12.19.2014
13
1047
Color Elixir by ColorSensational
Rating
$8.99
Category:Makeup > Lip Glosses > Lip Gloss
Last Updated:12.19.2014
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:Yes
Review Overview

This hybrid lip stain/lip gloss is one of the best available at the drugstore, and holds its own against other comparable options from designer lines, proving you don't have to spend a lot to get great makeup.

This buttery, richly pigmented lip product does it all, and does it well! As claimed, Color Elixir does indeed provide the color of a lipstick, the moisture of a balm, and the shine of a gloss. The doe-foot applicator is perfectly shaped for coloring inside the lipline, and because the texture doesn't have the slip of traditional gloss, there's less risk of color bleeding. Actually, this gloss does a great job of staying put!

The hydrating formula relieves dryness and softens lips with continued use. As with most creamy lip products, the rich glossy finish doesn't stay on the lips quite as long as the moisturizing ingredients do. You'll need to touch up after about two to three hours to keep the color looking glossy; however, Color Elixir does provide a gorgeous stain so when the gloss fades, the color doesn't.

Color Elixir is available in a generous selection of shades, and the range includes everything from nude peaches to bold berry red and purples. The wet shine finish does not include any shimmer or glitter.

Pros:
  • A beauty bargain.
  • Buttery, hydrating gloss texture.
  • Moist, glossy finish.
  • Generous shade selection.
  • Fades evenly to a lip stain.
Cons:
  • None.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Maybelline New York At-A-Glance

Strengths: At least one excellent product (if not several) in almost every category; many excellent foundations; superior mascaras; inexpensive makeup brushes; some terrific concealers, powders, blush, and lip color options.

Weaknesses: Some of the foundations with sunscreen lack the right UVA-protecting ingredients; disappointing lip balms; the Great Lash mascaras tend to be mediocre to downright bad.

Maybelline is one of the best-known and most recognized mass-market makeup lines in the world—it's available in 90 countries. Throughout its long history, which began in 1915 when T. L. Wilson founded the company and named it after his sister, Mabel, and Vaseline (which he combined with coal dust to concoct a mascara for her), the company has prided itself on bringing innovative products to the marketplace. L'Oreal purchased the company in early 1996 and that's when things really started getting much better. Both companies specialize in offering a large selection of lipsticks, nail polishes, and mascaras, and many of their foundations have the same strengths and weaknesses (smooth textures and finishes plus the inclusion of sunscreens that are often without much-needed UVA-protecting ingredients).

The powders, several mascaras, pencils, matte-finish concealers, and Superstay Lipcolor are impressive and inexpensive. Although L'Oreal remains the more sophisticated and refined of the two lines (and now they have credible products, not just sleek ads, to back this assertion), Maybelline's latest urban image is a positive step, as many of their latest launches have been innovative without resorting to "been-there, done-that" gimmicks. Price-wise, Maybelline is the least expensive of the L'Oreal-owned cosmetic lines (which also includes Lancome, Biotherm, Vichy, and Kiehl’s), and smart shoppers will note the similarities among brands that, with conscientious shopping, can really save you money without sacrificing quality or performance.

For more information about Maybelline New York, owned by L'Oreal, call (800) 944-0730 or visit their interactive Web site at www.maybelline.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
03.14.2015
It smells awful!

Loved the texture, loved the feel, hated the strong and sickly perfumed smell. Actually made me queasy. Unwearable.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
Stephanie
02.24.2015
don't like in winter time

this was good on autumn when I first got them but in canadian winter this product makes makes my lips very very dry, maybe the cold makes the lipgloss freeze, I don't know but I had to stop using it. I will give it another try in spring (around april-may)

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
juliana q.
02.14.2015
I like it.

