Bombshell Volume by LashBlast

by CoverGirl   LashBlast
Price:
$11.99 
Best Read Member Comments
Buy it now» Add To Faves»
Category:
Makeup > Mascaras (regular) > Regular Mascara
Last Updated:
6/27/2014
Jar Packaging:
No
Tested On Animals:
Yes

This 2-step mascara is the boldest, biggest (literally and figuratively) mascara we've seen from CoverGirl—and it's fantastic!

Step 1 is the mascara, Extreme Volume Basecoat. Fans of the original LashBlast Mascara (the one in the orange tube) will find that the mascara portion of Bombshell Volume has a rubber-bristle brush and application that produces nearly identical results. That means with a few coats you'll get long, thickened, and separated lashes with minimal to no clumping.

You could stop after step 1 and be perfectly happy with how your lashes look, but if you want to go for a dramatic, false lash–like effect, simply take step 2, Intensifying Top Coat. This goes on with a nylon-bristle mascara brush, but its formula is thinner than traditional mascara and the color is richer. The top coat applies smoothly, darkening and lengthening already pumped-up lashes to an impressive degree.

Once step 2 sets, Bombshell Volume wears all day, without smearing or flaking. It's actually difficult to remove completely without extra effort, even using an oil- or silicone-based remover; your regular cleanser will break this down only to a point, so be sure to have makeup remover handy!

Although pricier than other mascaras from CoverGirl, it's possible to get two distinctive looks from this dual-sided product, and both are excellent!

Pros:
  • Allows you to create two distinctive, captivating looks!
  • With top coat applied, the effect can be akin to false eyelashes.
  • The mascara applies smoothly and doesn't flake.
  • Wears without a hitch.
Cons:
  • Requires extra effort with makeup remover to make sure it's all off.

Since 1961, CoverGirl has been slowly building a portfolio of cosmetics that today is about as all-encompassing as a makeup line can be. Originating from the same "medicated" ingredients found in Noxzema Skin Cream (which was never medicated in the least, but seriously irritating for skin), the debut products are still available, albeit with slight modifications. The good news is that for the past several years CoverGirl has consistently updated their line with some very impressive products, especially their foundations, concealers, and vastly improved pressed powders. They also offer some excellent eye and lip pencils, lipsticks and lip gloss, and one of the all-time best long-wearing lip paints, Outlast.

What's puzzling is that although many of CoverGirl's latest products are progressive, they tend to hang on to the lackluster-to-poor options, including abysmal powder blush and eyeshadows and their long-standing, very irritating Clean Makeup. These items may be part of CoverGirl's humble beginnings, but you certainly don't see parent company Proctor & Gamble adding eucalyptus oil and menthol to their Olay products or to products of any of the other cosmetics companies they own. If those ingredients were so important, why not use them everywhere? Needless to say, the great products outnumber the disappointments, and the prices make it easy for those on a budget to be beautiful and enjoy some state-of-the-art products, provided they shop wisely.

CoverGirl's Web site is extremely easy to navigate, and presents a wealth of product information, along with practical (if somewhat cutesy) tips and tricks for successful makeup application and for finding the shades that work best for you. CoverGirl's consumer relations department is consistently helpful if you have any questions or concerns. For example, if one of your favorite items was discontinued, you might want to know what replaced it, and they will let you know. Such service and customer concern is yet another powerful reason to believe CoverGirl really has its (class) act together.

For more information about CoverGirl, owned by Procter & Gamble, call (800) 426-8374 or visit the Web site at www.covergirl.com.

Member Comments

Summary of Member Comments

  1. How would you rate the results? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  2. Was this product a good value? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
  3. Would you recommend this product? (4 = Best)

    1 / 4 Poor
Page of 1
  1. Elizabeth O.
    Reviewed on Saturday, June 21, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    Nothing Special
    • I have to concur with most of the reviews. This mascara was okay, but didn't do anything special compared to other mascaras. My main problem is the packaging. The double ended tube is ridiculously large and the wands are short, and I found it difficult to apply, especially to the opposite eye. Being right-handed, applying to my left eye was particularly difficult as the tube kept hitting the bridge of my nose. Even using a makeup remover, I had difficulty thoroughly removing it.

