Calm Gentle Daily Cleanser

by Arbonne  
Price:
$24 - 5 fl. oz.
Best Read Member Comments
Add To Faves»

Want to buy this product?

Category:
Skin Care > Sensitive Skin Products > Face/Body Cleansers
Last Updated:
1/17/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
No

Calm Gentle Daily Cleanser comes close to being a slam-dunk cleansing lotion for those with dry, sensitive skin! The majority of the ingredients are brilliant for those struggling with dry, tight-feeling skin, and all but one plant ingredient have soothing benefits to calm the skin.

Given the emollient nature of this cleanser, it's a bit tricky to rinse completely, but it works well when used with a soft washcloth, and it removes all types of makeup without leaving a cold cream–like residue.

The only questionable ingredient (which obviously didn't keep this from earning our top rating) is the tiny amount of ginger root extract. Although this plant has proven anti-inflammatory benefit when consumed orally, it can be a skin irritant when applied topically, but that's not likely to happen here because there's only a small amount present in this cleanser (Source: IFA—International Federation of Aromatherapists, www.int-fed-aromatherapy.co.uk).

All told, this is an excellent cleanser, and it's fragrance-free, too, which is always to the benefit of those with sensitive skin.

Pros:
  • Cleanses gently without drying the skin.
  • Leaves the skin feeling soft and smooth.
  • Removes all types of makeup.
  • Contains several plant-based anti-irritants.
  • Fragrance-free.
Cons:
  • Doesn't rinse completely without the aid of a washcloth (although those with very dry skin may appreciate the emollient feel left behind).

This extra-gentle, sulfate-free cleanser, formulated with only the most essential ingredients, gently washes away makeup, excess oil and dirt without irritating or over-drying the skin. Leaves skin feeling clean and refreshed, and can be used day or night.

Aqua/Water/Eau, Squalane, Glycerin, Glyceryl Stearate Citrate, Dimethicone, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil, Polyglyceryl-10 Dipalmitate, Aloe Barbadensis (Aloe) Leaf Juice, Camellia Oleifera (Japanese Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra (Licorice) Root Extract, Malva Sylvestris (Mallow) Extract, Tripleurospermum Maritimum (Sea Mayweed) Extract, Zingiber Officinale (Ginger) Root Extract, Bisabolol, Trisiloxane, Niacinamide, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Stearic Acid, Carbomer, Caprylhydroxamic Acid, Aminomethyl Propanol, Caprylyl Glycol

Founded in 1975 with the goal of providing skin-care products with "unparalleled quality and effectiveness," Arbonne International is a direct-sales line many of my readers have an intense curiosity about. There must be lots of assertive Arbonne salespeople out there, because no other line with this type of business structure has generated the amount of email we receive, all asking if Arbonne products are worth it and whether or not many of the company's outlandish claims are true. More than many other lines, Arbonne is big on playing up the alleged evil of many benign cosmetic ingredients. Topping this list is mineral oil, which the company maintains interferes with skin functions and delivery systems. Cosmetics-grade mineral oil is not a problem for skin and is in fact one of the mildest and most effective ingredients for making dry skin look and feel better. It doesn't have the best texture or finish, but its effectiveness is indisputable (Sources: Journal of Burn Care Research, May-June 2006, pages 345–351; Contact Dermatitis, June 2003, pages 293–299; Cosmetics & Toiletries, January 2001, page 79; Cosmetic Dermatology, September 2000, pages 44–46; and Dermatitis, September 2004, pages 109–116).

We have also been asked about whether it is true that all mascaras except Arbonne's contain bat excrement. Yes, you read that correctly. It seems many Arbonne salespeople are telling potential customers that all mascaras (except for Arbonne's, of course) contain this substance. We also found that many of the Arbonne representatives we spoke to love sharing the false rumor about lipsticks containing road-kill remnants (except for Arbonne's, of course). We wouldn't mention these tall tales if these were a few isolated incidents, but dozens upon dozens of women have contacted us asking for the truth behind these ludicrous claims. Just to be clear, cosmetic chemists are not venturing into dark caves to collect bat excrement or picking up carcasses of animals on the side of the road all in an effort to save money and create harmful cosmetics. And you have to wonder: If Arbonne products are so wonderfully effective, why do they need to sell themselves using scare tactics about what every other company's products supposedly contain?

