03.17.2015
10
0
All-Purpose Face Cream
Rating
15 fl. oz. for $3.99
Last Updated:03.17.2015
Jar Packaging:Yes
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

All-Purpose Face Cream has two purposes: makeup removal and moisturizer for dry skin. Before you get too excited about this 2-in-1 prospect, know that this formula is extremely dated, harkening back to the days of all non-soap cleansers being thick cold creams you'd apply and remove with a tissue (usually lots of tissues) and then be left with a greasy, wax-like film on your face. Put another way, choosing this product as your makeup remover and moisturizer is akin to giving up your smart phone and going back to a rotary dial wall phone with a short cord!

The basic formula is mostly mineral oil with some water, wax, and fragrance. And there's a dash of red dye to make this otherwise white cream look pink, but that has nothing to do with effectiveness. This type of product definitely works to remove all types of makeup, but it's far from elegant, it cannot be easily rinsed, and its benefit as a moisturizer for dry skin is really, really limited when compared to today's state of the art formulas.

Normally we'd comment that the jar packaging is a problem for keeping the light- and air-sensitive ingredients stable, but this formula is so bare bones it's not an issue.

Pros:
  • Removes all types of makeup.
  • Leaves skin feeling soft.
Cons:
  • A dated, cold cream-like formula that leaves skin wanting (and needing) a lot more.
  • Cannot be rinsed from skin so tends to leave a greasy or wax-like residue.
Claims

Deep cleans your skin to remove makeup and dirt and provides a radiant, dewy base for makeup. Also softens and moisturizes to help smooth skin and fight dryness.

Ingredients

Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), Water, Beeswax (Apis Mellifera), Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Sodium Borate, Fragrance, Isopropyl Myristate, DMDM Hydantoin, Red 4

Brand Overview

Jergens At-A-Glance

Strengths: Jergens provides complete ingredient lists on its Web site; an abundance of self-tanning products for fair to dark skin tones, and the best options contain antioxidants.

Weaknesses: Self-tanner with sunscreen does not provide sufficient UVA (think anti-aging) protection; mostly unimpressive body lotion formulas.

Jergens has been a household name in the United States and Canada for more than a century. It fills drugstore shelves in the skin-care section with a range of products, accompanied by exceedingly low prices and relatively overblown claims.

Really, the star attraction of Jergens is their Natural Glow body lotions with built-in self-tanner. The ability to moisturize pale, dry skin while adding buildable sunless color and a touch of shine (from the mineral pigment mica) works for many skin types. To that end, Jergens offers numerous options for different skin tones, and all of them perform reliably; in the long run, however, they are just inexpensive self-tanners that contain the same ingredient for coloring skin as every other self-tanner.

Jergens also offers a wide selection of body lotions, each affordably priced and sold in generous-size containers outfitted with a pump for convenient dispensing. Regrettably, some of the body moisturizers from Jergens either have dated formulas or contain problematic ingredients research has shown cause irritation. The others are better, and definitely come close to being state-of-the-art with their range of antioxidants and plant-based emollients, but they still lack the outstanding group of ingredients that all skin types need to look and act younger.

Based on your budget, you may find some Jergens body lotions to be great choices, but watch out for some of the too-good-to-be-true claims, such as those concerning cellulite, tightening skin, and repairing all types of skin damage in one night. Those claims look good on the label, but the ingredients and the published research tells a different, far less exciting story.

For more information about Jergens, call (800) 742-8798 or visit www.jergens.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
08.25.2015
Good enough for Mom.

My mom who just died at 89 yrs old, used this cream all her life. She had no wrinkles, and beautiful skin getting daily comments from nurses because she looked 20 years younger. She had a beautiful complexion, which I attribute to Jergens. As a result, I just started using it at age 61.her skin was so beautiful and always looked dewy , healthy and soft.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Anonymous
08.20.2015
this cream is good for me

Jergens all purpose it's very good for my skin texture because I had dry skin it's make it smooth and health for a woman you had to have a nice and soft it's only $2.72 and there is no need to spend another money for make up removal it does it for save money nice skin and softener is with Jergens all purpose baby I'm on it

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
NN
08.04.2015
Awesome Goop

I love this product! We even use it in my household to moisturize our bodies during these brutal NY winters. The consistency is pretty goopy and heavy, but it gets the job done. It does not strip or irritate my skin and it leaves me (and my kids...lol) moisturized for hours. I can't believe it recieved such a poor rating. To each his own, I guess...

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Dee S.
07.09.2015
Love this cold cream

I use this cream every evening to remove my makeup. It does an excellent job, leaves my face soft and you can't beat the price. The large jar is inexpensive and lasts a long time. I highly recommend this stuff. It works exactly like Ponds but is so much cheaper.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Joyce
06.14.2015
Vintage Beauty Cream

I love Jergens All Purpose Face Cream. I live in northern Ohio and the winters can be brutal. I was in search for a moisturizer that would protect my face from the very cold tempature and frigid wind. My friend suggested Jergans cold cream and I am so glad she did. It truly is an all purpose cream. I use it year round and I am so pleased with this cream. Leaves my skin soft and hydrated.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Martha
06.02.2015
I like old phones!

Seriously? This is a make-up remover, not a state of the art wrinkle cream! It removes makeup better than anything on the market and does it dirt cheap! The review on this site just proves that whoever was assigned this product really didn't really try it! This baby takes off anything and does it without irritation of any kind. Why spend money on a product full of expensive antioxidants, skin communicating or whatever ingredients to remove what's on your face? Can't you just add those later?

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Kelley A
05.21.2015
This stuff is a miracle, and I'm 16..

I am disappointed that you guys gave this product such a review. This product is super affordable and it makes your skin soft, clears blemishes, and removes makeup without a hassle. I highly recommend this. When used with baking soda and a warm cloth, it's an exfoliator as well. Try it!

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Rebecca forrest
04.21.2015
Best for my skin

I use this daily. Price is $3.50 and the tub is huge. I stray, and try out new cool items, but always come back to this product. I find it to be the absolute best make up remover and skin cleanser. Mix with baking soda for a gentle exfoliator. Sometimes the old technology is superior to the new stuff flooding the market. Take a look at the reviews by women, young and old. It is used around the world. Jergens would have discontinued this long ago if not a best seller

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
liz c.
04.21.2015
This stuff rocks

Have you read the reviews of this product on Makeup alley a? Your team should not assume they are the experts on everything and just do a fast review. Don't think you got past the tub and pink color. This is $3.47 a TUB, works wonders, removes everything, leaves skin soft, exfoliates gently when used with a warm washcloth. If it was not great, Jergens would not be selling tons of this stuff still in the 1940's tub. Very disappointed in how your team reviewed this product.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Anonymous
06.07.2014
Excellent Cold Cream

I'm actually a hugh fan of cold cream, and Jergens All-Purpose Face Cream is one of the best. It makes short work of makeup including eye makeup. And it's super affordable. The last time I picked this up, I only paid $3.99 for a 15 oz jar. Personally, I can't stand cleansers that foam, because they irritate my skin. I really think a lot of skin care is a matter of personal taste.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Katherine L.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.411 8/31/2015 8:49:30 AM