03.16.2015
10
18
Naked3 Palette
Rating
$52
Category:Makeup > Eyeshadows > Powder Eyeshadow
Last Updated:03.16.2015
Jar Packaging:No
Tested on animals:No
Review Overview

Urban Decay's has two blockbuster beauty products with its Naked and Naked2 eyeshadow palettes, and in true Hollywood fashion, decided to make its collection a trilogy. Naked3 hit the scene with all the fanfare of a big-budget movie premiere, but ultimately it's a disappointment compared to its predecessors.

Housed in a rose gold-colored tin case, Naked3 features 12 pink-based neutrals. They range in color from the almost-white "Strange" to the aptly-named "Blackheart" (a deep burgundy with red micro-glitter), with some beautiful copper, mauve, gray, and dusty rose shades in between. The shadows come in a variety of finishes which include matte, satin, shimmer, and glitter, and are, like all eyeshadow palettes, designed to be used together to create a variety of looks.

Once the pretty packaging is stripped away, what you're left with is a group of shadows that, while gorgeous, are problematic. Each of the shades is almost too creamy yet so sheer that you have to pack on quite a bit to see any substantial color, despite Urban Decay's claim on its site that these shadows contain a special "Pigment Infusion System" that imparts rich color.

The shadows do indeed look good (and wear well) once you've gotten down the application, but you shouldn't have to pile on so much shadow to get a full color effect!

Another problem is that the glitter shades flake like crazy, meaning you wind up with glitter all over your lashes and your cheeks. This can be mitigated somewhat by applying these shadows wet, but there's still a bit of flaking even with that method.

Note that the powder eyeshadow formula for Naked3 is different than Urban Decay's other 12-shade Naked palettes, and it's not a change for the better.

Naked3 certainly isn't a complete bust, but you would be much better off checking out one of the palettes feature on our list of Best Eyeshadows.

Pros:
  • Eyeshadow colors included are neutral enough to create a variety of looks.
  • The non-glittering shades wear well throughout the day.
Cons:
  • Most of the colors have very sheer pigmentation, meaning you have to apply a lot to get any real color impact.
  • Glitter shades are crumbly and flake onto lashes and cheeks.
Claims
Ingredients
Brand Overview

Urban Decay At-A-Glance

Strengths: Workable options in almost every category; excellent cheek tint; bonanza for anyone who wants lots of shiny eyeshadows; good mattifier; bronzing powder; brow products; makeup brushes.

Weaknesses: Mostly average to poor mascaras; limited foundation shades and some disappointing lip glosses; the products designed to help makeup last longer don't help.

From its unconventional beginnings in 1996 with the debut tagline of "Does Pink Make You Puke?" Urban Decay has been at the forefront of the ongoing trend toward unconventional colors. Their approach to beauty is still rooted in steering clear of the norm, but for those creative, unconventional folks who want the opportunity to express themselves with well-formulated, edgy products, this is the line to look to.

Now representing itself by the decidedly tamer "Beauty with an Edge" slogan, the line still offers several shiny options (which excel by virtue of how well they cling to skin), but the items that really deserve your attention include some of their mascaras, bronzing powder, blush, and brow products. The brush collection is highly recommended and priced on the low end when compared to other department-store lines, and Urban Decay counters (as opposed to Sephora stores, where the line is typically sold) offer helpful literature about how to design a complete makeup look. The colors may be unconventional and more clownish than classy, but their placement advice is right-on.

Shortcomings of this edgy line include the lack of lipsticks and some glittery products that apply terribly. Those who appreciate products that make a statement (though it may not always be one that puts you in your most flattering light) should explore the best of what is offered here, as should those whose makeup concepts occasionally lean toward the adventurous side.

For more information about Urban Decay, call (800) 784-URBAN or visit www.urbandecay.com.

About the Experts

The new Beautypedia Team proudly and unequivocally maintains the commitment to help you find the best products possible for your skin. We do this by relentlessly pursuing and relying on published scientific research so you will have unbiased information on what works and what doesn't-and the sneaky ways you could be making your skin worse, not better!


The Beautypedia Team reviews all products using the same research, criteria, and objectivity, whether the product being reviewed is from Paula's Choice or another brand.

Member Comments
Summary of Member Comments
Results
Value
Recommend
WRITE A COMMENT
Sort by:
Page:
06.01.2015
My go to shadows...