  2. Mel
    Reviewed on Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Recommend
      2 / 4
    • Results
      3 / 4
    It's okay
    • Cons - both wands are short; tube is really wide; makes it hard to get to the corners of my eyes; 2nd formula makes lashes brittle. Pros - 1st formula does separate and thickens lashes nicely; 2nd formula gives the extra "omph" but I find this "liquidy" formula somewhat cancels out the separation the 1st formula gave me. Effectively waterproof with the 2nd formula; if you have problems keeping a curl, the 2nd formula will help you do that since your lashes become pretty hard.

  3. Amelia
    Reviewed on Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    • Results
      3 / 4
    • Value
      4 / 4
    • Recommend
      3 / 4
    Good, but difficult to remove
    • I like the results of this mascara, but find that it is difficult and time consuming to remove. I will use this mascara again for night functions or sometime I want to have very dramatic lashes, but I'm going to give the Lashblast Volume a try since the review leads me to believe it's easier to remove. I just don't have the time to spend removing this makeup with a toddler.

  4. Giselle
    Reviewed on Monday, June 09, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Horrible
    • This is a horrible mascara. Even if you can get this for free, don't get it, it just doesn't work. Sorry but that's the truth.

  5. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Monday, April 28, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    High Expectations, Disappointing Results
    • I bought this mascara with high hopes especially after your site gave it such a rating despite consumer reviews. I did not get any bombshell eyelashes. At all. I get much, much better results with my regular LashBlast (orange) mascara. This mascara dries way too fast to even try to work in the second step. My lashes started sticking and clumping because of the quick drying formula. I tried and tried to work with this mascara but it is a big let down.

  6. Tasha P.
    Reviewed on Friday, April 04, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    WHY GIVE THIS AN AWARD?! MAJORITY SAYS NO!
    • I haven't tried this and based on the reviews I don't want to. I know someone from PC had a great experience with it, but I can't believe it (and Revlon Colorstay) was chosen as one of the top 5 BEST OF THE BEST mascaras when 9 out of 9 reviewers would not recommend it. A few might like the results, but when it doesn't come off with w/p eye makeup remover, overall it's not a great mascara. Please consider the majority of others' reviews and contradictions (clumps, flakes) before giving an award.

    Paula's Choice Research Team Response
    Replied on: Thursday, April 24, 2014

    Thanks for your feeback! This 2-step mascara has proven polarizing, but we stand by our review. It ranks among CoverGirl's best mascaras even if you only apply step 1. The Topcoat takes this over the top if you really want a lot of lash enhancement, but the tradeoff is it's difficult to remove. We respectfully disagree that if a mascara needs a makeup remover to be taken off that it's undeserving of a good rating. MANY mascaras require a makeup remover, including pretty much every waterproof formula you can think of. We found this mascara came off completely with a silicone-in-water makeup remover. We used Paula's Choice Gentle Touch Makeup Remover, but Clinique, L'Oreal, Lancome, Almay, and Neutrogena offer such removers, too!

    —Admin
  7. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Saturday, March 01, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Hate This!
    • Hate double ended mascaras! Especially this one! So big and cumbersome!!

  8. Jen
    Reviewed on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    It's not coming off any time soon.
    • Pro's : The price point is ok. The concept of a double ended, 2 step mascara is good. It will not smear throughout the day or flake, kind of. It's very black and long wearing.... Con's: ......but it doesn't come off! I have never had any makeup that my cleanser didn't remove - including mascara. This was the first time I have ever had mascara on my lashes that took DAYS to come off. Even with eye makeup remover. And it seems like once you 'break the seal' THEN it flakes like crazy.

