12.18.2014
6
1
Acne Solutions Clinical Clearing Gel
Rating
1 fl. oz. for $25
Category:Skin Care > Sensitive Skin Products > Blemish/Acne Treatments > BHA
Last Updated:12.18.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This anti-acne product is getting a lot of hype, and claims its results are as good "as a leading topical prescription", but given there are no prescription salicylic acid products for acne (salicylic acid being this product's active ingredient), it's not an apples-to-apples comparison! As it turns out, the formula has more problems than a math test, and isn't something we can recommend for those struggling with breakouts.

Chief among this product's troubles is alcohol. It's the main ingredient, and applying this smells like you're putting vodka martini on your face. It is potent! Sadly, alcohol is a problem for all skin types, and the irritation it causes can hurt skin's healing process (hello, red marks from acne that take forever to fade) and potentially cause more oil production, which, in turn, can trigger more acne. How is that an "Acne Solution"? See More Info for details on why alcohol is not a friend to skin.

Acne Solutions Clinical Clearing Gel's active ingredient is salicylic acid, but the product's pH won't allow it to function as an exfoliant, so you're losing its chief benefit for breakout-prone skin! And if the alcohol wasn't enough of an irritant, this product also contains witch hazel for an additional astringent effect (and kick of alcohol!).

The anti-irritants Clinique included are a nice gesture, but more of a backhanded compliment given the primary problems this product presents. Really, the only good thing about it is the lack of fragrance.

Pros:
  • Fragrance-free.
Cons:
  • The amount of alcohol is serious cause for concern in terms of irritation and delayed healing.
  • The pH of the formula is too high for the salicylic acid (BHA) to function as an exfoliant.
  • Witch hazel is a skin irritant.
  • Unlikely to work as well as any type of prescription anti-acne product.
More Info:

Alcohol in skin-care products causes dryness and free-radical damage, and impairs the skin's ability to heal. The irritation it causes damages healthy collagen production and can stimulate oil production at the base of the pore, making oily skin worse (Sources: Biochimica et Biophysica Acta, May 2012, pages 1,410–1,419; Alcoholism, Clinical and Experimental Research, January 2011, pages 83–90; "Skin Care—From the Inside Out and Outside In," Tufts Daily, April 1, 2002; eMedicine Journal, May 8, 2002, volume 3, number 5, www.emedicine.com; Cutis, February 2001, pages 25–27; Contact Dermatitis, January 1996, pages 12–16; and http://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/arh27-4/277-284.htm).

Claims

Results as good as a leading topical prescription in clearing acne. Our daily treatment gel starts clearing blemishes upon application. Helps prevent new ones from making an unwelcome appearance.

Ingredients

Active Ingredient: Salicylic Acid 1.00% Ingredients: Alcohol Denat, Water\Aqua\Eau, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel), Laminaria Saccharina Extract, Sea Whip Extract, Butylene Glycol, Benzalkonium Chloride

Brand Overview

Clinique At-A-Glance

Strengths: One of the best selections of state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums loaded with ingredients that research has shown are of great benefit to skin; excellent sunscreens; several Redness Solutions products excel; an outstanding benzoyl peroxide product; good selection of self-tanning products; some very good cleansers and eye makeup removers; some unique mattifying products; a large and wholly impressive selection of foundations, many with reliable sun protection (and shades for darker skin tones); good concealers; some remarkable mascaras; much-improved eyeshadows; loose powder; blush products; some brilliant lipsticks and lip gloss; gel eyeliner; priced lower than most competing department-store lines.

Weaknesses: The three-step skincare routine, because of the bar soaps and irritant-laden clarifying lotions; jar packaging downgrades several otherwise top-notch moisturizers; incomplete routines for those prone to acne; skin-lightening products with either unproven or insufficient levels of lightening agents.

Estee Lauder-owned Clinique's tremendous success (the company's products are sold in over 13,000 department stores and in 110 countries) reshaped the way cosmetics lines identified themselves, sending the concept of line loyalty out to pasture. Today, cosmetics companies expand their market either by buying already established companies or by creating new ones, and Lauder has been adept at doing both. Of course, cosmetics companies keep this multiple-personality identity hidden from the consumer. If the general buying public realized that these apparently different companies were so intertwined with each other, how could they flaunt their independence and claim that their unparalleled formulations are secret or the best? It's hard to think Lauder (or any company) would, even if they could, keep secrets from one branch separate from the others. And as evidenced by the formulary similarities between brands, they don't!

The niche Clinique built launched the concept of cosmetics being "allergy-tested," "hypoallergenic," "100% fragrance-free," and "dermatologist tested." Of those marketing claims the only one with significance is "100% fragrance-free," which, for the most part, Clinique maintains (although it does add some fragrant extracts to a few products). Regarding allergy testing, unless you can see the results, what difference does it make if a product makes that claim? What if the test showed 20% of the women who used it had a sensitizing reaction, dryness, or irritation? Would Clinique highlight this, or is it just easier to default to the generic allergy-tested claim and leave such details out, figuring consumers won't ask for more? 

