12.02.2014
13
28
Bareskin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation SPF 20
Rating
$29
Category:Makeup > Foundations With Sunscreen
Last Updated:12.02.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Bareskin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation SPF 20 is touted as a “breakthrough tone-correcting mineral foundation and skincare serum in one”, but that’s an overstatement as you can never expect your foundation to replace a well formulated serum in your daytime routine. Makeup can never contain the complex combinations of ingredients found in today’s best serums. There are skincare ingredients in this foundation, but that’s true for most liquid foundations.

Marketing claims aside, this is a very good fragrance-free foundation for those with normal to dry skin, as it does have a fluid, dewy finish that those with oily to combination skin may not appreciate. The coverage is sheer to light, though you can build it to a modest medium coverage if so desired. This won't conceal more prominent discolorations (you'll still need your concealer for that), and is particularly ideal for those seeking a natural look to their makeup, or who have had trouble finding a lightweight foundation that is also moisturizing.

The formula provides broad spectrum sun protection via mineral active titanium dioxide, which is what delivers the primary anti-aging benefit.

Housed in a plastic bottle with a needle-nose tip, Bareskin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation SPF 20 is ultra fluid. This means if you aren't used to this type of formula, you may need a bit of practice to get the hang of applying and blending it. Bare Escentuals sells an accompanying brush just for that, but you can use any brush or sponge (i.e. the BeautyBlender) you like.

As is the case for many of bareMinerals foundations, the shade range is extensive and mostly neutral, with options for fair to deep skin tones. There are a few shades that may lean overly cool or warm, so we recommend trying this in store to find the best match.

All in all, this isn’t a product that will change your need for good skincare, but if you want a really lightweight foundation with buildable coverage and a dewy finish, then you may find this a very good option to consider. Had this not made such exaggerated claims about its ability to benefit skin, it would have earned a higher rating.

Pros:

  • Natural finish, ideal for normal or combination skin.
  • Expansive shade range of flattering colors for light to deep skin tones.
  • Lightweight, fluid texture blends on easily.
  • Buildable, sheer-to-medium coverage.
  • Titanium dioxide  provides broad spectrum sun protection.

Cons:

  • Not as revolutionary as claimed (doesn’t replace need for a serum or skin-lightening product).

Claims
A breakthrough tone-correcting mineral foundation and skincare serum in one.
Ingredients

Active: Titanium Dioxide (11%). Other: Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Coconut Alkanes, Silica, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Lecithin, Glycerin, Maltodextrin, Coco-Caprylate/Caprate, Jojoba Esters, Propylene Carbonate, Tocopheryl Acetate, Soil Minerals/Syringa Vulgaris (Lilac) Leaf Cell Culture Extract, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides, Titanium Dioxide.

Brand Overview

Bare Escentuals At-a-Glance

Makeup is what this San Francisco-based cosmetics line is primarily about, and they use the pure and natural marketing angle to entice consumers. Founded in 1976 by Diane Ranger, who left the company in the early '90s Bare Escentuals was one of the first brands to introduce the concept of loose powder foundation. Since then, they have moved beyond it to include liquid foundations and tinted moisturizers and an ever expanding line of color cosmetics as well as skincare products.

The products are sold in most Sephora boutiques and Ulta stores, though the full selection of skincare products is most often found at the Bare Escentuals freestanding stores scattered throughout the United States.

We should note that loose powder makeup does take some practice to get the hang of—yet there is no denying that this type of foundation has its fan base. There is a lot to love about Bare Escentuals, even if mineral makeup isn’t your thing (especially their price ranges, which have remained affordable in comparison to many of their neighbors at Sephora).

Strengths: Good makeup removers; a few well-formulated powders with SPF; some nice eyeshadows and impressive mascaras; some impressive foundations; several elegant brush options; not too expensive.

Weaknesses: Some of the loose powder products have texture and finish concerns; some of the skincare contain potentially problematic ingredients.

For more information about Bare Escentuals, call 1.888.795.4747 or visit www.bareescentuals.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
07.11.2015
Not all that

I got matched to bare linen which is very pale for my naturally olive skin tone, The consistency feels greasy and watery in coverage at the same time, everytime I use it I break out. I was better using heavy MAC foundations

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Emma B
06.01.2015
Loving it!!!

