01.02.2015
9
13
Yes to Cucumbers Soothing Facial Towelettes
Rating
30 towelette for $5.99
Category:Skin Care > Cleansers (including Cleansing Cloths) > Cleansing Cloths
Last Updated:01.02.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

These cloths (whose fragrance doesn't come from cucumber extract but rather the fragrance added) are an OK but not-too-thorough way to cleanse skin. The formula isn't great at removing makeup and will leave those with oily skin feeling their face isn't clean enough.

These cleansing cloths are best for those with normal to dry skin who wear minimal makeup. The fragrance isn't the best to leave on skin so for best results, rinse with water after cleansing. For cleansing on the go, consider using fragrance-free baby wipes, available from such brands as Huggies and Kirkland Signature (a Costco brand).

Pros:
  • Leaves skin feeling soft and refreshed.
  • Doesn't contain drying cleansing agents.
Cons:
  • Doesn't cleanse or remove makeup thoroughly.
  • The fragrance these cloths contain isn't the best to leave on skin.

More Info:

Daily use of products that contain a high amount of fragrance, whether the fragrant ingredients are synthetic or natural, causes chronic irritation that can damage healthy collagen production, lead to or worsen dryness, and impair your skin's ability to heal. Fragrance-free is the best way to go for all skin types. If fragrance in your skin-care products is important to you, it should be a very low amount to minimize the risk to your skin. (Sources: Inflammation Research, December 2008, pages 558–563; Skin Pharmacology and Physiology, June 2008, pages 124–135 and November-December 2000, pages 358–371; Journal of Investigative Dermatology, April 2008, pages 15–19; Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology, March 2008, pages 78–82; Mechanisms of Ageing and Development, January 2007, pages 92–105; and British Journal of Dermatology, December 2005, pages S13–S22.)

Claims

Yes To Cucumbers Hypoallergenic Facial Towelettes gently remove dirt, sweat and makeup (eye makeup too!) without the need to rinse. Whether you're out and about, going for a run, or having a late night, these towelettes make it a snap to refresh on-the-go. Packed with green superfoods these all-natural, biodegradable towelettes naturally exfoliate, detoxify, and rejuvenate all-in-one.

Ingredients

Water, Polyglyceryl-4 Caprate, Glycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Dicaprylyl Carbonate, Sodium Benzoate, Aloe Barbadensis (Organic Aloe Vera), Sea Salt /Maris Sal (Dead Sea Mineral Salts), Camelia Sinensis Extract (Organic Green Tea Extract), Cucumis Sativus Extract (Organic Cucumber Extract), Benzoic Acid, Fragrance, Xanthan Gum, Dehydroacetic Acid, Caprylyl/Capryl Glucoside, Citric Acid

Brand Overview

Yes To At-A-Glance

Strengths: Inexpensive; complete ingredient lists are provided on company Web site; some good cleansers; an impressive selection of reasonably well formulated moisturizers, both with and without sunscreen.

Weaknesses: No products to successfully address the needs of those with acne or skin discolorations; several products contain irritating fragrant oils; jar packaging; potentially weak preservative system compared with those of many other brands.

How this Israel-based brand of skin-care products came to be so widely distributed is an impressive marketing feat. It’s sold in over a dozen countries and we’ve seen it locally in such diverse places as Safeway (a grocery store) and Ulta (a salon/spa/cosmetics boutique). Business is booming in the natural products market, and it appears that the Yes To brand is on its way to being one of the frontrunners! Yes To products were even featured on the popular daytime talk show The View. Clearly, this line has attracted the attention both of consumers and the media.

Why all the fuss? We’ll do our best to explain, but the simple reality is that the success of this brand is due to the fact that lots of consumers want natural products, regardless of whether or not the formula is beneficial for skin. Many women (but not those who read our reviews) are completely unaware that many of the products from the so-called “natural” product lines contain just as many synthetic ingredients as “unnatural” brands. That’s no longer the case with Yes To products, but not too long ago, it was!

The Yes To brand is divided into four sub-brands: Yes To Carrots, Yes To Cucumbers, Yes To Tomatoes and Yes To Blueberries. The original launch and the largest group is Yes To Carrots. After the carrot-containing products became a hit, the company began to assemble a tossed salad of other products, including their Yes To Cucumbers, Yes To Tomatoes, and Yes to Blueberries. What next? We’re anticipating Yes To Lettuce and Yes To Blue Cheese Dressing, that way you can make a complete salad!

All kidding aside, Yes To products are worth a look if you prefer mostly natural ingredients, though not every natural ingredient Yes To uses has been proven beneficial for skin, and some are problematic. As with most natural-themed lines, there are a handful of Yes To products to consider. But few of them are state-of-the-art and there are no products to successfully manage acne or blackheads, lighten skin discolorations, or significantly reduce redness

Although it is commendable that Yes To doesn’t make over-the-top anti-aging claims, a skin-care line should help take care of skin’s daily needs, and this line’s products are somewhat lacking. All the fruits, vegetables, and any natural ingredient you can name isn’t enough to protect skin from the cumulative damage of unprotected sun exposure (the Yes To brand does sell a couple of excellent sunscreens) or to satisfy other skin-care needs. It’s a nice idea to think that tomatoes, carrots, sweet potatoes, and blueberries are as good for your skin when applied topically as they are for your health when consumed as part of a healthy diet, but that’s simply not the case. Still, if you shop this line carefully you’ll come away with some workable products that are pleasant to use.

For more information about Yes To and its food-themed brands, call (888) 929-3786 or visit www.yestocarrots.com.

About the Experts

The Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment that Paula Begoun, founder of Beautypedia and Paula's Choice Skincare made over 30 years ago-to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.26.2015
Burns!!

Burned the heck out of my face when I used it.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
CassieM
02.14.2015
Awful product

Recently tried these facial wipes out. They caused immediate irritation and burning and splotchy red patches all over my face, which is even more annoying since these things are supposedly "hypoallergenic." Way too much fragrance.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Sara F.
02.06.2015
burning pain!

tried these and my face was burning so badly i had to get out of bed and wash again. woke up the next morning to red welts on my face. never again!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
04.09.2014
worst

I used these for two days as my first step in cleansing (I immediately washed my face afterwards), not realizing they were the problem the first day, and I got the worst itchy eyes -- and, to some degree, itchy face -- that I have ever experienced for at least five days following. Whenever I see them in store now I get horrible flashbacks to my super puffy, bright red, painful eye area. Horrible.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.24.2014
Not Worth It

These wipes don't clean that well, and gave me the worst rash I've ever had on my hands. I ended up returning them. Don't even bother with them.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Mary D
02.06.2014
Not very good

I did not like this product. The towels aren't very moist too start, i purchases these to take on holiday so i didn't need to carry a liquid cleanser, they are a waste of money. My face stung after using them on my skin, tried it twice, that was enough for me. Now i am trying to use as eye makeup remover pad, only use when i wear only mascara and liner. I don't think they are very good. I would not recommend.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Robyn B
09.08.2013
Terrible

These do not remove water proof mascara and actually cause a burning sensation on my skin.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
07.09.2013
Sad!

I honestly really like these! They leave my face feeling super soft and I like the scent. I do have very oily skin and I thought these were working well to get my skin in better shape but I have noticed a few breakouts in the chin area... so, I'm probably going to try a Clean&Clear Paula suggested.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Lisa K.
12.16.2012
Very dissapointing

I bought these when I was on holidays, & I found them so perfumed. I ended up throwing them out. I also found the smell lasted FOREVER on my skin. YUCK!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585623-IIS1 v1.0.0.389 4/25/2015 3:56:44 AM