Arbonne also advertises the fact that their products don't contain chemical fragrances because of their potential for causing allergic contact dermatitis. We agree with that stance, but it would give Arbonne more credibility if they didn't replace "chemical" fragrances with a slew of irritating plant extracts and volatile oils, several of which are well-known for their potential to cause skin problems. It is their overreliance on such ingredients that makes a disproportionate number of their products impossible to recommend.

we could go on, but to sum it up, despite my reservations, Arbonne has some good products to consider. However, the rather misleading marketing language is not convincing. None of the natural-sounding ingredients in the world can keep you from reacting to an irritating preservative or fragrance, or from breaking out due to cosmetic waxes such as stearic acid or myristyl myristate.

For more information about Arbonne International, call (800) 272-6663 or visit www.arbonne.com.

Arbonne Makeup

Arbonne's makeup is known is divided into two main groups, About Face and Virtual Illusion, and in contrast to its skin-care products, the claims are somewhat tempered. The color palette presented is divided into warms, cools, and neutrals. Although we don't agree with all of Arbonne's classifications, this system can be helpful for making your selection. Regrettably, this collection has seen very little change over the years. Instead, Arbonne focuses heavily on skin care while their latest makeup fails to approach the benchmark standards being set by dozens upon dozens of other companies. The average to poor products are particularly distressing because, for the most part, Arbonne's makeup is overpriced.

Despite this, there is some good news. The makeup categories to focus are blush, eyeshadow, lipstick, gloss, and brushes. You should know that contacting an Arbonne representative to purchase makeup (you cannot purchase it via the company's Web site without having being assigned a representative) will result in more than just a monetary transaction. The Arbonne representatives we encountered were on a mission to recruit anyone who buys (or expresses interest in) their products. Dealing with this company demands patience or a strong resolve. You will need to refute not only the employees' fervent belief that Arbonne products and philosophies are superior to all others, but also the assertion that joining the company is a life-altering experience on par with the most profound spiritual journey you can imagine. Speaking as a consumer, this sort of selling is not appealing, but we are sure there are others looking for just the financial opportunity and lifestyle change Arbonne offers. Those who agree with me should know that the About Face and Virtual Illusion collections include nothing that can’t be found elsewhere, from companies that make it much easier to obtain products than Arbonne does. One more point: Returning products to Arbonne is incredibly frustrating. You must contact your consultant to obtain her information, and then call the company to obtain a return merchandise authorization number. If your consultant doesn't step up, you're stuck with the products unless you want to deal with the company directly, which is about as pleasant as a root canal.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    3 / 4 Good
Page of 1
  1. Maureen
    Reviewed on Monday, March 24, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    Arbonne Cleanser
    • I have very dry skin and have recently committed to purchasing only cruelty free products. I previously used Ponds which left my skin moisturized even in winter. Arbonne is a gentle moisturizing cleanser that isn't as moisturizing as Ponds, but is the best of the crop I've tried thus far that is cruelty free. I think it will be perfect for the summer months, but I'm going to have to keep searching for something to take on these Mi. winters or invest in a heavy duty moisturizer.

  2. Diana G.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 19, 2014
    • Recommend
      4 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    Loved this stuff!
    • I tried this a few years ago when a friend was selling Arbonne and I was surprised to love it so much. I have very dry, sensitive skin that is also prone to break outs. A lot of the natural cleansers I've tried from Whole Foods don't actually clean your makeup off. But this stuff was perfect in every way. It cleansed properly, it smelled really great and left my skin soft and hydrated with no residue. In fact, I think I will order some again!

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

PCWEB-WWW3 v1.0.0.287
Skip to Top of Page
FREE SHIPPING | FREE RESIST Moisturizer with $50 Purchase

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.