever created, and there’s no research to the contrary. Topical application of petrolatum can help the skin’s outer layer recover from damage, reduce inflammation, and generally help the skin heal (Sources: American Family Physician, October 2008, pages 945–951; Journal of Burn Care and Rehabilitation, May-June 2008, pages 247–251; and .Acta Dermato-Venereologica, November–December 2000, pages 412–415). This isn’t the only option and it’s better when mixed with a range of ingredients that current research shows are essential for all skin types to be healthy, but for occasional use on stubborn dry spots, including lips, Vaseline remains a reliable, inexpensive option that’s widely available.

Claims

Vaseline Petroleum Jelly serves two functions: First it helps keep the outside world out - it protects skin from the effects of weather and exposure. Second, it acts like a sealant to help keep the inside world in - it forms an occlusive barrier to the natural water loss of our skin. So skin that is dry and chapped is protected from drying elements, enabling skin-softening moisture to build up naturally from inside the skin itself.

Ingredients

White Petrolatum

Brand Overview

Strengths: Inexpensive and widely available; very good hand cream; a handful of good body lotions for dry skin.

Weaknesses: Many of the body lotions have average formulas that don’t compete with drugstore brands such as CeraVe, Olay, and Eurcerin; the body lotion with sunscreen does not supply sufficient UVA protection, leaving skin vulnerable to the sun’s most aging rays.

The Vaseline brand is perhaps among the oldest and most well-known around the world. Since the advent of Vaseline Petroleum Jelly in the late 1800s, the brand has been synonymous with treating dry, chafed, cracked skin. Although petroleum jelly is among the best ingredients for preventing moisture loss and healing dry skin, it must be said that skin requires more than one ingredient to look and function at its healthy best. To that end, Vaseline has branched out from its original, ointment-like petroleum jelly to a line of body creams and lotions that contain a range of helpful ingredients for dry skin. Their body-care formulas aren't the most exciting around, but there are some good options. Adding to the handful of commendable products are Vaseline's widespread availability and relatively low price point.

This is definitely a line to shop carefully, because many of the body lotion formulas aren’t all that great; in fact, most of them pale in comparison to competing brands sold at the drugstore. Despite Vaseline’s history, they’re not consistently keeping pace with what modern research has shown is necessary to significantly improve dry skin. If you focus on their best products, you can find some bona-fide beauty bargains but again, this isn’t a line to shop blindly.

For more information about Vaseline, owned by Unilever, call (800) 475-7084 or visit www.vaseline.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
01.19.2015
Vaseline Lip Therapy

Vaseline has come out with a small jar (.25 oz.) Lip Therapy with or without cocoa butter. I apply a small amount to my lips and by the time my makeup is completed my lips are soft, smooth and plump. Love it!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jacquelyn E
01.15.2015
Excellent as a Lip Balm for ACNE Sufferers!

I recently discovered what causes acne around my lips - the lip balms. Thanks to Paula and her Team I learned that petrolatum molecule is too big to clog pores. Sure enough, as soon as I stopped using lip balms and switched to pure Vaseline, acne around my lips practically disappeared. Thank you so much, Paula and the Team, for so much valuable information on your webpages!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Daniela C.
07.22.2013
Classic product with lots of uses

A true classic...in a pinch it moisturizes dry skin, quick lip balm, creates barrier against wind chapping, removes eye makeup, and my favorite use: apply thick layer all around hairline before home hair coloring to prevent skin staining. You can also do the same around eyebrows if you color those too. And you can't beat the price. It's not my first choice for any of the above (except hair coloring) but if you can't get your usual products, it comes in handy. No irritants at all. Safe for all.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Erin G.
02.19.2013
Ideal for Dry & Sensitive Skin

My skin is dry to very dry and sensitive. When my skin feels irritated and dehydrated, I apply Vaseline over my hydrating serum during the day (if I'm not going out) and it restores my skin so that it feels in balance. A truly wonderful product!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
georgia
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585630-IIS2 v1.0.0.401 7/5/2015 10:22:58 AM