  9. Jill
    Reviewed on Thursday, February 13, 2014
    • Results
      2 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    Terrible with Contact Lenses
    • This does create great lashes and the price is right, but I have lost two contact lenses by wearing it! Once it gets on a lens, that's it! There's no getting it off. I thought something was wrong with my eye twice as it was very irritating and I had to take out a contact while watching a movie in a theater! Too bad as you can get long lashes with it. I wish there was an ingredient list for it which I didn't find on the website.

  10. Nicole, H
    Reviewed on Sunday, February 09, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      2 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Frustrating!
    • Paula is right, this mascara does give really nice results. The reason I rated it so poorly was the removal factor. This is IMPOSSIBLE to get off. It is on your eyelashes like cement! The pro to this is that it will not flake or run throughout the day, the con is that even with great eye make up remover you can't get it all off. I end up waking up the next morning with irritated eyes. So disappointing!

  11. Anonymous
    Reviewed on Friday, January 31, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    Packaging Horrible
    • In my opinion, double ended mascaras are so cumbersome to use, especially the way it is packaged. BIG AND AWKWARD TO USE.

  12. JESSICA S.
    Reviewed on Sunday, January 26, 2014
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Results
      2 / 4
    Be prepared...IMPOSSIBLE to remove!!!
    • I was not displeased with the way this product made my lashes look, but getting it off is next to impossible! I tried 3 different eye makeup removers, including Paula's, and it didn't budge. I had to let the remover soaked pads sit on my lashes, wash and repeat the next morning. My eyelashes stuck to my curler even with 2 attempts at removing this cement. I STILL have a clump on my left lashes from 2 days ago! I've never even had a waterproof mascara that was this difficulty to remove!

  13. C
    Reviewed on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    • Results
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    avoid this if you have short lashes
    • This is clumpy, lumpy and adds no volume at all - just spidery lashes that stick together. I have short lashes and small eyes - this mascara did nothing to enhance them all. It flakes all over the place yet is difficult to remove. I don't get this product at all, and also the packaging is bulky and tacky. Used it twice and don't ever want to go near it again. This may be the worst CoverGirl mascara I have ever had the misfortune to use.

  14. EMILY
    Reviewed on Thursday, January 16, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      1 / 4
    • Results
      1 / 4
    Couldn't wait to take it off!
    • I don't often disagree with the review team but I have to say I hated this mascara. I found it to be itchy, clumpy and as reported, very, very difficult to take off. I tried it 2x because I thought maybe I hadn't applied if well the 1st time. If I spent 5 minutes combing through the clumps, I guess maybe it did make my eyelashes look nice but it still seemed to irritate my eyes. it's going back!

  15. Linda R.
    Reviewed on Monday, January 13, 2014
    • Recommend
      1 / 4
    • Value
      3 / 4
    • Results
      4 / 4
    Beware of removing this!!
    • This was a nice idea to add a "base" coat to the other side of the wand. I was thinking how nice to not have to spend $24 on the Lancôme cils booster I've been using for years. This mascara did give nice looking results. However, I COULD NOT GET THIS STUFF OFF!! I even tried my BEST remover by Lancôme. this morning there was still so much clinging to my lashes that would not budge. I pulled a few lashes and gave up, putting on my cils booster on TOP of the leftovers. Returning this :(

You May Also Like These Products From Paula's Choice

About the Experts

Paula Begoun is the best-selling author of 20 books on skin care and makeup. She is known worldwide as the Cosmetics Cop and creator of Paula's Choice. Paula's expertise has led to hundreds of appearances on national and international television including:

View Media Highlights

 

The Paula's Choice Research Team is dedicated to helping you find the absolute best products for your skin, using research-based criteria to review beauty products from an honest, balanced perspective. Each member of the team was personally trained by Paula herself.

585633-IIS5 v1.0.0.318
Skip to Top of Page
25% Off Cleansers & Toners | FREE Shipping on $50+

Create an Account

Create Account»
  • »

New Customers

You will have the option to create an account after you have submitted your order.