12.18.2014
7
Wet 'n Wild
Coverall Pressed Powder
Rating
$2.99
Category:Makeup > Powders > Pressed Powder
Last Updated:12.18.2014
Jar Packaging:False
pH:
Tested on animals:No
Overview

This beauty bargain gets the job done in terms of setting makeup and adding light coverage. The soft, pressed-powder texture can be a bit powdery as you sweep your brush across the compact (which is what we'd recommend applying this with; not the included sponge), but once on the skin, you'll get smooth, lightweight coverage.

Coverall Pressed Powder has enough pigmentation to even out skin tone, but not so much so that it looks heavy or chalky. The addition of mica to the formula provides a subtle light-reflective quality that enlivens skin without looking too shiny.

Given the absorbent nature of this powder, it's best suited for normal to oily/combination skin. Shades come in several neutrally flattering, natural colors for light to medium-tan skin tones. This pressed powder is fragrance-free and suitable for sensitive skin.

Pros:
  • Evens out skin tone without looking heavy or chalky.
  • Subtle light-reflective quality enlivens skin without looking shiny.
  • Soft, pressed-powder texture blends on smoothly.
  • Absorbent finish keeps excess oil in check.
  • Fragrance-free.
  • Bargain price!
Cons:
  • Texture means it can be a bit flyaway (messy) as you sweep your brush across the compact.
Claims
Ingredients

Talc, Mica, Nylon-12, Boron Nitride, Phenyl Trimethicone, Magnesium Stearate, Caprylyl Glycol, Alumina, Bisabolol, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Glycerin, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate. May Contain: Iron Oxides, Carmine.

Brand Overview

Wet 'n' Wild At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive, good tinted moisturizer with sunscreen; some attractive bronzing powders; mostly good eyeshadow and lipstick options.

Weaknesses: Unimpressive concealers; large assortment of average to poor eyelining products; the mascaras do little to impress; some lip products suffer from the inclusion of irritants; the makeup brushes.

Wet 'n' Wild is one of the few cosmetics companies around that prides itself on being extraordinarily cheap, although the prices have increased across the board since we last revisited this brand. But don't let its hokey name and pre-teen marketing tactics deter you, because there are some great options available, and the packaging has improved in almost every category. The best-performing products will seem like steals, while the less impressive to horrible products will quickly have you thinking, "you get what you pay for." It is not very often that a line offers such a procession of clear-cut winners and dismal losers, but once you know what to focus on, you won't get soaked by Wet 'n' Wild. This line is available in most major drugstores across the country, and, like most drugstore lines, does not offer testers. Interestingly, the selection of Wet 'n' Wild in Canadian drugstores tends to be better than what U.S. shoppers will find.

For more information about Wet 'n' Wild, visit www.wnwbeauty.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula Begoun herself.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page
Tuesday, September 16, 2014
Great Bargain

I bought this powder based on the PC review and felt their judgement was spot on. The powder does exactly what P.C. says. It's even coverage but sheer. It is great for a light layer on top of foundation to set in place for the day. It can be drying which is great for me because I have really oily skin. I actually had no problems with it being messy. The only con I would add to the PC review is that the powder does have a really weird smell that I have not experienced with other powders.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Katie B.
Saturday, January 04, 2014
Waste of money even at such a low price

The texture of this powder is extremely soft. My brush alone made this powder break into little pieces upon the first use. It's extremely flyaway, as mentioned in the Beautypedia review, and very messy! I accidentally dropped it today, and it shattered into small pieces, so I threw it away. Good riddance! This was an absolute pain to use. It was even messier than a loose powder! Plus, when I applied it to my face, it looked dusty and like it was just sitting on top of my face.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
Wednesday, December 18, 2013
Looks nice, but not very absorbent

This powder does give a nice finish, but didn't keep my oil in check for more than about one hour. I've used other inexpensive powders with better results. I also wish the compact had a mirror. The value is great though, if you don't need a very oil absorbent powder.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Samantha M
Thursday, November 28, 2013
Great powder

I just bought a second after completely finishing the first one. Powder has a nice finish, better than other brands costing much more. It is a bit messy, as Paula mentioned, and I definitely agree that using a good brush is essential. I use the light/medium shade.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Jessica
Friday, November 15, 2013
Great drugstore find!

Both the fair and the fair/light shades work well for me as the powder is sheer once applied over foundation. It's great for setting foundation and for touch ups later in the day. Can't beat the price especially when I get it on sale. It works as well as powders that cost 10 times as much. The packaging is cheap and ugly, but at this price who cares?

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Alexandra M.
Saturday, November 02, 2013
love this powder!

I decided to try this powder after seeing this review and other great reviews online as well. It works beautifully on my medium-toned combination skin. I use it in the t-zone area only. I reach for this more often than my MAC sheer powder! It's not dusty or chalky/heavy looking on skin.Packaging isn't the nicest but at this price who cares? Colors are all nice and natural looking. You can't tell the difference between this and MAC's sheer pressed powder!

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Lina
Wednesday, June 19, 2013
Wasn't "Best" For Me

I purchased the two lightest shades since I wasn't sure which one would match my skin tone. Turned out neither looked all that great - the fair was too pink, and the fair/light was too yellow. Both left me with an oil slick after a few hours and unfortunately on day two of using this powder, a few pimples popped up. Such a let down! Would have been amazing to find a wonderful powder at such a bargain price! Not the case for me.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.369 3/2/2015 5:28:34 PM