I purchased this lip gloss in Intoxicating Spice. The color is pretty and sheer. I have dark brown hair and medium to tan complexion. This feels sticky when applying but goes away quickly and it takes on a feeling of wearing a balm. Like that. The glossiness doesn't last all day, but the balm feeling does. Like that too. Don't like the fragrance, but that eventually fades. If you like the look of "wet", this is it. Will buy again.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Mellaney B.
12.16.2014
Ughh! Perfume!

I totally agree with the above commenters--the fragrance is irritating and persistent. It is super flowery. The product is good, though. If it did not have the fragrance, I would love it. I did not find it sticky at all, and Captivating Carnation is lovely. I just find it too irritating to wear. :(

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Kathryn F.
11.11.2014
Awful

I bought this strictly on Paula's recommendation. This product is runny and disappears from my lips in 10 minutes. To top it off, I chose a bad color. The product looked red in the container, but it's more of a fuchsia.

Value
Results
Recommend
Reviewed by
KATHIE
08.13.2014
The Nose Knows

I'm very surprised that there was no mention of the horrible smell which accompanies this lip product. It is so strong, it actually gave me a headache. As for the colors, Rose Redefined is beautiful but doesn't last, and Vision in Violet is ugly but doesn't come off. That particular color really felt and smelled like paint. It doesn't matter if there is an ideal shade in 20 shades, the smell is awful. I will be returning it :(

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Vanessa B
07.14.2014
It was irritating :(

This was irritating to me, too (tingly, stinging). It was not as bad as some reactions I've had, but it was definitely noticeable so I won't wear it anymore. I did like the texture and the colors are very so I would recommend it to someone who doesn't have a reaction to it.

Results
Value
Recommend
Reviewed by
Katie W.
01.31.2014
Color Elixer

While it does have decent opacity, it is very sticky and thick feeling on my lips. I wouldn't repurchase.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
KT L.
01.14.2014
Stings Lips

I have relied on Paula's research based ratings for years, and she's usually dead on. So I was so surprised when I bought 2 shades of this lipgloss and a few seconds after I put them on, my lips started to sting and feel tingly. I was surprised Paula doesn't list ingredients for lipsticks, I'm wondering why this got a Best rating from her, not usual for a product that clearly has an irritant in it. I realize some people react differently to different ingredients, but the stinging was so blatant

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Jenn, C
01.06.2014
Not a favorite

I was expecting it to be similar to yves st. Laurent lip stain at a much better price point. That's probably why I was disappointed ! This felt very thick and sticky! The color (berry?) was very pretty though it did NOT stay on any better than any other ordinary gloss. I'll stick to my two favorites - the yves one I mentioned & color fever by Lancôme.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Linda R
01.06.2014
Great Lip Product

I was really impressed with this product. Great feel on the lips, good staying power and really good color selections. Very luxurious feel, but less than half the price of department store products. I saw the comment about Duane Reade; price is $6.94 at Wal-Mart and $7.99 at Target. I plan on buying several in different colors.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
Katie M
01.02.2014
Migrates into lines around the mouth, but very emolient

This feels and looks wonderful, but it does migrate into the lines on my lips and around my mouth after 3 or 4 hours. This is a great improvement over most lip glosses though . This was a great disappointment because the Nude Illusion color is a fantastic light nude skin tone without any pink or peach undertones. This is not a total loss though because it left my lips incredibly soft and moisturized, so I'm going to wear this at home and maybe even overnight as a lip moisturizer.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Alexandra M.
12.30.2013
As good as Paula says (for me)

I really like this. Just note that the one color I tried was much more faint than it seemed from the packaging, so I will also get a bolder one, and that despite the price here of $6.99, it was $9.49 at my local Duane Reade. Ouch. Also the smell when it first goes on is pretty strong but seems to fade fast.

Results
Recommend
Value
Reviewed by
TARA B.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

Buy It now

Congratulations! You are on your way to drugstore.com to buy a Beautypedia BEST product.

Continue
No Thanks
585632-IIS4 v1.0.0.401 7/1/2015 4:13:04 PM