As a fair skinned, blue eyed blond, I LOVE these colors. They are so beautiful and I love rose and pink tones on my light complexion. Fallout, yes a little bit, but a primer helps with that, and making the color more opaque. Bottom line, I use this compact almost daily and love how well the shades work together.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Emma
04.05.2015
my love, my Naked3!

I cannot say enough good things about the UD Naked palettes! I do not agree with the lack of pigmentation argument, but I got some really good advice for UD shadows: tap the colors on, never swipe or rub, or you will experience serious fallout and disappointment. IT WORKS AMAZINGLY!

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Jacqueline A
07.18.2014
My Fave out of the 3

Maybe I'm just strange, but this is my favorite out of the three Naked palettes. It's my favorite because the colors are soft. I haven't had any problem with fallout. I think there is a lot of personal preference going on here with the colors, because I loved Naked 1 when I got it, Naked 2 even more... but after getting Naked 3, I never use the first two. For my personal preference, Naked 3 hit the mark perfect for me.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Mary
05.06.2014
Love Naked 3

I love the Naked 3 palette and was not disappointed with the pigmentation at all. I was actually really pleased that they went with a more rose gold toned effect. But something in your review needs to be revised. When Urban Decay reformulated their eye shadows the Naked 2 palette was also included in the reformulation. Only the original Naked palette has the old formula. Naked 2 and 3 have the same formula. Just thought I would let you know (:

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Bree H.
02.01.2014
I love this palette

I already own the first Naked palette and when 3 was announced, I couldn't wait! Rose gold shades look great with my eye color and skin tone so I had high expectations. I was not disappointed. I do not find the pigmentation to be too sheer. In fact, I find this to be one of those rare palettes where the colors go in true to the pan. I do use a primer prior to application so perhaps that is why my experience does not match the cosmetic cop review. I give Naked3 a hearty two thumbs up!

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
Alicia M
01.26.2014
beautiful, unique shades

I don't have any issues with the shades being sheer. I think they are beautifully pigmented and incomparable to others I've tried. One shade, dust, is a little flaky, but overall this is a gorgeous palette. I've held off purchasing the first two nakeds due to the fact I was afraid the shades were too similar to those I already owned. However the shades of naked 3 are completely unique. I can't get enough of the buttery texture of the shadows, and I now plan to purchase the first naked palette.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
Tiffany W.
01.22.2014
I miss old formula

Not my fave naked palette. I prefer naked2, then naked the original. For something comparable try Lorac unzipped. If it's still available. I personally don't like the satin finish and called the company to complain.I like the shimmer finish the best. The first shade the ivory shade is crumbly. I haven't experienced trouble with the 2 shades I did try.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
Annette D.
01.19.2014
Had to return

I loved Urban Decay's Naked 1&2 palettes, albeit disappointed there were not more mattes. I do not like glitter shadows and I feel Naked 3 is mostly glitter and shimmers with some useless mattes thrown in. I had to return this because the quality was not up to par with the other palettes. Color didn't last, flaked and was too dusty. It makes me sad UD has gone in this direction, and I wished they would offer some interesting mattes or sophisticated palettes. Save your $$ - nothing to see here.

Recommend
Results
Value
Reviewed by
C
01.19.2014
i just knew it !

oh, i just knew it. i have been playing with this palette for a while now and felt something about it is off, but i couldn't figure out what the problem was. i agree with paula totally. the formula is nothing special and i have all three palettes. naked3 makes a mess of my face with fallout. i thought i was some how doing something wrong but now i know it really isnt the same formula.

Value
Recommend
Results
Reviewed by
ml
01.18.2014
In love

I adore this palette and neither of the other Naked palettes did anything for me, color-wise. I do skip the glitter shadows, but this palette seems to have fewer glitters and the metallics are less intense, to me. I've made so many beautiful daytime and evening looks with this already and I love how versatile and flattering it is. I don't find that I have trouble with pigmentation, although of course (like every other eyeshadow I own) the colors are more intense over UDPP.

Recommend
Value
Results
Reviewed by
JESSICA T.
WRITE A COMMENT
Enter a title for your review
 
First Name, Last Initial
Optional
Email Address
 
How would you rate this product on the following:
Results
Value
Recommend
     
     
     
Review
500 characters left
 
SUBMIT
CANCEL

Terms of Use

PCWEB-WWW1 v1.0.0.401 7/2/2015 4:48:20 PM