Yes to Cucumbers Soothing Facial Towelettes

by Yes To  Yes To Cucumbers
Price:
$5.99 - 30 towelette
Average Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansing Cloths
Last Updated:
2/10/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

These cloths (whose fragrance doesn't come from cucumber extract but rather the fragrance added) are an OK but not-too-thorough way to cleanse skin. The formula isn't great at removing makeup and will leave those with oily skin feeling their face isn't clean enough.

These cleansing cloths are best for those with normal to dry skin who wear minimal makeup. The fragrance isn't the best to leave on skin so for best results, rinse with water after cleansing. For cleansing on the go, consider using fragrance-free baby wipes, available from such brands as Huggies and Kirkland Signature (a Costco brand).

Pros:
  • Leaves skin feeling soft and refreshed.
  • Doesn't contain drying cleansing agents.
Cons:
  • Doesn't cleanse or remove makeup thoroughly.
  • The fragrance these cloths contain isn't the best to leave on skin.

More Info:

Daily use of products that contain a high amount of fragrance, whether the fragrant ingredients are synthetic or natural, causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your skin's ability to heal. Fragrance-free is the best way to go for all skin types. If fragrance in your skin-care products is important to you, it should be a very low amount to minimize the risk to your skin. (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135 and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22.)

Yes To Cucumbers Hypoallergenic Facial Towelettes gently remove dirt, sweat and makeup (eye makeup too!) without the need to rinse. Whether you're out and about, going for a run, or having a late night, these towelettes make it a snap to refresh on-the-go. Packed with green superfoods these all-natural, biodegradable towelettes naturally exfoliate, detoxify, and rejuvenate all-in-one.

Water, Polyglyceryl-4 Caprate, Glycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Sodium Benzoate, Aloe Barbadensis (Organic Aloe Vera), Sea Salt /Maris Sal (Dead Sea Mineral Salts), Camelia Sinensis Extract (Organic Green Tea Extract), Cucumis Sativus Extract (Organic Cucumber Extract), Benzoic Acid, Fragrance, Xanthan Gum, Dehydroacetic Acid, Caprylyl/Capryl Glucoside, Citric Acid

How this Israel-based brand of skin-care products came to be so widely distributed is an impressive marketing feat. It’s sold in over a dozen countries and we’ve seen it locally in such diverse places as Safeway (a grocery store) and Ulta (a salon/spa/cosmetics boutique). Business is booming in the natural products market, and it appears that the Yes To brand is on its way to being one of the frontrunners! Yes To products were even featured on the popular daytime talk show The View. Clearly, this line has attracted the attention both of consumers and the media.

Why all the fuss? We’ll do our best to explain, but the simple reality is that the success of this brand is due to the fact that lots of consumers want natural products, regardless of whether or not the formula is beneficial for skin. Many women (but not those who read our reviews) are completely unaware that many of the products from the so-called “natural” product lines contain just as many synthetic ingredients as “unnatural” brands. That’s no longer the case with Yes To products, but not too long ago, it was!

The Yes To brand is divided into four sub-brands: Yes To Carrots, Yes To Cucumbers, Yes To Tomatoes and Yes To Blueberries. The original launch and the largest group is Yes To Carrots. After the carrot-containing products became a hit, the company began to assemble a tossed salad of other products, including their Yes To Cucumbers, Yes To Tomatoes, and Yes to Blueberries. What next? We’re anticipating Yes To Lettuce and Yes To Blue Cheese Dressing, that way you can make a complete salad!

All kidding aside, Yes To products are worth a look if you prefer mostly natural ingredients, though not every natural ingredient Yes To uses has been proven beneficial for skin, and some are problematic. As with most natural-themed lines, there are a handful of Yes To products to consider. But few of them are state-of-the-art and there are no products to successfully manage acne or blackheads, lighten skin discolorations, or significantly reduce redness

Although it is commendable that Yes To doesn’t make over-the-top anti-aging claims, a skin-care line should help take care of skin’s daily needs, and this line’s products are somewhat lacking. All the fruits, vegetables, and any natural ingredient you can name isn’t enough to protect skin from the cumulative damage of unprotected sun exposure (the Yes To brand does sell a couple of excellent sunscreens) or to satisfy other skin-care needs. It’s a nice idea to think that tomatoes, carrots, sweet potatoes, and blueberries are as good for your skin when applied topically as they are for your health when consumed as part of a healthy diet, but that’s simply not the case. Still, if you shop this line carefully you’ll come away with some workable products that are pleasant to use.

For more information about Yes To and its food-themed brands, call (888) 929-3786 or visit www.yestocarrots.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
Page of 1
  1. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Wednesday, April 09, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    worst
    • I used these for two days as my first step in cleansing (I immediately washed my face afterwards), not realizing they were the problem the first day, and I got the worst itchy eyes -- and, to some degree, itchy face -- that I have ever experienced for at least five days following. Whenever I see them in store now I get horrible flashbacks to my super puffy, bright red, painful eye area. Horrible.

  2. Mary D
    Reviewed on Monday, February 24, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Not Worth It
    • These wipes don't clean that well, and gave me the worst rash I've ever had on my hands. I ended up returning them. Don't even bother with them.

  3. Robyn B
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 06, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Not very good
    • I did not like this product. The towels aren't very moist too start, i purchases these to take on holiday so i didn't need to carry a liquid cleanser, they are a waste of money. My face stung after using them on my skin, tried it twice, that was enough for me. Now i am trying to use as eye makeup remover pad, only use when i wear only mascara and liner. I don't think they are very good. I would not recommend.

  4. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, September 08, 2013
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Terrible
    • These do not remove water proof mascara and actually cause a burning sensation on my skin.

  5. Lisa K.
    Reviewed on Tuesday, July 09, 2013
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Sad!
    • I honestly really like these! They leave my face feeling super soft and I like the scent. I do have very oily skin and I thought these were working well to get my skin in better shape but I have noticed a few breakouts in the chin area... so, I'm probably going to try a Clean&Clear Paula suggested.

  6. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Sunday, December 16, 2012
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Very dissapointing
    • I bought these when I was on holidays, & I found them so perfumed. I ended up throwing them out. I also found the smell lasted FOREVER on my skin. YUCK!

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.