I'm Surprised with All The Negative Ratings!! It goes on smoothly, evens out my skin tone and I Love the brush that goes with it!!! It's a Great Buildable coverage foundation!! Since it's Hot right now (in Pennsylvania) I use just the 2 drops and it is the Perfect about! I definately recommend!! & I haven't used a liquid foundation in years!!! Love it!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Alexis P
04.03.2015
Worst Foundation Ever

Horrible. No coverage. Makes dry skin look worse.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Anonymous
02.26.2015
Gd bless Sephora's return policy

I returned it.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
amanda d.
01.30.2015
Acne Like Never Before

I bought this because I ran out of my Colorescience loose mineral. The color match was perfect for my skin. With in a week I broke out with acne. Yes acne. I thought it was hormones. Everytime I used this my skin broke out into large painful acne that caused discoloration. This product contains coconut oil which clogs the poors. I will never use this on my skin. I never breakout and this caused my skin so much damage. I threw it out.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Leyla, P
11.17.2014
Not a bad foundation

I tried a sample of this (w/o the brush) and it was a nice foundation. I love the titanium dioxide sunblock for my sensitive skin. I wanted to try this after seeing the commercials, and claims aside, it was altogether not bad. It went on smoothly and stayed on for several hours before I had to blot. The lightest color was just a tad too dark for me, but I'm used to that. I have combo skin and I didnt purchase this one bec I found one that worked better but try this as a sample definitely.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
LS
10.23.2014
Not for sensitive skin

I have sensitive skin so I rarely try new products,thought this was worth a try since light weight, SPF and fragrance free. Caused my skin t I breakout after using daily for 7 days. Seems OK if I only use occasionally.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Staci S
07.19.2014
Money Wasted

I had high hopes for this foundation as most of my make-up is Bare Essentials. I have oily skin and usually have to blot my make up at least four times during the work day. The Bare Minerals liquid foundation caused even more oil to come to the surface of my skin, and the foundation separated. I tried the product several times with the same result. I had no choice but to throw it and the $28 brush away.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Anne Marie
06.27.2014
If it didn't say anti aging benefits what would rating be

What would Paula's Choice rating be if the product didn't claim to be anti aging? I love this foundation product. I used to use the powder foundation and loved it except it was messy. The serum is not messy at all. The container dispenses drops which is so nice. By the way, I only use Paula's Choice skin care products. They are the best!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
MELANIE P.
06.27.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi there! If the company wasn't making anti-aging claims, this product would've likely earned a GOOD rating.

—Admin
05.28.2014
really awesome so far!

When I'm scanning reviews, looking for a great new foundation, an "average" rating wouldn't catch my eye. Lucky for me, a friend was wearing this foundation and I noticed that her skin look fabulous, even after taking my barre class. I have GREAT skin, at almost 60 years old; I use only PC products. This foundation is awesome for me--light weight, no caking into the few fine lines I do have, easy to apply. I don't buy a foundation for skin care--I use the BEST products for that!

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
BRENDA a.
05.25.2014
Over-rated!

The only bare minerals product I recommend are the ready shadows. They literally will last all day with a good primer Ofcourse.I don't even buy those anymore.I never believed the ingredients did anything for the skin or eyes like they claimed.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Annette D.
05.21.2014
Not sure why this did not get a good review

Not sure why this foundation wasn't given a good rating. Look at the pros column and you can add one more, it's fragrance free. I like it. I do have dry skin that is worse sometimes than others. I choose a creamier foundation on those occasions. I do however like this foundation. Buildable coverage, protective packaging, sunscreen, fragrance free. It gets a Good rating in my book.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Justine H.
05.21.2014
Beautypedia Team Response

Hi Justine! Thank you for sharing your experience, and we're glad the Bareskin Pure Brightening Foundation is a beauty find for you! SO, in the review we do sing the praises of the finish and performance of this foundation, we liked it! However, what counted against this formula was the fact that it is marketed as an anti-aging product AND a foundation—which it fails totally on the first half of that promise. In other words, no matter how great a foundation it is, it can only get a 50% (or AVERAGE) rating because it's living up to half of its advertised claims (it lacks the anti-aging ingredients that you would expect given its promises). In Beautypedia, we take the claims into strong consideration when determining which rating the product earns. Hope that helps!

—Admin
05.08.2014
Even better has more to offer

I have heard that this foundation clings to dry spots.I think clinique's even better foundation has more to offer. It's probably has a lot of similarities. More bang for your buck.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Annette D.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.405 8/1/2015 5:27:11 PM