Moreover, "hypoallergenic" is a term not regulated by the FDA, so any product can use the word without having to substantiate the claim. "Dermatologist tested" is also bogus, because without published test results the term can easily mean nothing more than that a dermatologist picked up the product, looked at the container, and said "This looks good." And what about the dermatologists on Clinique's payroll? How do we know they're not the ones involved in testing, rather than sending the products out for independent, impartial evaluation (though how impartial can any study be that's paid for by the company making the product)?

Clinique declined any participation for this site, which included refusing to send us copies of the allergy studies they maintain have been performed for every product they sell. We find their unwillingness to help odd because, for the most part, we genuinely like most of their products. In fact, more than any other department-store line except Estee Lauder, Clinique is leading the way with cutting-edge, state-of-the-art moisturizers and serums, plus some formidable makeup. They also have their act together for sunscreens and have expanded their decades-old three-step skin-care routine to include water-soluble cleansers instead of bar soap. They also now have a second "Dramatically Different" moisturizer that's well-suited for those with normal to oily skin and FINALLY reformulated their longstanding water-and-wax yellow lotion.

The Clinique consultants, dressed in medical-looking white lab coats (Clinique's image in that sense was ahead of the times given today's plethora of doctor-designed skin-care lines), do their best to speak intelligently about skin-care routines, but for the most part they're trained to sell the products rather than to provide information about what substantiated research has shown about the skin's needs to look and feel its best.

The good news for you is that the chemists behind Clinique's arsenal of products have been keeping up on this exciting information, and formulating superior products in response. We wouldn't blindly and solely bank on Clinique as your skin-care solution, but more than ever what they offer is, despite some far-out claims and problematic products, what epitomizes advanced skin care for all ages. Shop carefully and you'll leave confident that you are purchasing products with solid science, not just marketing hype, behind them.

Turning to makeup, Clinique continues to offer a vast palette of colors and textures, especially in their huge and imposing selection of foundations, many of which feature effective sunscreens. In fact, this category has become the most compelling reason to shop Clinique's makeup collection. Without a doubt the numerous formulas offer something for every skin type and almost every skin color. The shade selection has improved considerably, with more neutrals and a broader range than ever before. You still need to use caution and watch out for peach-toned duds, but for the most part finding a natural-looking match shouldn't be a frustrating experience, and the counter personnel are happy to provide samples.

Although the foundation and powder shades take darker skin tones into account, the blush, eye pencil, and most of the lipstick shades do not. Perhaps that will change in the future, as Clinique beautifully updated their eyeshadow collection with ultra-smooth textures and deeper colors that show up on darker skin.

Compliments are also due for Clinique's updated makeup tester units. They are well-organized, labeled with product name and price, and easily accessible without a salesperson's help. And speaking of salespeople, most of the Clinique consultants we encounter go above and beyond to provide assistance and to answer any questions we had (even if we didn't always agree with their responses). Those white lab coats don't mean medical expertise, but we'll take outstanding customer service over pseudoscience any day!

The bottom line is that, despite a few shortcomings, Clinique is one of the most comprehensive (and comparably affordable) department-store makeup lines, and it is completely understandable why they enjoy such broad appeal.

Note: Clinique is categorized as one that tests on animals because their products are sold in China. Although Clinique does not conduct animal testing for their products sold elsewhere, the Chinese government requires imported cosmetics be tested on animals, so foreign companies retailing there must comply. This requirement is why some brand’s state that they don’t test on animals “unless required by law”. Animal rights organizations consider cosmetic companies retailed in China to be brands that test on animals, and so does the Beautypedia Team.

For more information about Clinique, call (800) 419-4041 or visit www.clinique.com

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.16.2015
different experience

i really trust paula and when im going to buy something i first come here and read paula's reviews, but i bought this product before i read the review...dont know why but this really works for me..it helps.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
irene
03.08.2015
sad this got such a bad review

this product works for me. I have hormonal adult acne for the most part.. got it as a trial and had to get the full size. good stuff. drying, but used only as spot treatment it's fine. definitely helps!

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
ami c
01.04.2015
Clinique

It comes in a very small amount for a higher price tag but it has been amazing for me. I was sceptic at first. I use the 3 step acne kit with it and also moisturizer daily. I will definitely buy this product again.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Christol F
01.03.2015
highly recommended

The best anti acne product for my oily skin. I'm 40 years old and I still have 'this' problem. Gel clinique not only helps to reduce spots over maximum 2 days, it's also the best solution to get rid of the scars, and dark marks after spots are gone. Highly recommend.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
kat
06.06.2014
Different Experience

Before purchasing this product I read the review on this site but also the customer reviews on the Clinique site and Amazon which is where I finally purchased the product. I have been using this and the other products in the Clinique Acne line for just over a month. I am more than happy with the results of this product, it is very strong but used sparingly works very well, not sure of why there is such a difference between positive customer results and the Beautypedia review.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Jez F
06.01.2014
I'm seriously concerned!

I've had bad luck with dermatologist fixes. So I thought I'd give this a try. I did not look at the ingredients first.My bad! You can immediately smell the alcohol. So, I was very concerned. I seriously doubt this will help with my acne problem. If anything it will worsen the issue. That's what I think.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Annette D.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.394 5/30/2015 1:50:52 AM